DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The following is a non-final Office Action in response to amendments filed 10 December 2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05 August 2024 are being considered by the Examiner.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application(s) PCT/IB2023/050945 under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 19 is currently drafted as depending upon claim 20 which is an improper reference to a numerically following claim (see MPEP 608.01(n)). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims are directed to a process (an act, or series of acts or steps), a machine (a concrete thing, consisting of parts, or of certain devices and combination of devices), and a manufacture (an article produced from raw or prepared materials by giving these materials new forms, qualities, properties, or combinations, whether by hand labor or by machinery). Thus, each of the claims falls within one of the four statutory categories (Step 1). The claims recite a system and a method (process), however, the claim(s) recite(s) tracking progress of at least one student towards a goal by generating and associating point values and progress levels which is an abstract idea of organizing human activities.
The limitations of:
In claim 1: “input or facilitate input of the progress data of the at least one student; track progress of the at least one student towards the achievement of at least one goal based on the progress data of the at least one student; and; wherein the progress tracking application is further configured to generate and present a plurality of progress levels, the progress levels correlating to progress towards the at least one goal of the at least one student in the GUI, and wherein each of the progress levels has an associated point value, and the progress tracking application is further configured to record and present progress level information in the GUI, the progress level information relating to sequential progress or sequential regress of the at least one student from one level to another based on the point value,”
In claim 17: “tracking progress of the at least one student towards the at least one goal based on the progress data of the at least one student; executing the GUI and generating and displaying at least one indicator on the display device, the indicator providing visual indication of the progress of the at least one student; generating and presenting a plurality of progress levels, the progress levels correlating to progress towards the at least one goal of the at least one student in the GUI; associating a point value to each of the progress levels; and recording and presenting progress level information in the GUI, the progress level information relating to sequential progress or sequential regress of the at least one student from one level to another based on the point value”
...as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers organizing human activities--fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) but for the recitation of generic computer components (Step 2A Prong 1). That is, other than reciting “A progress tracking system for displaying progress of at least one student by way of a graphical user interface (GUI), the system comprising: a server configured to store information, the information comprising at least an identity of at least one student, at least one goal of the at least one student and progress data of the at least one student towards achieving the at least one goal, and at least one user device configured to launch a progress tracking application that is configured to:,” (or “A computer implemented method for displaying progress of at least one student by way of a graphical user interface (GUI) of an electronic apparatus comprising a display device, a processor and a memory, the method comprising” in claim 17) nothing in the claim element precludes the step from the methods of organizing human interactions grouping. For example, but for the ““A progress tracking system for displaying progress of at least one student by way of a graphical user interface (GUI), the system comprising: a server configured to store information, the information comprising at least an identity of at least one student, at least one goal of the at least one student and progress data of the at least one student towards achieving the at least one goal, and at least one user device configured to launch a progress tracking application that is configured to:,” (or “A computer implemented method for displaying progress of at least one student by way of a graphical user interface (GUI) of an electronic apparatus comprising a display device, a processor and a memory, the method comprising” in claim 17)” language, “input/inputting,” “track/tracking,” “generate/generating,” and “associate/associating” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually tracking a student’s progress which is managing personal behavior. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation as a method of organizing human activities but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activities” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim(s) recite(s) an abstract idea (Step 2A, Prong One: YES).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (Step 2A Prong Two). The “execute the GUI to generate and display at least one indicator that provides visual indication of the progress of said at least one student” and “executing the GUI and generating and displaying at least one indicator on the display device...” are simply an insignificant post solution output. Next, the claim only recites one additional element – using at least one user device and electronic apparatus configured to perform the steps. The at least one user device and electronic apparatus configured to perform the steps is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of electronic data storage, query, and retrieval) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Specifically the claims amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer or invoking computers as tools by adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) discussing MPEP 2106.05(f). The claims recitation of the “establish communication with the server via a network” and “executing the GUI” are only generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) discussing MPEP 2106.05(h). Accordingly, the combination of these additional elements does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea, even when considered as a whole (Step 2A Prong Two: NO).
The claim does not include a combination of additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (Step 2B). As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application (Step 2A Prong 2), the combination of additional elements of using at least one user device and electronic apparatus configured to perform the steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Reevaluating here in step 2B, the “execute the GUI to generate and display at least one indicator that provides visual indication of the progress of said at least one student” and “executing the GUI and generating and displaying at least one indicator on the display device...” step(s) which are insignificant extrasolution activities are also determined to be well-understood, routine and conventional activity in the field. The Symantec, TLI, and OIP Techs court decisions in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that the mere receipt or transmission of data over a network is well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as is here). Therefore, when considering the additional elements alone, and in combination, there is no inventive concept in the claim. As such, the claim(s) is/are not patent eligible, even when considered as a whole (Step 2B: NO).
Claims 2, 8, and 18 recite(s) the additional limitation(s) further limiting data input which is still directed towards the abstract idea previously identified and is not an inventive concept that meaningfully limits the abstract idea. Again, as discussed with respect to claims 1 and 17, the claims are simply limitations which are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a computer or with computing components. Accordingly, the additional element(s) does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Even when considered as a whole, the claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Claim 3 and 19 recite(s) the additional limitation(s) further including how the server is in communication with the network which is not an inventive concept that meaningfully limits the abstract idea. Again, as discussed with respect to claims 1 and 17, the claims are simply limitations which are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a computer or with computing components. Accordingly, the additional element(s) does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Even when considered as a whole, the claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Claims 4, 9-11, 14-16, and 20 recite(s) the additional limitation(s) further limiting data output and presented which is still directed towards the abstract idea previously identified and is not an inventive concept that meaningfully limits the abstract idea. Again, as discussed with respect to claims 1 and 17, the claims are simply limitations which are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a computer or with computing components. Accordingly, the additional element(s) does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Even when considered as a whole, the claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Claims 5-7 recite(s) the additional limitation(s) further including managing of authorized users, which is still directed towards the abstract idea previously identified and is not an inventive concept that meaningfully limits the abstract idea. Again, as discussed with respect to claims 1 and 17, the claims are simply limitations which are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a computer or with computing components. Accordingly, the additional element(s) does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Even when considered as a whole, the claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Claims 12-13 recite(s) the additional limitation(s) further including indices and points, which is still directed towards the abstract idea previously identified and is not an inventive concept that meaningfully limits the abstract idea. Again, as discussed with respect to claims 1 and 17, the claims are simply limitations which are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a computer or with computing components. Accordingly, the additional element(s) does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Even when considered as a whole, the claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Claims 1-20 are therefore not eligible subject matter, even when considered as a whole.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Creamer et al. (US PG Pub. 2013/0330704).
As per claims 1 and 17, Creamer discloses a progress tracking system and computer implemented method for displaying progress of at least one student by way of a graphical user interface (GUI), the system comprising (computing system, memory, Creamer ¶70 and Fig. 1):
a server configured to store information, the information comprising at least an identity of at least one student, at least one goal of the at least one student and progress data of the at least one student towards achieving the at least one goal (server, Creamer ¶70 and Fig. 1; UI, In one embodiment, the guidance UI comprises graduation progress data, transcript data, an academic status indicator, course scheduling data, standardized testing results, academic goals and achievements, career goals and achievements, post secondary goals and achievements, and extracurricular activity participation records, goals and achievements. In an embodiment, the admissions UI includes profile data, program of study data (e.g. diploma data), an admissions checklist, enrollment data for past, current and future academic sessions, resources and forms, and student documents and records. In one embodiment, the course information UI includes course expectation data, course syllabus data, gradebook data, attendance data, progress indicators, communication or messaging data, instructor data, assignment data, and access to the virtual classroom. In one embodiment the social networking UI comprises student yearbook, newsletter, literature magazine, blogs, and peer-to-peer communication and interaction. In one embodiment the knowledge center UI includes a course catalog, FAQs, a student handbook, course expectations, tutorials, and student orientation information. In one embodiment the student portfolio UI includes accomplishments, post graduation plans, academic work samples, unofficial transcripts, course syllabi, ¶69; for a specific goal, ¶59), and
at least one user device configured to launch a progress tracking application that is configured to (device, Creamer ¶70-¶71; application, ¶48 and ¶54):
establish communication with the server via a network (network, Creamer ¶110);
input or facilitate input of the progress data of the at least one student (SMM 165 is a software subsystem and integrated component of SIS 115 that allows students to manage their online education experience and enables staff to manage and track students enrolled in classes, or otherwise accessing educational content or instruction, provided by an online educational system provider. SMM 165 is comprised of multiple software applications and/or computer modules which are configured to automate a plurality of student management functions including admissions, student registration, student self-management, course registration, course planning, student counseling, course scheduling, performance tracking, attendance tracking, and assessment reporting. Enrolled students (as well as potential students) and their progress are managed by SMM 165. In one embodiment, course management includes enforcing course content requirements that may be mandated by, for example, an accreditation authority, a school board, a school district, a state government, the federal government, or an education industry standard, Creamer ¶54);
track progress of the at least one student towards the achievement of at least one goal based on the progress data of the at least one student (Functionality enabled by SMM 165 for a student includes, for example: curriculum and graduation tracking and progress reporting, contact information, relationships (e.g. family) to other users, transcripts, attendance, special education information, note tracking, action history and messaging. In various embodiments, SIS 115 provides full functionality to track all contact information to a student include contact information for family members and other relationships. Transcript entry, tracking and evaluation are also built into the system. Attendance is a configurable feature that schools can turn off or on and have a multitude of configurations that can be set around the collection, evaluation and reporting. Special education information is tracked per student is different types can be configured by the school. Note tracking and action history can be combined to fully track when an action has been taken on a student (any kind of change of data to that student) to track why it was done by the person who did it. Messaging is an internal messaging (e.g. email) system that is fully integrated in SIS 115 and can be reported against, etc, Creamer ¶58; track student attendance, ¶91; for a specific goal, ¶59); and
execute the GUI to generate and display at least one indicator that provides visual indication of the progress of said at least one student (A progress option 608 may, if selected, enable a UI displaying a variety of information or data associated with a user's progress through a course or courses. For example, a progress option 608 may display one or more courses needed for graduation, one or more courses that will meet or satisfy a particular course requirement. In addition, a progress option 608 may display a visual indicator (e.g., a graph or status indicator) of a user's progress towards graduation (e.g., as a percentage of a total number of courses completed, a number completed and a number needed for graduation, and the like). Further, in various embodiments, a progress option 608 may display a user's course schedule, including a current course schedule, a past course schedule, an upcoming course schedule, a suggested course schedule, and the like, Creamer ¶78 and Fig. 4);
wherein the progress tracking application is further configured to generate and present a plurality of progress levels, the progress levels correlating to progress towards the at least one goal of the at least one student in the GUI (A progress option 608 may, if selected, enable a UI displaying a variety of information or data associated with a user's progress through a course or courses. For example, a progress option 608 may display one or more courses needed for graduation, one or more courses that will meet or satisfy a particular course requirement. In addition, a progress option 608 may display a visual indicator (e.g., a graph or status indicator) of a user's progress towards graduation (e.g., as a percentage of a total number of courses completed, a number completed and a number needed for graduation, and the like). Further, in various embodiments, a progress option 608 may display a user's course schedule, including a current course schedule, a past course schedule, an upcoming course schedule, a suggested course schedule, and the like, Creamer ¶78, Fig. 4, and Fig. 6; see also curriculum and graduation tracking and progress monitoring, ¶58), and
wherein each of the progress levels has an associated point value, and the progress tracking application is further configured to record and present progress level information in the GUI, the progress level information relating to sequential progress or sequential regress of the at least one student from one level to another based on the point value (The performance tracking module of SMM 165 automatically determines the performance tracking and reporting requirements for a student based upon a multitude of factors including predefined rules associated with federal requirements, state requirements, degree requirements, school requirements, the student's past performance, the student's current classes, etc. The performance module accesses CDR 150 data to assess student performance indicators such as the grade in a class, overall grade point average, grade point average in a particular academic discipline, standardized testing scores, grade trends, attendance indicators, attendance trends, etc. In one embodiment, the module determines when a performance report is required based upon a timeframe, the student performance indicators, performance tracking requirements, a student preference, a parent preference, or a guidance counselor preference. When a performance report is required, the module may generate and format a performance report and distribute it to a student, parent, guidance counselor, third-party system, the state government or the federal government. Furthermore, the performance tracking mechanism provides data and calculations to PSP 195 to present in the portal's progress tracking interface, Creamer ¶142; see also a progress option 608 (and/or any other option 604, 606, and/or 610) may calculate and/or display a grade or score associated with a student. For example, in various embodiments, a student may be assigned (for purposes of illustration) twenty assignments toward course completion. The student's final grade may comprise an average or weighted average of the scores received for each of the twenty assignments. However, in various embodiments, a student's score may be time based. For instance, a student's score may comprise a percentage or ratio of the number of assignments that the student has been assigned and should have completed (based upon assignment due dates or deadlines) by a particular time during the course in proportion to a number of assignments that the student has actually completed by the particular time. Thus, for example, where a student has been assigned twenty assignments, all of which have passed their due dates, if the student has only completed ten of these assignments (even if the student has scored 100% on each of the ten completed assignments), the student's score may reflect a completion ratio of 50% (10 completed assignments divided by 20 total assignments due). Thus, the PSP 195 (and/or the LMS 185 and/or the SIS 115) may measure a student's progress in terms of assignments completed, rather than (or in addition to) in terms of the student's score or performance with respect to each completed assignment, ¶79; grade point average over time, decreased or fallen below an average or threshold over time, ¶100) (Examiner notes the tasks and courses contributing to the overall grade point average as the equivalent to the present progress level for a course (grade) with an associated point value and levels. The Examiner also notes that the points from tasks/assignments could also be interpreted as the associated point value with levels i.e. points for letter grade levels and how those points attribute to the overall grade for the course and grade point average).
As per claims 2 and 18, Creamer discloses as shown above with respect to claims 1 and 17. Creamer further discloses wherein the progress tracking application is further configured to input or facilitate input of the at least one goal of the at least one student (for a specific goal, Creamer ¶59; UI, In one embodiment, the guidance UI comprises graduation progress data, transcript data, an academic status indicator, course scheduling data, standardized testing results, academic goals and achievements, career goals and achievements, post secondary goals and achievements, and extracurricular activity participation records, goals and achievements. In an embodiment, the admissions UI includes profile data, program of study data (e.g. diploma data), an admissions checklist, enrollment data for past, current and future academic sessions, resources and forms, and student documents and records. In one embodiment, the course information UI includes course expectation data, course syllabus data, gradebook data, attendance data, progress indicators, communication or messaging data, instructor data, assignment data, and access to the virtual classroom. In one embodiment the social networking UI comprises student yearbook, newsletter, literature magazine, blogs, and peer-to-peer communication and interaction. In one embodiment the knowledge center UI includes a course catalog, FAQs, a student handbook, course expectations, tutorials, and student orientation information. In one embodiment the student portfolio UI includes accomplishments, post graduation plans, academic work samples, unofficial transcripts, course syllabi, ¶69).
As per claim 3, Creamer discloses as shown above with respect to claim 1. Creamer further discloses wherein the progress tracking application is further configured to establish a connection with the server via a network, the server being configured to store information (host server and memory, Creamer ¶70; computer networks, ¶40).
As per claims 4 and 20, Creamer discloses as shown above with respect to claims 1 and 17. Creamer further discloses wherein the at least one indicator is a progress bar and the progress tracking application is configured to present the progress level information as the progress bar (Fig. 4 and Fig. 6 showing current courses progress bars, Creamer ¶28, ¶72, and ¶75).
As per claim 5, Creamer discloses as shown above with respect to claim 1. Creamer further discloses wherein the progress tracking application is further configured allow an authorised user to change the at least one goal (In an embodiment a security/roles feature enables the ability to configure and govern what an entity in the system is authorized to view, change, add or delete. Roles are created to encompass a group of authorizations and an entity can be assigned multiple roles to establish a different range or security, Creamer ¶33; In various embodiments, student properties are extended, trackable, changeable, configurable data points that can be assigned to students and are created at a school level by school administrators. These data points can be assigned, changed, validated, reported on, etc. In various embodiments, student property groups are a collection of student properties used for an organization. A student property is immediately available to the administrators of the system, ¶35).
As per claim 6, Creamer discloses as shown above with respect to claim 1. Creamer further discloses wherein the progress tracking application is further configured to allow an authorised user to input progress data (In an embodiment a security/roles feature enables the ability to configure and govern what an entity in the system is authorized to view, change, add or delete. Roles are created to encompass a group of authorizations and an entity can be assigned multiple roles to establish a different range or security, Creamer ¶33; In various embodiments, student properties are extended, trackable, changeable, configurable data points that can be assigned to students and are created at a school level by school administrators. These data points can be assigned, changed, validated, reported on, etc. In various embodiments, student property groups are a collection of student properties used for an organization. A student property is immediately available to the administrators of the system, ¶35).
As per claim 7, Creamer discloses as shown above with respect to claim 1. Creamer further discloses wherein the progress tracking application is further configured to prevent an unauthorised user from assigning themselves a goal and/or updating progress data (In an embodiment a security/roles feature enables the ability to configure and govern what an entity in the system is authorized to view, change, add or delete. Roles are created to encompass a group of authorizations and an entity can be assigned multiple roles to establish a different range or security, Creamer ¶33; In various embodiments, student properties are extended, trackable, changeable, configurable data points that can be assigned to students and are created at a school level by school administrators. These data points can be assigned, changed, validated, reported on, etc. In various embodiments, student property groups are a collection of student properties used for an organization. A student property is immediately available to the administrators of the system, ¶35).
As per claim 8, Creamer discloses as shown above with respect to claim 1. Creamer further discloses wherein the progress tracking application is configured to allow the at least one student to submit the at least one goal for review (In an embodiment a security/roles feature enables the ability to configure and govern what an entity in the system is authorized to view, change, add or delete. Roles are created to encompass a group of authorizations and an entity can be assigned multiple roles to establish a different range or security, Creamer ¶33; In various embodiments, student properties are extended, trackable, changeable, configurable data points that can be assigned to students and are created at a school level by school administrators. These data points can be assigned, changed, validated, reported on, etc. In various embodiments, student property groups are a collection of student properties used for an organization. A student property is immediately available to the administrators of the system, ¶35).
As per claim 9, Creamer discloses as shown above with respect to claim 1. Creamer further discloses wherein the progress tracking application is further configured to display the identity of the at least one student in the GUI (see student name “Abbot, Ashley” in Creamer Fig. 4 and “Angela Anderson” in Fig. 6).
As per claim 10, Creamer discloses as shown above with respect to claim 1. Creamer further discloses wherein the progress tracking application is further configured to display one or more of. the identity of the at least one student, overall progress achieved by the at least one student, remaining progress to be achieved by the at least one student to reach the at least one goal, a percentage value of the overall points achieved by the at least one student, and/or information regarding whether the at least one student is on or behind schedule to achieve the at least one goal within a given timeframe in the GUI (The performance tracking module of SMM 165 automatically determines the performance tracking and reporting requirements for a student based upon a multitude of factors including predefined rules associated with federal requirements, state requirements, degree requirements, school requirements, the student's past performance, the student's current classes, etc. The performance module accesses CDR 150 data to assess student performance indicators such as the grade in a class, overall grade point average, grade point average in a particular academic discipline, standardized testing scores, grade trends, attendance indicators, attendance trends, etc. In one embodiment, the module determines when a performance report is required based upon a timeframe, the student performance indicators, performance tracking requirements, a student preference, a parent preference, or a guidance counselor preference. When a performance report is required, the module may generate and format a performance report and distribute it to a student, parent, guidance counselor, third-party system, the state government or the federal government. Furthermore, the performance tracking mechanism provides data and calculations to PSP 195 to present in the portal's progress tracking interface, Creamer ¶142; see also a progress option 608 (and/or any other option 604, 606, and/or 610) may calculate and/or display a grade or score associated with a student. For example, in various embodiments, a student may be assigned (for purposes of illustration) twenty assignments toward course completion. The student's final grade may comprise an average or weighted average of the scores received for each of the twenty assignments. However, in various embodiments, a student's score may be time based. For instance, a student's score may comprise a percentage or ratio of the number of assignments that the student has been assigned and should have completed (based upon assignment due dates or deadlines) by a particular time during the course in proportion to a number of assignments that the student has actually completed by the particular time. Thus, for example, where a student has been assigned twenty assignments, all of which have passed their due dates, if the student has only completed ten of these assignments (even if the student has scored 100% on each of the ten completed assignments), the student's score may reflect a completion ratio of 50% (10 completed assignments divided by 20 total assignments due). Thus, the PSP 195 (and/or the LMS 185 and/or the SIS 115) may measure a student's progress in terms of assignments completed, rather than (or in addition to) in terms of the student's score or performance with respect to each completed assignment, ¶79; see student name “Abbot, Ashley” in Creamer Fig. 4 and “Angela Anderson” in Fig. 6).
As per claim 11, Creamer discloses as shown above with respect to claim 1. Creamer further discloses wherein the progress tracking application is further configured to present a notification alert to a user of the user device in the GUI (notifications, notify if a particular grade drops below a threshold, ¶82; alert indicating grade point average has fallen below a threshold, ¶103).
As per claim 12, Creamer discloses as shown above with respect to claim 1. Creamer further discloses wherein the progress tracking application is further configured to generate a plurality of indices based on the progress of the at least one student, each of the plurality of indices having its own plurality of levels and each of plurality of levels of the indices having a point value associated with it (The performance module accesses CDR 150 data to assess student performance indicators such as the grade in a class, overall grade point average, grade point average in a particular academic discipline, standardized testing scores, grade trends, attendance indicators, attendance trends, etc. In one embodiment, the module determines when a performance report is required based upon a timeframe, the student performance indicators, performance tracking requirements, a student preference, a parent preference, or a guidance counselor preference. When a performance report is required, the module may generate and format a performance report and distribute it to a student, parent, guidance counselor, third-party system, the state government or the federal government. Furthermore, the performance tracking mechanism provides data and calculations to PSP 195 to present in the portal's progress tracking interface, Creamer ¶142) (Examiner notes the student indicators and how they contribute as the plurality of indices).
As per claim 13, Creamer discloses as shown above with respect to claim 1. Creamer further discloses wherein the progress tracking application is further configured to track progress with points, the GUI configured to display in the GUI at least one of: a total number of points that needs to be achieved for each of the at least one goals, total number of points already achieved for each of the at least one goals, and/or a percentage value of the total number of points achieved for each of the at least one goals (needed in order to accomplish a specific goal, ¶59; A courses option 604 may, in various embodiments, display one or more courses or classes associated with a user (e.g., the option 604 may display courses in which a user is currently enrolled, courses in which the user was previous enrolled, courses in which the user is enrolled for an upcoming term, courses remaining to complete a degree, etc.) Further, in various embodiments, a courses option 604 may display any information associated with one or more such courses. For example, a courses option 604 may display course grades, course progress (both in terms of progress over time as well as progress based upon assignments completed), one or more notifications associated with one or more courses, course announcements, student comments with respect to the course, course assignments, course examinations, areas of focus or areas of a course where focus may be desirable or needed, a number of attempts remaining to obtain an adequate or threshold grade or score on an assignment, and the like, ¶76; A progress option 608 may, if selected, enable a UI displaying a variety of information or data associated with a user's progress through a course or courses. For example, a progress option 608 may display one or more courses needed for graduation, one or more courses that will meet or satisfy a particular course requirement. In addition, a progress option 608 may display a visual indicator (e.g., a graph or status indicator) of a user's progress towards graduation (e.g., as a percentage of a total number of courses completed, a number completed and a number needed for graduation, and the like). Further, in various embodiments, a progress option 608 may display a user's course schedule, including a current course schedule, a past course schedule, an upcoming course schedule, a suggested course schedule, and the like, ¶78).
As per claim 14, Creamer discloses as shown above with respect to claim 1. Creamer further discloses wherein the at least one indicator provides a visual indication of the progress of the at least one student for each of the at least one goals (A progress option 608 may, if selected, enable a UI displaying a variety of information or data associated with a user's progress through a course or courses. For example, a progress option 608 may display one or more courses needed for graduation, one or more courses that will meet or satisfy a particular course requirement. In addition, a progress option 608 may display a visual indicator (e.g., a graph or status indicator) of a user's progress towards graduation (e.g., as a percentage of a total number of courses completed, a number completed and a number needed for graduation, and the like). Further, in various embodiments, a progress option 608 may display a user's course schedule, including a current course schedule, a past course schedule, an upcoming course schedule, a suggested course schedule, and the like, Creamer ¶78).
As per claim 15, Creamer discloses as shown above with respect to claim 1. Creamer further discloses wherein the progress tracking application is further configured to generate a report, the report comprising at least the stored information and/or summary of the progress of the at least one student (The performance module accesses CDR 150 data to assess student performance indicators such as the grade in a class, overall grade point average, grade point average in a particular academic discipline, standardized testing scores, grade trends, attendance indicators, attendance trends, etc. In one embodiment, the module determines when a performance report is required based upon a timeframe, the student performance indicators, performance tracking requirements, a student preference, a parent preference, or a guidance counselor preference. When a performance report is required, the module may generate and format a performance report and distribute it to a student, parent, guidance counselor, third-party system, the state government or the federal government. Furthermore, the performance tracking mechanism provides data and calculations to PSP 195 to present in the portal's progress tracking interface, Creamer ¶142).
As per claim 16, Creamer discloses as shown above with respect to claim 15. Creamer further discloses wherein the progress tracking application is further configured to electronically send the report to at least one second user device (When a performance report is required, the module may generate and format a performance report and distribute it to a student, parent, guidance counselor, third-party system, the state government or the federal government. Furthermore, the performance tracking mechanism provides data and calculations to PSP 195 to present in the portal's progress tracking interface, Creamer ¶142).
As per claim 19, Creamer discloses as shown above with respect to claim 20. Creamer further discloses wherein the method further comprises establishing a connection with a server via a network, the server being configured to store information, the information comprising at least an identity information of the at least one student, the at least one goal of the at least one student and the progress data of the at least one student towards achieving the at least one goal (host server and memory, Creamer ¶70; computer networks, ¶40; for a specific goal, Creamer ¶59; UI, In one embodiment, the guidance UI comprises graduation progress data, transcript data, an academic status indicator, course scheduling data, standardized testing results, academic goals and achievements, career goals and achievements, post secondary goals and achievements, and extracurricular activity participation records, goals and achievements. In an embodiment, the admissions UI includes profile data, program of study data (e.g. diploma data), an admissions checklist, enrollment data for past, current and future academic sessions, resources and forms, and student documents and records. In one embodiment, the course information UI includes course expectation data, course syllabus data, gradebook data, attendance data, progress indicators, communication or messaging data, instructor data, assignment data, and access to the virtual classroom. In one embodiment the social networking UI comprises student yearbook, newsletter, literature magazine, blogs, and peer-to-peer communication and interaction. In one embodiment the knowledge center UI includes a course catalog, FAQs, a student handbook, course expectations, tutorials, and student orientation information. In one embodiment the student portfolio UI includes accomplishments, post graduation plans, academic work samples, unofficial transcripts, course syllabi, ¶69).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure (additional art can be located on the PTO-892):
Mortimer et al. (US PG Pub. 2021/0342418) Systems and methods for processing data to identify relational clusters.
Fried et al. (US PG Pub. 2016/0189563) Educational system with real time behavior tracking.
Luca (US PG Pub. 2018/0130154) System and method for objective assessment of learning outcomes.
VanPolen et al. (US PG Pub. 2015/0142687) Student account data system.
Wich-Vila (US Patent No. 10,353,720) Computer system, method, and media for preparing qualitative elements of an academic application.
automated- interview-request-air-form
/ANDREW B WHITAKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629