DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/05/2024 is in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97, has been considered by the Examiner, and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang et al Patent Application No. :( US 2023/0046270 A1) hereinafter referred as Huang.
For claim 1, Huang teaches a non-access point multi-link device (AP MLD) comprising:
one or more processors; and
a machine readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the non-AP MLD to:
receive a beacon from an AP MLD (see link 2 figure 3) (paragraph [0123], lines 33-38);
extract from the beacon, information regarding recommended links over which to exchange data frames with the AP MLD and non-recommended links over which the exchange of data frames with the AP MLD is to be avoided (see figure 5C) (paragraph [0123], lines 1-18);
initiate an association process to associate the non-AP MLD to the AP MLD using a recommended link of the extracted recommended links (see figure 9) (paragraph [0165], lines 2-21) and (paragraph [0175], lines 1-4); and
establish a connection over the recommended link for exchanging the data frames between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD (paragraph [0116], lines 1-12) and (paragraph [0185], lines 18-21).
For claim 2, Huang teaches the non-AP MLD, wherein the information extracted from the beacon comprises an information element including a link-specific subfield carrying information specific to a link of the AP MLD (paragraph [0189], lines 1-7).
For claim 3, Huang teaches the non-AP MLD, wherein the information element further includes a recommendation indicator applicable to the link specified in the link-specific subfield indicating whether the link is recommended for the exchange of data frames with the AP MLD or whether the link is not recommended for the exchange of data frames with the AP MLD (table 3 (1a)(paragraph [0146], lines 6-9) and (paragraph [0159], lines 1-9).
For claim 6, Huang teaches the AP MLD, wherein the instructions that when executed cause the non-AP MLD to initiate the association process further causes the non-AP MLD to perform at least one subset of operations comprising the association process over the recommended link and at least one subset of operations comprising the association process over another link other than the recommended link (paragraph [0165], lines 9-18).
For claim 8, Huang teaches an access point multi-link device (AP MLD) comprising:
one or more processors; and
a machine readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the AP MLD to:
transmit a beacon including information regarding recommended links over which to exchange data frames between the AP MLD and a non-AP MLD, and non-recommended links over which the exchange of data frames between the AP MLD and a non-AP MLD is to be avoided (see figure 5C) (paragraph [0123], lines 1-18);
engage in an association process to associate the non-AP MLD to the AP MLD using a recommended link of the recommended links (see figure 9) (paragraph [0165], lines 2-21) and (paragraph [0175], lines 1-4); and
establish a connection over the recommended link for exchanging the data frames between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD (paragraph [0116], lines 1-12) and (paragraph [0185], lines 18-21).
For claim 9, Huang teaches the AP MLD, wherein the information included in the beacon comprises an information element including a link-specific subfield carrying information specific to a link of the AP MLD (paragraph [0189], lines 1-7).
For claim 10, Huang teaches the AP MLD, wherein the information element further includes a recommendation indicator applicable to the link specified in the link-specific subfield indicating whether the link is recommended for the exchange of data frames between the AP-MLD and the non-AP MLD or whether the link is not recommended for the exchange of data frames between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD (table 3 (1a) (paragraph [0146], lines 6-9) and (paragraph [0159], lines 1-9).
For claim 13, Huang teaches the AP MLD, wherein the instructions that when executed cause the AP MLD to engage in the association process further causes the AP MLD to perform at least one subset of operations comprising the association process over the recommended link and at least one subset of operations comprising the association process over another link other than the recommended link (paragraph [0165], lines 9-18).
For claim 15, Huang teaches an access point multi-link device (AP MLD) comprising:
one or more processors; and
a machine readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the AP MLD to:
transmit a beacon including information regarding recommended links over which to exchange data frames between the AP MLD and a non-AP MLD, and non-recommended links over which the exchange of data frames between the AP MLD and a non-AP MLD is to be avoided (see figure 5C) (paragraph [0123], lines 1-18);
engage in an association process to associate the non-AP MLD to the AP MLD using a recommended link of the recommended links (see figure 9) (paragraph [0165], lines 2-21) and (paragraph [0175], lines 1-4); and
establish a connection over a recommended link of the recommended links for exchanging the data frames between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD (paragraph [0116], lines 1-12) and (paragraph [0185], lines 18-21).
For claim 16, Huang teaches the AP MLD, wherein the information included in the beacon comprises an information element including a link-specific subfield carrying information specific to a link of the AP MLD (paragraph [0189], lines 1-7).
For claim 17, Huang teaches the AP MLD, wherein the information element further includes a recommendation indicator applicable to the link specified in the link-specific subfield indicating whether the link is recommended for the exchange of data frames between the AP-MLD and the non-AP MLD or whether the link is not recommended for the exchange of data frames between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD (table 3 (1a) (paragraph [0146], lines 6-9) and (paragraph [0159], lines 1-9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7, 11, 14, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable over Huang et al Patent Application No. :( US 20230046270 A1) hereinafter referred as Huang, in view of Kim et al US Patent Application No.:( US 2023/0345349 A1) hereinafter referred as Kim.
For claim 4, Huang disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the information extracted from the beacon comprises a multi-link element (MLE) as recited in claim 4.
Kim from the same or analogous art teaches the information extracted from the beacon comprises a multi-link element (MLE) (paragraph [0609], lines 1-8). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the information extracted from the beacon comprises a multi-link element (MLE) as taught by Kim into the link processing with multi-link storage medium of Huang.
The information extracted from the beacon comprises a multi-link element (MLE) can be modify/implemented by combining the information extracted from the beacon comprises a multi-link element (MLE) with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Kim into the link processing with multi-link storage medium of Huang. As disclosed in Kim, the motivation for the combination would be to use the information extracted from the beacon comprises a multi-link element (MLE) that will help to advertise and negotiate the Multi-Link operation becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 7, Huang disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the non-AP MLD to perform at least a subset of a multi-link setup process using the recommended link as recited in claim 7.
Kim from the same or analogous art teaches the instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the non-AP MLD to perform at least a subset of a multi-link setup process using the recommended link(paragraph [0609], lines 1-8) and (paragraph [0813], lines 1-6). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the non-AP MLD to perform at least a subset of a multi-link setup process using the recommended link as taught by Kim into the link processing with multi-link storage medium of Huang.
The instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the non-AP MLD to perform at least a subset of a multi-link setup process using the recommended link can be modify/implemented by combining the instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the non-AP MLD to perform at least a subset of a multi-link setup process using the recommended link with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Kim into the link processing with multi-link storage medium of Huang. As disclosed in Kim, the motivation for the combination would be to use the non-AP MLD to perform at least a subset of a multi-link setup process using the recommended link that will help to optimize the ratability and efficiency becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 11, Huang disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the information extracted from the beacon comprises a multi-link element (MLE) as recited in claim 11.
Kim from the same or analogous art teaches the information extracted from the beacon comprises a multi-link element (MLE) (paragraph [0609], lines 1-8). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the information extracted from the beacon comprises a multi-link element (MLE) as taught by Kim into the link processing with multi-link storage medium of Huang.
The information extracted from the beacon comprises a multi-link element (MLE) can be modify/implemented by combining the information extracted from the beacon comprises a multi-link element (MLE) with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Kim into the link processing with multi-link storage medium of Huang. As disclosed in Kim, the motivation for the combination would be to use the information extracted from the beacon comprises a multi-link element (MLE) that will help to advertise and negotiate the Multi-Link operation becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 14, Huang disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the non-AP MLD to perform at least a subset of a multi-link setup process using the recommended link as recited in claim 14.
Kim from the same or analogous art teaches the instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the non-AP MLD to perform at least a subset of a multi-link setup process using the recommended link(paragraph [0609], lines 1-8) and (paragraph [0813], lines 1-6). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the non-AP MLD to perform at least a subset of a multi-link setup process using the recommended link as taught by Kim into the link processing with multi-link storage medium of Huang.
The instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the non-AP MLD to perform at least a subset of a multi-link setup process using the recommended link can be modify/implemented by combining the instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the non-AP MLD to perform at least a subset of a multi-link setup process using the recommended link with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Kim into the link processing with multi-link storage medium of Huang. As disclosed in Kim, the motivation for the combination would be to use the non-AP MLD to perform at least a subset of a multi-link setup process using the recommended link that will help to optimize the ratability and efficiency becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 18, Huang disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the information extracted from the beacon comprises a multi-link element (MLE) as recited in claim 18.
Kim from the same or analogous art teaches the information extracted from the beacon comprises a multi-link element (MLE) (paragraph [0609], lines 1-8). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the information extracted from the beacon comprises a multi-link element (MLE) as taught by Kim into the link processing with multi-link storage medium of Huang.
The information extracted from the beacon comprises a multi-link element (MLE) can be modify/implemented by combining the information extracted from the beacon comprises a multi-link element (MLE) with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Kim into the link processing with multi-link storage medium of Huang. As disclosed in Kim, the motivation for the combination would be to use the information extracted from the beacon comprises a multi-link element (MLE) that will help to advertise and negotiate the Multi-Link operation becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 20, Huang disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the non-AP MLD to perform at least a subset of a multi-link setup process using the recommended link as recited in claim 20.
Kim from the same or analogous art teaches the instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the non-AP MLD to perform at least a subset of a multi-link setup process using the recommended link(paragraph [0609], lines 1-8) and (paragraph [0813], lines 1-6). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the non-AP MLD to perform at least a subset of a multi-link setup process using the recommended link as taught by Kim into the link processing with multi-link storage medium of Huang.
The instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the non-AP MLD to perform at least a subset of a multi-link setup process using the recommended link can be modify/implemented by combining the instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the non-AP MLD to perform at least a subset of a multi-link setup process using the recommended link with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Kim into the link processing with multi-link storage medium of Huang. As disclosed in Kim, the motivation for the combination would be to use the non-AP MLD to perform at least a subset of a multi-link setup process using the recommended link that will help to optimize the ratability and efficiency becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 12 and 19 are objected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH AREVALO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642