DETAILED ACTION
This is the First Office Action in response to the above identified patent
application filed on May 5, 2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the force compensation device comprises a lever transmission device” (claim 20) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the implied phrase “The invention relates” (line 1) should be deleted. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Each section of the specification must have a heading (i.e. “Brief Summary of the Invention”, “Brief Description of the Drawings”, and “Detailed Description of the Invention”).
Appropriate correction is required.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The reference to specific claims , such as “claim 10” (section [0001]), must be removed because the claim numbering may change during prosecution.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 26, the claim langue “The positioning device according to claim 14 for positioning an object with at least one positioning module according to” is not fully understood and appears to be incomplete.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 14-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Gao et al. (CN1258589) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Gao et al. (CN1258589) in view of Marcroft (USPat 8,215,199).
Gao teaches a positioning module with a base (3) and a positioning element (1) which is movable relative to the base, wherein the positioning element is coupled to the base via a leg element (2) of constant length, and wherein the leg element is connected to the positioning element via a joint device, and wherein the leg element is assigned a drive module (5) arranged on the base, wherein the drive module comprises a drive unit (piezoelectric device), a drive element (4) that is displaceable along a direction of movement by the drive unit, which is connected to the leg element via a joint device, and a force compensation device (the elastic plate portions connecting 4 to 3) connected to the drive element, wherein a defined force (inherent) along the direction of movement of the drive element (due to the elasticity of the plate portions) can be (depending on the position of the piezoelectric device) exerted on the latter by means of the force compensation device.
Alternatively, Marcroft teaches a positioning module with a base (12) and a positioning element (28) which is movable relative to the base, a drive module (134) arranged on the base, wherein the drive module comprises a drive unit (136,138), a drive element (142) that is displaceable along a direction of movement by the drive unit, which is connected to the positioning element by a joint device, and a force compensation device (111) connected to the drive element, wherein a defined force along the direction of movement of the drive element can be exerted on the latter by means of the force compensation device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed device to replace the drive module of Gao et al. with a drive module having a force compensation device, as taught by Marcroft, motivation being to overcome the force of gravity, allows smaller linear servo motors to be used, and/or prevent the positioning element from falling during an interruption of electrical power.
Claim 15: Marcroft teaches the defined force which acts on the drive element by means of the force compensation device is generated by magnets or by compressed air or by hydraulic fluid.
Claim 16: Gao and/or Marcroft teaches the force compensation device comprises a force compensation module which is directly or indirectly connected to the base.
Claim 17: Marcroft teaches the defined force which acts on the drive element by means of the force compensation device is generated by magnets or by compressed air or by hydraulic fluid.
Claim 18: Marcroft teaches the force compensation module comprises a sleeve (138) made of a magnetic or magnetizable material (motor coil) and a rod (142) made of a magnetic or magnetizable material which extends at least partially into the sleeve, the sleeve and the rod each being mounted so as to be rotatable relative to one another.
Claim 19: Marcroft teaches the defined force which acts on the drive element by means of the force compensation device is generated by magnets or by compressed air or by hydraulic fluid and wherein the force compensation module comprises a sleeve (138) made of a magnetic or magnetizable material (motor coil) and a rod made (142) of a magnetic or magnetizable material which extends at least partially into the sleeve, the sleeve and the rod each being mounted so as to be rotatable relative to one another.
Claim 20: Marcroft teaches the force compensation device comprises a lever transmission device, inasmuch as the instant arrangement includes a lever.
Claim 21: Gao and/or Marcroft teaches the drive unit comprises an electromagnetic drive.
Claim 22: Gao teaches at least one of the joint devices is designed in such a way that a tilting of the leg element about two tilting axes arranged perpendicular to one another and a rotation of the same leg element about its own longitudinal axis is possible.
Claims 23 and 25: Gao and/or Marcroft teaches the at least one joint device is designed as a solid-state joint.
Claim 24: Marcroft teaches the at least one joint device comprises a cardan joint (56) and a rotary joint (110).
Claim 27: Gao illustrates (Fig. 1) with three positioning modules, each of the positioning modules having two leg elements forming a pair of legs, the positioning modules being arranged relative to one another in such a way that one pair of legs extends through another pair of legs and each pair of legs is arranged perpendicular to the other pairs of legs, and the positioning element of each positioning module is connected to the positioning elements of the respective two other positioning modules and the three positioning elements together form a positioning body which comprises six degrees of freedom of movement.
Claim 28: Gao illustrates (Fig. 1) each of the positioning elements corresponds to a platform with a substantially flat platform surface, wherein the respective platform assigned to a pair of legs is arranged substantially perpendicular to its leg element, and wherein the three platforms which are interconnected with each other together form a positioning body in which each of the platform surfaces is arranged substantially perpendicular to the other two platform surfaces and thereby form part of a cube.
Claim 29: Gao illustrates (Fig. 1) each of the positioning elements corresponds to a platform with a substantially flat platform surface, wherein the respective platform assigned to a pair of legs is arranged substantially perpendicular to its leg elements, wherein the three platforms which are interconnected with each other together form a positioning body in which each of the platform surfaces is arranged substantially perpendicular to the other two platform surfaces and thereby form part of a cube, and wherein the three positioning modules are arranged such that their bases together form a cube-like base body with a recess, and in that within this recess the partial- cube-shaped positioning body is arranged such that the respective corresponding edges of the base body and the positioning body run parallel to one another.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Note the positioning module of CN 1257770 and CN113799104.
/WILLIAM C JOYCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618