DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II claims 9-15 in the reply filed on 1/14/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-8 are withdrawn.
Examiner’s Note
The claimed “electrode element” is defined in the specification [0026]. The term is broad enough to include layers for both charging/discharging functions or layers with insulating function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SOUSA et al. (US 2019/0245215).
Regarding claims 9, 14, and 15,
SOUSA teaches printing (applying by an applicator) a catalyst ink (liquid functional layer) onto a membrane (thin film “electrode element”) on a vacuum conveyor (suction conveyor opposite the applicator) abstract. The catalyst is considered an “electrode element”. Even if “electrode element” is an electrode, SOUSA specifically teaches the catalyst can be an electrode (anode and cathode) catalyst [0032]. The membrane has cathode and anode catalyst deposited on opposing sides and is therefore a separator (stack separator) [0049].
Regarding claim 13,
The material deposited onto the sheet in SOUSA has mass and volume and therefore at least has “biased density” and “biased thickness”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MASUNARI et al. (US 2021/0121909) in view of WOUTERS et al. (US 2023/0226828).
Regarding claims 9, 14, and 15,
MASUNARI teaches conveying a current collector through an inkjet printing (liquid applicator) device which can print both electrode active material (electrode) [0038] and solid electrolyte (insulating material/stack separator) [0043]. The reference does not teach conveying while sucking the electrode element in a direction opposite the applicator. However, WOUTERS teaches an inkjet printing method that includes a printing head 202 (applicator) positioned over a vacuum belt 250 (suction conveyor) with vacuum table 253, [0026]-[0027]. WOUTERS notes that vacuum belts/conveyors hold down substrates during inkjet printing and improve printing quality [0066] and [0080]. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a vacuum conveyor in MASUNARI to hold down the substrate and improve printing quality.
Regarding claim 10,
MASUNARI teaches using a current collector layer (electrode substrate) [0094] and an active material that includes particles and binder (electrode composite) [0095]. The subsequently deposited solid electrolyte (insulating layer) [0096] is then deposited.
Regarding claim 11,
The elongated substrate in MASUNARI can have individual stacks where no coating is performed between deposition areas Figs. 8-9.
Regarding claim 12,
The elongated substrate in MASUNARI can have a uniform first layer (current collector 50) with individual stacks of material formed thereon Figs. 10-11 (coated and uncoated areas of electrode composite).
Regarding claim 13,
The material deposited onto the sheet in MASUNARI has mass and volume and therefore at least has “biased density” and “biased thickness”.
Conclusion
/AUSTIN MURATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712