DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the preliminary amendment filed on 08/06/2024. Claims 1-14 are pending in this application. Claims 1-14 have been amended.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
the limitation “a thermal management component” in claim 1 includes a generic/nonce term “component” coupled with function “thermal management” without reciting sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. A return to the specification provides the limitation “a thermal management component” can be implemented in various ways, such as “pumps”, “valves”, “heat exchangers” or “sensors” [0033]. Therefore, the limitation is interpreted as the same or equivalents thereof;
the limitation “a first thermal management component” in claim 14 includes a generic/nonce term “component” coupled with function “thermal management” without reciting sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. A return to the specification provides the limitation “a first thermal management component” can be implemented in various ways, such as “pumps”, “valves”, “heat exchangers” or “sensors” [0033]. Therefore, the limitation is interpreted as the same or equivalents thereof;
the limitation “a second thermal management component” in claim 14 includes a generic/nonce term “component” coupled with function “thermal management” without reciting sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. A return to the specification provides the limitation “a second thermal management component” can be implemented in various ways, such as “pumps”, “valves”, “heat exchangers” or “sensors” [0033]. Therefore, the limitation is interpreted as the same or equivalents thereof;
the limitation “a third thermal management component” in claim 14 includes a generic/nonce term “component” coupled with function “thermal management” without reciting sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. A return to the specification provides the limitation “a third thermal management component” can be implemented in various ways, such as “pumps”, “valves”, “heat exchangers” or “sensors” [0033]. Therefore, the limitation is interpreted as the same or equivalents thereof;
the limitation “a fourth thermal management component” in claim 14 includes a generic/nonce term “component” coupled with function “thermal management” without reciting sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. A return to the specification provides the limitation “a fourth thermal management component” can be implemented in various ways, such as “pumps”, “valves”, “heat exchangers” or “sensors” [0033]. Therefore, the limitation is interpreted as the same or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "at least first port and second port" in lines 10-11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as “the at least one first port and the one second port”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "at least third port and fourth port" in lines 17-18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as “the at least one third port and the one fourth port”.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “at least one of the ports” in line 3 which is unclear and renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear the limitation “at least one of the ports” refers to “at least one first port”, “one second port”, “at least one third port”, “one fourth port” or something else. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as “at least one of the first port, second port, third port and fourth port”.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "at least one thermal management component" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as “the at least one thermal management component”.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the thermal management component" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as “the at least one thermal management component”.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the hollow volumes” in the last line which is unclear and renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear the limitation “the hollow volumes” refers to “at least one first hollow volume”, “at least one second hollow volume”, both the first and second hollow volume or something else. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as “the at least one first hollow volume and the at least one second hollow volume”.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “at least one of the ports” in line 3 which is unclear and renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear the limitation “at least one of the ports” refers to “at least one first port”, “one second port”, “at least one third port”, “one fourth port” or something else. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as “at least one of the first port, second port, third port and fourth port”.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "at least one thermal management component" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as “the at least one thermal management component”.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the thermal management component" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as “the at least one thermal management component”.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the hollow volumes” in line 6 which is unclear and renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear the limitation “the hollow volumes” refers to “at least one first hollow volume”, “at least one second hollow volume”, both the first and second hollow volume or something else. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as “the at least one first hollow volume and the at least one second hollow volume”.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "one of the first port and the second port" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as “one of the at least one first port and the one second port”.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the other of the first port and the second port" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as “the other of the at least one first port and the one second port”.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "one of the third port and the fourth port" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as “one of the at least one third port and the one fourth port”.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the other of the third port and the fourth port" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as “the other of the at least one third port and the one fourth port”.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the integrated fluid path" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as “an integrated fluid path”.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the first hollow volume" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as “the at least one first hollow volume”.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the first plane" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as “a first plane”.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the integrated fluid path" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as “an integrated fluid path”.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the second hollow volume" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as “the at least one second hollow volume”.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the second plane" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as “a second plane”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “at least one of the ports” in line 3 which is unclear and renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear the limitation “at least one of the ports” refers to “at least one first port”, “one second port”, “at least one third port”, “one fourth port” or something else. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as “at least one of the at least one first port, the one second port, the at least one third port and the one fourth port”.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the thermal management components" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as “the at least one thermal management component”.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "at least one of the connecting elements" in line 3 which is unclear and renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear whether the limitation refers to “a first connecting element”, “a second connecting element”, both or something else. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as “the at least one of the first connecting element and second connecting element”.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "each of its sides" in line 4 which is unclear and renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear what the limitation “its” refers to. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as “each side of the at least one of the first connecting element and the second connecting element”.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "a first thermal management component" in line 3 which is unclear and renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear whether the limitation refers to “at least one thermal management component” or something else. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as “a first thermal management component of the at least one thermal management component”.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "a second thermal management component" in line 4 which is unclear and renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear whether the limitation refers to “at least one thermal management component” or something else. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as “a second thermal management component of the at least one thermal management component”.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "a third thermal management component" in line 5 which is unclear and renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear whether the limitation refers to “at least one thermal management component” or something else. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as “a third thermal management component of the at least one thermal management component”.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "a fourth thermal management component" in line 6 which is unclear and renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear whether the limitation refers to “at least one thermal management component” or something else. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as “a fourth thermal management component of the at least one thermal management component”.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the thermal management components" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as “the at least one thermal management component”.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the first port" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as “the at least one first port”.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the second port" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as “the one second port”.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the third port" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as “the at least one third port”.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the fourth port" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as “the one fourth port”.
Claims 6 and 9-11 are rejected by their virtual dependencies of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Calderone et al. (2019/0039440).
Regarding claim 1, Calderone discloses a thermal management device (600) for an electric or hybrid vehicle (see figures 1-5 and 7-11), the thermal management device (600; noted that, Calderone discloses the embodiment of the manifold that is T-shaped is similar to the manifold 202 embodiment in figures 2-5 and 6-8; paragraphs [0060]-[0061]; the Office relies on the embodiment in figure 11 for rejection and relies on the embodiment in figures 2-8 for structure illustration) comprising:
a first connecting element (the vertical portion of the manifold 602; see annotated figure above), comprising:
a first base element with a first side (the front side surface of the vertical portion of the manifold 602) and a second side (the rear side surface of the vertical portion of the manifold 602; noted the Office relies on figure 5 for detail structure illustration of the vertical portion of the manifold 602; see figures 5 and 11);
at least one first port (the first port 246 of the plurality of ports 234, 244, 246, 248, 250, 252 and 254), arranged on the first side or the second side (the rear side surface of the vertical portion of the manifold 602; see figure 5 and 11), and
one second port (248 of the plurality of ports 234, 244, 246, 248, 250, 252 and 254), arranged on the first side or the second side (the front side surface of the vertical portion of the manifold 602; figures 5 and 11); and
at least one first hollow volume (the internal fluid passages which connecting the ports 234, 244, 246, 248, 250, 252 and/or 254) that extends between the at least first port (246) and second port (248; see figure 5 for the illustration of the internal fluid passages); and
a second connecting element (the horizontal portion of the manifold 602; see annotated figure above), comprising:
a second base element with a third side (the top side surface of the horizontal portion of the manifold 602) and a fourth side (the bottom side surface of the horizontal portion of the manifold 602; see figure 11);
at least one third port (the third port 624 in figure 11 is equivalent to the ports 224 in figure 5), arranged on the third side (the top side surface of the horizontal portion of the manifold 602) or the fourth side (see figures 5 and 11), and
one fourth port (the fourth port 624 in figure 11 is equivalent to the ports 224 in figure 5), arranged on the third side (the top side surface of the horizontal portion of the manifold 602) or the fourth side (see figures 5 and 11); and
at least one second hollow volume (the internal fluid passages which connecting the third and fourth ports 624) that extends between the at least third port (624) and fourth port (624; see figures 5 and 11);
wherein the first connecting element (the vertical portion of the manifold 602) and the second connecting element (the horizontal portion of the manifold 602) are positioned at an angle (the T-shaped manifold 602 with 90 degree angle) with respect to one another (see figure 11 and the annotated figure above), such that an at least partially delimited volume for the attachment of at least one thermal management component (the compressor 604, the condenser 606, evaporator 616 and/or valve 618) to the first connecting element (the vertical portion of the manifold 602) or the second connecting element is defined (noted that alternative limitation, the “first connecting element” limitation has been addressed; see figure 11).
Regarding claim 2, Calderone discloses at least one of the ports (the port which associated with the sensor 232 of the ports 234, 244, 246, 248, 250, 252, 254 and the port which associated with the sensor 232 in vertical portion of manifold 602 and the ports 624 in the horizontal portion of the manifold 602) allows the attachment of at least one thermal management component (the sensor 232; Calderone discloses the sensor 232 is included in the low pressure fluid route; paragraph [0055]) in order to position the thermal management component (606) in a fluid path defined by the hollow volumes (the internal fluid passages; see figures 5 and 11).
Regarding claim 3, Calderone discloses at least one of the ports (the port 252 of the ports 234, 244, 246, 248, 250, 252, 254 and the port which associated with the sensor 232 in vertical portion of manifold 602 and the ports 624 in the horizontal portion of the manifold 602) allows the attachment of at least one thermal management component (the evaporator 616) in order to position the thermal management component (616) separately from the fluid path defined by the hollow volumes (the internal fluid passages) and in order to exchange thermal energy with a first fluid in the first hollow volume (the internal fluid passages in the vertical portion of the manifold 602) or with a second fluid in the second hollow volume (noted alternative limitation, the “first hollow volume” limitation has been addressed; see figures 5 and 11).
Regarding claim 4, Calderone discloses one of the first port (248) and the second port is arranged on the first side (the front side surface of the vertical portion of the manifold 602 which connected to compressor 604), and the other of the first port and the second port (246) is arranged on the second side (the rear side surface of the vertical portion of the manifold 602 which connected to the condenser 606; see figures 5 and 11).
Regarding claim 6, Calderone discloses the first connecting element (the vertical portion of the manifold 602) and the second connecting element (the horizontal portion of the manifold 602) are arranged orthogonally with respect to one another (see figure 11 and the annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 7, Calderone discloses the first base element (the vertical portion of the manifold 602) is of plate-like form with the integrated fluid path that is defined by the first hollow volume (the internal fluid passages in the vertical portion of the manifold 602) that extends in the first plane (see figures 5 and 11),and wherein the second base element (the vertical portion of the manifold 602) is of plate-like form with the integrated fluid path (the internal fluid passages which corresponds to the ports 624 which equivalent to ports 224 shown in figure 5) that is defined by the second hollow volume (the internal fluid passages which corresponds to the ports 624 that extends in the second plane (see figures 5 and 11).
Regarding claim 8, Calderone discloses at least one of the ports (the port 248 of the ports 234, 244, 246, 248, 250, 252, 254 and the port which associated with the sensor 232 in vertical portion of manifold 602) is attached to or integral with, the first base element (the vertical portion of manifold 602) or the second base element (noted that alternative limitation, the “first base element” limitation has been addressed; see figures 5 and 11).
Regarding claim 9, Calderone discloses the first connecting element (the vertical portion of manifold 602) and the second connecting element (the horizontal portion of manifold 602) are connected to each other (see figure 11 and the annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 10, Calderone discloses the first connecting element (the vertical portion of manifold 602) comprises a fifth port (the fifth port 254 of the ports 234, 244, 246, 248, 250, 252, 254 and the port which associated with the sensor 232 in vertical portion of manifold 602; see figures 5 and 11) and the second connecting element (the horizontal portion of manifold 602) comprises a sixth port (the six port 624 of the ports 624 in the horizontal portion of manifold 602; noted the ports 624 in figure 11 is equivalent to the ports 224 in figure 5), wherein the fifth port (254) and the sixth port (624) are fluidically connected (Calderone discloses the ports 224 in figure 5 is equivalent to port 624 in figure 11 are refrigerant charge port, which may be structured for refrigerant fluid conduction, paragraph [0041]; also, the port 254 is included in the high pressure routes, that enables fluid communication from a refrigerant charge source to TXV 220 and the evaporator 222, paragraph [0054]; therefore, Calderone’s disclosure implies that the fifth portion 254 and sixth port 624 (the port 224 in figure 5) are fluidically connected).
Regarding claim 11, Calderone discloses the first connecting element (the vertical portion of manifold 602) and the second connecting element (the horizontal portion of manifold 602) are an integral element (see figure 11 and the annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 12, Calderone discloses the thermal management components are at least one of: a valve, a pump, a heat exchanger (the condenser 606 and/or evaporator 616), a temperature sensor (sensor 232) or a pressure sensor (see figure 11).
Regarding claim 13, Calderone discloses at least one of the connecting elements (the vertical portion of manifold 602) has at least one of the thermal management components (the compressor 604 and the condenser 606) on each of its sides (the condenser 606 is disposed at the front side of the vertical portion of the manifold 602 and the compressor 604 is disposed at the rear side of the vertical portion of the manifold 602; see figure 11).
Regarding claim 14, Calderone discloses a thermal management system (see figures 1-5 and 7-11), comprising: the thermal management device (600) according to Claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above); and at least one of:
a first thermal management component (the compressor 604) attached the first port (246), a second thermal management component (the condenser 606) attached to the second port (248), a third thermal management component attached to the third port, and a fourth thermal management component attached the fourth port (see figures 5 and 11);
wherein the thermal management components are at least one of: valve, a pump, a heat exchanger (the condenser 606 and/or evaporator 616), a temperature sensor (the sensor 232) or a pressure sensor (see figures 5 and 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calderone.
Regarding claim 5, Calderone discloses one of the third port (the third port 624) and the fourth port is arranged on the third side (the top side surface of the horizontal portion of the manifold 602) and the other of the third port and the fourth port (the fourth port 624) is arranged on the third side (the top side surface of the horizontal portion of the manifold 602; see figure 11).
However, Calderone fails to disclose the other of the third port and the fourth port is arranged on the fourth side.
Though Calderone fails to disclose the fourth port is arrange on the fourth side, Calderone disclose multiple ports (624) are being arranged on top side surface of the horizontal portion of the manifold, Calderone’s disclosure meets a general condition of providing or arranging ports on a surface of a plate. Also, the fluid passages are internal fluid passages which connects the ports (624) in the horizontal portion to the ports in the vertical portion of the manifold (602). It would not affect the operation of the fluid flow in the internal fluid passages by rearranging the third and fourth ports from being positioned only on one side surface to having the one port (the third port) being positioned on the top side surface (the third side) and the other port (the fourth port) being positioned on the bottom side surface (the fourth side). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the thermal management device of Calderone to the claimed third and fourth ports position based on the rearrangement of parts (see MPEP 2144.04 section VI-C).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/KUN KAI MA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763