DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-6 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. This Final Rejection is in response to the amendment submitted on 3/5/2026.
Response to Arguments and Amendments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 3/5/2026, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-6 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection provided below, which was necessitated based on Applicant’s amendments to the claims, which changed the scope of the claims. Examiner notes wherein Applicant’s arguments are directed towards the newly amended claim limitation(s), which are addressed by the newly found prior art, as indicated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ooba (US 20200238518 A1) as modified by Watanabe (US 20230053168 A1) in view of Artigas (US 20200368861 A1)
Claim 1:
Ooba teaches the following limitations:
A work robot system comprising: a robot configured to perform a predetermined operation on a target portion of an object being moved by an object moving device; a control device used for controlling the robot; and (Ooba -[0013] As illustrated in FIG. 1, the work robot system 1 according to this embodiment includes a transfer device 2 that transfers an article 100 which is an object on which a task should be performed, a robot (following robot) 10 that performs a predetermined task on a work-target portion 101 of the article 100 being transferred by the transfer device 2, a controller 20 that controls the robot 10, a detection device 40, which is a detector in the context of the present invention, and a visual sensor 50 mounted on the robot 10.) a following sensor used to detect, in sequence, at least a position of the target portion being moved by the object moving device when a component or a tool supported by the robot is caused to follow the target portion, and (Ooba -[0006] A second aspect of the present disclosure is directed to a work robot system which includes a transfer device that transfers an article; and the above-described following robot, wherein, in a state where the visual sensor of the following robot is following the following target, the following robot performs a predetermined task on the article, or a work robot, which is another robot, performs the predetermined task on the article by using information of the movement command to cause the visual sensor of the following robot to follow the following target or information used in calculation of the movement command.) wherein the control device is configured to perform: a pre-approach control that controls the robot to move the component or the tool to an approach start position (Ooba - [0035] First, when the article 100 is detected by the detection device 40 (step S1-1), the control unit 21 starts transmitting pre-task movement commands to the robot 10 and the hand 30 based on the operation program 23b (step S1-2). As a result of this, the robot 10 brings the shafts 111a of the component 110 grasped by the hand 30 closer to the holes 101a of the work-target portion 101. At this point, the control unit 21 may use data such as the transfer speed of the transfer device 2 or the positions of the work-target portions 101 of the article 100.)
a following control that controls the robot to bring the component or the tool placed at the approach start position close to the target portion, and (Ooba - [0035] First, when the article 100 is detected by the detection device 40 (step S1-1), the control unit 21 starts transmitting pre-task movement commands to the robot 10 and the hand 30 based on the operation program 23b (step S1-2). As a result of this, the robot 10 brings the shafts 111a of the component 110 grasped by the hand 30 closer to the holes 101a of the work-target portion 101. At this point, the control unit 21 may use data such as the transfer speed of the transfer device 2 or the positions of the work-target portions 101 of the article 100.) uses an output of the following sensor to control the robot so that the component or the tool is caused to follow the target portion that is being moved by the object moving device, and (Ooba - [0037] As a result of the control of the robot 10 in the step S1-2, the component 110 reaches the ready position and orientation for a predetermined task (fitting engagement). As a result of this, when the target-of 102 to be followed has thus become present within an angle of view (detection area) of the visual sensor 50 or within a predetermined range of the angle of view (step S1-3), then the control unit 21 starts control based on the following control program 23c, the feature value detection program 23e, and the movement amount calculation program 23f (step S1-4). …)
Ooba does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Watanabe teaches:
where the component or the tool does not interfere with a portion to be an obstacle of the object that is being moved by the object moving device; and (Watanabe - [0039] Here, when the end effector 26 is caused to perform the work onto the work target portion B, the operator may intentionally shift the working position WP of the end effector 26 from the work target portion B from a viewpoint such as improving the quality of work or avoiding interference between the end effector 26 and surrounding environmental objects (including the work piece W). Thus, the control device 16 according to the present embodiment controls the robot 12 such that the control device 16 shifts the working position WP from the work target portion B when carrying out the work onto the work target portion B.)
wherein the portion to be the obstacle is a part of the object, and (Watanabe - [0039] Here, when the end effector 26 is caused to perform the work onto the work target portion B, the operator may intentionally shift the working position WP of the end effector 26 from the work target portion B from a viewpoint such as improving the quality of work or avoiding interference between the end effector 26 and surrounding environmental objects (including the work piece W). Thus, the control device 16 according to the present embodiment controls the robot 12 such that the control device 16 shifts the working position WP from the work target portion B when carrying out the work onto the work target portion B.)
Ooba in combination with Watanabe does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Artigas teaches:
the part comes closer to the component or the tool than the target portion of the object when the object passes in front of the robot by the object moving device. (Artigas – [0144] The steps 630 and 640 of the above method may progressively lead the end effector 61 of the robot 60 from an initial position where an assembly element held by the end effector is at a distance from the target area, towards a final position in which the assembly operation is completed: for example, a door held by the end effector is mounted on the vehicle body, for example by inserting one or two hinge pins in corresponding hinge bushings of the vehicle body.; [see also figures and 9])
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ooba to provide a method of avoiding interference with obstacles which are part of the object while tracking targets as taught in Watanabe and to further bring the tool to a starting location which is further from the target prior to approaching the target as taught in Artigas. Avoiding obstacles and interference on the object of interest while placing the robot in the proper position for tracking targets, improves safety and prevents damage to equipment while also promoting the efficiency of object tracking as the arm synchronizes with the target.
Claim 2:
Ooba teaches the following limitations:
The work robot system according to claim 1, wherein the control device uses data of at least one of a position and an orientation of the object being moved by the object moving device and (Ooba - [0026] The visual sensor 50 successively transmits the image data to the controller 20. The image data is data by which the position and the orientation of target 102 to be followed can be specified. The image data may be processed by a detector other than the controller 20 and the position and the orientation of the target 102 to be followed may be identified on the basis of the processed data.) data of a moving route of the object to change the approach start position. (Ooba – [0035] First, when the article 100 is detected by the detection device 40 (step S1-1), the control unit 21 starts transmitting pre-task movement commands to the robot 10 and the hand 30 based on the operation program 23b (step S1-2). As a result of this, the robot 10 brings the shafts 111a of the component 110 grasped by the hand 30 closer to the holes 101a of the work-target portion 101. … ; [0071] … Also, while the visual sensor 50 is made to follow the target 102 to be followed, the computation of the movement command and the movement of the arm based on the movement command are repeated. By virtue of this, the relative position and the relative orientation of the hand 30 relative to the article 100 transferred by the transfer device 2 can be gradually moved so as to be closer to the target data. This is useful for causing the movement of the arm 10a of the robot 10 to accurately follow the article 100 transferred by the transfer device 2.)
Claim 3:
Ooba teaches the following limitations:
The work robot system according to claim 1, wherein the control device makes the orientation of the component or the tool to follow the orientation of the target portion.
(Ooba - [0071] As has been described in the foregoing, the robot 10 of this embodiment includes the one or more visual sensors 50 provided on the arm 10a and the storage unit 23 that stores the first feature value as the target data for causing the visual sensor 50 provided on the arm 10a to follow the target 102 to be followed. In addition, in this embodiment, the second feature value regarding the at least the current position and the current orientation of the target 102 to be followed is detected using the image obtained by the visual sensor 50. …)
Claim 6:
Ooba teaches the following limitations:
A robot, comprising: an arm configured to perform a predetermined work on a target portion of an object being moved by an object moving device; a control device used for controlling the arm; and (Ooba -[0013] As illustrated in FIG. 1, the work robot system 1 according to this embodiment includes a transfer device 2 that transfers an article 100 which is an object on which a task should be performed, a robot (following robot) 10 that performs a predetermined task on a work-target portion 101 of the article 100 being transferred by the transfer device 2, a controller 20 that controls the robot 10, a detection device 40, which is a detector in the context of the present invention, and a visual sensor 50 mounted on the robot 10.) a following sensor capable of detecting, in sequence, at least a position of the target portion being moved by the object moving device when a component or a tool supported by the arm is caused to follow the target portion, (Ooba -[0006] A second aspect of the present disclosure is directed to a work robot system which includes a transfer device that transfers an article; and the above-described following robot, wherein, in a state where the visual sensor of the following robot is following the following target, the following robot performs a predetermined task on the article, or a work robot, which is another robot, performs the predetermined task on the article by using information of the movement command to cause the visual sensor of the following robot to follow the following target or information used in calculation of the movement command.)
wherein the control device is configured to perform: a pre-approach control that controls the arm to move the component or the tool to an approach start position (Ooba - [0035] First, when the article 100 is detected by the detection device 40 (step S1-1), the control unit 21 starts transmitting pre-task movement commands to the robot 10 and the hand 30 based on the operation program 23b (step S1-2). As a result of this, the robot 10 brings the shafts 111a of the component 110 grasped by the hand 30 closer to the holes 101a of the work-target portion 101. At this point, the control unit 21 may use data such as the transfer speed of the transfer device 2 or the positions of the work-target portions 101 of the article 100.)
a following control which controls the arm to bring the component or the tool placed at the approach start position close to the target portion, and (Ooba - [0035] First, when the article 100 is detected by the detection device 40 (step S1-1), the control unit 21 starts transmitting pre-task movement commands to the robot 10 and the hand 30 based on the operation program 23b (step S1-2). As a result of this, the robot 10 brings the shafts 111a of the component 110 grasped by the hand 30 closer to the holes 101a of the work-target portion 101. At this point, the control unit 21 may use data such as the transfer speed of the transfer device 2 or the positions of the work-target portions 101 of the article 100.)
uses an output of the following sensor to control the arm so as to cause the component or the tool to follow the target portion being moved by the object moving device, and (Ooba - [0037] As a result of the control of the robot 10 in the step S1-2, the component 110 reaches the ready position and orientation for a predetermined task (fitting engagement). As a result of this, when the target-of 102 to be followed has thus become present within an angle of view (detection area) of the visual sensor 50 or within a predetermined range of the angle of view (step S1-3), then the control unit 21 starts control based on the following control program 23c, the feature value detection program 23e, and the movement amount calculation program 23f (step S1-4). …)
Ooba does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Watanabe teaches:
where the component or the tool does not interfere with a portion to be an obstacle of the object being moved by the object moving device; and (Watanabe - [0039] Here, when the end effector 26 is caused to perform the work onto the work target portion B, the operator may intentionally shift the working position WP of the end effector 26 from the work target portion B from a viewpoint such as improving the quality of work or avoiding interference between the end effector 26 and surrounding environmental objects (including the work piece W). Thus, the control device 16 according to the present embodiment controls the robot 12 such that the control device 16 shifts the working position WP from the work target portion B when carrying out the work onto the work target portion B.)
wherein the portion to be the obstacle is a part of the object, and (Watanabe - [0039] Here, when the end effector 26 is caused to perform the work onto the work target portion B, the operator may intentionally shift the working position WP of the end effector 26 from the work target portion B from a viewpoint such as improving the quality of work or avoiding interference between the end effector 26 and surrounding environmental objects (including the work piece W). Thus, the control device 16 according to the present embodiment controls the robot 12 such that the control device 16 shifts the working position WP from the work target portion B when carrying out the work onto the work target portion B.)
Ooba in combination with Watanabe does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Artigas teaches:
the part comes closer to the component or the robot than the target portion of the object when the object passes in front of the arm by the object moving device.
(Artigas – [0144] The steps 630 and 640 of the above method may progressively lead the end effector 61 of the robot 60 from an initial position where an assembly element held by the end effector is at a distance from the target area, towards a final position in which the assembly operation is completed: for example, a door held by the end effector is mounted on the vehicle body, for example by inserting one or two hinge pins in corresponding hinge bushings of the vehicle body.; [see also figures and 9])
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ooba to provide a method of avoiding interference with obstacles which are part of the object while tracking targets as taught in Watanabe and to further bring the tool to a starting location which is further from the target prior to approaching the target as taught in Artigas. Avoiding obstacles and interference on the object of interest while placing the robot in the proper position for tracking targets, improves safety and prevents damage to equipment while also promoting the efficiency of object tracking as the arm synchronizes with the target.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ooba (US 20200238518 A1) as modified by Watanabe (US 20230053168 A1) in view of Artigas (US 20200368861 A1) and in further view of Fujii (US 20190039242 A1)
Claim 4:
Ooba in combination with Watanabe and Artigas does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Fujii teaches:
The work robot system according to claim 1, further comprising a display device configured to perform an area display where interference occurs with the portion to be the obstacle being moved by the object moving device or an area where the interference does not occur.
(Fujii - [0076] FIG. 1 is a hardware block diagram of an interference determination system 10 according to a first embodiment. As shown in the diagram, the interference determination system 10 includes an input unit 12 for inputting information, a computation device 14 for processing information, and an output unit 20 including a robot arm 16 that is controlled based on a computation result and a monitor 18 for displaying a result. … ; [0082] The output unit 20 includes the robot arm 16, which is a control target, and a monitor 18 (display device) for displaying a determination result. The robot arm 16 is connected to the computation device 14 by an unshown external interface, and is configured to be able to be controlled based on control information output from the computation device 14. …)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ooba, Watanabe, and Artigas to provide a display for showing the interference with obstacles to an operator as taught in Fujii. Having the ability to display interference locations, provides valuable visual feedback for the operator while also improving safety and preventing damage to equipment as the arm synchronizes with the target object.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ooba (US 20200238518 A1) as modified by Watanabe (US 20230053168 A1) in view of Artigas (US 20200368861 A1) and Fujii (US 20190039242 A1) and in further in view of Tawara (US 20210178584 A1)
Claim 5:
Ooba in combination with Watanabe, Artigas and Fujii does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Tawara teaches:
The work robot system according to claim 4, wherein the display device displays the approach start position together with the area display.
(Tawara – [0138] … a motion order of the robot hand HND is displayed. In the order display area 52c, fixed via points such as the approach position, the holding position, the retreat position, and the like, and intermediate via points automatically calculated by the path creation part 23 are displayed together with their respective names. Names such as “approach position”, “retreat position”, “holding position”, and “designated position” that are easy for the user to understand may be employed. ; [0139] … That is, in the order display area 52c, the “start position” that is a position where the robot hand HND starts to move is placed at the top, and a plurality of via points are listed below the “start position” in the passing order. …)
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ooba, Watanabe, Artigas and Fujii to provide a display to the operator which includes the start point for the robot arm as taught in Tawara. Having the ability to display the starting point for the arm’s pathway, provides valuable visual feedback for the operator while also improving safety and efficiency as the arm synchronizes with the target object.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure or directed to the state of the art is listed on the enclosed PTO-892.
The following is a brief description for relevant prior art that was cited but not applied:
Chen (US 20110087360 A1) describes an industrial robot is used to assemble a part to a predetermined location on a randomly moving workpiece. The workpiece may be an automobile on an assembly line and the part may be a wheel (a tire mounted on a rim) to be assembled on one of the wheel hubs of the automobile. The robot has mounted on it a camera, a force sensor and a gripper to grip the part. After the robot grips the part, signals from both the force sensor and vision are used by a computing device to move the robot to a position where the robot can assemble the part to the predetermined location on the workpiece.
Taguchi (US 11945122 B2) describes a robot control method for a robot performing an insertion operation of inserting a second target object with force control into a first target object conveyed by a conveyor device is provided. The robot control method includes: a follow step of causing the second target object to follow the first target object from an operation start location, based on a conveyance speed of the first target object; a contact step of bringing the second target object into contact with the first target object, the second target object being in a tilted attitude in relation to the first target object, with the force control; an attitude change step of changing the attitude of the second target object in such a way that the tilt in relation to the first target object is eliminated, while pressing the second target object against the first target object, with the force control; and an insertion step of inserting the second target object into the first target object.
Takeuchi (US 12226912 B2) describes a control method for a robot including a robot arm, the control method including a first step in which the robot arm grips a first target object and performs work for assembling the first target object and a second target object while changing a position or a posture of the first target object, a second step for setting, based on information concerning the position or the posture of the first target object during the work in the first step, a determination reference serving as a reference for starting the change of the position or the posture of the first target object or ending the change of the position or the posture of the first target object.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALAN LINDSAY OSTROW/
Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657