DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites a device comprising: “acquisition means configured to acquire” data… “a detection means configured to detect” data; and “a processing means configured to” determine data”.
The specification states that the means are merely “a controller”, paragraph [0084] of the application’s publication, US 2025/0110240 A1, which perform both math and mental steps, which can be done with the aid of pen and a paper, see MPEP 2106.04(a).
Claim 9 recites a method executed by a processing device comprising: “acquiring” data; “detecting” data; and “determining” data”.
Claim 10 recites a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program causing a computer to: “acquire” data; “detect” data; and “determine” data.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed invention is to generate data and perform mathematical analysis on said data. As a result of the broadest reasonable interpretation, these limitations amount to a mental process that could be practically performed in the human mind. Such a process is considered an abstract idea in view of, for example, CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1372, 99 USPQ 2d 1690, 1695 (Fed. Cir. 2011), as the courts consider a mental process (thinking) that “can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper’ to be an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there is no direct application of a judicial exception in a meaningful way. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because there are no positively recited steps are to how the data is measured; instead, the claim only requires acquiring and analyzing data. Without any meaningfully claimed limitation as to how the data is measured, it is not possible for the claimed abstract idea to be integrated into a judicial exception.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for similar reasons as set forth above as to why the claim is not integrated into a practical application. There does not appear to be any additional limitation in the claim other than the abstract idea of acquiring data and analyzing data. Since there are no additional limitations, the claim does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
While claims 1-10 are interpreted as comprising computer processors performing the method, this is not sufficient to provide significantly more than the abstract idea. A claim can still recite a mental process even if the limitations found in the claim are claimed as being performed on a computer, particularly when the mental process is performed on a generic computer. The courts have held that a mental process that is performed on a generic computer is considered to be an abstract idea as per Voter Verified, Inc. v. Election Systems & Software, LLC, 887 F.3d 1376, 1385, 126 USPQ2d 1498, 1504 (Fed. Cir. 2018).
Additionally, even if the claimed abstract idea was performed on a special purpose computer, it has also been held that using a computer as a tool to perform a mental process is not significantly more than the judicial exception when the steps of the process are recited at a high level of generality and merely use computers as a tool to perform the process. See Berkheimer v. HP, Inc., 881 F.3d 1360, 125 USPQ2d 1649 (Fed. Cir. 2018).
See also Example 47, claim 2, in the July 2024 Subject Matter Eligibility Examples. Available here: https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/2024-AI-SMEUpdateExamples47-49.pdf
Regarding claims 2 and 4-7, the claim recites the abstract step of processing data. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)
Regarding claims 3 and 8, the claims merely further define the data.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1),(a)(2) as being anticipated by McWhirter et al. (US 2018/0284780 A1), hereinafter “McWhirter”.
Regarding claim 1, McWhirter discloses an information processing device (abstract, Figs. 1, 2, 10) comprising:
an acquisition means configured to acquire point cloud information, which is a set of data representing a point measured for each measurement direction by a measurement device (paragraph [0065]);
a detection means configured to detect a predetermined degree or more of fluctuation in the measurement device (paragraph [0069]); and
a processing means configured to determine, based on whether the fluctuation is detected or not, a search range for searching for a point of second point cloud information which corresponds to each point of first point cloud information, wherein the first point cloud information is the point cloud information obtained at a current processing time and the second point cloud information is the point cloud information obtained at a preceding processing time (paragraphs [0096]-[0097]).
Regarding claim 2, McWhirter discloses wherein, upon detecting the fluctuation, the processing means is configured to expand the search range in a direction in which the fluctuation occurred (paragraph [0096]).
Regarding claim 3, McWhirter discloses wherein the detection means is configured to detect the fluctuation in at least one of a pitch direction, a yaw direction and/or a roll direction of the measurement device (paragraph [0097]).
Regarding claim 4, McWhirter discloses wherein the processing means is configured to detect the direction of the fluctuation among positive directions or negative directions of the pitch direction, the yaw direction, or the roll direction, and expand the search range in a direction opposite to the detected direction (paragraph [0097]).
Regarding claim 8, McWhirter discloses wherein the detection means is configured to detect the fluctuation based on a detection signal outputted by a sensor, which is provided in the measurement device or a moving object in which the measurement device is provided (paragraph [0096]).
Regarding claim 9, McWhirter discloses a control method executed by an information processing device (abstract, Figs. 1, 2, 10), the control method comprising:
acquiring point cloud information, which is a set of data representing a point measured for each measurement direction by a measurement device (paragraph [0065]);
detecting a predetermined degree or more of fluctuation in the measurement device (paragraph [0069]); and
determining, based on whether the fluctuation is detected or not, a search range for searching for a point of second point cloud information which corresponds to each point of first point cloud information, wherein the first point cloud information is the point cloud information obtained at a current processing time and the second point cloud information is the point cloud information obtained at a preceding processing time (paragraphs [0096]-[0097]).
Regarding claim 10, McWhirter discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program (abstract, Figs. 1, 2, 10) causing a computer to:
acquire point cloud information, which is a set of data representing a point measured for each measurement direction by a measurement device (paragraph [0065]);
detect a predetermined degree or more of fluctuation in the measurement device (paragraph [0069]); and
determine, based on whether the fluctuation is detected or not, a search range for searching for a point of second point cloud information which corresponds to each point of first point cloud information, wherein the first point cloud information is the point cloud information obtained at a current processing time and the second point cloud information is the point cloud information obtained at a preceding processing time (paragraphs [0096]-[0097]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McWhirter as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mori et al. (JP2021131280A), references to English machine translation, hereinafter “Mori”.
Regarding claim 5, McWhirter is silent regarding wherein the detection means is configured to detect the fluctuation based on the first point cloud information and the second point cloud information.
However, Mori teaches an object detection device (abstract) including wherein the detection means is configured to detect the fluctuation based on the first point cloud information and the second point cloud information (paragraph [0106]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of McWhirter with the teaching of Mori by including wherein the detection means is configured to detect the fluctuation based on the first point cloud information and the second point cloud information in order to compensate for the corresponding errors in a point cloud acquisition device, paragraph [0024].
Regarding claim 6, McWhirter is silent regarding wherein the detection means is configured to detect the fluctuation based on a matching result between the first point cloud information and the second point cloud information based on ground points which are the points representing a ground.
However, Mori teaches an object detection device (abstract) including wherein the detection means is configured to detect the fluctuation based on a matching result between the first point cloud information and the second point cloud information based on ground points which are the points representing a ground (paragraph [0107]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of McWhirter with the teaching of Mori by including wherein the detection means is configured to detect the fluctuation based on a matching result between the first point cloud information and the second point cloud information based on ground points which are the points representing a ground in order to compensate for the corresponding errors in a point cloud acquisition device, paragraph [0024].
Regarding claim 7, McWhirter is silent regarding wherein the detection means is configured to detect the fluctuation based on a matching result between the first point cloud information and the second point cloud information based on the points representing measurement distances equal to or longer than a predetermined distance.
However, Mori teaches an object detection device (abstract) including wherein the detection means is configured to detect the fluctuation based on a matching result between the first point cloud information and the second point cloud information based on the points representing measurement distances equal to or longer than a predetermined distance (paragraph [0107]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of McWhirter with the teaching of Mori by including wherein the detection means is configured to detect the fluctuation based on a matching result between the first point cloud information and the second point cloud information based on the points representing measurement distances equal to or longer than a predetermined distance in order to compensate for the corresponding errors in a point cloud acquisition device, paragraph [0024].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gassend (US 2019/0018416 A1) teaches a method for sensor adjustment from vehicle motion and appears to render obvious at least the independent claims.
Coddington (US 2017/0123066 A1) teaches a device for point cloud generation and tracking position including pitch, roll, and yaw and appears to be able to be combined with prior art of record to render obvious at least the independent claims.
/DOMINIC J BOLOGNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877