DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yakar et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0407233) in view of Wallace (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0281758) in view of Han et al. (Influence of pH and NaCl concentration on boron rejection during nanofiltration; Separation and Purification Technology 261; 118248, 2021)
Regarding claims 1, Yakar et al. a teaches boric acid dissolving step that contains boric acid between 12-14% by weight which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of providing a boric acid solution comprising from 10 wt% to 25 wt% boric acid (paragraphs 51 and 52). Yakar et al. teaches dissolving boric acid in water is carried out at a temperature in the range of 60 to 70 ° C which overlaps with at a temperature from 60 ° C to less than 100 ° C to form a heated boric acid solution (paragraph 52). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Yakar et al. teaches filtered solution is passed through respectively the column containing cation exchange resin which is maintained at a temperature of 60-70° C which meets the limitation first passing the heated boric acid solution through a first nanofiltration membrane to form a first heated boron permeate (paragraph 52). Yakar et al. teaches with a flow rate of 20-25 BV/h and column containing a weak anion exchanging resin maintained at a temperature of 60-70° C which meets the limitation of second passing the first heated boron permeate through a second nanofiltration membrane forming a second heated boron permeate (paragraph 52). Yakar et al. teaches the method developed, technical grade boric acid of 99.96% purity, which is preferably produced from colemanite mineral and which contains 300 ppm max. sulfate, 5 ppm chloride and 4 ppm iron; can be purified to a such degree where it contains less than 1 ppm of sulfate, iron, chloride and sodium which meets the limitation of comprising at least 10 wt% boric acid, less than 5 ppm sodium, and less than 5 ppm of a component selected from the group consisting of Ca, Li, S, and Si (paragraph 52). Yakar et al. teaches a pressure range of 3 to 5 bar which converts to 43- 72.5 psi (paragraph 52). Yakar et al. does not teach at a pressure from 300 psi to 500 psi.
Wallace teaches a boron removal system comprising a method that includes directing a feed stream to a nanofiltration (NF) system disposed upstream of a mineral removal system and the feed stream includes a plurality of minerals (paragraph 7). Wallace teaches microfiltration system comprising plastic or ceramic filters (paragraph 26).
Han et al. teaches nanofiltration is promising for replacing reverse osmosis for boron removal more effectively and at a higher energy efficiency (abstract). Han et al. teaches the influence of pH and NaCl concentration on boric acid/borate rejection by the Desal 5DK NF membrane (abstract). Han et al. teaches the trans-membrane pressures were varied between 300 and 3000 kPa, 43.5113 - 435.1132 psi (page 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to optimize the membrane and pressure taught by Yakar et al. because it ensures the separation performance of the process whatever the boric acid concentration in the process feed.
Regarding claim 2, Yakar et al. teaches filtered solution is passed through respectively the column containing cation exchange resin which is maintained at a temperature of 60-70° C which meets the limitation first passing the heated boric acid solution through a first nanofiltration membrane selected from the group consisting of a ceramic nanofiltration membrane and a polymeric nanofiltration membrane (paragraph 52). Yakar et al. teaches with a flow rate of 20-25 BV/h and column containing a weak anion exchanging resin maintained at a temperature of 60-70° C which meets the limitation of second passing the first heated boron permeate through a second nanofiltration membrane selected from the group consisting of a ceramic nanofiltration membrane and a polymeric nanofiltration membrane (paragraph 52).
Regarding claim 3, Yakar et al. a teaches boric acid dissolving step that contains boric acid between 12-14% by weight which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of providing a boric acid solution comprising from 10 wt% to 15 wt% boric acid (paragraphs 51 and 52). Yakar et al. teaches dissolving boric acid in water is carried out at a temperature in the range of 60 to 70 ° C which meets the limitation of from 60 ° C to less than 70 ° C to form a heated boric acid solution (paragraph 52).
Regarding claim 4, Han et al. teaches membrane (Desal 5DK) characterization indicates the
mean membrane pore size was similar to that of glucose (glucose has a molecular mass of 180 daltons) and is therefore encompassed by 3 wherein the first polymeric nanofiltration membrane has a pore size from 150 daltons to 250 daltons and the second polymeric nanofiltration membrane has a pore size from 150 daltons to 250 daltons (page 7).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Han et al. teaches a feed flow rate (Hydra-cell M03, Wanner Engineering, USA) were 6890 kPa and 6.81 L/min which converts to 2,590.58 Gallons/day (page 2). One of ordinary skill in the art membrane area to achieve the desire purity and permeate volume.
Regarding claim 7, Yakar et al. teaches “impurity-removed solution (11) is cooled (13) and boric acid is precipitated by crystallization (E). The settled wet crystals (15) in the impurity-removed crystalline solution (14) are separated (F) from the waste solution (20). In the step of separation of settled wet crystals from waste solution, impurity-removed crystalline solution can be fed to a hydrocyclone to separate settled wet crystals. Settled wet crystals (15) are subjected to crystal-solution separation process (G) in order to reduce solution amount. The centrifugation technique can be used to remove crystals from solution. The obtained wet crystals (16) are dried (H) and the dried crystals (17) are sieved (I). Airflow can be utilized for drying during wet crystal drying step. Boric acid (18) with a minimum 99.99% purity, whose main impurity levels are reduced below 1 ppm, is obtained” which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of cooling the second heated boron permeate to form a second boron permeate; crystallizing the second boron permeate to form wet boric acid crystals; drying the wet boric acid crystals; and forming purified boric acid particles composed of at least 99.999% wt% boric acid; less than 5 ppm sodium, and less than 5 ppm of a material selected from the group consisting of Ca, Li, S, and Si (paragraph 51).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yakar et al. in view of Wallace in view of Han et al. as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Kocakusak et al. (Production of anhydrous, crystalline boron oxide in fluidized bed reactor; Chemical Engineering and Processing 35; 311-317; 1996).
Yakar et al. in view of Wallace in view of Han et al. teach a method of making high purity boric acid crystals. Yakar et al. in view of Wallace in view of Han et al. do not teach boron oxide.
Kocakusak et al. teaches industrial production of boron oxide is via fusion of boric acid at 550-1000 °C (abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the boric acid taught by Yakar et al. in view of Wallace in view of Han et al. for making boron oxide because the high purity boric acid would produce high purity boron oxide.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al. (Ceramic nanofiltration and membrane distillation hybrid membrane processes for the purification and recycling of boric acid from simulative radioactive waste water; Journal of membrane science 579: 294-301; 2019).
/GUINEVER S GREGORIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 09/27/2026