DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs), submitted on 02 August 2024 and 15 May 2025, were filed after the mailing date of the patent application on 02 August 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings, received on 02 August 2024, are acceptable for examination.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 12, and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lohr et al. (US 20240064817 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Lohr”).
Regarding Claim 1, Claim 1 is rejected on the same basis as Claim 25.
Regarding Claim 12, Lohr discloses a method for capability determination, performed by a network device, the method comprises:
receiving capability indication information from a terminal (¶100 & Fig. 7 (Step 2), Lohr discloses receiving, by an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), a registration request from a user equipment (UE). Examiner correlates the AMF to "a network device"); and
determining, according to the capability indication information, whether the terminal supports a slice group (¶100 & Fig. 7 (Step 2), Lohr discloses determining, by the AMF according to the registration request, that the UE is capable of supporting S-NSSAI. ¶41-42 & ¶82-83, Lohr discloses that the S-NSSAI is mapped to a slice group, thus the UE indicates a capability of supporting a slice group having a slice group ID, which is mapped by a S-NSSAI).
Regarding Claim 25, Lohr discloses a terminal comprising:
a processor (¶123-141 & Fig. 10, Lohr discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising a processor 1005); and
a memory for storing a computer program (¶126 & Fig. 10, Lohr discloses the UE further comprising a memory 1010 where the memory 1010 stores instructions for execution by the processor 1005);
wherein the processor is configured to:
send capability indication information to a network device (¶100 & Fig. 7 (Step 2), Lohr discloses sending, by a user equipment (UE), a registration request to an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF). Examiner correlates the AMF to "a network device"), wherein the capability indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a slice group (¶100 & Fig. 7 (Step 2), Lohr discloses that the registration request indicates that the UE is capable of supporting S-NSSAI. ¶41-42 & ¶82-83, Lohr discloses that the S-NSSAI is mapped to a slice group, thus the UE indicates a capability of supporting a slice group having a slice group ID, which is mapped by a S-NSSAI).
Regarding Claim 26, Lohr discloses a network device, comprising:
a processor (¶142-157 & Fig. 11, Lohr discloses a network apparatus comprising a processor 1105); and
a memory for storing a computer program (¶142-157 & Fig. 11, Lohr discloses the network apparatus further comprising a memory 1110 where the memory 1110 stores instructions for execution by the processor 1105);
wherein when the computer program is executed by the processor, the method for capability indication according to claim 12 is implemented (See Rejection of Claim 12).
Regarding Claim 27, Lohr discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for storing a computer program (¶126 & Fig. 10, Lohr discloses the UE further comprising a memory 1010 where the memory 1010 stores instructions for execution by the processor 1005), wherein when the computer program is executed by a processor, steps in the method for capability indication according to claim 1 are implemented (See Rejection of Claim 1).
Regarding Claim 28, Lohr discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for storing a computer program, wherein when the computer program is executed by a processor, steps in the method for capability determination described (¶142-157 & Fig. 11, Lohr discloses the network apparatus further comprising a memory 1110 where the memory 1110 stores instructions for execution by the processor 1105) in claim 12 are implemented (See Rejection of Claim 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 6, 9, 13-14, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lohr in view of Intel Corporation (Intel Corporation, UE Capability for Slicing Enhancement, 17th January 2022, 3GPP, 3GPP TSG RAN WG2 Meeting #116bis-e, Agenda Item: 8.8.4, Tdoc: R2-2109627; See PTO-892: Non-Patent Documents: Reference U; hereinafter referred to as “Intel”).
Regarding Claim 2, Lohr discloses the method according to claim 1.
However, Lohr does not disclose wherein the capability indication information comprises first indication information, and the first indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a cell reselection based on slice group information.
Intel, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the capability indication information comprises first indication information (Pg. 1, §1 Introduction & §2.1 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based Cell Reselection, Intel discloses that the UE capability signaling comprises a parameter, sliceInfoforCellReselection-r17), and the first indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a cell reselection based on slice group information (Pg. 1, §1 Introduction & §2.1 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based Cell Reselection, Intel discloses that the parameter, sliceInfoforCellReselection-r17, indicates whether the UE supports cell reselection based on slice information for a slice group).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lohr by requiring that the capability indication information comprises first indication information and that the first indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a cell reselection based on slice group information as taught by Intel because gNB signaling overhead is reduced by enabling the UE to send UE capability information to prevent the gNB from sending unnecessary or unsupported signaling (Intel, Pg. 2, §2.1 Need of UE capability for slice based cell reselection).
Regarding Claim 3, Lohr discloses the method according to claim 1.
However, Lohr does not disclose wherein the capability indication information comprises second indication information, and the second indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a cell reselection based on single slice information.
Intel, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the capability indication information comprises second indication information (Pg. 1, §1 Introduction & §2.1 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based Cell Reselection, Intel discloses that the UE capability signaling comprises a parameter, sliceInfoforCellReselection-r17), and the second indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a cell reselection based on single slice information (Pg. 1, §1 Introduction & §2.1 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based Cell Reselection, Intel discloses that the parameter, sliceInfoforCellReselection-r17, indicates whether the UE supports cell reselection based on slice information for a single slice).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lohr by requiring that the capability indication information comprises first indication information and that the second indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a cell reselection based on single slice information as taught by Intel because gNB signaling overhead is reduced by enabling the UE to send UE capability information to prevent the gNB from sending unnecessary or unsupported signaling (Intel, Pg. 2, §2.1 Need of UE capability for slice based cell reselection).
Regarding Claim 6, Lohr discloses the method according to claim 1.
However, Lohr does not disclose wherein the capability indication information comprises fifth indication information, and the fifth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a random access channel based on slice group information; wherein the capability indication information comprises sixth indication information, and the sixth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a random access channel resource partition based on slice group information; or wherein the capability indication information comprises seventh indication information, and the seventh indication information indicates whether the terminal supports random access channel prioritization parameters based on slice group information.
Intel, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches the capability indication information comprises fifth indication information (Pg. 3, §2.2 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based RACH, Intel discloses a UE capability indication comprising a slice-based random access channel), and the fifth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a random access channel based on slice group information (Pg. 3, §2.2 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based RACH, Intel discloses slice-based random access channel feature based upon slice information for a single slice or a slice group);
wherein the capability indication information comprises sixth indication information (Pg. 3, §2.2 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based RACH, Intel discloses a UE capability indication comprising two slice-based random access channel sub-features), and the sixth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a random access channel resource partition based on slice group information (Pg. 3, §2.2 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based RACH, Intel discloses a slice-based random access channel sub-feature of slice-based random access channel resource partitioning based upon slice information for a single slice or a slice group); or
wherein the capability indication information comprises seventh indication information (Pg. 3, §2.2 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based RACH, Intel discloses a UE capability indication comprising two slice-based random access channel sub-features), and the seventh indication information indicates whether the terminal supports random access channel prioritization parameters based on slice group information (Pg. 3, §2.2 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based RACH, Intel discloses a slice-based random access channel sub-feature of slice-based random access channel prioritization parameters based upon slice information for a single slice or a slice group).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lohr by requiring that the capability indication information comprises fifth indication information, and the fifth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a random access channel based on slice group information; wherein the capability indication information comprises sixth indication information, and the sixth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a random access channel resource partition based on slice group information; or wherein the capability indication information comprises seventh indication information, and the seventh indication information indicates whether the terminal supports random access channel prioritization parameters based on slice group information as taught by Intel because gNB signaling overhead is reduced by enabling the UE to send UE capability information to prevent the gNB from sending unnecessary or unsupported signaling (Intel, Pg. 2, §2.1 Need of UE capability for slice based cell reselection).
Regarding Claim 9, Lohr discloses the method according to claim 1.
However, Lohr does not disclose wherein the capability indication information comprises eighth indication information, and the eighth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a random access channel based on single slice information; wherein the capability indication information comprises ninth indication information, and the ninth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a random access channel resource partition based on single slice information; or wherein the capability indication information comprises tenth indication information, and the tenth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports random access channel prioritization parameters based on single slice information.
Intel, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the capability indication information comprises eighth indication information (Pg. 3, §2.2 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based RACH, Intel discloses a UE capability indication comprising a slice-based random access channel), and the eighth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a random access channel based on single slice information (Pg. 3, §2.2 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based RACH, Intel discloses slice-based random access channel feature based upon slice information for a single slice or a slice group);
wherein the capability indication information comprises ninth indication information (Pg. 3, §2.2 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based RACH, Intel discloses a UE capability indication comprising two slice-based random access channel sub-features), and the ninth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a random access channel resource partition based on single slice information (Pg. 3, §2.2 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based RACH, Intel discloses a slice-based random access channel sub-feature of slice-based random access channel resource partitioning based upon slice information for a single slice or a slice group); or
wherein the capability indication information comprises tenth indication information (Pg. 3, §2.2 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based RACH, Intel discloses a UE capability indication comprising two slice-based random access channel sub-features), and the tenth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports random access channel prioritization parameters based on single slice information (Pg. 3, §2.2 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based RACH, Intel discloses a slice-based random access channel sub-feature of slice-based random access channel prioritization parameters based upon slice information for a single slice or a slice group).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lohr by requiring that the capability indication information comprises eighth indication information, and the eighth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a random access channel based on single slice information; wherein the capability indication information comprises ninth indication information, and the ninth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a random access channel resource partition based on single slice information; or wherein the capability indication information comprises tenth indication information, and the tenth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports random access channel prioritization parameters based on single slice information as taught by Intel because gNB signaling overhead is reduced by enabling the UE to send UE capability information to prevent the gNB from sending unnecessary or unsupported signaling (Intel, Pg. 2, §2.1 Need of UE capability for slice based cell reselection).
Regarding Claim 13, Lohr discloses the method according to claim 12.
However, Lohr does not disclose wherein the capability indication information comprises first indication information, and the first indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a cell reselection based on slice group information; wherein determining, according to the capability indication information, whether the terminal supports the slice group comprises: determining, according to the first indication information, whether the terminal supports the cell reselection based on the slice group information.
Intel, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the capability indication information comprises first indication information (Pg. 1, §1 Introduction & §2.1 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based Cell Reselection, Intel discloses that the UE capability signaling comprises a parameter, sliceInfoforCellReselection-r17), and the first indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a cell reselection based on slice group information (Pg. 1, §1 Introduction & §2.1 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based Cell Reselection, Intel discloses that the parameter, sliceInfoforCellReselection-r17, indicates whether the UE supports cell reselection based on slice information for a slice group);
wherein determining, according to the capability indication information, whether the terminal supports the slice group comprises:
determining, according to the first indication information, whether the terminal supports the cell reselection based on the slice group information (Pg. 1, §1 Introduction & §2.1 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based Cell Reselection, Intel discloses determining, according to the parameter sliceInfoforCellReselection-r17, whether the UE supports cell reselection based on slice information for a slice group).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lohr by requiring that the capability indication information comprises first indication information, and the first indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a cell reselection based on slice group information; wherein determining, according to the capability indication information, whether the terminal supports the slice group comprises: determining, according to the first indication information, whether the terminal supports the cell reselection based on the slice group information as taught by Intel because gNB signaling overhead is reduced by enabling the UE to send UE capability information to prevent the gNB from sending unnecessary or unsupported signaling (Intel, Pg. 2, §2.1 Need of UE capability for slice based cell reselection).
Regarding Claim 14, Lohr discloses the method according to claim 12.
However, Lohr does not disclose wherein the capability indication information comprises second indication information, and the second indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a cell reselection based on single slice information; wherein determining, according to the capability indication information, whether the terminal supports the slice group comprises: determining, according to the second indication information, whether the terminal supports the cell reselection based on the single slice information.
Intel, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the capability indication information comprises second indication information (Pg. 1, §1 Introduction & §2.1 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based Cell Reselection, Intel discloses that the UE capability signaling comprises a parameter, sliceInfoforCellReselection-r17), and the second indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a cell reselection based on single slice information (Pg. 1, §1 Introduction & §2.1 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based Cell Reselection, Intel discloses that the parameter, sliceInfoforCellReselection-r17, indicates whether the UE supports cell reselection based on slice information for a slice); wherein determining, according to the capability indication information, whether the terminal supports the slice group comprises:
determining, according to the second indication information, whether the terminal supports the cell reselection based on the single slice information (Pg. 1, §1 Introduction & §2.1 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based Cell Reselection, Intel discloses determining, according to the parameter sliceInfoforCellReselection-r17, whether the UE supports cell reselection based on slice information for a slice).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lohr by requiring that the capability indication information comprises second indication information, and the second indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a cell reselection based on single slice information; wherein determining, according to the capability indication information, whether the terminal supports the slice group comprises: determining, according to the second indication information, whether the terminal supports the cell reselection based on the single slice information as taught by Intel because gNB signaling overhead is reduced by enabling the UE to send UE capability information to prevent the gNB from sending unnecessary or unsupported signaling (Intel, Pg. 2, §2.1 Need of UE capability for slice based cell reselection).
Regarding Claim 17, Lohr discloses the method according to claim 12.
However, Lohr does not disclose wherein the capability indication information comprises one of: fifth indication information, sixth indication information, and seventh indication information, the fifth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a random access channel based on slice group information, the sixth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a random access channel resource partition based on slice group information, and the seventh indication information indicates whether the terminal supports random access channel prioritization parameters based on slice group information; wherein determining, according to the capability indication information, whether the terminal supports the slice group comprises one of: determining, according to the fifth indication information, whether the terminal supports the random access channel based on the slice group information; determining, according to the sixth indication information, whether the terminal supports the random access channel resource partition based on slice group information; or determining, according to the seventh indication information, whether the terminal supports the random access channel prioritization parameters based on the slice group information.
Intel, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the capability indication information comprises one of:
fifth indication information (Pg. 3, §2.2 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based RACH, Intel discloses a UE capability indication comprising a slice-based random access channel),
sixth indication information (Pg. 3, §2.2 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based RACH, Intel discloses a UE capability indication comprising two slice-based random access channel sub-features), and
seventh indication information (Pg. 3, §2.2 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based RACH, Intel discloses a UE capability indication comprising two slice-based random access channel sub-features),
the fifth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a random access channel based on slice group information (Pg. 3, §2.2 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based RACH, Intel discloses slice-based random access channel feature based upon slice information for a single slice or a slice group),
the sixth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a random access channel resource partition based on slice group information (Pg. 3, §2.2 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based RACH, Intel discloses a slice-based random access channel sub-feature of slice-based random access channel resource partitioning based upon slice information for a single slice or a slice group), and
the seventh indication information indicates whether the terminal supports random access channel prioritization parameters based on slice group information (Pg. 3, §2.2 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based RACH, Intel discloses a slice-based random access channel sub-feature of slice-based random access channel prioritization parameters based upon slice information for a single slice or a slice group);
wherein determining, according to the capability indication information, whether the terminal supports the slice group comprises one of:
determining, according to the fifth indication information, whether the terminal supports the random access channel based on the slice group information (Pg. 3, §2.2 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based RACH, Intel discloses determining, based upon a UE capability, whether the UE supports slice-based random access channel based upon slice information for a single slice or a slice group);
determining, according to the sixth indication information, whether the terminal supports the random access channel resource partition based on slice group information (Pg. 3, §2.2 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based RACH, Intel discloses determining, based upon a UE capability, whether the UE supports a slice-based random access channel sub-feature of slice-based random access channel resource partitioning based upon slice information for a single slice or a slice group); or
determining, according to the seventh indication information, whether the terminal supports the random access channel prioritization parameters based on the slice group information (Pg. 3, §2.2 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based RACH, Intel discloses determining, based upon the UE capability, a slice-based random access channel sub-feature of slice-based random access channel prioritization parameters based upon slice information for a single slice or a slice group).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lohr by requiring that the capability indication information comprises one of: fifth indication information, sixth indication information, and seventh indication information, the fifth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a random access channel based on slice group information, the sixth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a random access channel resource partition based on slice group information, and the seventh indication information indicates whether the terminal supports random access channel prioritization parameters based on slice group information; wherein determining, according to the capability indication information, whether the terminal supports the slice group comprises one of: determining, according to the fifth indication information, whether the terminal supports the random access channel based on the slice group information; determining, according to the sixth indication information, whether the terminal supports the random access channel resource partition based on slice group information; or determining, according to the seventh indication information, whether the terminal supports the random access channel prioritization parameters based on the slice group information as taught by Intel because gNB signaling overhead is reduced by enabling the UE to send UE capability information to prevent the gNB from sending unnecessary or unsupported signaling (Intel, Pg. 2, §2.1 Need of UE capability for slice based cell reselection).
Regarding Claim 20, Lohr discloses the method according to claim 12.
However, Lohr does not disclose wherein the capability indication information comprises one of eighth indication information, ninth indication information, and tenth indication information, the eighth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a random access channel based on single slice information, the ninth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a random access channel resource partition based on single slice information, and the tenth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports random access channel prioritization parameters based on single slice information; wherein determining, according to the capability indication information, whether the terminal supports the slice group comprises one of: determining, according to the eighth indication information, whether the terminal supports the random access channel based on the single slice information; determining, according to the ninth indication information, whether the terminal supports the random access channel resource partition based on the single slice information; or determining, according to the tenth indication information, whether the terminal supports the random access channel prioritization parameters based on the single slice information.
Intel, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the capability indication information comprises one of
eighth indication information (Pg. 3, §2.2 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based RACH, Intel discloses a UE capability indication comprising a slice-based random access channel),
ninth indication information (Pg. 3, §2.2 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based RACH, Intel discloses a UE capability indication comprising two slice-based random access channel sub-features), and
tenth indication information (Pg. 3, §2.2 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based RACH, Intel discloses a UE capability indication comprising two slice-based random access channel sub-features),
the eighth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a random access channel based on single slice information (Pg. 3, §2.2 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based RACH, Intel discloses slice-based random access channel feature based upon slice information for a single slice or a slice group),
the ninth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a random access channel resource partition based on single slice information (Pg. 3, §2.2 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based RACH, Intel discloses a slice-based random access channel sub-feature of slice-based random access channel resource partitioning based upon slice information for a single slice or a slice group), and
the tenth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports random access channel prioritization parameters based on single slice information (Pg. 3, §2.2 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based RACH, Intel discloses a slice-based random access channel sub-feature of slice-based random access channel prioritization parameters based upon slice information for a single slice or a slice group);
wherein determining, according to the capability indication information, whether the terminal supports the slice group comprises one of:
determining, according to the eighth indication information, whether the terminal supports the random access channel based on the single slice information (Pg. 3, §2.2 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based RACH, Intel discloses determining, based upon a UE capability, whether the UE supports slice-based random access channel based upon slice information for a single slice or a slice group);
determining, according to the ninth indication information, whether the terminal supports the random access channel resource partition based on the single slice information (Pg. 3, §2.2 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based RACH, Intel discloses determining, based upon a UE capability, whether the UE supports a slice-based random access channel sub-feature of slice-based random access channel resource partitioning based upon slice information for a single slice or a slice group); or
determining, according to the tenth indication information, whether the terminal supports the random access channel prioritization parameters based on the single slice information (Pg. 3, §2.2 Need of UE Capability for Slice Based RACH, Intel discloses determining, based upon the UE capability, a slice-based random access channel sub-feature of slice-based random access channel prioritization parameters based upon slice information for a single slice or a slice group).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lohr by requiring that the capability indication information comprises one of eighth indication information, ninth indication information, and tenth indication information, the eighth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a random access channel based on single slice information, the ninth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports a random access channel resource partition based on single slice information, and the tenth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports random access channel prioritization parameters based on single slice information; wherein determining, according to the capability indication information, whether the terminal supports the slice group comprises one of: determining, according to the eighth indication information, whether the terminal supports the random access channel based on the single slice information; determining, according to the ninth indication information, whether the terminal supports the random access channel resource partition based on the single slice information; or determining, according to the tenth indication information, whether the terminal supports the random access channel prioritization parameters based on the single slice information as taught by Intel because gNB signaling overhead is reduced by enabling the UE to send UE capability information to prevent the gNB from sending unnecessary or unsupported signaling (Intel, Pg. 2, §2.1 Need of UE capability for slice based cell reselection).
Claims 4-5 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lohr in view of Velev et al. (US 20250071670 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Velev”).
Regarding Claim 4, Lohr discloses the method according to claim 1.
However, Lohr does not disclose wherein the capability indication information comprises third indication information, and the third indication information indicates whether the terminal supports slice group information.
Velev, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the capability indication information comprises third indication information (¶72 & ¶44, Velev discloses a capability of the UE comprising a new parameter), and the third indication information indicates whether the terminal supports slice group information (¶72 & ¶44, Velev discloses that the new parameter indicates whether the UE supports reception, storage, and use of slice-based network selection information).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lohr by requiring that the capability indication information comprises third indication information, and the third indication information indicates whether the terminal supports slice group information as taught by Velev because wireless communication is improved by steering a device to networks supporting specific network slices (Velev, Abstract & ¶1-5).
Regarding Claim 5, Lohr discloses the method according to claim 1.
However, Lohr does not disclose wherein the capability indication information comprises fourth indication information, and the fourth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports single slice information.
Velev, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the capability indication information comprises fourth indication information (¶72 & ¶44, Velev discloses a capability of the UE comprising a new parameter), and the fourth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports single slice information (¶72 & ¶44, Velev discloses that the new parameter indicates whether the UE supports reception, storage, and use of slice-based network selection information).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lohr by requiring that the capability indication information comprises fourth indication information, and the fourth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports single slice information as taught by Velev because wireless communication is improved by steering a device to networks supporting specific network slices (Velev, Abstract & ¶1-5).
Regarding Claim 15, Lohr discloses the method according to claim 12.
However, Lohr does not disclose wherein the capability indication information comprises third indication information, and the third indication information indicates whether the terminal supports slice group information; wherein determining, according to the capability indication information, whether the terminal supports the slice group comprises: determining, according to the third indication information, whether the terminal supports the slice group information.
Velev, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the capability indication information comprises third indication information (¶72 & ¶44, Velev discloses a capability of the UE comprising a new parameter), and
the third indication information indicates whether the terminal supports slice group information (¶72 & ¶44, Velev discloses that the new parameter indicates whether the UE supports reception, storage, and use of slice-based network selection information);
wherein determining, according to the capability indication information, whether the terminal supports the slice group comprises:
determining, according to the third indication information, whether the terminal supports the slice group information (¶72 & ¶44, Velev discloses determining, according to the new parameter, whether the UE supports reception, storage, and use of slice-based network selection information).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lohr by requiring that the capability indication information comprises third indication information, and the third indication information indicates whether the terminal supports slice group information; wherein determining, according to the capability indication information, whether the terminal supports the slice group comprises: determining, according to the third indication information, whether the terminal supports the slice group information as taught by Velev because wireless communication is improved by steering a device to networks supporting specific network slices (Velev, Abstract & ¶1-5).
Regarding Claim 16, Lohr discloses the method according to claim 12.
However, Lohr does not disclose wherein the capability indication information comprises fourth indication information, and the fourth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports single slice information; wherein determining, according to the capability indication information, whether the terminal supports the slice group comprises: determining, according to the fourth indication information, whether the terminal supports the single slice information.
Velev, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the capability indication information comprises fourth indication information (¶72 & ¶44, Velev discloses a capability of the UE comprising a new parameter), and the fourth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports single slice information (¶72 & ¶44, Velev discloses that the new parameter indicates whether the UE supports reception, storage, and use of slice-based network selection information);
wherein determining, according to the capability indication information, whether the terminal supports the slice group comprises:
determining, according to the fourth indication information, whether the terminal supports the single slice information (¶72 & ¶44, Velev discloses determining, according to the new parameter, whether the UE supports reception, storage, and use of slice-based network selection information).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lohr by requiring that the capability indication information comprises fourth indication information, and the fourth indication information indicates whether the terminal supports single slice information; wherein determining, according to the capability indication information, whether the terminal supports the slice group comprises: determining, according to the fourth indication information, whether the terminal supports the single slice information as taught by Velev because wireless communication is improved by steering a device to networks supporting specific network slices (Velev, Abstract & ¶1-5).
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Conclusion
/ERIC NOWLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2474