DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-8 are pending wherein claims 1-3 and 7 are currently under examination and claims 4-6 and 8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected method of producing steel plate. Applicant’s election of claims 1-3 and 7 was made without traverse in the Response filed on September 24, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano et al. (JP 2020-193374).
In regard to claim 1, Sano et al. (JP ‘374) discloses welded steel pipe that would be formed from steel plate comprising elemental contents relative to that of the instant invention as set forth below (pages 6-7).
Element
Instant Claim
(mass percent)
Sano et al. (JP ‘374)
(mass percent)
Overlap
C
0.01 – 0.20
0.03 – 0.06
0.03 – 0.06
Si
0.01 – 0.50
0 – 0.50
0.01 – 0.50
Mn
0.50 – 2.50
0.8 – 1.6
0.8 – 1.6
Al
0.01 – 0.06
0 – 0.08
0.01 – 0.06
N
0.001 – 0.01
0 – 0.008
0.001 – 0.008
P
0 – 0.02
0 – 0.008
0 – 0.008
S
0 – 0.01
0 – 0.0015
0 – 0.0015
O
0 – 0.01
0 – 0.003
0 – 0.003
Fe
Balance
Balance
Balance
The Examiner notes that the amounts of carbon, silicon, manganese, aluminum, nitrogen, phosphorus, sulfur and oxygen disclosed by Sano et al. (JP ‘374) overlap the amounts of the instant invention, which is prima facie evidence of obviousness. MPEP 2144.05 I. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the instant invention to select the claimed amounts of carbon, silicon, manganese, aluminum, nitrogen, phosphorus, sulfur and oxygen from the amounts disclosed by Sano et al. (JP ‘374) because Sano et al. (JP ‘374) discloses the same utility throughout the disclosed ranges.
With respect to the recitation “at a 0.5 mm depth position from the surface of the steel plate, average hardness is 230HV0.1 or less and hardness variation is 30HV0.1 or less, a maximum value of hardness in the thickness direction is at a position 1.0 mm or more and ¼ or less of the thickness of the steel plate from the surface of the steel plate, and hardness variation in the thickness direction is 70HV1 or less, and the steel plate has a metallic microstructure where, at a 0.5 mm depth position from the surface of the steel plate, a volume fraction of bainite microstructure is 90% or more” in claim 1, Sano et al. (JP ‘374) discloses controlling the hardness to 250 HV or less in the central segregation [0014]; there would be a Vickers hardness HV10 of the area outside the central segregation (240 to 260 HV) [0018]; and the microstructure of the steel in the thickness direction is 95% or more bainite with 1% or less martensite from a depth of 2 mm from the inner surface to 2 mm from the outer surface and as such the claimed hardness variation would be met due to the composition/microstructure being substantially uniform (pages 4-5).
In regard to claim 2, Sano et al. (JP ‘374) discloses wherein the molybdenum content would be 0.05 to 0.50 mass percent molybdenum (page 7 of Translation).
In regard to claims 3 and 7, Sano et al. (JP ‘374) discloses wherein the calcium content would be between 0.001 and 0.004 mass percent (page 7 of Translation).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of copending Application No. 18/836,351 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
In regard to claims 1-3 and 7, claims 1-3 of copending Application No. 18/836,351 require substantially similar amounts of carbon, silicon, manganese, aluminum, nitrogen, phosphorus, sulfur, oxygen, copper, chromium, antimony, tin, nickel, molybdenum, tungsten, vanadium, titanium, cobalt, niobium, boron, calcium, magnesium and rare earth metals. Even though the lower limit of bainite is 20% in Application No. 18/836,351 relative to 90% bainite in the instant application, the microstructures would overlap in scope.
Claims 1-3 and 7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of copending Application No. 18/836,003 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
In regard to claims 1-3 and 7, claims 1-3 and 7 of copending Application No. 18/836,003 require substantially similar amounts of carbon, silicon, manganese, aluminum, nitrogen, phosphorus, sulfur, oxygen, copper, chromium, antimony, tin, nickel, molybdenum, tungsten, vanadium, titanium, cobalt, niobium, boron, calcium, magnesium and rare earth metals. Even though the lower limit of bainite is 20% in Application No. 18/836,003 relative to 90% bainite in the instant application, the microstructures would overlap in scope.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Edmonds, D. V., and R. C. Cochrane. "Structure-property relationships in bainitic steels." Metallurgical Transactions A 21.6 (1990): 1527-1540.
/JESSEE R ROE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759