DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SATO WO2020090858A1.
Regarding claim 1, SATO discloses
An elevator device (figs, 1 and 17) comprising a car (item 300), a hoisting machine (item 700), and a control panel (item 100) that controls operation, wherein the control panel has a regenerative resistance panel part (item 7), a main circuit panel part (item 2), a power receiving panel part (item 1), a signal panel part (item 4), and a battery panel part (item 3).
WO does not explicitly say “the main circuit panel part and the power receiving panel part are arranged in parallel in a horizontal direction” and “and the regenerative resistance panel part, the main circuit panel part and power receiving panel part, the signal panel part, and the battery panel part are arranged in an order of, from top to bottom, the regenerative resistance panel part, the main circuit panel part and power receiving panel part, the signal panel part, and the battery panel part”. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange items 1 and 2 in parallel in a horizontal direction and arrange items 7, 2, 1, 4 and 3 from top to bottom in WO’s teachings to improve workability because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of MAKINO. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) for rearrangement of parts.
Regarding claim 2, SATO discloses
, wherein the regenerative resistance panel part, the main circuit panel part, the signal panel part, and the battery panel part are arranged in series (see fig. 17 for detail).
Regarding claim 3, SATO discloses
, wherein the power receiving panel part is disposed in such a manner as to protrude horizontally from a row of the regenerative resistance panel part, main circuit panel part, signal panel part, and battery panel part arranged in series. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to protrude horizontally from a row of the regenerative resistance panel part, main circuit panel part, signal panel part, and battery panel part arranged in series in WO’s teachings to improve workability because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of MAKINO. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) for rearrangement of parts.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 4 discloses details of individual panels.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Swaybill (US 6,478,117 B2) discloses a controller and a governor positioned in the hoistway.
YAO (EP 1930278 A1) discloses a control board for elevator.
/BICKEY DHAKAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837