DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a rotation driving unit” in claim 1; and “a heating unit” in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "wherein a thickness of the holding ring in a radial direction thereof increases as distances from positions with which the plurality of support pins is contact" is not understood. More specifically, the phrase “the plurality of support pins is contact” is indefinite because it is unclear what is being contacted. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2020-516076 (hereafter, JP ‘076).
Regarding claim 1, JP ‘076 discloses a wet processing apparatus comprising: a stage (1011/1012); a plurality of support pins protruding upward from the stage, respectively, and supporting an outer edge of a workpiece at positions spaced from each other in a circumferential direction (105 and/or 1044); a rotation driving unit for rotating the stage about a rotation axis extending in a vertical direction (102, “rotary drive mechanism”); and a supply nozzle for supplying a process liquid to the workpiece supported by the plurality of support pins from above the workpiece (107), wherein the wet processing apparatus comprises a holding ring placed on the stage so as to surround the plurality of support pins below the workpiece (Figures 2-5: surrounding portion of 101 defined by the outer circumferential surface and elements 1014/1015).
Note that supporting, rotating and supplying a liquid to a workpiece as claimed is intended use of the claimed apparatus capable of being met by the prior art. The claimed intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Regarding claims 2, JP ‘076 discloses wherein a thickness of the holding ring in a radial direction thereof increases as distances from positions with which the plurality of support pins is contact, respectively, increase (Figures 2, 5: see 105 or 1044 and shape of 101);
Regarding claims 5 and 6, the limitations directed to supplying the liquid and rotating the stage as claimed are intended use of the claimed apparatus and are capable of being met by the prior art. The claimed intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Claim(s) 1, and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hara et al. (US 2016/0293401).
Regarding claim 1, Hara discloses a wet processing apparatus comprising: a stage (34); a plurality of support pins protruding upward from the stage, respectively, and supporting an outer edge of a workpiece at positions spaced from each other in a circumferential direction (34i); a rotation driving unit for rotating the stage about a rotation axis extending in a vertical direction (34b); and a supply nozzle for supplying a process liquid to the workpiece supported by the plurality of support pins from above the workpiece (35), wherein the wet processing apparatus comprises a holding ring placed on the stage so as to surround the plurality of support pins below the workpiece (36).
Note that supporting, rotating and supplying a liquid to a workpiece as claimed is intended use of the claimed apparatus capable of being met by the prior art. The claimed intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, the limitations directed to supplying the liquid and rotating the stage as claimed are intended use of the claimed apparatus and are capable of being met by the prior art. The claimed intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Regarding claim 7, Hara discloses a heating unit for heating the workpiece supported by the plurality of support pins (34e).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2020-516076 (hereafter, JP ‘076) or Hara et al. (US 2016/0293401) in view of Cripe et al. (US 5,421,595).
JP ‘076 or Hara is relied upon as above, but does not expressly disclose wherein the holding ring includes a vinylidene fluoride rubber, synthetic quartz, or polytetrafluoroethylene.
Cripe discloses a vacuum chuck (10) for a semiconductor wafer (56) wherein an external chuck (12) is fabricated from ptfe or pvdf teflon, or metal, and a protective cover (13) on the upper surface of the chuck is made of polyethylene, ptfe Teflon, or other polymer material compatible with the etching process (col. 2, lines 17-25).
Because it is known in the art to fabricate a chuck or chuck cover from ptfe, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, providing a known chemical resistant/compatible material, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the holding ring includes a vinylidene fluoride rubber, synthetic quartz, or polytetrafluoroethylene.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose, or render obvious, the wet processing apparatus as defined by the combination of claims 1 and 4. There is no apparent teaching suggestion, or motivation to modify the closest prior art, JP 2020-516076 (hereafter, JP ‘076) or Hara et al. (US 2016/0293401), to further include wherein an O-ring is arranged on a position with which a lower surface of the holding ring is in contact, and an external dimension of the O-ring is more than that of the holding ring.
Conclusion
DAVID G. CORMIER
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/DAVID G CORMIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711