DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: on line 3, delete”;” and replace with “,”. On line 4, delete “,” and replace with “;”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: on line 5, delete”;” and replace with “,”. On line 6, delete “,” and replace with “;”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: on line 3, delete”;” and replace with “,”. On line 4, delete “,” and replace with “;”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-9, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ishii US 12,563,466.
Regarding claim 1, Ishii discloses a method for performing communication, performed by a UE (User Equipment) (116, see fig. 11), comprising:
receiving, from a MBSR (Mobile Base Station Relay) (112, see fig. 11, col. 20, line 45-47), MBSR specific information; wherein the MBSR specific information includes a MBSR selection decision timer (wireless terminal 116 receiving serving cell mobility information from mobile base station relay; wireless terminal is configured by a serving cell with timer configurations (TreselectionVMR), see figs. 11-14, col. 11, lines 36-49 and 65-67, col. 12, lines 1-32, col. 20, lines 15-47, col. 22, lines 1-22, col. 29, lines 45-65),
performing a first measurement for the MBSR (evaluating a mobility state/information of a cell, determining the cell is mobile based on speed, see col. 11, lines 40-49, col. 20, lines 39-40, col. 28, lines 58-65, col. 29, lines 45-52);
operating the MBSR selection decision timer, based on a result of the first measurement meeting cell reselection criteria (Case 2, Case 3, Case 4, using TreselectionVMR timer, see col. 29, line 45 – col. 30, line 29);
performing a second measurement for the MBSR, based on the MBSR selection decision timer expiring (wireless terminal 116 uses timer to evaluate cell 114, see figs. 11-15, col. 29, line 62 – col. 20, line 29);
performing cell reselection to the MBSR, based on a result of the second measurement meeting the cell reselection criteria (see figs. 15-17, col. 31, lines 54-65).
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1, Ishii further discloses:
receiving, from the MBSR, mobility information of the MBSR, wherein the cell reselection is performed based on the mobility information of the MBSR (wireless terminal 116 receiving serving cell mobility information from mobile base station relay; wireless terminal is configured by a serving cell with timer configurations (TreselectionVMR), see figs. 11-14, and 17, col. 11, lines 36-49 and 65-67, col. 12, lines 1-32, col. 20, lines 15-47, col. 22, lines 1-22, col. 29, lines 45-65, col. 31, lines 54-65).
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 2, Ishii further discloses wherein the cell reselection is performed based on mobility information of the UE (see figs. 15-17, col. 31, lines 54-65).
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 1, Ishii further discloses wherein the MBSR specific information includes at least one of i) information indicating that the MBSR is a mobile base station and ii) identifying information for the MBSR (see figs. 11-14, col. 11, lines 36-49 and 65-67, col. 12, lines 1-32, col. 20, lines 15-47, col. 22, lines 1-22, col. 29, lines 45-65).
Regarding claim 7, Ishii discloses a UE (User Equipment) (116, see figs. 1, 12, and 16), to perform communication, comprising:
a transceiver (276, see figs. 2, 12, and 16); and
a processor (290, see figs. 2, 12, and 16), wherein the processor performs operation comprising:
receiving, from a MBSR (Mobile Base Station Relay) (112, see fig. 11, col. 20, line 45-47), MBSR specific information; wherein the MBSR specific information includes a MBSR selection decision timer (wireless terminal 116 receiving serving cell mobility information from the mobile base station relay; wireless terminal is configured by a serving cell/mobile base station relay with timer configurations (TreselectionVMR), see figs. 11-14, col. 11, lines 36-49 and 65-67, col. 12, lines 1-32, col. 20, lines 15-47, col. 22, lines 1-22, col. 29, lines 45-65),
performing a first measurement for the MBSR (evaluating a mobility state/information of a cell, determining the cell is mobile based on speed, see col. 11, lines 40-49, col. 20, lines 39-40, col. 28, lines 58-65, col. 29, lines 45-52);
operating the MBSR selection decision timer, based on a result of the first measurement meeting cell reselection criteria (Case 2, Case 3, Case 4, using TreselectionVMR timer, see col. 29, line 45 – col. 30, line 29);
performing a second measurement for the MBSR, based on the MBSR selection decision timer expiring (wireless terminal 116 uses timer to evaluate cell 114, see figs. 11-15, col. 29, line 62 – col. 20, line 29);
performing cell reselection to the MBSR, based on a result of the second measurement meeting the cell reselection criteria (see figs. 15-17, col. 31, lines 54-65).
Regarding claim 8 as applied to claim 7, Ishii further discloses:
receiving, from the MBSR, mobility information of the MBSR, wherein the cell reselection is performed based on the mobility information of the MBSR (wireless terminal 116 receiving serving cell mobility information from mobile base station relay; wireless terminal is configured by a serving cell with timer configurations (TreselectionVMR), see figs. 11-14, and 17, col. 11, lines 36-49 and 65-67, col. 12, lines 1-32, col. 20, lines 15-47, col. 22, lines 1-22, col. 29, lines 45-65, col. 31, lines 54-65).
Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 7, Ishii further discloses:
wherein the cell reselection is performed based on mobility information of the UE (see figs. 15-17, col. 31, lines 54-65).
Regarding claim 12 as applied to claim 7, Ishii further discloses: wherein the MBSR specific information includes at least one of i) information indicating that the MBSR is a mobile base station and ii) identifying information for the MBSR (see figs. 11-14, col. 11, lines 36-49 and 65-67, col. 12, lines 1-32, col. 20, lines 15-47, col. 22, lines 1-22, col. 29, lines 45-65).
Regarding claim 13, Ishii discloses a method for performing communication, performed by a MBSR (Mobile Base Station Relay) (112, see fig. 11, col. 20, line 45-47), comprising:
transmitting, to a UE (User Equipment) (116, see figs. 1, 12, and 16), MBSR specific information; wherein the MBSR specific information includes a MBSR selection decision timer (wireless terminal 116 receiving serving cell mobility information from the mobile base station relay; wireless terminal is configured by a serving cell/mobile base station relay with timer configurations (TreselectionVMR), see figs. 11-14, col. 11, lines 36-49 and 65-67, col. 12, lines 1-32, col. 20, lines 15-47, col. 22, lines 1-22, col. 29, lines 45-65),
establishing RRC (Radio Resource Control) connection of the UE, based on the UE performing cell reselection to the MBSR (see figs. 15-17, col. 31, lines 54-65).
Regarding claim 14 as applied to claim 13, Ishii further discloses: transmitting, to the UE, mobility information of the MBSR (wireless terminal 116 receiving serving cell mobility information from mobile base station relay; wireless terminal is configured by a serving cell with timer configurations (TreselectionVMR), see figs. 11-14, and 17, col. 11, lines 36-49 and 65-67, col. 12, lines 1-32, col. 20, lines 15-47, col. 22, lines 1-22, col. 29, lines 45-65, col. 31, lines 54-65).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 10, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii US 12,563,466 in view of Mochizuki et al US 20240007923 (hereinafter Mochizuki).
Regarding claims 4, 10, and 15 as applied to claims 1, 7, and 13, Ishii discloses the claimed invention except wherein the MBSR specific information includes PLMN (Public Land Mobile Network) ID. Mochizuki discloses transmitting, to a UE, mobile relay specific information that includes a PLMN (Public Land Mobile Network) ID (see [0501]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Mochizuki with Ishii by including a PLMN ID in the mobility information transmitted to a UE, for the benefit of enabling the UE to register and connect to a gNB and/or AMF.
Regarding claims 5 and 11 as applied to claims 1 and 13, Ishii discloses the claimed invention except establishing RRC (Radio Resource Control) connection via the MBSR; performing registration procedure with an AMF (Access and Mobility management Function). Mochizuki discloses establishing a connection with a relay UE and performing registration procedure with an AMF (see [0501]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Mochizuki with Ishii by including a PLMN ID in the mobility information transmitted to a UE, for the benefit of enabling the UE to register and connect to a gNB and/or AMF.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pelletier et al WO 2016/164808 A1 discloses a remote WTRU starting a reselection procedure when measurements of signal quality of the other candidate mobile relays is above a configured threshold. The remote WTRU may start a reselection procedure when measurements of signal quality of the other candidate mobile relays are better than the measurements of the signal quality of the mobile relay WTRU to which the remote WTRU is connected. For example, the remote WTRU may perform reselection when the signal quality of one or more candidate mobile relays may be better than the measurements of the signal quality of the current mobile relay WTRU by a given offset. The remote WTRU may perform reselection when the signal quality of one or more candidate mobile relays may be better than the measurements of the signal quality of the mobile relay WTRU for a given period of time. The remote WTRU may perform reselection when the signal quality of one or more candidate mobile relays may be better than the measurements of the signal quality of the mobile relay WTRU by a given offset for a given period of time.
/OLUMIDE AJIBADE AKONAI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648