Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al (US 2024/0155394) in view of Munoz et al (US 2024/0107282). Hereinafter referred to as Jiang and Monoz.
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 22-24. A method for transmitting sensing data, performed by a first user equipment (UE) (see at least figures 1-2), the method comprising: determining sensing data of a sensed object based on received sensing information (see at least figure 4); and sending the sensing data to a core network through a base station, wherein the sensing data is sent by the UPF to a sensing function (SF) of the core network (see at least figures 1 and 5).
Jiang discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception sending the sensing data to a user plane function (UPF) of a core network. However, Munoz, from the same field of endeavor, teaches sending the sensing data to a user plane function (UPF) of a core network (see at least figure 12B). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ the teaching of Munoz, as indicated, into the communication method of Jiang for the purpose of keeping the core network updated.
Regarding claims 2 and 12. Jiang in view of Munoz discloses a method, wherein determining the sensing data of the sensed object based on the received sensing information comprises at least one of: taking determined raw sensing data of the sensed object as the sensing data based on the received sensing information and one or more sensing parameters; or taking a determined sensing result of the sensed object as the sensing data based on the received sensing information and the one or more sensing parameters (see at least paragraphs [0093], [0097] and [0098]).
Regarding claims 3 and 13. Jiang in view of Munoz discloses a method wherein the one or more sensing parameters comprise at least one of a type parameter of the sensed object; a collection configuration of the sensing data; a reporting configuration of the sensing data; a region configuration of the sensing information; or a type parameter of the sensing information (see at least paragraph [0522]-[0533]).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Jiang in view of Munoz discloses a method wherein the collection configuration of the sensing data comprises at least one of: a collection time configuration of the sensing data; or a collection frequency configuration of the sensing data (see at least paragraph [0522]-[0533]).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Jiang in view of Munoz discloses a method wherein the reporting configuration of the sensing data comprises at least one of: a reporting period of the sensing data; a reporting path of the sensing data; a type of the sensing data reported; or a subscription event of reporting of the sensing data (see at least paragraph [0522]-[0533]).
Regarding claims 6 and 16. Jiang in view of Munoz discloses a method further comprising receiving parameter update information sent by the UPF; wherein the parameter update information is sent from the SF to the UPF; and updating the one or more sensing parameters based on the parameter update information (see at least figures 1 and 5) (see at least figure 12B).
Regarding claims 7 and 17. Jiang in view of Munoz discloses a method wherein the sensing information is sent by at least one of: the first UE; a second UE different from the first UE; or a base station (see at least figures 1 and 5).
Regarding claims 8 and 18. Jiang in view of Munoz discloses a method according further comprising at least one of: the UPF comprising at least one of: a session anchor UPF; or an insert UPF; or the SF comprising at least one of: a network data analytics function (NWDAF); a location management function (LMF); or a network exposure function (NEF) (see at least paragraph [0213]).
Regarding claim 10. Jiang in view of Munoz discloses a method, wherein determining the sensing data of the sensed object based on the received sensing information comprises: based on trigger information, determining the sensing data of the sensed object according to the received sensing information; wherein the triggering information is sent by one of: an upper layer sensing application function of the first UE; an upper layer sensing application function of a second UE that sends the sensing information; a sensing function of one or more base stations of the first UE; a sensing function of the core network; a sensing function of a control plane; a sensing function on the UPF; an application function of a network to which the first UE belongs; or application functions outside the network to which the first UE belongs (see at least figures 5-6 and paragraph [0187]-[0196]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO_892.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
When responding to this office action, applicants are advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which they think the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Applicants must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37C.F.R 1.111(c). In addition, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with the line numbers and pages numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist examiner in locating the appropriate paragraphs.
/MOUNIR MOUTAOUAKIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476