DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18 have been cancelled.
Claims 19-36 have been examined.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter “transceiver unit” and “storage unit” of claim 25. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “transceiver unit” and “storage unit” of claim 25 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In reference to claim 25
The language "A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising a processor, a transceiver unit, and storage unit, and configured to: receive…. receive…. determine…. transmit." in lines 1-14 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear which if any of the structural component(s) (e.g. processor, a transceiver unit, and/or storage unit) of the wireless transmit/receive unit are configured to perform the “receive”, “receive” “determine” and “transmit” functions. Consequently, the metes and bounds of the claimed invention are unclear. The claim should be amended so that it is clear which structural component(s) (e.g. processor, a transceiver unit, and/or storage unit) of the wireless transmit/receive unit are configured to perform each of the “receive”, “receive” “determine” and “transmit” functions.
For example, the following language would overcome the rejection:
A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising a processor, a transceiver unit and a storage unit,
wherein the transceiver unit is configured to receive a first message comprising first configuration information indicating a fixed size format of a downlink control information (DCI) and a plurality of cell identifiers, wherein each cell identifier of the plurality of cell identifiers is associated with a combination of cells of a plurality of cells, and comprising second configuration information indicating sounding reference signal (SRS) resources associated with the plurality of cells for transmitting SRS to a subset of cells of the plurality of cells;
wherein the transceiver unit is configured to receive a DCI having the fixed size format, comprising first information indicating a cell identifier of the plurality of cell identifiers, and comprising second information indicating a subset of cells of the plurality of cells associated with the SRS resources;
wherein the processor is configured to determine, based on the received DCI, a combination of cells of the plurality of cells, associated with the cell identifier; and
wherein the transmitter is configured to transmit communication via the combination of cells and transmitting SRS to the subset of cells.
In reference to claim 27
The language “The WTRU of claim 25, further configured to monitor one or more DCIs having the configured fixed size format” in lines 1-2 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear which if any structural component(s) (e.g. processor, a transceiver unit, and/or storage unit) of the wireless transmit/receive unit are configured to perform the “monitoring”. Consequently, the metes and bounds of the claimed invention are unclear. The claim should be amended so that it is clear which structural component(s) (e.g. processor, a transceiver unit, and/or storage unit) of the wireless transmit/receive unit are configured to perform the “monitoring”.
For example:
The WTRU of claim 25 wherein the processor is configured to monitor one or more DCIs having the configured fixed size format.
In reference to claims 26 and 28-30
Claims 26 and 28-30 are rejected because they depend on a rejected parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 25-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2017/0086212).
In reference to claim 25, as best understood
Kim et al. teaches wireless transmit/receive unit (e.g. station 800; Fig. 20 par. 0115) comprising a processor (e.g. processor 810; Fig. 20, par. 0115) , a transceiver unit (e.g. transceiver 830; Fig. 20, par. 0115) and a storage unit (e.g. memory 820, Fig. 20 par. 0115-0016), and configured to: receive a first message comprising first configuration information indicating a fixed size format of a downlink control information (DCI) and a plurality of cell identifiers, wherein each cell identifier of the plurality of cell identifiers is associated with at least one combination of one or more cells of a plurality of cells, and comprising second configuration information indicating sounding reference signal (SRS) resources associated with the plurality of cells for transmitting SRS to a subset of one or more cells of the plurality of cells; receive a DCI having the fixed size format, comprising first information indicating at least one cell identifier of the plurality of cell identifiers, and comprising second information indicating the subset of one or more cells of the plurality of cells associated with the SRS resources; determine, based on the received DCI, a combination of one or more cells of the plurality of cells associated with the at least one cell identifier; and perform communication via the combination of cells and transmit SRS to the subset of cells. (As explained above with respect to the 112 rejection, the language “configured to: …. of cells” in lines 2-15 is not explicitly tied to the structural component(s) (e.g. processor, a transceiver unit, and/or storage unit) so it is unclear which if any structural component(s) (e.g. processor, a transceiver unit, and/or storage unit) of the wireless transmit/receive unit are configured to perform the “receive”, “receive” “determine” and “transmit” functions. Based upon the Examiners best understanding of the claim and Remarks filed on 09/08/2026, for the purpose of examination with respect to prior art, the Examiner assumes that the language “configured to: …. of cells” in lines 2-15 is directed at the WTRU in the preamble and does not limit the scope of the claim and the claim only requires the structure of a processor, a transceiver unit and a storage unit).
- In refence to claim 26, as best understood
Kim et al. teaches wherein the plurality of cell identifiers is indicated in a first bit field of fixed size of the DCI. (Based upon the Examiners best understanding of the claim and Remarks filed on 09/08/2026, for the purpose of examination with respect to prior art, the Examiner assumes that the is directed at the WTRU in the preamble and does not limit the scope of the claim and the claim only requires the structure of a processor, a transceiver unit and a storage unit).
- In refence to claim 27, as best understood
Kim et al. teaches the WTRU of claim 25, further configured to monitor one or more DCIs having the configured fixed size format. (Based upon the Examiners best understanding of the claim and Remarks filed on 09/08/2026, for the purpose of examination with respect to prior art, the Examiner assumes that the language is directed at the WTRU in the preamble and does not limit the scope of the claim and the claim only requires the structure of a processor, a transceiver unit and a storage unit).
- In refence to claim 28, as best understood
Kim et al. teaches wherein the first configuration information indicates receiving one or more DCIs having respectively the same fixed size format for scheduling transmission to one or more cells. (Based upon the Examiners best understanding of the claim and Remarks filed on 09/08/2026, for the purpose of examination with respect to prior art, the Examiner assumes that the language is directed at the WTRU in the preamble and does not limit the scope of the claim and the claim only requires the structure of a processor, a transceiver unit and a storage unit).
- In refence to claim 29, as best understood
Kim et al. teaches wherein the subset of cells associated with the SRS resources is indicated in a second bit field of the DCI. (Based upon the Examiners best understanding of the claim and Remarks filed on 09/08/2026, for the purpose of examination with respect to prior art, the Examiner assumes that the language is directed at the WTRU in the preamble and does not limit the scope of the claim and the claim only requires the structure of a processor, a transceiver unit and a storage unit).
- In refence to claim 30, as best understood
Kim et al. teaches wherein a value of the second bit field indicates a subset of SRS resources of the SRS resources associated with the subset of cells. (Based upon the Examiners best understanding of the claim and Remarks filed on 09/08/2026, for the purpose of examination with respect to prior art, the Examiner assumes that the language is directed at the WTRU in the preamble and does not limit the scope of the claim and the claim only requires the structure of a processor, a transceiver unit and a storage unit).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-24 and 31-36 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 6 of the Remarks, the Applicant states “Applicant respectfully submits that the §112(b) rejection Claims 25-30 is moot by amendment, and it is clear that the WTRU is configured to perform the limitations. Applicant is under no obligation to specify which component does what.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The language "A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising a processor, a transceiver unit, and storage unit, and configured to: receive…. receive…. determine…. transmit." in lines 1-14 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear which if any of the structural component(s) (e.g. processor, a transceiver unit, and/or storage unit) of the wireless transmit/receive unit are configured to perform the “receive”, “receive” “determine” and “transmit” functions. Consequently, the metes and bounds of the claimed invention are unclear. The claim should be amended so that it is clear which structural component(s) (e.g. processor, a transceiver unit, and/or storage unit) of the wireless transmit/receive unit are configured to perform each of the “receive”, “receive” “determine” and “transmit” functions.
By failing to specify which component does what, for the purpose of examination with respect to prior art, the Examiner assumed that the language “configured to: …. of cells” in lines 2-15 is directed at the WTRU in the preamble and does not limit the scope of the claim and the claim only requires the structure of a processor, a transceiver unit and a storage unit and applied Kim et al. (US 2017/0086212) as described in the above rejection.
The Examiner has given example language above in the section titled “Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112” that would overcome the rejections.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are:
US 2023/0083414 pertains to an UE may receive control signaling indicating a joint feedback codebook configuration for jointly reporting feedback for a first CC, a second CC, and a virtual CC that may be mapped to a third CC and a fourth CC. The UE may then receive downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a first downlink transmission via the first CC and a second downlink transmission on the second CC, or both downlink transmissions may be scheduled via the virtual CC. The UE may transmit a joint feedback message for the first CC, the second CC, and the virtual CC based on the joint codebook configuration.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BRIAN S. ROBERTS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2466
/BRIAN S ROBERTS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466