DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Specifically, the “means” of Claim 23. Corresponding structure disclosed at least in the form of a computer and corresponding computer program per Paragraph [0016] of the instant Specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 based upon consideration of the claim as a whole. Claim 24-26 are directed to non-statutory subject matter. Applicant's “computer program product, comprising a computer readable hardware storage device;” “computer-readable data carrier;” and “data carrier signal” encompasses both statutory and non-statutory media including but not limited to carrier waves. Applicant is required to amend the claims to make it clear that the computer-readable medium includes only non-transitory media. See 1351 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 212 (February 23, 2010).
Claims 14-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) the abstract idea of a mathematical algorithm for evaluating a system of equations in performing energy flow analysis of an energy system [See Paragraph [0038] of the instant Specification].
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because no improvement to the underlying energy system is realized through performance of the algorithm.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the recited data processing device or system, computer program product, data carrier, and data carrier signal amount to the recitation of general-purpose computer elements for implementing the algorithm using a computer and do not serve to amount to significantly more than the recitation of the abstract idea itself (see Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank International, 573 U.S. 208 (2014)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-17 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pazderin et al., Solution of Energy Flow Problem Using State Estimation Technique, IEEE, 2009 [hereinafter “Pazderin”].
Regarding Claim 14, Pazderin discloses a method for evaluating measurement data of an energy system, wherein the energy system comprises components which are interconnected by energy flows [Page 1738, second column – “The figure 1.a shows tested radial electric network with nodal EE measurements. All the nodal injections are observable. There are no EE measurements on the network branches.”See system of equations (10).], wherein
measurement values are available for a portion of the energy flows [Page 1738, second column – “All the nodal injections are observable.”Page 1738, second column – “The system (10) in the left part contains unmeasured EE flows and measured nodal EE flows in the right part accordingly. The input energy flows have a negative sign (-), and the output flows have a positive sign (+). The measured EE flows are underlined.”],
values are calculated for at least some energy flows for which no measurement values are available [Page 1738, second column – “There are no EE measurements on the network branches.”Page 1738, second column – “The system (10) in the left part contains unmeasured EE flows and measured nodal EE flows in the right part accordingly. The input energy flows have a negative sign (-), and the output flows have a positive sign (+). The measured EE flows are underlined.”], whereby
different subsystems of the energy system are considered successively, and in each subsystem a value is calculated for one or more energy flows for which no measurement values are available [See the successive consideration and solving for each of W12, W23, and W34 in system of equations (10).Page 1738, second column – “Having a measured nodal EE flows, it is possible to calculate all the flows in network, using the expression (1а), without taking into account energy losses in network branches.”], wherein
virtual measurement data are calculated in the subsystems by setting up an equation system [See the solving for each of W12, W23, and W34 in system of equations (10), which is “virtual” because there are no corresponding measurements taken for these values.] based on a topology [See Fig. 1].
Regarding Claim 15, Pazderin discloses that the topology of the energy system is stored as a directed graph before the calculation [See Fig. 1].
Regarding Claim 16, Pazderin discloses that measurement values [Page 1738, second column – “The system (10) in the left part contains unmeasured EE flows and measured nodal EE flows in the right part accordingly. The input energy flows have a negative sign (-), and the output flows have a positive sign (+). The measured EE flows are underlined.”] and the calculated values for energy flows are stored for the topology [Page 1738, second column – “Having a measured nodal EE flows, it is possible to calculate all the flows in network, using the expression (1а), without taking into account energy losses in network branches.”].
Regarding Claim 17, Pazderin discloses that the equation system is set up in each case for the subsystems with variables in the form of values to be calculated for energy flows of the subsystem for which no measurement values are available [See the solving for each of W12, W23, and W34 in system of equations (10).].
Regarding Claim 19, Pazderin discloses that subsystems are determined [The different branches and nodes of Fig. 1] for which solvable equation systems are set up [See the solving for each of W12, W23, and W34 in system of equations (10).].
Regarding Claim 20, Pazderin discloses that at least one incorrect measurement value is identified for a subsystem with an overdetermined equation system [See equation 3 and Page 1737, second column – “K>M. The observability matrix is rectangular, and the linear equations system (5) is overdetermined. As EE meters have errors, there is no linear flows vector which can ensure identities for all equations of the redefined system (5). The solution of this system is possible on the basis of the objective function minimum (3).”
The boxes of Fig. 2 depict corresponding measurement errors.].
Regarding Claim 21, Pazderin discloses that the at least one incorrect measurement value is identified in that the at least one incorrect measurement value is identified as a component of a plurality of overdetermined equation systems [See equation 3 and Page 1737, second column – “K>M. The observability matrix is rectangular, and the linear equations system (5) is overdetermined. As EE meters have errors, there is no linear flows vector which can ensure identities for all equations of the redefined system (5). The solution of this system is possible on the basis of the objective function minimum (3).”
The corresponding systems of equations used in the evaluation depicted in Fig. 2. Boxes of Fig. 2 depict corresponding measurement errors.].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pazderin et al., Solution of Energy Flow Problem Using State Estimation Technique, IEEE, 2009 [hereinafter “Pazderin”] and Wang et al. (US 20230177235 A1)[hereinafter “Wang”].
Regarding Claim 18, Pazderin discloses that the equation system comprises at least one model equation of a component of the respective subsystem [See the solving for each of W12, W23, and W34 in system of equations (10).], but fails to disclose that the model includes at least one parameter describing an efficiency of the component.
However, Wang discloses evaluating energy flows in a system through an evaluation of system and component efficiencies [See Figs. 1 and 2 and Paragraphs [0024]-[0031]. Paragraph [0031] – “In the embodiment of the disclosure, the objective function of the network flows in the multi-energy system are subject to the power balance constraint, the energy storage period constraint, the energy storage capacity constraint, the energy storage charging and discharging constraint, the generator power constraint, and the energy storage charge quantity constraint.”]. It would have been obvious to evaluate component efficiencies as part of the system modelling in order to better characterize energy flows in the system.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pazderin et al., Solution of Energy Flow Problem Using State Estimation Technique, IEEE, 2009 [hereinafter “Pazderin”] and Miller, Technique for solving underdetermined systems of linear equations, solitaryroad.com, 10.10.2010 (accessed via the Wayback Machine internet archive by the Examiner on 9/23/2026).
Regarding Claim 22, Pazderin discloses the scenario of an underdetermined equation system for at least one energy flow for which no measurement value is available [Page 1737, second column – “K<M. The observability matrix is rectangular and the system is underdetermined, having an infinite number of solutions. For the EE flows in the network to be defined, additional measurements are necessary;”], but fails to disclose that a notional measurement value is incorporated into the equation system for a subsystem with an underdetermined equation system for at least one energy flow for which no measurement value is available.
However, Miller discloses a technique for solving underdetermined systems of equations [Title] through incorporation of a notional value [Page 2 – “Computing the particular solution. We can compute the coordinates of some point on plane K by arbitrarily picking values for a couple of the unknowns and solving for the other unknown.”]. It would have been obvious to take such an approach in order to resolve the impossibility of solving the underdetermined equation system.
Claim(s) 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pazderin et al., Solution of Energy Flow Problem Using State Estimation Technique, IEEE, 2009 [hereinafter “Pazderin”] and Bickford et al. (US 20140068283 A1)[hereinafter “Bickford”].
Regarding Claim 23, Pazderin fails to disclose a device or system for data processing, comprising means to carry out the method as claimed in claim 14.
However, Bickford discloses the use of such structure for implementing power analysis methods [See Paragraphs [0014], [0018], and [0019]]. It would have been obvious to employ such structure because doing so would have been an effective manner of implementing the analysis using a computer.
Regarding Claim 24, Pazderin fails to disclose a computer program product, comprising a computer readable hardware storage device having computer readable program code stored therein, said program code executable by a processor of a computer system to implement a method, as claimed in claim 14.
However, Bickford discloses the use of such structure for implementing power analysis methods [See Paragraphs [0014], [0018], and [0019]]. It would have been obvious to employ such structure because doing so would have been an effective manner of implementing the analysis using a computer.
Regarding Claim 25, Pazderin fails to disclose a computer-readable data carrier on which the computer program as claimed in claim 24 is stored.
However, Bickford discloses the use of such structure for implementing power analysis methods [See Paragraphs [0014], [0018], and [0019]]. It would have been obvious to employ such structure because doing so would have been an effective manner of implementing the analysis using a computer.
Regarding Claim 26, Pazderin fails to disclose a data carrier signal which contains the computer program as claimed in claim 24.
However, Bickford discloses the use of such structure for implementing power analysis methods [See Paragraphs [0014], [0018], and [0019]]. It would have been obvious to employ such structure because doing so would have been an effective manner of implementing the analysis using a computer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Khan et al., Parameter and Topology Estimation for Electrical Power Distribution System, IEEE, 2019
Plesnyaev et al., Data Acquisition System Faults Detection, IEEE, 2003
US 20140236506 A1 – Method For Detecting Power Theft In A Power Distribution System
US 20140214218 A1 – ELECTRIC POWER DISTRIBUTION SYSTEM INCLUDING METERING FUNCTION AND METHOD OF EVALUATING ENERGY METERING
US 20200287388 A1 – METHOD FOR ESTIMATING THE TOPOLOGY OF AN ELECTRIC POWER NETWORK USING METERING DATA
US 20050160128 A1 – Methods And Systems For Power Systems Analysis
US 20160238669 A1 – Power System State Estimation Device And Power System State Estimation Method For Same
US 20240136851 A1 – ENERGY MANAGEMENT SYSTEM
/KYLE R QUIGLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857