DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/6/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 10, 12, 15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (WO 2021/026802) (hereinafter “Chen”). Chen teaches all of the limitations of the specified claims with the reasoning that follows.
Regarding claim 1, “a method of wireless communication of a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a first access node, first downlink signals” and “receiving, from the second access node, second downlink signals” is anticipated by base station 105c (first access node) that transmits a first downlink transmission 415 (first downlink signals) to UE 115-b, as well as base station 105-d (second access node) that transmits a second downlink transmission 420 (second downlink signals) to UE-115-b as shown in Figure 4 and spoken of on page 36, paragraphs [0145]-[0146].
“Determining, based on the first downlink signals, a first downlink timing of the first access node” and “determining, based on the second downlink signals, a second downlink timing of the second access node” is anticipated by the UE 115-b that identifies a first transmission timing offset (first downlink timing) for the first carrier of base station 105-c as well as a second transmission timing offset (second downlink timing) for the second carrier of base station 105-d in response to receiving the downlink transmissions as shown in step 425 of Figure 4 and spoken of on page 36, paragraph [0147].
Lastly, “transmitting, to a second access node, a first preamble based on the first downlink timing of the first access node” and “transmitting, to the second access node, a second preamble based on the second downlink timing of the second access node” is anticipated by the UE 115-d that transmits a random access request to base station 105-h, where if assigned a preamble by base station 105-g or 105-h, the UE 115-d includes the assigned preamble (first preamble, second preamble) in the random access request as shown in step 615 of Figure 6 and spoken of on page 43, paragraph [0170]; and where transmission timing offsets (timing of access node) for uplink transmissions to base station 105-h are based on the random access procedures as spoken of on page 42, paragraph [0168].
Regarding claim 2, “receiving, from the first access node, a command instructing the UE to transmit the first preamble and the second preamble to the second access node” is anticipated by the base station 105-h or base station 105-g that transmits, to UE 115-d, a trigger (command) to initiate a random access procedure (including preamble transmission) on the second carrier of base station 105-h as shown in step 610 of Figure 6 and spoken of on page 43, paragraph [0169].
Regarding claim 3, “wherein the command includes an identifier of the second access node” is anticipated by the trigger that may include a base station-assigned preamble (identifier) for the random access procedure to start the random access procedure as spoken of on page 43, paragraph [0169].
Regarding claim 4, “transmitting, to the first access node, a third preamble; and receiving, from the first access node, timing advance information with respect to the first access node based on the third preamble” is anticipated by the base station 105-h that transmits, to UE 115-d, a TA command indicating an adjusted transmission timing offset (timing advance information) in a random access response sent in response to a received random access request including an assigned preamble (third preamble) as shown in step 620 of Figure 6 and spoken of on page 43, paragraph [0171].
Regarding claim 10, “a method of wireless communication of a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving first downlink signals from a first access node and second downlink signals from a second access node” is anticipated by base station 105c (first access node) that transmits a first downlink transmission 415 (first downlink signals) to UE 115-b, as well as base station 105-d (second access node) that transmits a second downlink transmission 420 (second downlink signals) to UE-115-b as shown in Figure 4 and spoken of on page 36, paragraphs [0145]-[0146].
“Determining a first downlink timing based on the first downlink signals and a second downlink timing based on the second downlink signals” is anticipated by the UE 115-b that identifies a first transmission timing offset (first downlink timing) for the first carrier of base station 105-c as well as a second transmission timing offset (second downlink timing) for the second carrier of base station 105-d in response to receiving the downlink transmissions as shown in step 425 of Figure 4 and spoken of on page 36, paragraph [0147].
“Estimating a downlink timing difference between the first downlink timing and the second downlink timing” is anticipated by the UE 115-b that determines (estimates) a difference (timing difference) between the first transmission timing offset and the second transmission timing offset as shown in step 430 of Figure 4 and spoken of on page 36, paragraph [0148].
“Transmitting a report of the estimated downlink timing difference to at least one of the first access node and the second access node” is anticipated by the UE 115-b that transmits a DDTR report to base station 105-d that indicates the difference between the first transmission timing offset and the second transmission timing offset as shown in step 435 of Figure 4 and spoken of on page 36, paragraph [0149].
Lastly, “transmitting a first preamble to the second access node based on the first downlink timing” is anticipated by the UE 115-d that transmits a random access request to base station 105-h, where if assigned a preamble by base station 105-g or 105-h, the UE 115-d includes the assigned preamble (first preamble) in the random access request as shown in step 615 of Figure 6 and spoken of on page 43, paragraph [0170]; and where transmission timing offsets (timing of access node) for uplink transmissions to base station 105-h are based on the random access procedures as spoken of on page 42, paragraph [0168].
Regarding claim 12, “wherein estimating the downlink timing difference comprises: determining a first time of reception of the first downlink signals; determining a second time of reception of the second downlink signals; and calculating a difference between the first time of reception and the second time of reception” is anticipated by the UE 115-b that determines (estimates) a difference (timing difference) between the first transmission timing offset (first transmission/reception time) and the second transmission timing offset (second transmission/reception time) as shown in step 430 of Figure 4 and spoken of on page 36, paragraph [0148].
Regarding claim 15, “receiving, from the first access node, a command instructing the UE to transmit the first preamble to the second access node, wherein the command includes an identifier of the second access node” is anticipated by the base station 105-h or base station 105-g that transmits, to UE 115-d, a trigger (command) to initiate a random access procedure (including preamble transmission) on the second carrier of base station 105-h as shown in step 610 of Figure 6 and spoken of on page 43, paragraph [0169]; where the trigger may include a base station-assigned preamble (identifier) for the random access procedure to start the random access procedure as spoken of on page 43, paragraph [0169].
Regarding claim 18, “transmitting, to the first access node, a third preamble; and receiving, from the first access node, timing advance information with respect to the first access node based on the third preamble” is anticipated by the base station 105-h that transmits, to UE 115-d, a TA command indicating an adjusted transmission timing offset (timing advance information) in a random access response sent in response to a received random access request including an assigned preamble (third preamble) as shown in step 620 of Figure 6 and spoken of on page 43, paragraph [0171].
Regarding claim 19, “An apparatus for wireless communication, the apparatus being a user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to: receive, from a first access node, first downlink signals” and “receive, from the second access node, second downlink signals” is anticipated by base station 105c (first access node) that transmits a first downlink transmission 415 (first downlink signals) to UE 115-b, as well as base station 105-d (second access node) that transmits a second downlink transmission 420 (second downlink signals) to UE-115-b as shown in Figure 4 and spoken of on page 36, paragraphs [0145]-[0146]; where the device 1005 of Figure 10 includes a processor 1040 coupled to a memory 1030.
“Determine, based on the first downlink signals, a first downlink timing of the first access node” and “determine, based on the second downlink signals, a second downlink timing of the second access node” is anticipated by the UE 115-b that identifies a first transmission timing offset (first downlink timing) for the first carrier of base station 105-c as well as a second transmission timing offset (second downlink timing) for the second carrier of base station 105-d in response to receiving the downlink transmissions as shown in step 425 of Figure 4 and spoken of on page 36, paragraph [0147].
Lastly, “transmit, to a second access node, a first preamble based on the first downlink timing of the first access node” and “transmit, to the second access node, a second preamble based on the second downlink timing of the second access node” is anticipated by the UE 115-d that transmits a random access request to base station 105-h, where if assigned a preamble by base station 105-g or 105-h, the UE 115-d includes the assigned preamble (first preamble, second preamble) in the random access request as shown in step 615 of Figure 6 and spoken of on page 43, paragraph [0170]; and where transmission timing offsets (timing of access node) for uplink transmissions to base station 105-h are based on the random access procedures as spoken of on page 42, paragraph [0168].
Regarding claim 20, “receive, from the first access node, a command instructing the UE to transmit the first preamble and the second preamble to the second access node” is anticipated by the base station 105-h or base station 105-g that transmits, to UE 115-d, a trigger (command) to initiate a random access procedure (including preamble transmission) on the second carrier of base station 105-h as shown in step 610 of Figure 6 and spoken of on page 43, paragraph [0169].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6, 8, 9, 13, 14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Nishio et al. (U.S. 2023/0049008) (hereinafter “Nishio”).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Chen teaches claims 1 and 10 as described above. While Chen further teaches where the first downlink transmission or second downlink transmission may include one or more synchronization signals as spoken of on page 36, paragraphs [0145]-[0146], Chen does not explicitly teach “wherein the first downlink signals comprise first synchronization signal blocks and the second downlink signals comprise second synchronization signal blocks” or “wherein the first downlink signals comprise first synchronization signal blocks from the first access node and the second downlink signals comprise second synchronization signal blocks from the second access node”.
However, Nishio teaches a transmission device and method for performing a random access procedure supporting timing adjustment where a base station transmits an SSB (synchronization signal block) as spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0099].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to utilize an SSB transmission as taught in Nishio as a synchronization signal in the system of Chen in order to provide synchronization signaling in accordance with the 5G NR standard, thereby improving the compatibility of the network system as spoken of on page 2, paragraph [0040] of Nishio.
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Chen teaches claims 1 and 10 as described above. While Chen further teaches where preambles are used in a random access procedure as spoken of on page 43, paragraphs [0169]-[0170], Chen does not explicitly teach “wherein the first preamble and the second preamble are physical random access channel (PRACH) preambles” or “wherein the first preamble is a physical random access channel (PRACH) preamble”.
However, Nishio teaches a transmission device and method for performing a random access procedure supporting timing adjustment where a base station transmits an SSB (synchronization signal block) as spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0099]; and where a terminal receiving the SSB transmits a PRACH for initial access as spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0101].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to utilize an SSB transmission and PRACH transmission as taught in Nishio as a synchronization signal and random access signal, respectively, in the system of Chen in order to provide synchronization/random access signaling in accordance with the 5G NR standard, thereby improving the compatibility of the network system as spoken of on page 2, paragraphs [0035], [0036], and [0040] of Nishio.
Regarding claims 8, 9, and 17, Chen teaches claims 1 and 10 as described above. Chen does not explicitly teach “wherein transmitting the first preamble comprises: selecting a first random access occasion configured by the first access node; and transmitting the first preamble in the first random access occasion” or “wherein transmitting the second preamble comprises: selecting a second random access occasion configured by the second access node; and transmitting the second preamble in the second random access occasion” or “wherein transmitting the first preamble comprises: selecting a first random access occasion configured by the first access node; and transmitting the first preamble in the first random access occasion”.
However, Nishio teaches a transmission device and method for performing a random access procedure supporting timing adjustment where a base station transmits an SSB (synchronization signal block) as spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0099]; and where a terminal receiving the SSB transmits a PRACH for initial access as spoken of on page 5, paragraph [0101]; and where a PRACH is transmitted using a RACH occasion (random access occasion) configured by a base station as spoken of on page 2, paragraph [0036].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to utilize an SSB transmission and PRACH transmission as taught in Nishio as a synchronization signal and random access signal, respectively, in the system of Chen in order to provide synchronization/random access signaling in accordance with the 5G NR standard, thereby improving the compatibility of the network system as spoken of on page 2, paragraphs [0035], [0036], and [0040] of Nishio.
Claim(s) 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Ono et al. (U.S. 2014/0348138) (hereinafter “Ono”).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Chen teaches claims 1 and 10 as described above. Chen does not explicitly teach “wherein the first access node is a source node and the second access node is a target node during handover of the UE from the first access node to the second access node”.
However, Ono teaches an apparatus and method for adjusting a reference timing between a mobile station and multiple base stations where a preamble transmitted during a random access process may be utilized for handover as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0044].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the timing adjustment taught in Chen to a handover process as taught in Ono in order to provide a more adaptive system that may provide random access processes for handover as well as synchronization as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0044] of Ono.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Iwamura (U.S. 2012/0003970).
Regarding claim 11, Chen teaches claim 10 as described above. While Chen further teaches where the transmitted DDTR report indicates the difference between the first transmission timing offset and the second transmission timing offset, Chen does not explicitly teach “wherein the report comprises: an identifier of the first access node; an identifier of the second access node”.
However, Iwamura teaches a mobile communication method and radio base station for measuring timing difference between a timing of receiving a downlink signal from a first cell and a timing of a downlink signal from a second cell, where a measurement report is transmitted that includes radio base station (access node) identifiers as well as reception timing difference information as spoken of on pages 2-3, paragraphs [0038]-[0046].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the base station identifier information taught in Iwamura to the reporting of Chen in order to provide additional identifying information to the network via the measurement reporting, thereby improving the awareness of the network nodes in the communication system and the reliability of the measurement communication.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References considered relevant to this application are listed in the attached “Notice of References Cited” (PTO-892).
/MICHAEL J MOORE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467