DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Foreign
Applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f) or 365 (b) is acknowledged, which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Domestic
Applicant’s claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C.120, 121 or 365(c) or 365 (a) of any PCT Application international application is
acknowledged, which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 8/5/2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8-12, 14, 15, 18-23, 26, 27 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan, et al. (WO 2023197311), hereafter Pan, in view of Liu, et al (US PG Publication 2025/0293834), hereafter Liu.
Regarding claim 1, Pan teaches
a method of managing response time in a positioning session between a first user equipment (UE) and a second UE conducted via sidelink (SL), the method comprising:
sending, from the first UE to the second UE, a first message comprising a quality of service (QoS) profile, wherein the QoS profile includes a response time requirement for providing positioning information within the positioning session
(Pg. 8, 6th Paragraph The UE can request a location (e.g. FIG. 8), or another node can request the location from the UE (e.g. FIG. 7). The location request may include a request to perform sidelink positioning. The location request may include a request to receive a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS) from other UE(s), a request to transmit assistance data configuration to other UE(s),
the location request may include a response time, timing quality, etc
Pg. 10, 3rd Paragraph The assistance data response may include a QoS requirement, such as response time);
receiving a second message at the first UE from the second UE, wherein the second message comprises an indication of whether the second UE can meet the response time requirement
(Pg. 9, 2nd Paragraph UE location response may include a successful location response that indicates the UE can perform SL positioning. Alternatively, the location response may include a location response failure that indicates the UE cannot perform SL positioning).
Pan does not teach
determining, with the first UE, resource pool parameters for the positioning session, wherein the resource pool parameters are based at least in part on the indication of whether the second UE can meet the response time requirement; and
sending, from the first UE to the second UE, a third message comprising the resource pool parameters.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches
determining, with the first UE, resource pool parameters for the positioning session, wherein the resource pool parameters are based at least in part on the indication of whether the second UE can meet the response time requirement
([0050] The UE(s) 104 and anchor(s) 102 will attempt to allocate the
smallest PRS period (*smallest resource allocation) requested from all relevant UEs to effectively transmit/receive PRS
[0064] The UE 104 can request lower period of PRS transmissions if needed
[0073] Clause 5 The method as recited in Clause 4, further comprising: if the determined period of the one or more positioning reference signals is less than the determined smallest period requested by the one or more other user equipment, transmitting, by the user equipment, the request to change the period of the one or more positioning reference signals
(If the determined resource period available for the PRS transmission < the period requested/needed by the other UEs for the PRS transmission, the UE 104 will request to change the PRS transmission period to the UE anchor node 102, which will allocate smallest PRS period to meet requirement)); and
sending, from the first UE to the second UE, a third message comprising the resource pool parameters
([0050] The UE(s) 104 and anchor(s) 102 will attempt to allocate the smallest PRS period (*smallest resource allocation) requested from all relevant UEs to effectively transmit/receive PRS
[0064] The UE 104 can request lower period of PRS transmissions if needed
(The UE anchor node 102 allocates and sends smallest PRS period to the UE 104)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Pan, which includes meeting requirements for positioning between devices, to include Liu’s teaching of meeting requirements for positioning between devices, including determining response time resources, for the benefit of designing PRS transmission essential for the performance of positioning in term of positioning accuracy, resource efficiency and positioning latency etc (see [0024]).
Regarding claim 2, Pan, in view of Liu, teaches the method of claim 1.
Liu further teaches
wherein the resource pool parameters comprise:
a dedicated positioning resource pool
([0046] The UE(s) 104 and anchor(s) 102 receive the configuration of resource pool(s) through the broadcasting of a serving RAN node (e.g., gNB 110) or some dedicated signaling or use the pre-configuration of resource pools),
a contention based pool,
a sensing-window-positioning duration,
a type of sensing, or
a combination thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Pan, in view of Liu, which includes meeting requirements for positioning between devices, to include Liu’s teaching of meeting requirements for positioning between devices, including determining response time resources, for the benefit of designing PRS transmission essential for the performance of positioning in term of positioning accuracy, resource efficiency and positioning latency etc (see [0024]).
Regarding claim 4, Pan, in view of Liu, teaches the method of claim 1.
Pan further teaches wherein the QoS profile further comprises:
a horizontal accuracy requirement
Pg. 8, 6th Paragraph The UE can request a location (e.g. FIG. 8). The location request may include a request to receive a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS) from other UE(s) and may include response time, horizontal accuracy),
a vertical accuracy requirement
Pg. 8, 6th Paragraph The UE can request a location (e.g. FIG. 8). The location request may include a request to receive a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS) from other UE(s) and may include response time, vertical accuracy),
a vertical coordinate request indicator,
a velocity request indicator, or
a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 5, Pan, in view of Liu, teaches the method of claim 1.
Pan further teaches
wherein the indication of whether the second UE can meet the response time
requirement comprises an indication the second UE cannot meet the response time requirement
(Pg. 9, 2nd Paragraph Alternatively, the location response may include a location response failure that indicates the UE cannot perform SL positioning).
Regarding claim 8, Pan, in view of Liu, teaches the method of claim 5.
Liu further teaches
further comprising, responsive to the indication the second UE cannot meet the response time requirement, determining, with the first UE, a physical (PHY) layer transmission parameter, wherein the PHY layer transmission parameter is included in the resource pool parameters for the positioning session
([0031] With continued reference to FIG. 1, illustratively the anchors 102 and UEs 104 can exchange signals, such as positioning signals, in accordance with a sidelink communication channel. Illustratively, the sidelink communication channel can correspond to NR SL, which is a physical layer composed of several physical channels and signals. The SL physical channels are a set of resource elements carrying information of higher layers of the protocol stack).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Pan, in view of Liu, which includes meeting requirements for positioning between devices, to include Liu’s teaching of meeting requirements for positioning between devices, including determining response time resources, for the benefit of designing PRS transmission essential for the performance of positioning in term of positioning accuracy, resource efficiency and positioning latency etc (see [0024]).
Regarding claim 9, Pan, in view of Liu, teaches the method of claim 1.
Liu further teaches
further teaches wherein:
the second message is received and the third message is sent prior to the positioning session; or
the second message is received and the third message is sent during to the positioning session
([0065] Clause 1 A method for using a user equipment in a sidelink communication, the method comprising:
[0066] Obtaining, by the user equipment, configuration information that defines a set of resource periods for obtaining one or more positioning reference signals from one or more anchor devices
[0069] transmitting, by the user equipment, based on the determining whether to transmit, the request to change the period of the one or more positioning reference signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Pan, in view of Liu, which includes meeting requirements for positioning between devices, to include Liu’s teaching of meeting requirements for positioning between devices, including determining response time resources, for the benefit of designing PRS transmission essential for the performance of positioning in term of positioning accuracy, resource efficiency and positioning latency etc (see [0024]).
Regarding claim 10, Pan, in view of Liu, teaches the method of claim 1.
Liu further teaches
wherein the positioning session uses a resource pool carrying SL positioning reference signal (SL-PRS),
SL physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH)
([0045] Aspects of the present application correspond to the request and exchange of PRS information utilizing a pool of allocation of radio resources. Illustratively, a resource pool limits the radio resources for PSCCH and PSSCH), or
both.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Pan, in view of Liu, which includes meeting requirements for positioning between devices, to include Liu’s teaching of meeting requirements for positioning between devices, including determining response time resources, for the benefit of designing PRS transmission essential for the performance of positioning in term of positioning accuracy, resource efficiency and positioning latency etc (see [0024]).
Regarding claim 11, Pan teaches
a method of managing response time in a positioning session between a first user equipment (UE) and a second UE conducted via sidelink (SL), the method comprising:
receiving, at the second UE from the first UE, a first message comprising a quality of service (QoS) profile, wherein the QoS profile includes a response time requirement for providing positioning information within the positioning session
(Pg. 8, 6th Paragraph The UE can request a location (e.g. FIG. 8), or another node can request the location from the UE (e.g. FIG. 7). The location request may include a request to perform sidelink positioning. The location request may include a request to receive a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS) from other UE(s), a request to transmit assistance data configuration to other UE(s). Tthe location request may include a response time, timing quality, etc
Pg. 10, 3rd Paragraph The assistance data response may include a QoS requirement, such as response time);
sending a second message from the second UE to the first UE, wherein the second message comprises an indication of whether the second UE can meet the response time requirement
(Pg. 9, 2nd Paragraph UE location response may include a successful location response that indicates the UE can perform SL positioning. Alternatively, the location response may include a location response failure that indicates the UE cannot perform SL positioning).
Pan does not teach
receiving, at the second UE from the first UE, a third message comprising resource pool parameters for the positioning session, wherein the resource pool parameters are based at least in part on the indication of whether the second UE can meet the response time requirement.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches
receiving, at the second UE from the first UE, a third message comprising resource pool parameters for the positioning session, wherein the resource pool parameters are based at least in part on the indication of whether the second UE can meet the response time requirement
([0050] The UE(s) 104 and anchor(s) 102 will attempt to allocate the smallest PRS period (*smallest resource allocation) requested from all relevant UEs to effectively transmit/receive PRS
[0064] The UE 104 can request lower period of PRS transmissions if needed
[0073] Clause 5 The method as recited in Clause 4, further comprising: if the determined period of the one or more positioning reference signals is less than the determined smallest period requested by the one or more other user equipment, transmitting, by the user equipment, the request to change the period of the one or more positioning reference signals
(If the determined resource period available for the PRS transmission < the period requested/needed by the other UEs for the PRS transmission, the UE 104 will request to change the PRS transmission period to the UE anchor node 102, which will allocate smallest PRS period to meet requirement, where the UE anchor node 102 allocates and sends smallest PRS period to the UE 104)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Pan, which includes meeting requirements for positioning between devices, to include Liu’s teaching of meeting requirements for positioning between devices, including determining response time resources, for the benefit of designing PRS transmission essential for the performance of positioning in term of positioning accuracy, resource efficiency and positioning latency etc (see [0024]).
Regarding claim 12, Pan, in view of Liu, teaches the method of claim 11.
Liu further teaches
wherein the resource pool parameters comprise:
a dedicated positioning resource pool
([0046] The UE(s) 104 and anchor(s) 102 receive the configuration of resource pool(s) through the broadcasting of a serving RAN node (e.g., gNB 110) or some dedicated signaling or use the pre-configuration of resource pools),
a contention based pool,
a sensing-window-positioning duration,
a type of sensing, or
a combination thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Pan, in view of Liu, which includes meeting requirements for positioning between devices, to include Liu’s teaching of meeting requirements for positioning between devices, including determining response time resources, for the benefit of designing PRS transmission essential for the performance of positioning in term of positioning accuracy, resource efficiency and positioning latency etc (see [0024]).
Regarding claim 14, Pan, in view of Liu, teaches the method of claim 11.
Pan further teaches wherein the QoS profile further comprises:
a horizontal accuracy requirement
Pg. 8, 6th Paragraph The UE can request a location (e.g. FIG. 8). The location request may include a request to receive a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS) from other UE(s) and may include response time, horizontal accuracy),
a vertical accuracy requirement
Pg. 8, 6th Paragraph
The UE can request a location (e.g. FIG. 8). The location request may include a request to receive a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS) from other UE(s) and may include response time, vertical accuracy),
a vertical coordinate request indicator,
a velocity request indicator, or
a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 15, Pan, in view of Liu, teaches the method of claim 11.
Pan further teaches
further comprising determining, with the second UE, that the second UE cannot meet the response time requirement
(Pg. 9, 2nd Paragraph Alternatively, the location response may include a location response failure that indicates the UE cannot perform SL positioning).
Regarding claim 18, Pan, in view of Liu, teaches the method of claim 15.
Liu further teaches further comprising, responsive to determining the second UE cannot meet the response time requirement, determining, with the second UE, a physical (PHY) layer transmission parameter
([0031] With continued reference to FIG. 1, illustratively the anchors 102 and UEs 104 can exchange signals, such as positioning signals, in accordance with a sidelink communication channel. Illustratively, the sidelink communication channel can correspond to NR SL, which is a physical layer composed of several physical channels and signals. The SL physical channels are a set of resource elements carrying information of higher layers of the protocol stack).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Pan, in view of Liu, which includes meeting requirements for positioning between devices, to include Liu’s teaching of meeting requirements for positioning between devices, including determining response time resources, for the benefit of designing PRS transmission essential for the performance of positioning in term of positioning accuracy, resource efficiency and positioning latency etc (see [0024]).
Regarding claim 19, Pan, in view of Liu, teaches the method of claim 11.
Liu further teaches
wherein:
the second message is sent and the third message is received to the positioning session; or
the second message is sent and the third message is received during to the positioning session
([0065] Clause 1 A method for using a user equipment in a sidelink communication, the method comprising:
[0066] Obtaining, by the user equipment, configuration information that defines a set of resource periods for obtaining one or more positioning reference signals from one or more anchor devices
[0069] transmitting, by the user equipment, based on the determining whether to transmit, the request to change the period of the one or more positioning reference signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Pan, in view of Liu, which includes meeting requirements for positioning between devices, to include Liu’s teaching of meeting requirements for positioning between devices, including determining response time resources, for the benefit of designing PRS transmission essential for the performance of positioning in term of positioning accuracy, resource efficiency and positioning latency etc (see [0024]).
Regarding claim 20, Pan, in view of Liu, teaches the method of claim 11.
Liu further teaches
wherein the positioning session uses a resource pool carrying SL positioning reference signal (SL-PRS),
SL physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH)
([0045] Aspects of the present application correspond to the request and exchange of PRS information utilizing a pool of allocation of radio resources. Illustratively, a resource pool limits the radio resources for PSCCH and PSSCH), or
both.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Pan, in view of Liu, which includes meeting requirements for positioning between devices, to include Liu’s teaching of meeting requirements for positioning between devices, including determining response time resources, for the benefit of designing PRS transmission essential for the performance of positioning in term of positioning accuracy, resource efficiency and positioning latency etc (see [0024]).
Regarding claim 21, Pan teaches
a first user equipment UE for managing response time in a positioning session between the first UE and a second UE conducted via sidelink (SL),
the first UE comprising
(Fig. 2 Mobile device 200 includes):
a transceiver
(Fig. 2 Tx/Rx Circuitry 230);
a memory
(Fig. 2 Memory 220); and
one or more processors communicatively coupled with the transceiver and the memory, wherein the one or more processors are configured to
(Fig. 2 Processor(s) 216 coupled with Tx/Rx Circuitry 230 and memory 220, processor(s) 216 configured to):
send, via the transceiver to the second UE, a first message comprising a quality of service (QoS) profile, wherein the QoS profile includes a response time requirement for providing positioning information within the positioning session
(Pg. 8, 6th Paragraph The UE can request a location (e.g. FIG. 8), or another node can request the location from the UE (e.g. FIG. 7). The location request may include a request to perform sidelink positioning. The location request may include a request to receive a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS) from other UE(s), a request to transmit assistance data configuration to other UE(s). Tthe location request may include a response time, timing quality, etc
Pg. 10, 3rd Paragraph The assistance data response may include a QoS requirement, such as response time);
receive a second message via the transceiver from the second UE, wherein the second message comprises an indication of whether the second UE can meet the response time requirement
(Pg. 9, 2nd Paragraph UE location response may include a successful location response that indicates the UE can perform SL positioning. Alternatively, the location response may include a location response failure that indicates the UE cannot perform SL positioning).
Pan does not teach
determine resource pool parameters for the positioning session, wherein the resource pool parameters are based at least in part on the indication of whether the second UE can meet the response time requirement; and
send, via the transceiver to the second UE, a third message comprising the resource pool parameters.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches
determine resource pool parameters for the positioning session, wherein the resource pool parameters are based at least in part on the indication of whether the second UE can meet the response time requirement
([0050] The UE(s) 104 and anchor(s) 102 will attempt to allocate the smallest PRS period (*smallest resource allocation) requested from all relevant UEs to effectively transmit/receive PRS
[0064] The UE 104 can request lower period of PRS transmissions if needed
[0073] Clause 5 The method as recited in Clause 4, further comprising: if the determined period of the one or more positioning reference signals is less than the determined smallest period requested by the one or more other user equipment, transmitting, by the user equipment, the request to change the period of the one or more positioning reference signals
(If the determined resource period available for the PRS transmission < the period requested/needed by the other UEs for the PRS transmission, the UE 104 will request to change the PRS transmission period to the UE anchor node 102, which will allocate smallest PRS period to meet requirement)); and
send, via the transceiver to the second UE, a third message comprising the resource pool parameters
([0050] The UE(s) 104 and anchor(s) 102 will attempt to allocate the smallest PRS period (*smallest resource allocation) requested from all relevant UEs to effectively transmit/receive PRS
[0064] The UE 104 can request lower period of PRS transmissions if needed
(The UE anchor node 102 allocates and sends smallest PRS period to the UE 104)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Pan, which includes meeting requirements for positioning between devices, to include Liu’s teaching of meeting requirements for positioning between devices, including determining response time resources, for the benefit of designing PRS transmission essential for the performance of positioning in term of positioning accuracy, resource efficiency and positioning latency etc (see [0024]).
Regarding claim 22, Pan, in view of Liu, teaches the first UE of claim 21.
Liu further teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to include, in the resource pool parameters:
a dedicated positioning resource pool
([0046] The UE(s) 104 and anchor(s) 102 receive the configuration of
resource pool(s) through the broadcasting of a serving RAN node (e.g., gNB 110) or some dedicated signaling or use the pre-configuration of resource pools), a contention based pool,
a sensing-window-positioning duration,
a type of sensing, or
a combination thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Pan, in view of Liu, which includes meeting requirements for positioning between devices, to include Liu’s teaching of meeting requirements for positioning between devices, including determining response time resources, for the benefit of designing PRS transmission essential for the performance of positioning in term of positioning accuracy, resource efficiency and positioning latency etc (see [0024]).
Regarding claim 23, Pan, in view of Liu, teaches the first UE of claim 21.
Pan further teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to include, in the QoS profile:
a horizontal accuracy requirement
Pg. 8, 6th Paragraph The UE can request a location (e.g. FIG. 8). The location request may include a request to receive a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS) from other UE(s) and may include response time, horizontal
accuracy),
a vertical accuracy requirement
Pg. 8, 6th Paragraph The UE can request a location (e.g. FIG. 8). The location request may include a request to receive a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS) from other UE(s) and may include response time, vertical accuracy),
a vertical coordinate request indicator,
a velocity request indicator, or
a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 26 Pan teaches
a second user equipment (UE) for managing response time in a positioning session between a first UE and the second UE conducted via sidelink (SL),
the second UE comprising
(Fig. 2 Mobile device 200 includes):
a transceiver
(Fig. 2 Tx/Rx Circuitry 230);
a memory
(Fig. 2 Memory 230); and
one or more processors communicatively coupled with the transceiver and the memory, wherein the one or more processors are configured to
(Fig. 2 Processor(s) 216 coupled with Tx/Rx Circuitry 230 and memory 230, processor(s) 216 configured to):
receive, via the transceiver from the first UE, a first message comprising a quality of service (QoS) profile, wherein the QoS profile includes a response time requirement for providing positioning information within the positioning session
(Pg. 8, 6th Paragraph The UE can request a location (e.g. FIG. 8), or another node can request the location from the UE (e.g. FIG. 7), the location request may include a request to perform sidelink positioning, the location request may include a request to receive a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL PRS) from other UE(s), a request to transmit assistance data configuration to other UE(s), the location request may include a response time, timing quality, etc
Pg. 10, 3rd Paragraph The assistance data response may include a QoS requirement, such as response time);
send a second message via the transceiver to the first UE, wherein the second message comprises an indication of whether the second UE can meet the response time requirement
(Pg. 9, 2nd Paragraph UE location response may include a successful location response that indicates the UE can perform SL positioning. Alternatively, the location response may include a location response failure that indicates the UE cannot perform SL positioning).
Pan does not teach
receive, via the transceiver from the first UE, a third message comprising resource pool parameters for the positioning session, wherein the resource pool parameters are based at least in part on the indication of whether the second UE can meet the response time requirement.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches
receive, via the transceiver from the first UE, a third message comprising resource pool parameters for the positioning session, wherein the resource pool parameters are based at least in part on the indication of whether the second UE can meet the response time requirement
([0050] The UE(s) 104 and anchor(s) 102 will attempt to allocate the smallest PRS period (*smallest resource allocation) requested from all relevant UEs to effectively transmit/receive PRS
[0064] The UE 104 can request lower period of PRS transmissions if needed
[0073] Clause 5 The method as recited in Clause 4, further comprising: if the determined period of the one or more positioning reference signals is less than the determined smallest period requested by the one or more other user equipment, transmitting, by the user equipment, the request to change the period of the one or more positioning reference signals
(If the determined resource period available for the PRS transmission < the period requested/needed by the other UEs for the PRS transmission, the UE 104 will request to change the PRS transmission period to the UE anchor node 102, which will allocate smallest PRS period to meet requirement, where the UE anchor node 102 allocates and sends smallest PRS period to the UE 104)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Pan, which includes meeting requirements for positioning between devices, to include Liu’s teaching of meeting requirements for positioning between devices, including determining response time resources, for the benefit of designing PRS transmission essential for the performance of positioning in term of positioning accuracy, resource efficiency and positioning latency etc (see [0024]).
Regarding claim 27, Pan, in view of Liu, teaches the second UE of claim 26.
Pan further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine, with the second UE, that the second UE cannot meet the response time requirement
(Pg. 9, 2nd Paragraph Alternatively, the location response may include a location response failure that indicates the UE cannot perform SL positioning).
Regarding claim 30, Pan, in view of Liu, teaches the second UE of claim 27.
Liu further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, responsive to determining the second UE cannot meet the response time requirement, determine a physical (PHY) layer transmission parameter
([0031] With continued reference to FIG. 1, illustratively the anchors 102 and UEs 104 can exchange signals, such as positioning signals, in accordance with a sidelink communication channel. Illustratively, the sidelink communication channel can correspond to NR SL, which is a physical layer composed of several physical channels and signals. The SL physical channels are a set of resource elements carrying information of higher layers of the protocol stack).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Pan, in view of Liu, which includes meeting requirements for positioning between devices, to include Liu’s teaching of meeting requirements for positioning between devices, including determining response time resources, for the benefit of designing PRS transmission essential for the performance of positioning in term of positioning accuracy, resource efficiency and positioning latency etc (see [0024]).
Claims 3, 6, 7, 13, 16, 17, 24, 25, 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan, in view of Liu, and further in view of Ren, et al (US PG Publication 2025/0048395), hereafter Ren.
Regarding claim 3, Pan, in view of Liu, teaches the method of claim 2.
Pan, in view of Liu, does not teach
wherein the type of sensing comprises:
full sensing,
partial sensing, or
random selection sensing.
In the same field of endeavor, Ren teaches
wherein the type of sensing comprises:
full sensing
([0135] The requirements of different scenes can be met, the time-frequency resource conflict between the sidelink positioning reference signals transmitted by the terminals can be avoided
[0138] In addition, in this embodiment, optionally, the resource-sensing includes at least one of the following: full sensing),
partial sensing
([0135] The requirements of different scenes can be met, the time-frequency resource conflict between the sidelink positioning reference signals transmitted by the terminals can be avoided
[0138] In addition, in this embodiment, optionally, the resource-sensing includes at least one of the following: periodic partial sensing; continuous partial sensing), or
random selection sensing
([0129] Determining, by the first terminal, whether to determine the
first resource through the resource-sensing or the random selection according to at least one of the following:
[0135] The requirements of different scenes can be met, the time-frequency resource conflict between the sidelink positioning reference signals transmitted by the terminals can be avoided).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Pan, in view of Liu, which includes meeting requirements for positioning between devices, to include Ren’s teaching of meeting requirements for positioning between devices, including determining response time resources, for the benefit of avoiding conflict between the sidelink positioning reference signals transmitted by the terminals (see [0135]).
Regarding claim 6, Pan, in view of Liu, teaches the method of claim 5.
Pan, in view of Liu, does not teach
further comprising, responsive to the indication the second UE cannot meet the response time requirement, determining, with the first UE, a priority level for the positioning session, wherein the priority level is included in the resource pool parameters for the positioning session.
In the same field of endeavor, Ren teaches
further comprising, responsive to the indication the second UE cannot meet the response time requirement, determining, with the first UE, a priority level for the positioning session, wherein the priority level is included in the resource pool
parameters for the positioning session
([0129] Determining, by the first terminal, whether to determine the first resource through the resource-sensing or the random selection according to at least one of the following:
[0130] a sensing capability of the first terminal; [0131] positioning delay requirement information; [0133] priority information
[0135] The requirements of different scenes can be met, the time-frequency resource conflict between the sidelink positioning reference signals transmitted by the terminals can be avoided).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Pan, in view of Liu, which includes meeting requirements for positioning between devices, to include Ren’s teaching of meeting requirements for positioning between devices, including determining response time resources, for the benefit of avoiding conflict between the sidelink positioning reference signals transmitted by the terminals (see [0135]).
Regarding claim 7, Pan, in view of Liu, teaches the method of claim 5.
Pan, in view of Liu, does not teach
further comprising, responsive to the indication the second UE cannot meet the response time requirement, determining, with the first UE, random selection sensing as a type of sensing for the positioning session, wherein the random selection sensing is included in the resource pool parameters for the positioning session.
In the same field of endeavor, Ren teaches
further comprising, responsive to the indication the second UE cannot meet the response time requirement, determining, with the first UE, random selection sensing as a type of sensing for the positioning session, wherein the random selection sensing is included in the resource pool parameters for the positioning session
([0129] Determining, by the first terminal, whether to determine the first resource through the resource-sensing or the random selection according to at least one of the following:
[0130] a sensing capability of the first terminal; [0131] positioning delay requirement information
[0135] The requirements of different scenes can be met, the time-frequency resource conflict between the sidelink positioning reference signals transmitted by the terminals can be avoided).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Pan, in view of Liu, which includes meeting requirements for positioning between devices, to include Ren’s teaching of meeting requirements for positioning between devices, including determining response time resources, for the benefit of avoiding conflict between the sidelink positioning reference signals transmitted by the terminals (see [0135]).
Regarding claim 13, Pan, in view of Liu, teaches the method of claim 12.
Pan, in view of Liu, does not teach
wherein the type of sensing comprises:
full sensing,
partial sensing, or
random selection sensing.
In the same field of endeavor, Ren teaches
wherein the type of sensing comprises:
full sensing
([0135] The requirements of different scenes can be met, the time-frequency resource conflict between the sidelink positioning reference signals transmitted by the terminals can be avoided
[0138] In addition, in this embodiment, optionally, the resource-sensing includes at least one of the following: full sensing),
partial sensing
([0135] The requirements of different scenes can be met, the time-frequency resource conflict between the sidelink positioning reference signals transmitted by the terminals can be avoided
[0138] In addition, in this embodiment, optionally, the resource-sensing includes at least one of the following: periodic partial sensing; continuous partial sensing), or
random selection sensing
([0129] Determining, by the first terminal, whether to determine the first resource through the resource-sensing or the random selection according to at least one of the following:
[0135] The requirements of different scenes can be met, the time-frequency resource conflict between the sidelink positioning reference
signals transmitted by the terminals can be avoided).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Pan, in view of Liu, which includes meeting requirements for positioning between devices, to include Ren’s teaching of meeting requirements for positioning between devices, including determining response time resources, for the benefit of avoiding conflict between the sidelink positioning reference signals transmitted by the terminals (see [0135]).
Regarding claim 16, Pan, in view of Liu, teaches the method of claim 15.
Pan, in view of Liu, does not teach
further comprising, responsive to determining the second UE cannot meet the response time requirement, determining, with the second UE, a priority level for the positioning session.
In the same field of endeavor, Ren teaches
further comprising, responsive to determining the second UE cannot meet the response time requirement, determining, with the second UE, a priority level for the positioning session
([0129] Determining, by the first terminal, whether to determine the first resource through the resource-sensing or the random selection according to at least one of the following:
[0130] a sensing capability of the first terminal; [0131] positioning delay requirement information; [0133] priority information
[0135] The requirements of different scenes can be met, the time-frequency resource conflict between the sidelink positioning reference signals transmitted by the terminals can be avoided).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Pan, in view of Liu, which includes meeting requirements for positioning between devices, to include Ren’s teaching of meeting requirements for positioning between devices, including determining response time resources, for the benefit of avoiding conflict between the sidelink positioning reference signals transmitted by the terminals (see [0135]).
Regarding claim 17, Pan, in view of Liu, teaches the method of claim 15.
Pan, in view of Liu, does not teach
further comprising, responsive to determining the second UE cannot meet the response time requirement, determining, with the second UE, random selection sensing as a type of sensing for the positioning session.
In the same field of endeavor, Ren teaches
further comprising, responsive to determining the second UE cannot meet the response time requirement, determining, with the second UE, random selection sensing as a type of sensing for the positioning session
([0129] Determining, by the first terminal, whether to determine the first resource through the resource-sensing or the random selection according to at least one of the following:
[0130] a sensing capability of the first terminal; [0131] positioning
delay requirement information
[0135] The requirements of different scenes can be met, the time-frequency resource conflict between the sidelink positioning reference signals transmitted by the terminals can be avoided).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Pan, in view of Liu, which includes meeting requirements for positioning between devices, to include Ren’s teaching of meeting requirements for positioning between devices, including determining response time resources, for the benefit of avoiding conflict between the sidelink positioning reference signals transmitted by the terminals (see [0135]).
Regarding claim 24, Pan, in view of Liu, teaches the first UE of claim 21.
Pan, in view of Liu, does not teach
wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine a priority level for the positioning session, wherein the priority level is included in the resource pool parameters for the positioning session when the indication of whether the second UE can meet the response time requirement comprises an indication the second UE cannot meet the response time requirement.
In the same field of endeavor, Ren teaches
wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine a priority level for the positioning session, wherein the priority level is included in the resource pool parameters for the positioning session when the indication of whether the second UE can meet the response time requirement comprises an indication the second UE cannot
meet the response time requirement
([0129] Determining, by the first terminal, whether to determine the first resource through the resource-sensing or the random selection according to at least one of the following:
[0130] a sensing capability of the first terminal; [0131] positioning delay requirement information; [0133] priority information
[0135] The requirements of different scenes can be met, the time-frequency resource conflict between the sidelink positioning reference signals transmitted by the terminals can be avoided).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Pan, in view of Liu, which includes meeting requirements for positioning between devices, to include Ren’s teaching of meeting requirements for positioning between devices, including determining response time resources, for the benefit of avoiding conflict between the sidelink positioning reference signals transmitted by the terminals (see [0135]).
Regarding claim 25, Pan, in view of Liu, teaches the first UE of claim 24.
Pan, in view of Liu, does not teach
wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine random selection sensing as a type of sensing for the positioning session when the indication of whether the second UE can meet the response time requirement comprises an indication the second UE cannot meet the response time requirement, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to include random selection sensing in the
resource pool parameters for the positioning session.
In the same field of endeavor, Ren teaches
wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine random selection sensing as a type of sensing for the positioning session when the indication of whether the second UE can meet the response time requirement comprises an indication the second UE cannot meet the response time requirement, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to include random selection sensing in the resource pool parameters for the positioning session
([0129] Determining, by the first terminal, whether to determine the first resource through the resource-sensing or the random selection according to at least one of the following:
[0130] a sensing capability of the first terminal; [0131] positioning delay requirement information
[0135] The requirements of different scenes can be met, the time-frequency resource conflict between the sidelink positioning reference signals transmitted by the terminals can be avoided).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Pan, in view of Liu, which includes meeting requirements for positioning between devices, to include Ren’s teaching of meeting requirements for positioning between devices, including determining response time resources, for the benefit of avoiding conflict between the sidelink positioning reference signals transmitted by the terminals (see [0135]).
Regarding claim 28, Pan, in view of Liu, teaches the second UE of claim 27.
Pan, in view of Liu, does not teach
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, responsive to determining the second UE cannot meet the response time requirement, determine a priority level for the positioning session.
In the same field of endeavor, Ren teaches
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, responsive to determining the second UE cannot meet the response time requirement, determine a priority level for the positioning session
([0129] Determining, by the first terminal, whether to determine the first resource through the resource-sensing or the random selection according to at least one of the following:
[0130] a sensing capability of the first terminal; [0131] positioning delay requirement information; [0133] priority information
[0135] The requirements of different scenes can be met, the time-frequency resource conflict between the sidelink positioning reference signals transmitted by the terminals can be avoided).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Pan, in view of Liu, which includes meeting requirements for positioning between devices, to include Ren’s teaching of meeting requirements for positioning between devices, including determining response time resources, for the benefit of avoiding conflict between the sidelink positioning reference signals transmitted by the terminals (see [0135]).
Regarding claim 29, Pan, in view of Liu, teaches the second UE of claim 27.
Pan, in view of Liu, does not teach
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, responsive to determining the second UE cannot meet the response time requirement, determine random selection sensing as a type of sensing for the positioning session.
In the same field of endeavor, Ren teaches
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, responsive to determining the second UE cannot meet the response time requirement, determine random selection sensing as a type of sensing for the positioning session
([0129] Determining, by the first terminal, whether to determine the first resource through the resource-sensing or the random selection according to at least one of the following:
[0130] a sensing capability of the first terminal; [0131] positioning delay requirement information
[0135] The requirements of different scenes can be met, the time-frequency resource conflict between the sidelink positioning reference signals transmitted by the terminals can be avoided).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Pan, in view of Liu, which includes meeting requirements for positioning between devices, to include Ren’s teaching of meeting requirements for positioning between devices, including determining response time resources, for the benefit of avoiding conflict between the
sidelink positioning reference signals transmitted by the terminals (see [0135]).
Conclusion
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art not Applied
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rastegardoost, et al (US PG Publication 2023/0354220), hereafter Rastegardoost, teaches sidelink communications, where a random access response window timer may be used for measuring a window of time for receiving a random access response.
assigned is 571-273-8300.
/FRANK E. DONADO/Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/Rafael Pérez-Gutiérrez/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2642