DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in the instant application on 08/06/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/06/2024 is being considered by the examiner. The signed IDS form is attached with the instant office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim recites “wherein the composition is administered locally” however it is unclear as to what direct part or wherein on the body the local administration needs to be administered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lidia Alfaro et. al. (US9844576B2, US patent component to KR1021633131, filed in IDS).
Regarding claims 1 and 7-8, Alfaro discloses compositions for managing weight treating or preventing weight gain or obesity, promoting weight loss, appetite suppression, modifying satiety, or the like (see abstract) and wherein the composition to be administered comprises a Morus alba extract with an increased amount of Albanin G, Kuwanon G, Morusin, or any combination thereof, as compared to the amount of Albanin G, Kuwanon G, Morusin, or any combination thereof in unextracted Morus alba; a Magnolia officinalis extract with an increased amount of magnolol, honokiol, or both, as compared to the amount of magnolol, honokiol, or both in unextracted Magnolia officinalis (see claim 1). These subjects would be in need of reducing the size and weight of adipose tissue.
Regarding claim 3, Alfaro discloses extracting Morus alba with 70% ethyl alcohol (see example 12, column 129) and Magnolia officinalis with 70% ethyl alcohol (see example 29, column 136).
Regarding claims 4 and 6, Alfaro discloses subcutaneous injection (see line 44, column 94) which would imply adipose tissue and local administration because adipose tissue is also localized subcutaneously.
Regarding claim 5, Alfaro discloses the formulation as an injection (see line 39, column 94).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lidia Alfaro et. al. (US9844576B2, US patent component to KR1021633131, filed in IDS).
Regarding claims 1 and 7-8, Alfaro discloses compositions for managing weight treating or preventing weight gain or obesity, promoting weight loss, appetite suppression, modifying satiety, or the like (see abstract), reducing body fat or fatty tissues (see column 110, lines 34-35), and wherein the composition to be administered comprises a Morus alba extract with an increased amount of Albanin G, Kuwanon G, Morusin, or any combination thereof, as compared to the amount of Albanin G, Kuwanon G, Morusin, or any combination thereof in unextracted Morus alba; a Magnolia officinalis extract with an increased amount of magnolol, honokiol, or both, as compared to the amount of magnolol, honokiol, or both in unextracted Magnolia officinalis (see claim 1). These subjects would be in need of reducing the size and weight of adipose tissue.
Regarding claim 3, Alfaro discloses extracting Morus alba with 70% ethyl alcohol (see example 12, column 129) and Magnolia officinalis with 70% ethyl alcohol (see example 29, column 136).
Regarding claims 4 and 6, Alfaro discloses subcutaneous injection (see line 44, column 94) which would imply adipose tissue and local administration.
Regarding claim 5, Alfaro discloses the formulation as an injection (see line 39, column 94).
Alfaro does not specifically teach that the Morus and Magnolia are in a 1:1 to 100:100 ratio. However, given the prior art and the knowledge of those skilled in the art this would have been an optimization well within the purview of any skilled artisan before the effective filing date for optimizing any of the known and described activities of the composition. Optimizing the components at equal parts is well within the skill or any artisan.
There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the instant invention given the prior art.
Conclusion
Currently no claims are allowed.
JACOB A BOECKELMANExaminer, Art Unit 1655
/ANAND U DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1655