DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argue that the prior art does not teach the newly claimed limitations. However, these are met by Traugutt, Shah, and newly cited Becker. See rejection below.
Applicant argues that “Traugutt's method involves mixing components at 100°C for only 2 hours. This is fundamentally different from the claimed step of sealing the mixture in a container and heating to complete a ‘first stage reaction’ ” but this is not found persuasive. Traugutt teaches the same mesogen, spacer, stabilizer, and solvent that is claimed. Traugutt teaches heating and mixing these ingredients “to achieve an acrylate-capped oligomer”. Thus, the claimed “first stage reaction” is met by Traugutt. Application has not provided evidence that the reaction requires a longer reaction time, nor do the claims recite a longer reaction time. It has been held that when the claimed and prior art products are at least substantially identical, claimed properties are presumed to be inherent. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP §2112.01.
Applicant argues that “Second, Traugutt does not teach a "first stage reaction" as a distinct, completed step that precedes the introduction of a photoinitiator. In Traugutt, all components are mixed together in a one-pot process” but this is not found persuasive. The process of several stages of mixing is met by Shah, see rejection below. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant argues “Third, Traugutt does not teach mixing microspheres into the mixture to form a foam- capable resin. The present claims require a filler comprising microspheres to be mixed until evenly distributed throughout the resin, which is a feature entirely absent from Traugutt” but this is not found persuasive. Traugutt teaches the same mesogen, spacer, stabilizer, and solvent that is claimed. Shah teaches the microspheres were progressively added to a resin and incorporated by manual stirring, the resin was mixed in a dual asymmetric centrifugal mixer at 900 rpm for 5 minutes, see section 2.3. The combination meets the claimed evenly distributed microspheres.
Applicant argues “a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to combine Shah's microsphere incorporation techniques with Traugutt's LCE resin preparation because the two systems operate on entirely different chemical principles” but this is not found persuasive. Traugutt and Shah are both directed to materials are DLP printing with photoinitiators and acrylic polymers. Therefore, the references are analogous art and one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivation to look to the teachings of Shah to improve the DLP printing materials of Traugutt.
Applicant argues that “Xu teaches a polyurethane-modified organic silicone resin, which is a completely different resin system from the liquid crystal elastomer resin of the present claims. Xu's use of solvents is in the context of a hydrolysis reaction for silicone resins, not for tailoring viscosity of an LCE printing resin containing microspheres” but this is not found persuasive. Traugutt and Xu are both directed to materials are ultraviolet light 3D printing using photoinitiators and acrylic polymers. Therefore, the references are analogous art and one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivation to look to the teachings of Xu to improve the 3D printing materials of Traugutt.
Applicant argues that “Cole is directed to polymeric materials with crystalline and amorphous phases for orthodontic appliances-a fundamentally different field from stereolithography 3D printing of liquid crystal elastomer foam materials” but this is not found persuasive. Traugutt and Cole are both directed to materials are ultraviolet light 3D printing with photoinitiators and acrylic polymers. Therefore, the references are analogous art and one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivation to look to the teachings of Cole to improve the 3D printing materials of Traugutt.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TRAUGUTT, NA ET AL. "Liquid-Crystal-Elastomer-Based Dissipative Structures by Digital Light Processing 3D Printing" pages 1-7. Advanced Materials. Volume 32, Issue 28. 08 June 2020; in view of Shah et al. "Highly Filled Resins for OLP-based Printing of Low Density, High Modulus Materials". pages 1-35. Additive Manufacturing. Vol. 37; published 27 November 2020, and Becker et al. (US 2021/0284791 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Traugutt meets the claimed method for forming a three-dimensional (3D) printing resin, the method comprising: forming a mixture, (liquid crystal elastomer resin is used to print, see LCE Resin Preparation; abstract, page 6 paragraph 3, “the solution was mixed,” page 6 paragraph 3) wherein the forming comprises combining a mesogen with a solvent and a stabilizer; (1,4-Bis-[4-(3-acryloyoloxypropyloxy) benzoyloxy]me-2-methylbenzene (RM257) (mesogen), toluene, BHT (stabilizer), EDDET was added in a 1.1 :1 mol% ratio of mesogen to dithiol functional groups; page 6 paragraphs “Experimental Section”; Examiner notes that the instant application lists toluene as a solvent in claim 3, and BHT as a stabilizer in claim 4) heating the mixture to improve miscibility; (heated at 100C; page 6 “Experimental Section”) adding a spacer to the mixture; (EDDET was added; page 6 “Experimental Section”; the instant application lists EDDET as a spacer in claim 5), and adding a catalyst to the mixture. (triethylamine, TEA; page 6 “Experimental Section”; the Instant Application lists triethylamine as a catalyst in claim 6) heating the container to complete a first stage reaction; (The solution was mixed and then heated at 100 °C for 2 h) mixing a photoinitiator into the mixture after the first stage reaction; (0.005 wt% Sudan I were added to the solution, page 6 paragraphs “Experimental Section”)
Traugutt does not explicitly teach heating the mixture and remixing the mixture until the photoinitiator is fully dissolved; mixing a filler into the mixture until the filler is evenly distributed throughout the resin.
Shah teaches 0.37 wt% of photoinitiator (TPO), stirring for approximately 3 h at room temperature until a homogenous mixture was obtained. Dispersant was then added to the mixture and stirred magnetically for ~2 min until again homogenous, paragraph 2.3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the method of Traugutt to include a remixing step as taught by Shah in order to ensure the mixture is homogenous, Shah, paragraph 2.3.
Shah teaches mixing a filler into the mixture until the filler is evenly distributed throughout the resin; (the microspheres were progressively added to a resin and incorporated by manual stirring, the resin was mixed in a dual asymmetric centrifugal mixer at 900 rpm for 5 minutes; section 2.3),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the method of Traugutt to include mixing a filler into the mixture until the filler is evenly distributed throughout the resin, as taught by Shah, because incorporating a filler such as this allows a resin suitable for fabrication of low density, high modulus structures with fine resolution of negative and positive features (Shah; abstract).
Traugutt does not explicitly teach sealing the mixture in a container after adding the catalyst, heating the sealed container.
Becker teaches sealing the mixture in a container after adding the catalyst; heating the sealed container. (Becker teaches synthesizing polymers for 3D printing applications, [0003], using a sealed reaction vessel heating for 1 to 48 hours, [0085], examples include adding catalyst and toluene, the Schlenk tube was sealed with a PTFE plug and removed from the glovebox and heated to 80° C, see [0096], [0116]).
The courts have held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application, see MPEP § 2143(I).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the method of Traugutt and Shah to include sealing the mixture after adding catalyst and before heating as taught by Becker because a sealed reaction vessel yields the predicted result of polymerization without loss of solvent to evaporation.
Regarding claim 2, Traugutt meets the claimed method of claim 1, wherein the mesogen is selected from the group consisting of 2-methyl-1,4-phenylene bis(4-(3-(acryloyloxy) propoxy)benzoate)), (1,4-Bis-[4-(3-acryloyoloxypropyloxy) benzoyloxy]-2-methylbenzene (RM257) (mesogen); page 6 paragraphs “Experimental Section”; Examiner notes that this is a synonym for the claimed chemical, see Sigma Aldrich “926841” pg. 1) 4-[[[4-[(1-Oxo-2-propenyl)oxy]butoxy]carbonyl]oxy]benzoic acid 2-methyl-1,4-phenylene ester, 4-[4-[(1-oxo-2-propenyl)oxy]butoxy]-,2-methyl-1,4-phenylene ester, 2-methyl-1,4-phenylene bis(4-((6-(acryloyloxy) hexyl)oxy)benzoate), 4,4′-bis(acryloyl) biphenyl, 4-(6-(acryloyloxy) hexyloxy)phenyl 4-(6-(acryloyloxy) hexyloxy)benzoate, acrylic acid 6-[4′-(6-acryloyloxy-hexyloxy) biphenyl-4-yloxy]hexyl ester, 1,4:3,6-dianhydro-D-glucitol bis[4-[[4-[[4-[(1-oxo-2-propenyl)oxy]butoxy]carbonyl]oxy]benzoyl]oxy]benzoate], 1,4-phenylene bis[4-[6-(acryloyloxy) hexyloxy]benzoate], 1,4-phenylene bis(4-((acryloyloxy) methoxy)benzoate), [4-(3-prop-2-enoyloxypropoxy)phenyl]4-(3-prop-2-enoyloxypropoxy)benzoate, and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 3, Traugutt meets the claimed method of claim 1, wherein the solvent is selected from the group consisting of toluene, (toluene, page 6 paragraphs “Experimental Section”) dichloromethane, acetone, chloroform, tetrahydrofuran, benzene, hexane, and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 4, Traugutt meets the claimed method of claim 1, wherein the stabilizer is selected from the group consisting of dibutylhydroxytoluene (butylated hydroxytoluene; BHT), (BHT, page 6 paragraphs “Experimental Section”) 1,3,5-trimethyl-2,4,6-tris(3,5-di-tert-butyl-4-hydroxybenzyl)benzene, hydroquinone monomethyl ether, 2-(2-hydroxyphenyl)-2H-benzotriazoles, benzophenone, bisphenylene, and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 5, Traugutt meets the claimed method of claim 1, wherein the spacer is selected from the group consisting of 2,2′-(ethylenedioxy)diethanethiol (EDDET); (EDDET, page 6 paragraphs “Experimental Section”) ethane-1,2-dithiol, 1,3-propanedithiol, 1,6-hexanedithiol, 1,9-nonanedithiol, 1,11-undecanedithiol, poly(ethylene glycol) dithiol, tetra(ethylene glycol) dithiol, hexa (ethylene glycol) dithiol, 1,4-benzenedimethanethiol, N-butylamine, ethylene glycol bis(3-mercaptopropionate), and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 6, Traugutt meets the claimed method of claim 1, wherein the catalyst is selected from the group consisting of dipropylamine (DPA), hexylamine, triethylamine, (triethylamine (TEA), page 6 paragraphs “Experimental Section”) tetramethyl-1,8-naphthalenediamine, 1,8-diazabicyclo[5.4.0]undec-7-ene, 1,5-diazabicyclo[4.3.0]non-5-ene, tripropylphosphine, dimethylphenylphosphine, methyldiphenylphosphine, pentamethyldiethylenetriamine, and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 8, Traugutt meets the claimed method of claim 7, wherein the photoinitiator is selected from the group consisting of phenylbis(2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl) phosphine oxide (PPO), (phenylbis(2,4,6 trimethylbenzoyl)phosphine oxide (PPO), page 6 paragraphs “Experimental Section”) 2-hydroxy-2-methylpropiophenone, diphenyl(2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl) phosphine oxide, bis(2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl)-phenylphosphineoxide), 2,2-dimethoxy-2-phenylacetophenone, and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 10, Traugutt as modified by Shah meets the claimed method of claim 9, wherein the filler is selected from the group consisting of microspheres, (Shah teaches the microspheres were progressively added; section 2.3, Low-density hollow glass microspheres (K42HS), section 2.1) EXPANCEL® 920 DE 80d30, EXPANCEL® 920 DE 40d30, EXPANCEL® 031 DU40, DUALITE® E135-025D, DUALITER U015-135D, Kureha m330, Kureha m430, and combinations thereof. (Examiner notes the remaining limitations are alternatives).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TRAUGUTT, NA ET AL. "Liquid-Crystal-Elastomer-Based Dissipative Structures by Digital Light Processing 3D Printing" pages 1-7. Advanced Materials. Volume 32, Issue 28. 08 June 2020; in view of Shah et al. "Highly Filled Resins for OLP-based Printing of Low Density, High Modulus Materials". pages 1-35. Additive Manufacturing. Vol. 37; published 27 November 2020, and Becker et al. (US 2021/0284791 A1), in view of Xu (CN 106810664A), machine translation of record relied upon.
Regarding claim 11, Traugutt does not meet the claimed method of claim 7, further comprising tailoring viscosity of the mixture, wherein the tailoring comprises adding a second solvent to the mixture.
Xu meets the claimed further comprising tailoring viscosity of the mixture, wherein the tailoring comprises adding a second solvent to the mixture. (Xu taches a second solvent toluene, claim 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the method of Traugutt to include a second solvent as taught by Xu because Xu discloses a resin for 3D printing using two solvents achieves low buckling deformation tendency and resistance to corrosivity (abstract, paragraph [0019]).
Regarding claim 12, Traugutt meets the claimed method of claim 11, wherein the second solvent is selected from the group consisting of toluene, . (Xu taches a second solvent toluene, claim 10) dichloromethane, acetone, chloroform, tetrahydrofuran, benzene, hexane, and combinations thereof.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TRAUGUTT, NA ET AL. "Liquid-Crystal-Elastomer-Based Dissipative Structures by Digital Light Processing 3D Printing" pages 1-7. Advanced Materials. Volume 32, Issue 28. 08 June 2020; in view of Shah et al. "Highly Filled Resins for OLP-based Printing of Low Density, High Modulus Materials". pages 1-35. Additive Manufacturing. Vol. 37; published 27 November 2020, and Becker et al. (US 2021/0284791 A1) in view of Cole et al. (US 2021/0147672 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Traugutt does not meet the claimed method of claim 1, further comprising mixing a thermal initiator into the mixture.
Cole meets the claimed further comprising mixing a thermal initiator into the mixture.(the resin comprises a thermal initiator. In some embodiments, the thermal initiator comprises an azo compound, an inorganic peroxide, an organic peroxide, [0094])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the method Traugutt to include the thermal initiator of Cole because thermal initiator allows the resin to be cured without the need for UV or light or in low light, and adding a thermal initiator to a compound further comprising a photoinitiator may allow full curing of the resin in a shorter time or where light does not penetrate.
Regarding claim 14, Traugutt as modified meets the claimed method of claim 13, wherein the thermal initiator is selected from the group consisting of peroxides (Cole teaches an inorganic peroxide, an organic peroxide, [0094]) hydroperoxides, ketone peroxides, dialkyl peroxides, peroxyketals, peroxyesters, monoperoxy carbonates, diacyl peroxides, peroxy dicarbonates, tert-butyl peroxy-2-ethylhexanoate, n-butyl-4,4-di(tert-butylperoxy) valerate, 1,1-di(tert-butylperoxy)-3,3,5-trimethylcyclohexane, 1,1-bis(tert-amylperoxy)cyclohexane, 1,1-bis(tert-butylperoxy)cyclohexane, t-butyl peroxyneodecanoate, tert-butyl peroxybenzoate, and combinations thereof.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jones et al. (US 5,235,006 A) teaches the use of large amounts of solvent results in increased costs and often in unacceptable levels of atmospheric pollution. Especially large amounts of solvent are often required for conventional coatings vehicles whose Tgs and molecular weight are high enough to impart desirable properties without cross-linking. Presence of mesogenic groups can both improve their properties and reduce the amount of solvent required, see Col. 3, lines 5-35.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL M. ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744