DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to the application filed on August 2, 2024. Claims 1-12 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. IN2022410056741 filed on February 2, 2022.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 2, 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
In claim 22, the “control unit” in the limitation “a control unit operatively coupled to the switch, the control unit having a communication module” invokes 112(f) as “control unit” is a term that does not have definite structure in the specification which enables the unit to control.
In claims 22, 32 and 34, the “communication module” in the limitation “a control unit operatively coupled to the switch, the control unit having a communication module” invokes 112(f) as “communication module” is a term that does not have definite structure in the specification which enables the module to communicate.
In claims 22, 32 and 34 the “voice input module” in the limitation “voice input module configured to communicate with the communication module” invokes 112(f) as “display unit” is a term that does not have definite structure in the specification which enables the module to input voice.
In claim 33, the “display unit” in the limitation “display unit in communication with the control unit, the display unit configured to display a status upon activation of voice control” invokes 112(f) as “display unit” is a term that does not have definite structure in the specification which enables the unit to display.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed function of displaying a status upon activation of a voice control when a switch is actuated. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim limitation “a control unit operatively coupled to the switch, the control unit having a communication module; and a safety gear having a voice input module, the voice input module configured to communicate with the communication module, wherein the voice input module receives voice input from a rider and establishes communication with the communication module when the switch is actuated” and “display unit configured to display a status upon activation of voice control” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function. In particular, the specification states that the claimed function of displaying a status upon activation of voice control is performed by a control unit, a voice input module, a communication module, and a display unit. There is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to perform the process as claimed. The use of the terms unit and module are not adequate structure for performing the displaying of the status because it does not describe a particular structure for performing the function as would be recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art, and can be performed in any number of ways in hardware, software or a combination of the two. The specification does not provide sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which structure or structures perform(s) the claimed function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Santucci et al., US 2023/0041105A1 (Hereinafter, “Santucci”).
Regarding Claims 22 and 34, Santucci discloses a system to operate voice control for a vehicle, comprising: a switch (21); a control unit (23) operatively coupled to the switch, the control unit having a communication module (5); See at least Fig.1 and [0007], “method for imparting commands to a motor vehicle. The motor vehicle comprises: a central control unit, at least one steered wheel, and a steering member for acting on the steered wheel. The method comprises a step of activating, by means of an interface device (switch) on the steering member, a voice recognition function on a mobile device (communication module) interfaced with the central control unit.” And [0026], “The interface device 21 is connected with the central control unit 23 by means of a connection schematically indicated with 27.”
a safety gear (3) having a voice input module, the voice input module configured to communicate with the communication module, See at least [0021], “The smartphone 5 is provided with a microphone to allow the driver 2 to communicate vocally with the smartphone 5 … by means of a Bluetooth connection. They can be inserted into the helmet 3, or integrated therein.”
wherein the voice input module receives voice input from a rider and establishes communication with the communication module when the switch is actuated, See at least [0043], “The interface device 21 (switch) can also be used to impart different commands or instructions, such as activation and subsequent deactivation of voice recognition.”
the switch is configured to be actuated in one or more positions by the rider, the switch based on the position of actuation generates a corresponding electric signal. See at least Fig.3 and [0044], “the interface device 21 (switch) can be provided with different components, for example a plurality of buttons, or a joystick that can be moved in different directions.” Note: switch operation in an electrical circuit as shown in Fig.3.
Regarding Claims 23 and 35, Santucci discloses the following limitation dependent on Claim 22 and 34:
wherein the one or more positions in which the switch can be actuated are forward, rear, left, right in a vehicle front-rear direction and centre. See at least Fig.3 and [0044], “the interface device 21 (switch) can be provided with different components … a joystick that can be moved in different directions.” Note: joystick operation can account for all five positions in the claim as shown in Fig.2.
Regarding Claims 24 and 36, Santucci discloses the following limitation dependent on Claims 22 and 34:
wherein the switch (21) is configured to generate an electric signal for activating voice control when operated in the centre position for a first predetermined time. See at least [0044], “driver 2 can impart different commands by pressing the button once or more than once, or pressing and holding the button for different times, for example a short pressure to activate voice recognition, or a longer pressure to allow execution of the instruction imparted by means of the voice command or vice versa.”
Regarding Claims 25 and 37, Santucci discloses the following limitation dependent on Claims 24 and 36:
wherein the switch (21) is configured to generate an electric signal for deactivating voice control when operated again in the centre position for the first predetermined time. See at least [0043], “The interface device 21 can also be used to impart different commands or instructions, such as activation and subsequent deactivation of voice recognition.” And [0044], “driver 2 can impart different commands by pressing the button once or more than once, or pressing and holding the button for different times, for example a short pressure to activate voice recognition, or a longer pressure to allow execution of the instruction imparted by means of the voice command or vice versa.” While the deactivation function time is not explicitly disclosed, it would be obvious to one in the art to press the button again momentarily after activation in [0044] to deactivate the process as disclosed in [0043].
Regarding Claims 26 and 38, Santucci discloses the following limitation dependent on Claims 24 and 36:
wherein the control unit is configured to deactivate voice control when the switch (21) is not operated for a second predetermined time. See at least [0040], “the driver acts on the interface device 21 (switch), so that the central control unit 23 transmits a voice recognition activation command to the smartphone 5 connected thereto.” And [0042], “The application of the smartphone 5 can be programmed to deactivate voice recognition … predetermined period of time after activation.”
Regarding Claim 27 and 39, Santucci discloses the following limitation dependent on Claims 24 and 36:
wherein the control unit is configured to deactivate voice control when the voice control is not used for a third predetermined time. See at least [0038], “The application of the smartphone 5 can be programmed to deactivate voice recognition immediately after having imparted the instruction corresponding to the voice command received. Otherwise, voice recognition can remain active for a predetermined period of time after activation.”
Regarding Claim 29, Santucci discloses the following limitation dependent on Claim 22:
wherein the control unit is configured to perform a predetermined function based on the corresponding electric signal generated by the switch. See at least [0047], “FIG. 4 summarizes in a flow chart a possible embodiment of a method according to the invention. In the block 101 the driver 2 activates the interface device 21 (switch). The central control unit 23 sends a voice recognition activation command to the smartphone 5. The block 102 verifies whether voice recognition is available.”
Regarding Claim 30, Santucci discloses the following limitation dependent on Claim 22:
wherein the vehicle (1) is a saddle type vehicle having the switch (21) mounted on a handlebar (11) of the saddle type vehicle. See at least Fig.1 and 2.
Regarding Claim 31, Santucci discloses the following limitation dependent on claim 22:
wherein the safety gear comprises a helmet to be worn by the rider. See at least [0015], “FIG. 1 shows a motor vehicle driven by a driver wearing a helmet.”
Regarding Claim 32, Santucci discloses the following limitation dependent on Claim 22:
wherein the communication module (5) and the voice input module communicate over a wireless network. See at least [0021], “The smartphone (communication module) 5 is provided with a microphone to allow the driver 2 to communicate vocally with the smartphone 5 … microphone 9 can be connected to the smartphone 5 …. preferably with a wireless connection, for example by means of a Bluetooth connection.”
Regarding Claims 33 and 41, Santucci discloses the following limitation dependent on Claim 22 and 34:
comprising a display unit in communication with the control unit, the display unit configured to display a status upon activation of voice control. See at least [0025], “central control unit 23, in data exchange relationship with the smartphone 5.“ And [0045], “To facilitate the use of the functions described above, the driver 2 can be notified of various conditions or requests by means of an optical signal on the display of the smartphone 5 (legible for example if this is mounted on or in the dashboard of the motor vehicle 1) or preferably by means of an acoustic signal through the earpiece 7. For example, in this way the driver 2 can be notified of the following conditions or requests: correct activation of voice recognition.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 28 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Santucci, in view of Official Car Reviews “2019 MAZDA USER GUIDE - HOW-TO - Mazda6, Mazda3, CX9, CX5, CX3 and Others” (Hereinafter ”Mazda”), published September 29, 2018.
( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DiMtBCPsD18).
Regarding Claims 28 and 40, Santucci discloses a voice control system for a motorcycle, but he does not disclose a multifunction switch. However, Mazda teaches a voice control system dependent on Claims 22 and 34:
wherein the switch is configured to generate an electric signal corresponding to a plurality of functions including accepting or rejecting incoming phone calls (Time: 5:30),
changing volume or pausing music (Time:11:40),
navigating a screen installed in the vehicle (Time: 4:00),
viewing stored documents in a storage device of the vehicle (Time: 20:20)
when operated in the forward, rear, left, right positions in a vehicle front-rear direction (Time: 7:00).
As both are in the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Santucci’s voice control device with the multifunction switch limitations disclosed in Mazda with reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide safer driving functions, see Mazda [Time:1:00].
Additional Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and may be found on the accompanying PTO-892 Notice of References Cited:
US Publication US 2018/0041628 A1 Shannir et al.
US Publication US 2021/0074289 A1 Brommand et al.
European Publication EP 3955244 A1 YI HUI et al.
Conclusion
/B.K.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/Erin M Piateski/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669