Claims 1-10 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leighton et al. (US 20050255067).
The claims are drawn to a clear hair styling formulation, comprising: a dermatologically acceptable vehicle; and
a hair fixative polymer; wherein the hair fixative polymer is a hydrolyzed starch; wherein the hydrolyzed starch has a weight average molecular weight of 5,000 to 50,000 Daltons.
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Leighton teaches to a hair fixative film composition, and methods of fixing and maintaining the hair in a given style by applying said hair fixative film composition to the hair shafts. See Para [0001]. The use of hydrolyzed starch is taught in claim 4. Leighton does not teach the molecular weight of 5000 to 50,000 for starch. However, the determination of optimum molecular weight is considered to be within the skill of artisan in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 2, Leighton teaches the use of fixdative polymer, such as acrylic, polyacrylic and carbomer. See para [0018].
Regarding claim 3, the use of a plasticizer is taught in Paras [0012], [0035] and [0037]. Of Leighton.
Regarding claim 4, the claimed turbidity is the inherent property of Leighton’s composition, which uses the same ingredients as the claimed invention. Furthermore, the determination of turbidity is considered to be within the skill of artisan in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Leighton teaches the use of carbomer, which is a crosslinked acrylic acid polymer. Furthermore, other polymers of acrylic acids are also taught by Leighton. See Para [0018].
Regarding claim 7, the determination of optimum proportions or amounts are considered to be within the skill of artisan in the absence of evidence to the contrary. Applicant’s attention is drawn to In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), wherein the court states “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation”.
Regarding claim 8, Leighton teaches the use of other ingredients, such as moisturizers, emollients, vitamins, colors, conditioning agents and foaming agent in the hair styling composition. See Para [0043].
Regarding claim 9, the use of composition in a spray, gel, lotion, mousse, wax or pomade is taught in Para [0062] of Leighton.
/ZOHREH A FAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617