DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This Office Action is in response to the Amendments to the Claims and Remarks filed November 5, 2025.
In view of the Amendments to the Claims filed November 5, 2025, the rejections of claims 1-7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 previously presented in the Office Action sent June 16, 2025 have been substantially maintained and modified only in response to the Amendments to the Claims.
Claims 1-8 re currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 8 recites, “the output line is arranged such that a direction, in which the output line on a light-receiving side of the solar cell module extends to the through-hole”.
The specification, as originally filed, does not evidence applicant had in possession an invention including the output line is arranged such that a direction, in which the output line on a light-receiving side of the solar cell module extends to the through-hole.
The specification does not describe or depict the output line as arranged in a direction in which the output line “on a light-receiving side of the solar cell module” extends to the through-hole. The output line 20 is not taught to be “on a light-receiving side of the solar cell module” and extending to the through-hole.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bunnell et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,310,211) in view of Bunca et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0006602 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Bunnell et al. discloses
an output line connection structure for a solar cell module (10, Fig. 1-5),
for connecting an output line that extends out of the solar cell module (see Fig. 3 depicting output line 18/16 extending out of the solar cell module 94), with
an external connection cable (86, Fig. 1-5), wherein the solar cell module comprises
at least one solar cell string in which a plurality of solar cells is connected in series with each other (see Fig. 3 and see line 14-15, column 3 teaching series interconnection),
the output line is provided correspondingly to the at least one solar cell string and is drawn out through a through-hole that opens to a back surface side of the solar cell module, a back surface of the solar cell module being a surface opposite to a light-receiving surface of the solar cell module (see Fig. 3 depicting cited output line 18/16 drawn out through a through-hole that opens to a back surface side of the solar cell module), and
the output line extending in a planar direction on the back surface (as depicted in Fig. 3, the cited output line 18/16 having a portion extending in a planar, or flat, vertical direction on/above the back surface),
the external connection cable has a connecting end to be connected to the output line and comprises a connection terminal at the connecting end (such as depicted in Fig. 1-2, the cited external connection cable 86 has a connecting end, such as the left end, to be connected to the cited output line 18/16 and comprises a connection terminal 14 at the connecting end),
the connection terminal being provided with a holder part into which the output line is inserted (as depicted in Fig. 1-2, the connection terminal 14 being provided with a holder part 46/48/50/76 into which the cited output line 18/16 is inserted), and
a connecting portion formed by connecting the holder part to an extreme end of the output line is provided on the back surface side of the solar cell module (as depicted in Fig. 1-3, a connecting portion 12 formed by connecting the cited holder part 46/48/50/76 to an extreme end 16 of the cited output line 18/16 is provided on the back surface side of the solar cell module),
the connecting portion being spaced from the through-hole in the planar direction on the back surface (as depicted in Fig. 3-4, the cited connection portion 12 having portions vertically spaced from the cited through-hole in the cited planar vertical direction on the back surface),
the external connection cable is arranged on the back surface side of the solar cell module (see Fig. 3) and further has
a first end that is an end opposite to the connecting end of the external connection cable (see Fig. 3).
Bunnell et al. does not disclose wherein the first end of the external connection cable is connected to an external electronic device or a terminal box.
However, Bunea et al. discloses an output line connection structure for a solar cell module (see Title and Abstract) and teaches a first end of an external connection cable 106 can be connected to an external electronic device 104 (see Fig. 1).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the external electronic device exemplified by Bunea et al. with the output line connection structure of Bunnell et al. because the combination of elements known in the prior art supports a prima facie obviousness determination (see MPEP 2143 A).
With regard to claim 2, independent claim 1 is obvious over Bunnell et al. in view of Bunea et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Bunnell et al. discloses wherein
the output line is a band-like conductor plate (as depicted in Fig. 1-2, the cited output line 18/16 is cited to read on the claimed “is a band-like conductor plate” because it includes a band shaped plate 16 that is conductive),
the holder part has a tubular shape with a clearance (such as depicted in Fig. 1-2, the cited holder part has a tubular shape with a clearance at 46/48/50), and
the extreme end of the output line is inserted in, and crimped on, the holder part (as depicted in Fig. 1-3, the cited extreme end 16 of the output line 18/16 is inserted in, and crimped on, the holder part at 76 in slot 92).
With regard to claim 3, dependent claim 2 is obvious over Bunnell et al. in view of Bunea et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Bunnell et al. discloses wherein
the output line has a tapered portion narrowing toward the extreme end (as depicted in Fig. 1-2, the cited output line 18/16 has a tapered portion narrowing toward the extreme end, such as the narrowing portion connecting 18 to 16).
With regard to claim 4, independent claim 1 is obvious over Bunnell et al. in view of Bunea et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Bunnell et al. discloses wherein
the holder part has a tubular shape with a clearance (such as depicted in Fig. 1-2, the cited holder part has a tubular shape with a clearance at 46/48/50),
the extreme end of the output line has a tubular shape narrowing toward an extremity thereof and insertable in the holder part (such as depicted in Fig. 1-2 and annotated Fig. 1-2 below, the extreme end 16 of the output line 18/16 has a tubular shape, or a shape resembling a tube, at the cross section, due to the bent over structure of 16 and narrowing toward a lower most extremity of 16 due to the lack of the bent over part thereof and insertable in the holder part at 76 in slot 92), and
Annotated Fig. 1-2
the extreme end of the output line is inserted in, and crimped on, the holder part (as depicted in Fig. 1-2, the cited extreme end 16 of the output line 18/16 is inserted in, and crimped on, the holder part at 76 in slot 92).
With regard to claim 5, independent claim 1 is obvious over Bunnell et al. in view of Bunea et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Bunnell et al. discloses further comprising
an elastic contact piece provided inside the holder part and configured to hold the output line in a pinched manner (as depicted in Fig. 1-2, an elastic contact piece 88/90 provided inside the cited holder part and configured to hold the output line 18/16 in a pinched manner).
With regard to claim 6, dependent claim 5 is obvious over Bunnell et al. in view of Bunea et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Bunnell et al. discloses wherein
the output line comprises a bent portion that is a turned-back portion of the extreme end (as depicted in Fig. 1-2, the output line 18/16 comprises a bent portion 16 that is a turned-back portion of the extreme end), and
the bent portion is engaged with the elastic contact piece (as depicted in Fig. 1-3, the cited bent portion 16 is engaged with the cited elastic contact piece 88/90).
With regard to claim 7, independent claim 1 is obvious over Bunnell et al. in view of Bunea et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Bunnell et al. does not disclose wherein the at least one solar cell string comprises a plurality of groups of solar cells in each of which a plurality of solar cells adjacent in a first direction is connected in series with each other, and an output wiring member that connects ends of the plurality of groups of solar cells in provided along a second direction that is orthogonal to the first direction, and an end of the output wiring member is drawn out of the back surface side, either along the first direction or along the second direction, to serve as the output line.
However, Bunea et al. discloses wherein the solar cell string comprises a plurality of groups of solar cells in each of which a plurality of solar cells adjacent in a first direction is connected in series with each other (as depicted in Fig. 1-2, a plurality of groups/rows of solar cells 110 in each of which a plurality of solar cells 110 adjacent in a first horizontal direction is connected in series with each other), and an output wiring member that connects ends of the groups of solar cells in provided along a second direction that is orthogonal to the first direction (as depicted in Fig. 1-2, an output wiring member 208 that connects ends of the groups of solar cells in provided along a second vertical direction that is orthogonal to the first direction), and an end of the output wiring member is drawn out of the back surface side, either along the first direction or along the second direction, to serve as the output line (see Fig. 1-3).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the solar cell string design of Bunnell et al. for the solar cell string design of Bunea et al. because the simple substitution of a known element known in the art to perform the same function, in the instant case a solar cell string design in a solar cell module, supports a prima facie obviousness determination (see MPEP 2143 B).
With regard to claim 8, independent claim 1 is obvious over Bunnell et al. in view of Bunea et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Bunnell et al. discloses wherein
the output line is arranged such that a direction, in which the output line on a light-receiving side of the solar cell module extends to the through-hole, is the same as a direction in which the output line drawn out from the through-hole extends on the back surface side of the solar cell module (as depicted in Fig. 3-4, the cited output line 18/16 is arranged such that a vertical direction, in which the output line 18/16 on a light-receiving side of the solar cell module extends to and through the cited through-hole, is the same as a vertical direction in which the output line 18/16 drawn out from the cited through-hole extends on the back surface side of the solar cell module).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 5, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant note in the response that the newly added claimed limitations are not found within the previously cited prior art references. However, this argument is addressed in the rejections of the claims above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUSTIN Q DAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721 February 18, 2026