DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 39 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2 of the claim, the word “first” is misspelled and should be corrected. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16, 18, 19, 26, 28, 29, 30, 31, 33, 34, 35, 36, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Applicant’s new claims contain claimed subject matter that does not appear to be supported by Applicant’s specification as originally filed. For example, the limitations of the 1st and 2nd filament types and 1st and 2nd predefined regions do not appear to be supported. Since all of Applicant’s claims as amended are new and Applicant did not point to any explicit support from the specification in the preliminary amendment for the new claims, the Examiner requests that Applicant show specific support for each new claim in a subsequent response.
Claims 26 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. New Claim 26 recites “drawing the filaments through an array of gitters to arrange the bundle the filaments”. Relating to the 112a rejection set forth above, Applicant’s originally filed specification does not disclose “gitters”, therefore it is unclear what is meant by this limitation. For the purposes of search and examination, the balance of the claim limitations will be searched and considered to the best ability of the Examiner.
New Claim 32 recites the edible binder “is selected from the group comprising” the claimed components, and the combination of open and closed language in the new claim render the claim indefinite as the claim may provide for other components to be included as binder that are not within the claimed group. However, the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite for search and consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ben-Shitrit et al. (WO 2020/152689) in view of Boyer (USPN 2,682,466), both made of record by Applicant.
USPA 2022/0125072 is being used as the English language equivalent of the WO publication in the following rejection has been made of record by the Examiner.
Regarding new Claims 16 and 22, Ben-Shitrit teaches a method for producing a meat substitute product (Paragraph 17), comprising the following steps: a) providing a plurality of strands containing water and at least one of additional proteins or additional fats (Paragraphs 17, 47, 66, 81, 278 and Figures 2, 3A and 3B showing the plurality of strands), b) forming a filament arrangement having a first and a second predefined region, as Ben-Shitrit teaches the method comprising preparing a meat analogue comprising a protein-based component and a fat-based component separately distributed within the product, therefore teaching first predefined region comprising a protein-based component and second predefined regions comprising a fat-based component, wherein the method comprises the sub-steps of b-1) grouping strands of a first strand type into bundles and assigning the strands to a first predetermined position in the meat substitute for forming the first pre-defined region, the first predefined region being configured for forming a first meat imitation component, and b-2) grouping strands of a second strand type into bundles and assigning the strands to a second predetermined position in the meat substitute product for forming the second predefined region, second predefined region being configured for forming a second meat imitation component, as Ben-Shitrit teaches preparing protein-based components into segments or strands that are separate from the other segments or strands that comprise or consist essentially of the fat-based component or segments (Paragraphs 17-23, 48, 81, 232, and Figures 3A and B), where the protein-based segments (Reference 230 in Figures 3A and B) read on the first meat imitation component and the fat-based segments read on the second meat imitation component (Reference 232 in Figures 3 A and B), combined together to form a meat substitute product (Reference 200 in Figures 3A and B)., Ben-Shitrit further teaches bonding the strands together and arranging the strand arrangement to form the meat substitute product (Paragraphs 205, 213, 248-250 and Figures 3A and B, for example).
Ben-Shitrit does not specifically teach the claimed method comprising providing a plurality of multi-component filaments and forming the filament arrangement as claimed, comprising grouping of filaments into bundles of a first filament type and grouping of filaments into bundles of a second filament type, bonding the filaments together and arranging the filament arrangement to form the meat substitute product, as recited in new Claim 16. Ben-Shitrit does teach that the alignment protein structure can be achieved with known methods including spinning (Paragraph 66).
Boyer teaches a method of making a synthetic proteinaceous food that closes resembles natural meat as to appearance, its fibrous qualities, flavor, nutritive value and chewiness (Column 1, lines 40-50), and teaches using a spinneret extrusion method to form several thousand filaments which are very fine, and these several thousands of filaments will constitute a group of filaments or a bundle of filaments (Column 3, lines 10-30), which are bound together by a binding agent, (Columns 3-4, lines 70-75 and 1-15 and Column 5, lines 1-10), and then structurally aligned and stretching to form the simulated meat product (Column 5, lines 35-60). Boyer teaches the filaments include a protein based material with a fat coating (Column 5, lines Therefore, since Boyer teaches a method of making a simulated meat product that resembles natural meat in a variety of parameters and uses a spinning method to achieve this goal, wherein the spinning method results in groups of filaments that are bundled together to mimic the natural meat, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used the principle of Ben-Shitrit to have formed protein-based filaments and to include distinct groups of protein-based filaments and to have formed fat-based filaments and to include distinct groups of fat-based filaments, both produced by a spinning process, in order to provide distinct regions of fat and protein, thereby producing a simulated meat product that closely resembles natural meat in the ways highlighted above by Boyer.
Regarding new Claims 17 and 36, Ben-Shitrit as motivated by Boyer teach and render obvious the method claimed in Claim 16 and render obvious the claimed meat substitute product as recited in Claim 36, and teach the filaments as set forth above, where Boyer teaches the filaments thus produced are very fine, having a diameter of about 20 microns (Boyer, Column 3, lines 20-25). Using the formula of a cross-section of Area= Πd2/4, where cross-sectional area of the filament can be calculated to be (3.14)(202)/4 = 314 microns2 or 0.314mm2, which is within the claimed range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have had filaments having a cross-sectional area within the claimed range in order to provide thin filaments that can be grouped together to form the simulated meat products discussed.
Regarding new Claims 18, 19, 34, 35, Ben-Shitrit in view of Boyer teaches the filaments of the first filament type comprises filaments of substantially the same ingredients, and the filaments of the second filament type comprise substantially the same ingredients, as Ben-Shitrit teaches the protein-based filaments and fat-based filaments being distinct with the protein-based filaments or strands having protein-containing ingredients and the fat-based filaments or strands having fat-based ingredients (Ben-Shitrit, Paragraphs 46, 47, 81). Ben-Shitrit in view of Boyer teach the protein based component is used to imitate muscle portion and position of the meat (Ben-Shitrit, Paragraph 48), and it is understood the fat portion is used to mimic the fat portion and position of meat.
Regarding new Claims 20-21, Ben-Shitrit in view of Boyer render obvious the claimed method and teach specifics about the filament structure, as Boyer teaches a binder to hold the filaments together and retaining them in a matrix, and teaches the binder may be constituted of a casing such as an edible sausage causing, in which case the casing is filled with the filaments by procedures which are well known, or any the binder may be constituted of edible fibers, or the binder may be edible material including starches, cereals, dextrins, proteins, alginates, carboxy methyl cellulose, etc. which perform their binding function either adhesively or by serving as a matrix in which the filaments are embedded (Boyer Column 4, lines 1-15). Therefore, Boyer is seen to teach where each filament comprises a filler material and a casing material encasing the filler material, where the casing material comprises alginate as a suitable binder, and the casing material forms an outer material comprising alginate on an outer side of the filament and wherein the filler material comprises alginate, as Boyer teaches the binding agents can serve as a matrix in which the filaments are embedded and teaches the casing can be filled with the filaments, which can be in a matrix including binding agents. While Boyer may not specifically teach the binding agent includes cross-linked alginate casing, Ben-Shitrit teaches the binding agent is any one or a combination of gluten, gums, hydrocolloids, enzymes, cross-linking gelling agents and starches and combinations thereof, and teaches hydrocolloids include alginate (Paragraphs 208 and 211). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used cross-linked alginate as a binder/casing material for the filaments in light of the teachings of the prior art and the suitability of such components for binders for filaments used to produce simulated meat products.
Regarding new Claim 23, Ben-Shitrit in view of Boyer render obvious the use of the spinning method as set forth above in the rejection of Claim 22 and teaches Ben-Shitrit teaches the protein-based composition includes water, protein and teaches the binding agents including alginate can be incorporated into any component of the product and/or it can be present between segments formed by the different components (Paragraph 213). As set forth above, Boyer teaches alginates and methyl cellulose and combinations thereof as suitable binding agents(Boyer Column 4, lines 1-15), therefore rendering its use to one of ordinary skill in the art obvious, before the effective filing date of the invention. Boyer teaches passing the protein containing material through a spinneret to form the several thousands of filaments as set forth above (Column 3, lines 15-25), where the spinneret is seen to meet the limitation of the nozzle via conveying means.
Regarding new Claims 24, 30 and 32, Ben-Shitrit in view of Boyer render obvious the use of the spinning method as set forth above in the rejection of Claim 22 and teaches contacting the filaments after exiting a spinning nozzle with a solution containing at least one of alginate, as Boyer teaches the group of filaments, where are understood to have exited the spinneret, may be passed through a bath containing the binder in liquid form (Column 4, lines 20-25), where the binder can include alginate, as set forth above. Therefore, Boyer teaches using binder to deposit the filaments together. Therefore, the claimed method steps using the spinning process taught by Boyer would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, in order to provide a simulated meat product that closely resembles natural meat in the ways highlighted above by Boyer. While Boyer may not specifically teach an enzyme for cross-linking proteins, Ben-Shitrit teaches the binding agent is any one or a combination of gluten, gums, hydrocolloids, enzymes, cross-linking gelling agents and starches and combinations thereof, where the enzyme can include transglutaminase and teaches including it with the protein component to form a cross linked gel-like protein component (Paragraphs 209 and 351).
Regarding new Claims 25, 31, 33, Ben-Shitrit in view of Boyer render obvious the use of the spinning method as set forth above in the rejection of Claim 22 and teach the filaments pulling or drawing the filaments away from the spinneret nozzle and stretching them (Column 5, lines 33-50 and Column 6, lines 25-30), and also teaches cutting the finished piece for handling and sale (Column 4, lines 20-30), therefore rendering obvious the claimed limitations of stretching and storing the filaments. Boyer teaches the forming of the filament arrangement comprising regulating a configuration of the filaments by stretching them in order to increase their strength and orient the fibers, where product made from more highly oriented fibers will have improved chewiness and a more meat-like texture. Therefore, the claimed method steps using the spinning process taught by Boyer would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, in order to provide a simulated meat product that closely resembles natural meat in the ways highlighted above by Boyer.
Regarding new Claim 26, attention is made to the 112 a and b rejections set forth above. Ben-Shitrit in view of Boyer render obvious the use of the spinning method as set forth above in the rejection of Claim 22 and further teach an example in simulating a pork chop, instead of assembling the groups of filaments as they come out of a battery of spinnerets, these groups would be kept separate with a separate group coming from each spinneret, passed through melted fats and the coated groups would be assembled together and passed through the binder to give the final tow or arrangement having a desired diameter (Column 5, lines 1-10). In another example, Boyer teaches assembling groups of filaments into four groups to simulate a filet mignon (Column 5 lines 10-15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have arranged the and bundled the filaments in order to simulate a particular type of meat.
Regarding new Claim 27, as set forth in the rejection of Claim 26 above, Boyer is seen to teach forming the filament arrangement by drawing off or conveying the filaments, arranging them and bonding via the binder as set forth in the rejection of Claim 26. Therefore, to the extent of the method steps that are recited in Claim 27, Boyer is seen to teach using a pultrusion process to produce the simulated meat product.
Regarding new Claim 28, attention is made to the 112 a and b rejections set forth above. Ben-Shitrit in view of Boyer render obvious the use of the spinning method as set forth above in the rejection of Claim 22 and teaches using a spinneret extrusion method to form several thousand filaments which are very fine, and these several thousands of filaments will constitute a group of filaments or a bundle of filaments (Boyer Column 3, lines 10-30). Therefore, Boyer teaches several thousands of filaments in a bundle, but does not specifically teach the number of combined bundles in a meat substitute product. However, Boyer teaches that almost any kind of meat can be simulated by varying one or more variables including the grouping of the spinneret groups and teaches preparing a number of groups of filaments and assembling the groups into a tow to prepare the simulated meat (Column 7, lines 1-15 and Column 8, lines 40-55). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have optimized the number of groups of filaments depending on the type of simulated meat desired. However, where general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in the number of groups of filaments to prepare the meat substitute product involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05 II.
Regarding new Claim 29, Ben-Shitrit in view of Boyer render obvious the claimed method as set forth above in the rejection of Claim 16 and teaches the binding agents including alginate can be incorporated into any component of the product and/or it can be present between segments formed by the different components (Paragraph 213). Therefore, Ben-Shitrit provides for binding agents between segments formed by the protein-based components (the first segment or strand type) and fat-based components (the second segment or strand type). Ben-Shitrit also teaches a plurality of the first and second segments of protein and fat-based components being pressed together to form the meat substitute product (Figures 3A and 3B). Ben-Shitrit as motivated by Boyer render obvious the method of forming filaments of a first filament type (protein) and a second filament type (fat), as set forth in the rejection of Claim 16. Therefore, in light of the combined teachings of the prior art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have pressed the filaments of the first filament type together to bond the filaments of the first filament type, and to have pressed the filaments of the second filament type together to bond the filaments of the second filament type, in order to make the meat substitute product.
Regarding new Claim 37, Ben-Shitrit in view of Boyer render obvious the meat substitute product recited in Claim 36 and Ben-Shitrit teaches the protein-based composition includes water, protein and teaches the binding agents including alginate can be incorporated into any component of the product and/or it can be present between segments formed by the different components (Paragraph 213). As set forth above, Boyer teaches alginates and methyl cellulose and combinations thereof as suitable binding agents(Boyer Column 4, lines 1-15), therefore rendering its use to one of ordinary skill in the art obvious, before the effective filing date of the invention.
Regarding new Claim 38, Ben-Shitrit in view of Boyer render obvious the meat substitute product recited in Claim 36 and teach the filaments are arranged substantially along a longitudinal axis (Ben-Shitrit, at least Figures 3A and 3B).
Regarding new Claim 39, Ben-Shitrit in view of Boyer render obvious the meat substitute product recited in Claim 36 and teaches the filaments of the first filament type comprises filaments of substantially the same ingredients, and the filaments of the second filament type comprise substantially the same ingredients, as Ben-Shitrit teaches the protein-based filaments and fat-based filaments being distinct with the protein-based filaments or strands having protein-containing ingredients and the fat-based filaments or strands having fat-based ingredients (Ben-Shitrit, Paragraphs 46, 47, 81). Ben-Shitrit in view of Boyer teach the protein based component is used to imitate muscle portion and position of the meat (Ben-Shitrit, Paragraph 48), and it is understood the fat portion is used to mimic the fat portion and position of meat.
Conclusion
JENNA A. WATTS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1791
/JENNA A WATTS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791 10/15/2026