DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2023/0189264 A1) in view of Khlat (US 2013/0337753 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses a processor (120) comprising memory (130) configured to cause the processor to: receive configuration information indicating to use a first antenna port for a single layer uplink multiple input multiple output (MIMO) communication (e.g. paragraph [0169]; [0143]; [0180]; [0225]; and so on, explaining UE assumes the SU-MIMO operation according to configuration received from the BS including antenna port(s)); swap the first antenna port and the second antenna port, and perform the single layer uplink MIMO communication using the second antenna (paragraph [0169]-[0170]; (0143]; and so on, describing the antenna ports are switching or swapping and data is transmitted).
Choi does not explicitly disclose wherein the first antenna port is associated with a first antenna, wherein a second antenna port is associated with a second antenna, and the swap is such that the first antenna port is associated with the second antenna and the second antenna port is associated with the first antenna.
Khlat teaches wherein the first antenna port is associated with a first antenna, wherein a second antenna port is associated with a second antenna, and the swap is such that the first antenna port is associated with the second antenna and the second antenna port is associated with the first antenna (paragraph [0241]-[0243]; [0247]-[0248]; [0253]; [0256]-[0257]; [0262]; and so on, explaining antennas ANT1 and ANT2 are associated with ports 98-M1 and 100-M2, and the port 98-M1 and port 100-M2 are swapped or switched, and now the port 100-M2 is associated with ANT1 and port 98-M1 is associated with ANT2 through signals TXCA1 and TXCA2 respectively).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein the first antenna port is associated with a first antenna, wherein a second antenna port is associated with a second antenna, and the swap is such that the first antenna port is associated with the second antenna and the second antenna port is associated with the first antenna as taught by Khlat into Choi in order to improve quality of communication and to reduce power consumption.
Regarding claim 9 and 16-17, the claims include features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1. The claims are mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding a wireless device and a method for operation in wireless communication, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto.
Claims 2-3 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Khlat, and further in view of Seo et al. (US 2023/0413188 A1).
Regarding claim 2-3 and 10-11, as applied above, Choi discloses wherein the memory is further configured to cause the processor to: determine to swap the first antenna port and the second antenna for the single layer uplink MIMO communication. However, Choi does not disclose the swap is based at least in part on a maximum transmit power level for the first antenna port and a maximum transmit power level for the second antenna port, and/or at least in part on reference signal received power (RSRP) for the first antenna port and RSRP for the second antenna port.
Seo teaches the swap is based at least in part on a maximum transmit power level for the first antenna port and a maximum transmit power level for the second antenna port, and/or at least in part on reference signal received power (RSRP) for the first antenna port and RSRP for the second antenna port (paragraph [0090]-[0094]; [0098]-[0103]; [0013]-[0018]; [0022]-[0024]; [0038]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the swap is based at least in part on a maximum transmit power level for the first antenna port and a maximum transmit power level for the second antenna port, and/or at least in part on reference signal received power (RSRP) for the first antenna port and RSRP for the second antenna port as taught by Seo to Choi in order to improve quality of service and lowering costs.
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Khlat, and further in view of Kotamraju et al. (US 2024/0243787 A1).
Regarding claim 4 and 12, as applied above, Choi discloses wherein the memory is further configured to cause the processor to: determine to swap the first antenna port and the second antenna port for the single layer uplink MIMO communication. Choi does not disclose the swap is based at least in part on an error rate for previous single layer uplink MIMO communication using the first antenna port.
Kotamraju teaches the swap is based at least in part on an error rate for previous single layer uplink MIMO communication using the first antenna port (paragraph [0069]-[0072]; [0093]; [0121]; [0061]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the swap is based at least in part on an error rate for previous single layer uplink MIMO communication using the first antenna port as taught by Kotamraju into Choi in order to reduce congestion and to improve rate of communication.
Claims 5, 13-14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Khlat, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2022/0295593 A1).
Regarding claim 5, 13-14, and 20, as applied above, Choi discloses wherein the memory is further configured to cause the processor to: determine to swap the first antenna port and the second antenna port for the single layer uplink MIMO communication. Choi does not disclose receive hand grip information, and the swap is based at least in part on the hand grip information.
Lee teaches receive hand grip information, and the swap is based at least in part on the hand grip information (paragraph [0174]; [0196]; [0088]-[0089]; [0092]; [0097]-[0098]; and etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use receive hand grip information, and the swap is based at least in part on the hand grip information as taught by Lee into Choi in order to improve efficiency of communication and power consumption.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8, 15, and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KIBROM T HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461