Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 2, 5, 10, 11, 21, 22, 24, 25, 26 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US Pub. No: 2019/0393989 A1) in view of Rahman et al. (US Pub. No: 2021/0211173 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jung et al. teach a method for operation in wireless communication (see Abstract and Fig.1A), comprising: receiving information configuring channel state information (CSI) acquisition for a bandwidth part (BWP) (see para [0096] wherein a base station configuring a certain reference signal for channel status measurement, e.g., a CSI-RS, for UEs belonging to the coverage of the base station, is mentioned and also see para [0099] wherein the UE receiving CSI-RS resource configuration information per BWP from a network/BS, is mentioned);
determining CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources for the CSI acquisition (see para [0103] wherein the UE determining whether the CSI-RS resource measured in operation 1e-4 satisfies a preset measurement reporting condition (that includes determining CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources for the CSI acquisition), is mentioned and also see para [0101]); and
performing CSI acquisition using the determined CSI-RS resources (see para [0103] wherein the UE determining whether the CSI-RS resource measured in operation 1e-4 satisfies a preset measurement reporting condition, is mentioned and also see para [0105] wherein the CSI-RS resource being configured per BWP in such a manner that each CSI-RS resource configuration IE including a BWP Id to which the CSI-RS resource belongs, is mentioned).
Jung et al. is silent in teaching the above method for operation in wireless communication comprising wherein the CSI-RS resources include multiple resource elements per antenna port per physical resource block for the BWP.
However, Rahman et al. teach a method for operation in wireless communication (see Abstract and Fig.1) comprising wherein the CSI-RS resources include multiple resource elements per antenna port per physical resource block for the BWP (see para [0077] wherein a transmission BW includes frequency resource units referred to as resource blocks (RBs), each RB includes resource elements (REs), such as 12 REs and a unit of one RB over one subframe is referred to as a PRB, is mentioned, also see para [0230] wherein CSIRS CSI-RS ports being measured within each PRB of the configured BWP for CSI-RS measurement, is mentioned and also see para [0096] wherein a plurality of antenna elements being mapped onto one CSI-RS port, is mentioned, all of which includes and is equivalent to having “wherein the CSI-RS resources include multiple resource elements per antenna port per physical resource block for the BWP”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above method for operation in wireless communication of Jung et al. to have the CSI-RS resources including multiple resource elements per antenna port per physical resource block for the BWP, disclosed by Rahman et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless device for efficiently receiving configuration information for channel state information (CSI) feedback that is based on Q precoding dimensions in wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 2, Jung et al. and Rahman et al. together teach the method of claim 1.
Rahman et al. further teach the method of claim 1, wherein the CSI-RS resources for the CSI acquisition include one or more 1-port CSI-RS resources with density greater than one (see para [0310] wherein the value of the CSI-RS density being configured such that the Q precoding dimensions are conveyed based on the P.sub.CSIRS CSI-RS ports (that includes the CSI-RS resources for the CSI acquisition include one or more 1-port CSI-RS resources with density greater than one), is mentioned and also see para [0270]) (and the same motivation is maintained as in claim 1).
Regarding claim 5, Jung et al. and Rahman et al. together teach the method of claim 1.
Jung et al. further teach the method of claim 1, wherein the CSI-RS resources for the CSI acquisition include a multi-port CSI-RS pattern with repetition being configured in one or more of a frequency domain or a time domain (see Fig.1H and para [0122] wherein when overlapping BWPs and individual BWPs are present and one CSI-RS is configurable for only one BWP, multiple CSI-RS resource configuration IEs need to be transmitted per BWP (that includes a multi-port CSI-RS pattern with repetition), is mentioned and also para [0123] wherein the network may configure and transmit CSI-RSs over a wide frequency band/frequency domain, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 10, Jung et al. and Rahman et al. together teach the method of claim 1.
Rahman et al. further teach the method of claim 1, wherein the information configuring the CSI acquisition for the BWP indicates a subband CSI acquisition for a subband size that is less than 24 physical resource blocks (see Fig.14 and para [0221] wherein mapping of CSI-RS ports (that includes CSI acquisition) to subband of PRBs of size 7, is mentioned and also see paragraphs [0223] & [0224]) (and the same motivation is maintained as in claim 1).
Regarding claim 11, Jung et al. and Rahman et al. together teach the method of claim 1.
Jung et al. further teach the method of claim 1, wherein the information configuring the CSI acquisition for the BWP includes information indicating a target BWP identifier for the BWP, wherein the target BWP identifier indicates a BWP that is deactivated (see para [0150] wherein the UE having received information may specify whether a CSI-RS configured over a previous active BWP and the current active BWP being present, is mentioned and when the CSI-RS is present, the UE may continuously measure the CSI-RS (for the CSI acquisition) and transmit a measurement report thereof without discarding a measurement value of or a counter or timer related to the CSI-RS of previous active BWP (that can include the target BWP identifier indicating a BWP that is deactivated), is mentioned and also see para [0175]).
Regarding claim 21, Jung et al. teach a processor comprising memory (see Abstract and Fig.1A/Fig.3 for UE and processor 301 & memory 303 inside UE in Fig.3 and also see para [0220]) configured to cause the processor to: receive information configuring channel state information (CSI) acquisition for a bandwidth part (BWP) (see para [0096] wherein a base station configuring a certain reference signal for channel status measurement, e.g., a CSI-RS, for UEs belonging to the coverage of the base station, is mentioned and also see para [0099] wherein the UE receiving CSI-RS resource configuration information per BWP from a network/BS, is mentioned); determine CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources for the CSI acquisition (see para [0103] wherein the UE determining whether the CSI-RS resource measured in operation 1e-4 satisfies a preset measurement reporting condition (that includes determining CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources for the CSI acquisition), is mentioned and also see para [0101]); and perform CSI acquisition using the determined CSI-RS resources (see para [0103] wherein the UE determining whether the CSI-RS resource measured in operation 1e-4 satisfies a preset measurement reporting condition, is mentioned and also see para [0105] wherein the CSI-RS resource being configured per BWP in such a manner that each CSI-RS resource configuration IE including a BWP Id to which the CSI-RS resource belongs, is mentioned).
Jung et al. is silent in teaching the above processor comprising wherein the CSI-RS resources include multiple resource elements per antenna port per physical resource block for the BWP.
However, Rahman et al. teach a processor (see Abstract and Fig.1/UE 113) comprising wherein the CSI-RS resources include multiple resource elements per antenna port per physical resource block for the BWP (see para [0077] wherein a transmission BW includes frequency resource units referred to as resource blocks (RBs), each RB includes resource elements (REs), such as 12 REs and a unit of one RB over one subframe is referred to as a PRB, is mentioned, also see para [0230] wherein CSIRS CSI-RS ports being measured within each PRB of the configured BWP for CSI-RS measurement, is mentioned and also see para [0096] wherein a plurality of antenna elements being mapped onto one CSI-RS port, is mentioned, all of which includes and is equivalent to having “wherein the CSI-RS resources include multiple resource elements per antenna port per physical resource block for the BWP”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above processor of Jung et al. to have the CSI-RS resources including multiple resource elements per antenna port per physical resource block for the BWP, disclosed by Rahman et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless device for efficiently receiving configuration information for channel state information (CSI) feedback that is based on Q precoding dimensions in wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 22, Jung et al. and Rahman et al. together teach the processor of claim 21.
Rahman et al. further teach the processor of claim 21, wherein the CSI-RS resources for the CSI acquisition include at least one of: one or more 1-port CSI-RS resources with density greater than one, a multi-port CSI-RS pattern with repetition being configured in one or more of a frequency domain or a time domain or at least two multi-port CSI-RS resources, wherein the information configuring the CSI acquisition for the BWP includes information explicitly indicating resource locations for the at least two multi-port CSI-RS resources (see para [0310] wherein the value of the CSI-RS density being configured such that the Q precoding dimensions are conveyed based on the P.sub.CSIRS CSI-RS ports (that includes the CSI-RS resources for the CSI acquisition include more 1-port CSI-RS resources with density greater than one), is mentioned and also see para [0270]) (and the same motivation is maintained as in claim 21).
Regarding claim 24, Jung et al. teach a cellular base station (see Abstract and Fig.1A/Fig.4 for BS), comprising: one or more processors (see Fig.4, processor 410 inside BS and para [0229]); and a memory having instructions stored thereon (see Fig.4, memory 430 inside BS and para [0229]), which when executed by the one or more processors, cause the cellular base station (see para [0229]) to: provide information to a wireless device configuring channel state information (CSI) acquisition for a bandwidth part (BWP) (see para [0096] wherein a base station configuring a certain reference signal for channel status measurement, e.g., a CSI-RS, for UEs belonging to the coverage of the base station, is mentioned and also see para [0099] wherein the UE receiving CSI-RS resource configuration information per BWP from a network/BS, is mentioned); and receive CSI reporting for the BWP from the wireless device (see para [0103] wherein the UE determining whether the CSI-RS resource measured in operation 1e-4 satisfies a preset measurement reporting condition, and transmitting a measurement report to BS upon determining that the CSI-RS resource satisfies the condition, is mentioned).
Jung et al. is silent in teaching the above cellular base station comprising wherein CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources for the CSI acquisition include multiple resource elements per antenna port per physical resource block for the BWP.
However, Rahman et al. teach a cellular base station (see Abstract and Fig.1, BS) comprising wherein CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources for the CSI acquisition include multiple resource elements per antenna port per physical resource block for the BWP (see para [0077] wherein a transmission BW includes frequency resource units referred to as resource blocks (RBs), each RB includes resource elements (REs), such as 12 REs and a unit of one RB over one subframe is referred to as a PRB, is mentioned, also see para [0230] wherein CSIRS CSI-RS ports being measured within each PRB of the configured BWP for CSI-RS measurement, is mentioned and also see para [0096] wherein a plurality of antenna elements being mapped onto one CSI-RS port, is mentioned, all of which includes and is equivalent to having “wherein the CSI-RS resources for the CSI acquisition include multiple resource elements per antenna port per physical resource block for the BWP”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above base station of Jung et al. to have CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources for the CSI acquisition including multiple resource elements per antenna port per physical resource block for the BWP, disclosed by Rahman et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless device for efficiently receiving configuration information for channel state information (CSI) feedback that is based on Q precoding dimensions in wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 25, Jung et al. and Rahman et al. together teach the cellular base station of claim 24.
Rahman et al. further teach the cellular base station of claim 24, wherein the CSI-RS resources for the CSI acquisition include one or more 1-port CSI-RS resources with density greater than one (see para [0310] wherein the value of the CSI-RS density being configured such that the Q precoding dimensions are conveyed based on the P.sub.CSIRS CSI-RS ports (that includes the CSI-RS resources for the CSI acquisition include more 1-port CSI-RS resources with density greater than one), is mentioned and also see para [0270]) (and the same motivation is maintained as in claim 24).
Regarding claim 26, Jung et al. and Rahman et al. together teach the cellular base station of claim 24.
Jung et al. further teach the cellular base station of claim 24, wherein the CSI-RS resources for the CSI acquisition include a multi-port CSI-RS pattern with repetition configured in one or more of a frequency domain or a time domain (see Fig.1H and para [0122] wherein when overlapping BWPs and individual BWPs are present and one CSI-RS is configurable for only one BWP, multiple CSI-RS resource configuration IEs need to be transmitted per BWP (that includes a multi-port CSI-RS pattern with repetition), is mentioned and also para [0123] wherein the network may configure and transmit CSI-RSs over a wide frequency band/frequency domain, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 29, Jung et al. and Rahman et al. together teach the cellular base station of claim 24.
Rahman et al. further teach the cellular base station of claim 24, wherein the information configuring the CSI acquisition for the BWP indicates one or more of: a subband CSI acquisition for a subband size that is less than 24 physical resource blocks or a target BWP identifier for the BWP (see Fig.14 and para [0221] wherein mapping of CSI-RS ports (that includes CSI acquisition) to subband of PRBs of size 7, is mentioned and also see para [0223] and also see para [0150] wherein the UE having received information may specify whether a CSI-RS configured over a previous active BWP and the current active BWP being present, is mentioned and when the CSI-RS is present, the UE may continuously measure the CSI-RS (for the CSI acquisition) and transmit a measurement report thereof without discarding a measurement value of or a counter or timer related to the CSI-RS of previous active BWP (that can include the target BWP identifier), is mentioned) (and the same motivation is maintained as in claim 24).
5. Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US Pub. No: 2019/0393989 A1) in view of Rahman et al. (US Pub. No: 2021/0211173 A1) and further in view of Cirik et al. (US Pub. No: 2020/0221485 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Jung et al. and Rahman et al. together teach the method of claim 5.
Jung et al. and Rahman et al. together yet are silent in teaching the method of claim 5, wherein a number of repetitions configured for the multi-port CSI-RS pattern is determined based on one or more of: an explicit indication included in the information configuring the CSI acquisition for the BWP or a value predefined in a technical specification for a wireless device operating as a reduced capability device.
However, Cirik et al. teach a method (see abstract and Fig.9A) wherein a number of repetitions configured for the multi-port CSI-RS pattern is determined based on one or more of: an explicit indication included in the information configuring the CSI acquisition for the BWP or a value predefined in a technical specification for a wireless device operating as a reduced capability device (see para [0371] wherein the wireless device may determine/assume that a CSI-RS of the CSI-RS resource and one or more DM-RS ports of a PDCCH are quasi co-located with QCL-TypeD, for example, based on one or more of: the higher layer parameter repetition of the NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet being set to ‘on’ or another indication/value (e.g., 1, enabled, etc.), and/or the CSI-RS resource and the one or more search space sets associated with the CORESET being configured in the same one or more symbols, is mentioned and also see para [0372]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above method of Jung et al. and Rahman et al. to have a number of repetitions configured for the multi-port CSI-RS pattern being determined based on one or more of: an explicit indication included in the information configuring the CSI acquisition for the BWP, disclosed by Cirik et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless device for efficiently receiving the data based on one or more determinations/conditions including a time offset (e.g., between reception of the downlink information and a scheduled transmission of the data) and whether a control resource set is configured to indicate a transmission configuration state in wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 7, Jung et al. and Rahman et al. together teach the method of claim 5.
Jung et al. and Rahman et al. together yet are silent in teaching the method of claim 5, wherein the method further comprises: determining one or more offset values for repetitions of the multi-port CSI-RS pattern, wherein the offset values are determined based on one or more of: one or more explicit indications included in the information configuring the CSI acquisition for the BWP or a number of repetitions configured for the multi-port CSI-RS pattern.
However, Cirik et al. teach a method (see abstract and Fig.9A) wherein the method further comprises: determining one or more offset values for repetitions of the multi-port CSI-RS pattern, wherein the offset values are determined based on one or more of: one or more explicit indications included in the information configuring the CSI acquisition for the BWP or a number of repetitions configured for the multi-port CSI-RS pattern (see para [0371] wherein the wireless device may determine/assume that a CSI-RS of the CSI-RS resource and one or more DM-RS ports of a PDCCH are quasi co-located with QCL-TypeD, for example, based on one or more of: the higher layer parameter repetition of the NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet being set to ‘on’ or another indication/value (e.g., 1, enabled, etc.), and/or the CSI-RS resource and the one or more search space sets associated with the CORESET being configured in the same one or more symbols, is mentioned and also see para [0372]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above method of Jung et al. and Rahman et al. to have the method further comprising determining one or more offset values for repetitions of the multi-port CSI-RS pattern, wherein the offset values are determined based on one or more of: one or more explicit indications included in the information configuring the CSI acquisition for the BWP or a number of repetitions configured for the multi-port CSI-RS pattern, disclosed by Cirik et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless device for efficiently receiving the data based on one or more determinations/conditions including a time offset (e.g., between reception of the downlink information and a scheduled transmission of the data) and whether a control resource set is configured to indicate a transmission configuration state in wireless communication system.
6. Claims 8 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US Pub. No: 2019/0393989 A1) in view of Rahman et al. (US Pub. No: 2021/0211173 A1) and further in view of ZHANG et al. (US Pub. No: 2015/0318972 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Jung et al. and Rahman et al. together teach the method of claim 1.
Jung et al. and Rahman et al. together yet are silent in teaching the method of claim 1, wherein the CSI-RS resources for the CSI acquisition include at least two multi-port CSI-RS resources, wherein the information configuring the CSI acquisition for the BWP includes information explicitly indicating resource locations for the at least two multi-port CSI-RS resources, wherein performing channel state information acquisition using the determined CSI-RS resources includes aggregating at least two multi-port CSI-RS resources for channel state information computation.
However, ZHANG et al. teach a method (see Abstract and Fig.1) wherein the CSI-RS resources for the CSI acquisition include at least two multi-port CSI-RS resources (see para [0006] wherein transmitting the channel state information reference signals of the n/two antenna ports to one or more terminals by using the resource element group, is mentioned), wherein the information configuring the CSI acquisition for the BWP includes information explicitly indicating resource locations for the at least two multi-port CSI-RS resources (see para [006] wherein resource elements in each resource block for transmitting CSI-RSs of 2, 4 or 8 antenna ports, being defined in existing standards, resource element group for transmitting CSI-RSs of more antenna ports may be obtained in a combined manner by selecting resource elements originally used for transmitting CSI-RSs of 2, 4 or 8 antenna ports from one or more resource blocks, is mentioned), wherein performing channel state information acquisition using the determined CSI-RS resources includes aggregating at least two multi-port CSI-RS resources for channel state information computation (see para [006] wherein resource elements in each resource block for transmitting CSI-RSs of 2, 4 or 8 antenna ports, being defined in existing standards, resource element group for transmitting CSI-RSs of more antenna ports may be obtained in a combined manner by selecting resource elements originally used for transmitting CSI-RSs of 2, 4 or 8 antenna ports from one or more resource blocks, is mentioned and also see para [0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above method of Jung et al. and Rahman et al. to have the CSI-RS resources for the CSI acquisition include at least two multi-port CSI-RS resources, wherein the information configuring the CSI acquisition for the BWP includes information explicitly indicating resource locations for the at least two multi-port CSI-RS resources, and also to have performing channel state information acquisition using the determined CSI-RS resources includes aggregating at least two multi-port CSI-RS resources for channel state information computation, disclosed by ZHANG et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless device for efficiently selecting from a resource block s groups of resource elements for transmitting CSI-RSs of m.sub.i antenna ports and also providing CSI-RSs supporting more antenna ports according to CSI-RSs of existing antenna ports of a low number, thereby fully bringing performance of a large-scale antenna system in wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 27, Jung et al. and Rahman et al. together teach the cellular base station of claim 24.
Jung et al. and Rahman et al. together yet are silent in teaching the cellular base station of claim 24, wherein the CSI-RS resources for the CSI acquisition include at least two multi-port CSI-RS resources, wherein the information configuring the CSI acquisition for the BWP includes information explicitly indicating resource locations for the at least two multi-port CSI-RS resources, wherein the CSI reporting is based on at least two aggregated multi-port CSI-RS resources.
However, ZHANG et al. teach a base station (see Abstract and Fig.1) wherein the CSI-RS resources for the CSI acquisition include at least two multi-port CSI-RS resources (see para [0006] wherein transmitting the channel state information reference signals of the n/two antenna ports to one or more terminals by using the resource element group, is mentioned), wherein the information configuring the CSI acquisition for the BWP includes information explicitly indicating resource locations for the at least two multi-port CSI-RS resources (see para [006] wherein resource elements in each resource block for transmitting CSI-RSs of 2, 4 or 8 antenna ports, being defined in existing standards, resource element group for transmitting CSI-RSs of more antenna ports may be obtained in a combined manner by selecting resource elements originally used for transmitting CSI-RSs of 2, 4 or 8 antenna ports from one or more resource blocks, is mentioned), wherein the CSI reporting is based on at least two aggregated multi-port CSI-RS resources (see para [006] wherein resource elements in each resource block for transmitting CSI-RSs of 2, 4 or 8 antenna ports, being defined in existing standards, resource element group for transmitting CSI-RSs of more antenna ports may be obtained in a combined manner by selecting resource elements originally used for transmitting CSI-RSs of 2, 4 or 8 antenna ports from one or more resource blocks, is mentioned and also see para [0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above base station of Jung et al. and Rahman et al. to have the CSI-RS resources for the CSI acquisition including at least two multi-port CSI-RS resources, wherein the information configuring the CSI acquisition for the BWP includes information explicitly indicating resource locations for the at least two multi-port CSI-RS resources and also to have the CSI reporting being based on at least two aggregated multi-port CSI-RS resources, disclosed by ZHANG et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless device for efficiently selecting from a resource block s groups of resource elements for transmitting CSI-RSs of m.sub.i antenna ports and also providing CSI-RSs supporting more antenna ports according to CSI-RSs of existing antenna ports of a low number, thereby fully bringing performance of a large-scale antenna system in wireless communication system.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 3, 4, 9, 23 and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ZHAO et al. (US Pub. No: 2024/0187181 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to a wireless terminal that transmits a plurality of CSI-RSs in a slot, so that an optimal spatial domain transmission filter of the transmitting terminal may be selected based on the transmitted CSI-RSs in wireless communication system.
LUO et al. (US Pub. No: 2025/0007667 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to a resource configuration method, a resource configuration apparatus, a network device, and a terminal device in wireless communication system.
9. Any response to this office action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed
To:
Commissioner for Patents,
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314.
/SRINIVASA R REDDIVALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 7/25/2026