DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 13, 14, 16, 17 and 22-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated Qu (US 2007/0116060).
Re claims 1, 22 and 23, Qu discloses a clock synchronization device, in response to detecting a failure of an original clock source where a master clock is located, generating corresponding clock source switching information according to a target clock source; and transmitting the clock source switching information to a second communication node or a third communication node (paragraph [0053]; figure 4, step 206).
Re claim 2, Qu discloses the clock source switching information comprises at least one of: clock source switching indication information (paragraphs [0022] and [0029]), a reference clock of the target clock source at a clock source switching instant paragraph [0030]), a clock difference between the original clock source and the target clock source, a clock difference between the original clock source and the target clock source at a clock source switching instant, a clock source switching instant, or a state report of the original clock source (paragraphs [0022] and [0029]).
Re claim 3, Qu discloses notifying the second communication node to determine a clock according to the clock source switching information; wherein notifying the second communication node to determine the clock according to the clock source switching information comprises at least one of: notifying the second communication node to determine the clock at a clock source switching instant according to a reference clock of the target clock source at the clock source switching instant (paragraph [0053]); notifying the second communication node to update a reference clock of the original clock source according to a clock difference between the original clock source and the target clock source; notifying the second communication node to determine clock information of the target clock source according to a clock difference between the original clock source and the target clock source and determine the clock at a clock source switching instant; or notifying the second communication node to determine clock information of the target clock source according to a clock difference between the original clock source and the target clock source at a clock source switching instant and determine the clock at the clock source switching instant.
Re claim 4, Qu discloses indication information corresponding to the clock source switching information comprises at least one of: downlink information; reference clock information (paragraph [0029]), a system information block (SIB), a media access control control element (MAC CE) predefined in a local identifier (LCID) reserved in a downlink shared channel (DL- SCH), or downlink control information (DCI).
Re claim 5, Qu discloses notifying the third communication node to determine a clock source according to the clock source switching information ((paragraph [0029]).
Re claim 6, Qu discloses notifying the third communication node to determine the clock source according to the clock source switching information comprises at least one of: notifying the third communication node to perform switching at a clock source switching instant according to a reference clock of the target clock source at the clock source switching instant (paragraph [0053]); notifying the third communication node to update a reference clock of the original clock source according to a clock difference between the original clock source and the target clock source; notifying the third communication node to determine clock information of the target clock source according to a clock difference between the original clock source and the target clock source and perform switching at a clock source switching instant; or notifying the third communication node to determine clock information of the target clock source according to a clock difference between the original clock source and the target clock source at a clock source switching instant and perform switching at the clock source switching instant.
Re claims 13, 24 and 26, Qu discloses a clock synchronization device receiving clock source switching information transmitted by a first communication node; and determining a clock according to the clock source switching information (figure 4, step 206).
Re claim 14, Qu discloses determining the clock according to the clock source switching information comprises at least one of: determining the clock at a clock source switching instant according to a reference clock of a target clock source at the clock source switching instant (paragraphs [0022] and [0029]); updating a reference clock of an original clock source according to a clock difference between the original clock source and a target clock source; determining clock information of a target clock source according to a clock difference between an original clock source and the target clock source and determining the clock at a clock source switching instant (paragraphs [0022] and [0029]); or determining clock information of a target clock source according to a clock difference between an original clock source and the target clock source at a clock source switching instant and determining the clock at the clock source switching instant.
Re claims 16, 25 and 27, Qu discloses clock synchronization device receiving clock source switching information transmitted by a first communication node; and determining a clock source according to the clock source switching information (figure 4, step 206).
Re claim 17, Qu discloses determining the clock source according to the clock source switching information comprises at least one of: performing switching at a clock source switching instant according to a reference clock of a target clock source at the clock source switching instant (paragraphs [0022] and [0029]); updating a reference clock of an original clock source according to a clock difference between the original clock source and a target clock source; determining clock information of a target clock source according to a clock difference between an original clock source and the target clock source and performing switching at a clock source switching instant (paragraph [0030]); or determining clock information of a target clock source according to a clock difference between an original clock source and the target clock source at a clock source switching instant and performing switching at the clock source switching instant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qu in view of Katzav et al (US 2020/0334187, “Katzav”).
Re claim 7, Qu discloses all of the limitations of the base claim, but fails to disclose the first communication node comprises a centralized unit (CU) and a distributed unit (DU), transmitting the clock source switching information to the second communication node or the third communication node comprises: actively transmitting, by the DU, the clock source switching information to the CU through uplink information; and transmitting, by the CU, the clock source switching information to the second communication node or the third communication node. However, Katzav discloses a DU transmitting synchronization signals to CU (paragraph [0029]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Qu with Katzav for the benefit of providing high data rates and latency limitations by splitting PHY layer to upper PHY (implemented at the CU) and lower PHY (implemented at the DU) (paragraph [0014] of Katzav).
Re claim 15, Qu discloses all of the limitations of the base claim, but fails to disclose the first communication node comprises a centralized unit (CU) and a distributed unit (DU), receiving the clock source switching information transmitted by the first communication node comprises: receiving the clock source switching information transmitted by the CU in the first communication node. However, Katzav discloses a DU transmitting synchronization signals to CU (paragraph [0029]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Qu with Katzav for the benefit of providing high data rates and latency limitations by splitting PHY layer to upper PHY (implemented at the CU) and lower PHY (implemented at the DU) (paragraph [0014] of Katzav).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qu in view of Jia et al (US 2022/040816, “Jia”).
Re claim 11, Qu discloses all of the limitations of the base claim, but fails to disclose transmitting a first handover request message to a fourth communication node, wherein the first handover request message carries at least one of the clock source switching information or a state report of the original clock source. However, Jia discloses sending a handover request to a target gNB (paragraph [0328]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Qu with Jia for the benefit of preventing data loss or call quality degradation during handover by providing clock synchronization/switching information.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qu in view of Joseph et al (US 2021/0153152, “Joseph”).
Re claim 12, Qu discloses all of the limitations of the base claim, but fails to disclose receiving clock source switching information transmitted by a fourth communication node. However, Joseph discloses receiving clock source switching information transmitted by a fourth communication node (paragraph [0085]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Qu with Joseph for the benefit of preventing data loss or call quality degradation during handover by providing clock synchronization/switching information.
Conclusion
/HONG S CHO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467