DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show [equipment; grid; monitor the status; operation information; monitoring result; processor; different formats; same format] as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, requires the specification to be written in “full, clear, concise, and exact terms.” The specification is replete with terms which are not clear, concise and exact. The specification should be revised carefully in order to comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112. Examples of some unclear, inexact or verbose terms used in the specification are: [repeater device; different formats; same format].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 6 and 11, the Applicant claims that “a repeater receives the first data, then generates second data corresponding to the first data”. It is unclear, how the repeater is generating a second data, because neither the specification nor the drawing discloses or describes how this particular feature can be done without a processor at the least. In other words, it is well known in the art of Communication System Protocols, that {a repeater is an electronic device that receives a weak or degraded signal from point A, regenerates it to its original strength and quality, and retransmits it to point B}. The word “it” is recited twice because it refers to the same signal that contains the same data regardless of its amplification. That is why it is unknown, what is the reason behind the term “second data”, because again, the data at terminal A is the same data at terminal B in terms of content and format, especially when utilizing the same communication line between the repeater and the relay, the only difference between data A and data B is the augmentation. In other words, the first data is the same as the second data in terms of content and format, but, the first data is different from the second data in terms of strength. Therefore, for the sake of examination, the limitation “first data” is interpreted as “the input to the repeater”; and the limitation “second data” is interpreted as “the output from the repeater using the same communication port/line/link”; and the limitation “corresponding to the first data” is interpreted as “the augmented first data”. As a consequence, the limitation “different formats” which is recited in claim 3 is interpreted as “there is a change of info in the monitoring result”; and the limitation “same format” which is recited in claim 4 is interpreted as “there is no change of info in the monitoring result”.
Claims 2-14 inherit the same deficiency as in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-9 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by D'Aversa et al (US Publication No. 20160210967).
Regarding claim 1, D'Aversa discloses a protection relay system (i.e., such as protection relay system 100; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) that protects equipment (i.e., such as protects equipment 130, 114, 115, 146, 131, 141; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) in a grid (i.e., such as grid 122, 120, 123, 142, 140; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]), the protection relay system (i.e., such as protection relay system 100; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) comprising: one or more relay devices (i.e., such as one or more relay devices/plurality of relay devices 160-167; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) provided (i.e., such as IEDs 160-167 are provided to the power grid system 100 for protection purposes; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) in the grid (i.e., such as grid 122, 120, 123, 142, 140; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) to monitor the status (i.e., such as monitoring the status of the power grid system 100 in terms of component wise and functional wise; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) of the grid (i.e., such as grid 122, 120, 123, 142, 140; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) and generate (i.e., such as generate as of Tx/sending/transmitting/outgoing; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) first data (i.e., such as IEDs 160-167 are Tx/sending/generating/reporting/transmitting the outgoing data/signals in the form first data/signals; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) for operation information (i.e., such as operation information as of current measurement, voltage drop, ON/OFF state of a circuit breaker, etc.; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) including the monitoring result (i.e., such as monitoring result as of current measurement, voltage drop, ON/OFF state of a circuit breaker, etc.; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]); a repeater device (i.e., such as repeater device communication network 168; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) that receives (i.e., such as the repeater communication network 168 is Rx/receiving/incoming all the transmitted/outgoing data/signals from the IEDs 160-167 and vice versa; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) the first data (i.e., such as IEDs 160-167 are Tx/sending/generating/reporting/transmitting the outgoing data/signals in the form of first data/signals; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) from the one or more relay devices (i.e., such as one or more relay devices/plurality of relay devices 160-167; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) and generates (i.e., such as generate as of Tx/sending/transmitting/outgoing; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) second data (i.e., such as the repeater communication network 168 is Tx/sending/generating/reporting/transmitting the outgoing data/signals in the form of second data/signals; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) corresponding to (i.e., such as the repeater communication network 168 is Tx/sending/generating/reporting/transmitting the answers/commands in the second data which correspond to the questions/inquiries in the first data of the IEDs 160-167; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) the first data (i.e., such as IEDs 160-167 are Tx/sending/generating/reporting/transmitting the outgoing data/signals in the form of first data/signals; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]); and a terminal device (i.e., such as terminal device 266; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) that receives (i.e., such as the IEDs 160-167 are Rx/receiving/incoming all the transmitted/outgoing second data/signals from the repeater communication network 168 and vice versa; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) the second data (i.e., such as the repeater communication network 168 is Tx/sending/generating/reporting/transmitting the outgoing data/signals in the form of second data/signals; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) from the repeater device (i.e., such as repeater device communication network 168; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) and displays (i.e., such as displays via 284; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) the operation information (i.e., such as operation information as of current measurement, voltage drop, ON/OFF state of a circuit breaker, etc.; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) on a screen (i.e., such as screen 286; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) based on (i.e., such as based upon; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) the second data (i.e., such as the repeater communication network 168 is Tx/sending/generating/reporting/transmitting the outgoing data/signals in the form of second data/signals; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]).
Regarding claim 2, D'Aversa discloses the protection relay system (i.e., such as protection relay system 100; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]); wherein the one or more relay devices (i.e., such as one or more relay devices/plurality of relay devices 160-167; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) generate (i.e., such as generate as of Tx/sending/transmitting/outgoing; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) the first data (i.e., such as IEDs 160-167 are Tx/sending/generating/reporting/transmitting the outgoing data/signals in the form of first data/signals; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) in a first format (i.e., such as first format of questions/inquiries/status format-signal; for instance, 0 or 1?; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) that can be received (i.e., such as the repeater communication network 168 is Rx/receiving/incoming all the transmitted/outgoing first data/signals came from or sent by the IEDs 160-167 and vice versa, and that is, the IEDs 160-167 are Rx/receiving/incoming all the transmitted/outgoing second data/signals came from or sent by the repeater communication network 168; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) by the repeater device (i.e., such as repeater device communication network 168; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]), and wherein the repeater device (i.e., such as repeater device communication network 168; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) generates (i.e., such as generate as of Tx/sending/transmitting/outgoing; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) the second data (i.e., such as the repeater communication network 168 is Tx/sending/generating/reporting/transmitting the outgoing data/signals in the form of second data/signals; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) through processing (i.e., such as processing as of answering; for instance, the repeater communication network 168 is Tx/sending/generating/reporting/transmitting the answers/commands in the second data which correspond to the questions/inquiries in the first data of the IEDs 160-167; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) the first data (i.e., such as IEDs 160-167 are Tx/sending/generating/reporting/transmitting the outgoing data/signals in the form of first data/signals; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) into a second format (i.e., such as second format of answers/commands format-signal; for instance, set 0 to 1 or set 1 to 0; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) that can be received (i.e., such as the repeater communication network 168 is Rx/receiving/incoming all the transmitted/outgoing first data/signals came from or sent by the IEDs 160-167 and vice versa, and that is, the IEDs 160-167 are Rx/receiving/incoming all the transmitted/outgoing second data/signals came from or sent by the repeater communication network 168; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) by the terminal device (i.e., such as terminal device 266; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]).
Regarding claim 3, D'Aversa discloses the protection relay system (i.e., such as protection relay system 100; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]); wherein the first data (i.e., such as IEDs 160-167 are Tx/sending/generating/reporting/transmitting the outgoing data/signals in the form of first data/signals; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) and the second data (i.e., such as the repeater communication network 168 is Tx/sending/generating/reporting/transmitting the outgoing data/signals in the form of second data/signals; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) are data (i.e., such as data in terms acquired measurements, event reports, etc.; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) in different formats (i.e., such as different formats as of there is change/update in the monitoring result to report; for instance, a circuit breaker was ON/CLOSED defined by binary coding data "1", and due to a faulty event suddenly that CB became OFF/OPENED defined by binary coding data "0"; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]).
Regarding claim 4, D'Aversa discloses the protection relay system (i.e., such as protection relay system 100; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]); wherein the first data (i.e., such as IEDs 160-167 are Tx/sending/generating/reporting/transmitting the outgoing data/signals in the form of first data/signals; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) and the second data (i.e., such as the repeater communication network 168 is Tx/sending/generating/reporting/transmitting the outgoing data/signals in the form of second data/signals; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) are data (i.e., such as data in terms acquired measurements, event reports, etc.; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]) in the same format (i.e., such as same format as of there is no change/update in the monitoring result to report; for instance, a circuit breaker was ON/CLOSED defined by binary coding data "1", and due to a normal operation that CB maintained the same operational status as ON/CLOSED defined by the same binary coding data "1"; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]).
Regarding claim 7, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 2. {See rejection of claim 2}
Regarding claim 8, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 3. {See rejection of claim 3}
Regarding claim 9, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 4. {See rejection of claim 4}
Regarding claim 12, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 2. {See rejection of claim 2}
Regarding claim 13, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 3. {See rejection of claim 3}
Regarding claim 14, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 4. {See rejection of claim 4}
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D'Aversa et al (US Publication No. 20160210967) in view of Sun et al (US Publication No. 20130188670).
Regarding claim 5, D'Aversa discloses the protection relay system (i.e., such as protection relay system 100; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]).
D'Aversa does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more relay devices communicate with the repeater device in a first communication method, and wherein the terminal device communicates with the repeater device in a second communication method different from the first communication method.
Sun discloses an electronic communication device (i.e., such as system of communication 200; see for example fig. 2, para. [0023]- [0027]); wherein the one or more relay devices (i.e., such as the one or more relay devices 102, 104; see for example fig. 2, para. [0023]- [0027]) communicate with (i.e., such as communicate with; see for example fig. 2, para. [0023]- [0027]) the repeater device (i.e., such as the repeater device 204, 206; see for example fig. 2, para. [0023]- [0027]) in a first communication method (i.e., such as first communication method 202; see for example fig. 2, para. [0023]- [0027]), and wherein the terminal device (i.e., such the terminal device 106, 110; see for example fig. 2, para. [0023]- [0027]) communicates with (i.e., such as communicate with; see for example fig. 2, para. [0023]- [0027]) the repeater device the repeater device (i.e., such as the repeater device 204, 206; see for example fig. 2, para. [0023]- [0027]) in a second communication method (i.e., such as second communication method 114; see for example fig. 2, para. [0023]- [0027]) different from (i.e., such as link 114 is different from link 202; see for example fig. 2, para. [0023]- [0027]) the first communication method (i.e., such as first communication method 202; see for example fig. 2, para. [0023]- [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the second communication method in D'Aversa, as taught by Sun, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards ensuring redundancy and fault tolerance.
Regarding claim 10, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 5. {See rejection of claim 5}
Regarding claim 15, is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 5. {See rejection of claim 5}
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D'Aversa et al (US Publication No. 20160210967) in view of Keckalo et al (US Publication No. 20210281062).
Regarding claim 6, D'Aversa discloses the protection relay system (i.e., such as protection relay system 100; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]); each (i.e., such as each one of the IEDs 160-167; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]).
D'Aversa does not explicitly disclose a terminal device that receives each of the second data from the repeater device, collects the second data to generate third data, and displays the operation information on a screen based on the third data.
Keckalo discloses a power system protection (i.e., see for example fig. 6, para. [0055]- [0063]); wherein a terminal device (i.e., such as terminal device 608; see for example fig. 6, para. [0055]- [0063]) that receives each (i.e., such as 608 receives each of 180A, 180B, 180C via 632; see for example fig. 6, para. [0055]- [0063]) of the second data (i.e., such as the second data of each phase, phase 180A, phase 180B, phase 180C; see for example fig. 6, para. [0055]- [0063]) from the repeater device (i.e., such as the repeater device 610; see for example fig. 6, para. [0055]- [0063]), collects (i.e., such as 610 collects via 620; see for example fig. 6, para. [0055]- [0063]) the second data (i.e., such as the second data of each phase, phase 180A, phase 180B, phase 180C; see for example fig. 6, para. [0055]- [0063]) to generate (i.e., such as to generate via 612; see for example fig. 6, para. [0055]- [0063]) third data (i.e., such as third data in bus 616; see for example fig. 6, para. [0055]- [0063]), and displays (i.e., such as displays via 618; see for example fig. 6, para. [0055]- [0063]) the operation information (i.e., such as the operation information in the third data bus 616; see for example fig. 6, para. [0055]- [0063]) on a screen (i.e., such as screen 618; see for example fig. 6, para. [0055]- [0063]) based on (i.e., such as 618 displays all the operational status/third data based upon bus 616; see for example fig. 6, para. [0055]- [0063]) the third data (i.e., such as third data in bus 616; see for example fig. 6, para. [0055]- [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the terminal device for generating the third data in D'Aversa, as taught by Keckalo, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards providing real-time visibility into grid health. And, for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 6 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 1. {See rejection of claim 1}
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D'Aversa et al (US Publication No. 20160210967) in view of Schweitzer, III (US Publication 20210111550).
Regarding claim 11, D'Aversa discloses the protection relay system (i.e., such as protection relay system 100; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]); each (i.e., such as each one of the IEDs 160-167; see for example figs. 1-2, para. [0016]- [0047]).
D'Aversa does not explicitly disclose a terminal device that receives the third data from the repeater device and displays the operation information on a screen based on the third data.
Schweitzer discloses a power system meter (i.e., see for example fig. 4, para. [0042]- [0050]); wherein a terminal device (i.e., such as terminal device 430; see for example fig. 4, para. [0042]- [0050]) that receives (i.e., such as the 430 receives the 426 from the 462; see for example fig. 4, para. [0042]- [0050]) the third data (i.e., such as the third data 426; see for example fig. 4, para. [0042]- [0050]) from the repeater device (i.e., such as the repeater device 462; see for example fig. 4, para. [0042]- [0050]) and displays (i.e., such as displays via 416; see for example fig. 4, para. [0042]- [0050]) the operation information (i.e., such as the operation information of the third data 426; see for example fig. 4, para. [0042]- [0050]) on a screen (i.e., such as screen 416; see for example fig. 4, para. [0042]- [0050]) based on (i.e., such as 416 displays all the operational status/third data based upon port 426; see for example fig. 4, para. [0042]- [0050]) the third data (i.e., such as the third data 426; see for example fig. 4, para. [0042]- [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the terminal device for collecting the third data in D'Aversa, as taught by Schweitzer, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards providing real-time visibility into grid health. And, for the rest of the limitations/features in claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons that have already been stated/discussed above in rejected claim 1. {See rejection of claim 1}
Conclusion
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838