CTNF 18/835,873 CTNF 90620 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/11/2025, 08/05/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Priority 02-27 AIA Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2022-026094 , filed on 02/22/2022 . Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In regards to claim 1 , recites “on the irradiation surface, part of the irradiation range of the second illumination light being closer to the first light source and the second light source than the irradiation range of the first illumination light is.” change to “on the irradiation surface, part of the irradiation range of the second illumination light being closer to the first light source and the second light source than the irradiation range of the first illumination light is .” Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1 and 3-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van de Ven [US 2012/0306375 A1] in view of Keller et al [US 2022/0026052 A1] and further in view of Petluri et al [US 2021/0068222 A1] In regards to claims 1. Van de Ven discloses an illumination system (Fig. 4, 400) comprising: a first light source (Fig. 4, 410a) configured to irradiate an irradiation surface with first illumination light of a chromatic color, a quantity and a color of the first illumination light being variable (Paragraph [0029-30]) ; a second light source (Fig. 4, 410b) configured to irradiate the irradiation surface with second illumination light different from the first illumination light, a quantity and a color of the second illumination light being variable (Paragraph [0029-30]) ; a driver (Fig. 4, 420) configured to drive the first light source (Fig. 4, 410a) such that the quantity and the color of the first illumination light respectively match a first light quantity target value and a first light color target value (Paragraph [0029-31]) ; and drive the second light source (Fig. 4, 410b) such that the quantity and the color of the second illumination light respectively match a second light quantity target value and a second light color target value (Paragraph [0029-31]) ; and a controller (Fig. 4, dimming control input & Paragraph [0058] and control circuit 420 & Paragraph [0062]) configured to give the first light quantity target value and the first light color target value to the first driver (Paragraph [0029-31]) and give the second light quantity target value and the second light color target value to the second driver (Paragraph [0029-31]) , the first light source (Fig. 4, 410a) and the second light source (Fig. 4, 410b) being configured such that at least part of an irradiation range of the first illumination light overlaps an irradiation range of the second illumination light on the irradiation surface (Paragraph [0030] and claim 36) , a chromaticity of the first illumination light being apart from a chromaticity of an equi-energy white point by more than or equal to 10 steps in a MacAdam ellipse (Fig. 8 & Paragraph [0023 & 0063 & 0068] and Claim 12) , Van de Ven does not specify a luminous intensity distribution characteristic of the first light source being narrow-angled with respect to a luminous intensity distribution characteristic of the second light source, and on the irradiation surface, part of the irradiation range of the second illumination light being closer to the first light source and the second light source than the irradiation range of the first illumination light is. a first driver; a second driver; Keller discloses a luminous intensity distribution characteristic of the first light source (Fig. 23, 232) being narrow-angled (Fig. 13, 132) with respect to a luminous intensity distribution characteristic of the second light source (Fig. 23, 231) , and on the irradiation surface (Fig. 9c and 10) , part of the irradiation range (Paragraph [0755]) of the second illumination light (Fig. 13, 131) being closer to the first light source (Fig. 23, 232) and the second light source (Fig. 23, 231) than the irradiation range of the first illumination light (Fig. 13, 132) is. a first driver (Fig. 62, 364) ; a second driver (Fig. 62, 364) ; It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of Keller with Van de Ven to discloses or teach a luminous intensity distribution characteristic of the first light source being narrow-angled with respect to a luminous intensity distribution characteristic of the second light source, and on the irradiation surface, part of the irradiation range of the second illumination light being closer to the first light source and the second light source than the irradiation range of the first illumination light is. a first driver; a second driver for purpose of improve mood and health using lights in visual connection with the outdoors that is pleasing as disclosed by Keller (Paragraph [0021]). Van de Ven discloses a chromaticity of the first illumination light being apart from a chromaticity of an equi-energy white point by more than or equal to 50 steps in a MacAdam ellipse Petluri discloses a chromaticity of the first illumination light being apart from a chromaticity of an equi-energy white point by more than or equal to 50 steps in a MacAdam ellipse (Paragraph [0062]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to use teachings of Petluri with combination Van de Ven in view of Keller to disclose and teach a chromaticity of the first illumination light being apart from a chromaticity of an equi-energy white point by more than or equal to 50 steps in a MacAdam ellipse for purpose of providing for impro ved light rendering performance, providing higher EML performance along with color-rendering performance, for white light across a predetermined range of CCTs as disclosed by Petluri (Paragraph [0055]) In regards to claims 3. Van de Ven in view of Keller and further in view of Petluri discloses the illumination system of claim 1, wherein a first main irradiation range (Van de Ven Fig. 4, 410a) in which an illuminance is higher than or equal to 30% (Van de Ven Paragraph [0062-63]) when a maximum illuminance is 100% (Van de Ven Paragraph [0062-63]) in the irradiation range of the first illumination light overlaps at least part of a second main irradiation range (Van de Ven Fig. 4, 410b) in which an illuminance is higher than or equal to 30% (Van de Ven Paragraph [0062-63]) when a maximum illuminance is 100% (Van de Ven Paragraph [0062-63]) in the irradiation range of the second illumination light (Van de Ven Fig. 4, 410b) . In regards to claims 4. Van de Ven in view of Keller and further in view of Petluri discloses the illumination system of claim 1, wherein a chromaticity of the second illumination light (Van de Ven Fig. 4, 410b) matches a chromaticity on a virtual line segment in a chromaticity diagram (Van de ven: Paragraph [0005-22]) , and the virtual line segment is a line segment connecting the chromaticity (Van de ven: Paragraph [0005-22]) of the first illumination light (Fig. 4, 410a) and an arbitrary chromaticity of the second illumination light (Van de Ven Fig. 4, 410b) to each other and is apart from the chromaticity of the equi-energy white point by more than or equal to 25 steps in the MacAdam ellipse (Keller: Paragraph [0181]) . In regards to claims 5. Van de Ven in view of Keller and further in view of Petluri discloses the illumination system of claim 2, wherein the controller (Keller: Fig. 62, 360) is configured to coordinate the second light quantity target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) and the second light color target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) with each other which are to be given to the second driver (Keller: Fig. 62, 364) . In regards to claims 6. Van de Ven in view of Keller and further in view of Petluri discloses the illumination system of claim 1, wherein the controller (Keller: Fig. 62, 360) is configured to determine the second light quantity target value (Keller: Paragraph [0231]) to be given to the second driver (Keller: Fig. 62, 364) in accordance with a color difference (Keller: Paragraph [0173]) between the second light color target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) to be given to the second driver (Keller: Fig. 62, 364) and the first light color target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) . In regards to claims 7. Van de Ven in view of Keller and further in view of Petluri discloses the illumination system of claim 6, wherein the controller (Keller: Fig. 62, 360) is configured to increase the second light quantity target value (Keller: Paragraph [0231]) as the color difference increases (Keller: Paragraph [0173]) . In regards to claims 8. Van de Ven in view of Keller and further in view of Petluri discloses the illumination system of claim 1, further comprising an input receiver configured to receive an input (Keller: Paragraph [0231]) which specifies the first light quantity target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) and the first light color target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) , wherein the controller (Keller: Fig. 62, 360) is configured to give the first light quantity target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) and the first light color target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) specified by the input received by the input receiver to the first driver (Keller: Fig. 62, 364) and give, to the second driver (Keller: Fig. 62, 364) , the second light quantity target value (Keller: Paragraph [0231]) and the second light color target value (Keller: Paragraph [0231]) respectively corresponding to the first light quantity target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) and the first light color target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) which are to be given to the first driver (Keller: Fig. 62, 364) . In regards to claims 9. Van de Ven in view of Keller and further in view of Petluri discloses the illumination system of claim 3, wherein a chromaticity of the second illumination light (Petluri: Paragraph [0030-0178]) matches a chromaticity on a virtual line segment in a chromaticity diagram (Petluri: Paragraph [0030-0178]) , and the virtual line segment is a line segment connecting the chromaticity (Petluri: Paragraph [0030-0178]) of the first illumination light and an arbitrary chromaticity of the second illumination light to each other and is apart from the chromaticity (Petluri: Paragraph [0030-0178]) of the equi-energy white point by more than or equal to 25 steps in the MacAdam ellipse (Keller: Paragraph [0181]) . In regards to claims 10. Van de Ven in view of Keller and further in view of Petluri discloses the illumination system of claim 3, wherein the controller (Keller: Fig. 62, 360) is configured to coordinate the second light quantity target value (Keller: Paragraph [0231]) and the second light color target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) with each other which are to be given to the second driver (Keller: Fig. 62, 364) . In regards to claims 11. Van de Ven in view of Keller and further in view of Petluri discloses the illumination system of claim 4, wherein the controller (Keller: Fig. 62, 360) is configured to coordinate the second light quantity target value (Keller: Paragraph [0231]) and the second light color target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) with each other which are to be given to the second driver (Keller: Fig. 62, 364) . In regards to claims 12. Van de Ven in view of Keller and further in view of Petluri discloses the illumination system of claim 3, wherein the controller (Keller: Fig. 62, 360) is configured to determine the second light quantity target value (Keller: Paragraph [0231]) to be given to the second driver (Keller: Fig. 62, 364) in accordance with a color difference (Keller: Paragraph [0173]) between the second light color target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) to be given to the second driver (Keller: Fig. 62, 364) and the first light color target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) . In regards to claims 13. Van de Ven in view of Keller and further in view of Petluri discloses the illumination system of claim 4, wherein the controller (Keller: Fig. 62, 360) is configured to determine the second light quantity target value (Keller: Paragraph [0231]) to be given to the second driver (Keller: Fig. 62, 364) in accordance with a color difference (Keller: Paragraph [0173]) between the second light color target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) to be given to the second driver (Keller: Fig. 62, 364) and the first light color target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) . In regards to claims 14. Van de Ven in view of Keller and further in view of Petluri discloses the illumination system of claim 5, wherein the controller (Keller: Fig. 62, 360) is configured to determine the second light quantity target value (Keller: Paragraph [0231]) to be given to the second driver in accordance with a color difference (Keller: Paragraph [0173]) between the second light color target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) to be given to the second driver (Keller: Fig. 62, 364) and the first light color target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) . In regards to claims 15. Van de Ven in view of Keller and further in view of Petluri discloses the illumination system of claim 3, further comprising an input receiver configured to receive an input (Keller: Paragraph [0231]) which specifies the first light quantity target value (Keller: Paragraph [0231]) and the first light color target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) , wherein the controller (Keller: Fig. 62, 360) is configured to give the first light quantity target value (Keller: Paragraph [0231]) and the first light color target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) specified by the input received by the input receiver to the first driver (Keller: Fig. 62, 364) and give, to the second driver (Keller: Fig. 62, 364) , the second light quantity target value (Keller: Paragraph [0231]) and the second light color target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) respectively corresponding to the first light quantity target value (Keller: Paragraph [0231]) and the first light color target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) which are to be given to the first driver (Keller: Fig. 62, 364) . In regards to claims 16. Van de Ven in view of Keller and further in view of Petluri discloses the illumination system of claim 4, further comprising an input receiver configured to receive an input (Keller: Paragraph [0231]) which specifies the first light quantity target value (Keller: Paragraph [0231]) and the first light color target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) , wherein the controller (Keller: Fig. 62, 360) is configured to give the first light quantity target value (Keller: Paragraph [0231]) and the first light color target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) specified by the input received by the input receiver to the first driver (Keller: Fig. 62, 364) and give, to the second driver (Keller: Fig. 62, 364) , the second light quantity target value (Keller: Paragraph [0231]) and the second light color target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) respectively corresponding to the first light quantity target value (Keller: Paragraph [0231]) and the first light color target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) which are to be given to the first driver (Keller: Fig. 62, 364) . In regards to claims 17. Van de Ven in view of Keller and further in view of Petluri discloses the illumination system of claim 5, further comprising an input receiver configured to receive an input which specifies the first light quantity target value a (Keller: Paragraph [0231]) nd the first light color target value, wherein the controller (Keller: Fig. 62, 360) is configured to give the first light quantity target value and the first light color target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) specified by the input received by the input receiver to the first driver (Keller: Fig. 62, 364) and give, to the second driver, the second light quantity target value (Keller: Paragraph [0231]) and the second light color target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) respectively corresponding to the first light quantity target value (Keller: Paragraph [0231]) and the first light color target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) which are to be given to the first driver (Keller: Fig. 62, 364) . In regards to claims 18. Van de Ven in view of Keller and further in view of Petluri discloses the illumination system of claim 6, further comprising an input receiver (Keller: Paragraph [0231]) configured to receive an input which specifies the first light quantity target value (Keller: Paragraph [0231]) and the first light color target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) , wherein the controller (Keller: Fig. 62, 360) is configured to give the first light quantity target value (Keller: Paragraph [0231]) and the first light color target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) specified by the input received by the input receiver to the first driver (Keller: Fig. 62, 364) and give, to the second driver (Keller: Fig. 62, 364) , the second light quantity target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) and the second light color target value respectively corresponding to the first light quantity target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) and the first light color target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) which are to be given to the first driver (Keller: Fig. 62, 364) . In regards to claims 19. Van de Ven in view of Keller and further in view of Petluri discloses the illumination system of claim 7, further comprising an input receiver (Keller: Paragraph [0231]) configured to receive an input which specifies the first light quantity target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) and the first light color target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) , wherein the controller (Keller: Fig. 62, 360) is configured to give the first light quantity target value and the first light color target value s (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) pecified by the input received by the input receiver to the first driver (Keller: Fig. 62, 364) and give, to the second driver (Keller: Fig. 62, 364) , the second light quantity target value (Keller: Paragraph [0231]) and the second light color target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) respectively corresponding to the first light quantity target value and the first light color target value (Van de Ven Paragraph [0029-30]) which are to be given to the first driver (Keller: Fig. 62, 364) . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WEI (VICTOR) CHAN whose telephone number is (571)272-5177. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:00am to 6:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Alexander Taningco can be reached at 571-272-8048. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. WEI (VICTOR) CHAN Primary Examiner Art Unit 2844 /WEI (VICTOR) Y CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844 Application/Control Number: 18/835,873 Page 2 Art Unit: 2844 Application/Control Number: 18/835,873 Page 3 Art Unit: 2844 Application/Control Number: 18/835,873 Page 4 Art Unit: 2844 Application/Control Number: 18/835,873 Page 5 Art Unit: 2844 Application/Control Number: 18/835,873 Page 6 Art Unit: 2844 Application/Control Number: 18/835,873 Page 7 Art Unit: 2844 Application/Control Number: 18/835,873 Page 8 Art Unit: 2844 Application/Control Number: 18/835,873 Page 9 Art Unit: 2844 Application/Control Number: 18/835,873 Page 10 Art Unit: 2844 Application/Control Number: 18/835,873 Page 11 Art Unit: 2844 Application/Control Number: 18/835,873 Page 12 Art Unit: 2844 Application/Control Number: 18/835,873 Page 13 Art Unit: 2844