DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This is a National Stage Entry under 35 U.S.C. 371 of International Patent Application No. PCT/US2023/014699, filed, on March 7, 2023. This application also claims priority to US Provisional Application No. 63/319,028 filed on March 11, 2022.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I, corresponding to 21 - 34 in the reply filed on 09/24/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claims 21 – 37 possess unity of invention as they are drawn to a product and a process of use of said product. This is not persuasive. While 37CFR 1.475(b)(2) provides that a national stage application containing claims to a product and process of use of said product may be considered to have unity of invention, this only where the product and process are linked by a special technical feature. Unity was broken a posterori. As discussed previously, the technical feature required for Group I, II, and III is a nucleic acid-lipid nanoparticle. However, the technical feature does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Sahin et al (WO2021213924A1). Therefore, the groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, the common technical feature is not a special technical feature and thus the product and process of use claims are not linked by a single general inventive concept.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 35 – 37 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1 – 20 were previously cancelled.
Claims 21 – 34 are under consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 – 26 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahin et al (WO2021213924A1, hereinafter, “Sahin”) in view of Guan et al (US20190070304A1, hereinafter, “Guan”).
Sahin teaches lipid nanoparticles (LNPs) encapsulating RNA to prevent or treat coronavirus infections (Abstract). Sahin teaches the characteristics and composition of LNPs that are used to target SARS-CoV-2 (Abstract). Sahin teaches that encoding a SARS-CoV-2 viral antigen acts as a vaccine (Abstract).
Regarding claims 21, 22, and 29, Sahin teaches an LNP comprising an ionizable amino lipid present in an amount of 20% to 60%, a phospholipid present in an amount of 5% to 20%, a cholesterol present in an amount of 25% to 60%, and a PEGylated lipid present in an amount of 0.2% to 6% (Page 26 ¶ 3, Page 27 ¶ 1, Page 346 - 348, Page 351 ¶ 3). Sahin also teaches the PEGlyated lipid comprises a copolymer comprising a first block and a second block that are biocompatible (Page 353 ¶ 3, Page 354 ¶ 1).
Regarding claims 23 and 24, Sahin teaches the encapsulation of the SARS-CoV-2 S protein or an immunogenic variant that comprises a domain that allows the formation of a trimeric complex (Page 5, ¶ 1).
Regarding claim 25, Sahin teaches an LNP composition comprises the ionizable amino lipid ALC-0315 (Page 346 ¶ 2).
Regarding claim 26, Sahin teaches Sahin teaches a LNP composition comprises the phospholipid DSPC (Page 346 Table 1).
Sahin does not teach the PEGylated lipid composition comprising a copolymer having a first block of PLA and a second block of PEG, a PEGylated lipid composition comprising a copolymer having a first block of Poly(lactide-co-E-caprolactone) (PLACL) and a second block of PEG, or PEGylated lipid composition comprising a copolymer having a first block of PLA, a second block of PEG, and a third block of PLA.
However, Guan teaches mRNA polymer complexes used to deliver mRNA to cells (¶0004, Figure 1). Guan teaches the mRNA polymer complexes form stable complexes with mRNA and/or ssRNA without forming aggregates (¶0005). Guan teaches these complexes can be used as vaccines (¶0099).
Regarding claim 21, Guan teaches the PEGylated lipid composition comprising a first block of PLA and a second block of PEG (¶0102).
Regarding claim 22, Guan teaches the PEGylated lipid composition comprising a first block of PLACL and a second block of PEG (¶0102).
Regarding claim 29, Guan teaches the PEGylated lipid composition comprising a first block of PLA, a second block of PEG, and a second block of PLA (¶0102).
Sahin and Guan are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they describe vaccine compositions comprising PEGlyated lipids. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to create an LNP comprising an ionizable amino lipid present in an amount of 20% to 60%, a phospholipid present in an amount of 5% to 20%, a cholesterol present in an amount of 25% to 60%, and a PEGylated lipid present in an amount of 0.2% to 6%, as taught by Sahin, wherein the PEGylated lipid is comprised of PLA or PLACL and PEG, as taught by Guan, because doing so would increase the LNPs stability and transfection ability. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in including PLA or PLACL and PEG blocks in a PEGlyated lipid given that the use of PLA or PLACL and PEG blocks to deliver mRNA to cells is well known, has been successfully demonstrated, and commonly used in the prior art.
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim(s) 27, 28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahin and Guan as applied to claims 21 – 26 and 29 above, and further in view of Abebe (“Controlled Thermo-Responsive Hydrogels by Stereocomplexed Controlled Thermo-Responsive Hydrogels by Stereocomplexed PLA-PEG-PLA Consisting of Unique Micelle Structures of Mixed Size Copolymers”, Dissertation, 2012, hereinafter, “Abebe”).
As discussed above, claims 21 – 26 and 29 were rendered prima facie obvious by Sahin and Guan.
Sahin and Guan do not explicitly teach a PLA block that has an average molecular weight of 200 Da to 600 Da or a PEG block that has an average molecular weight of 1500 Da to 6000 Da.
However, Abebe teaches the synthesis and characteristics of copolymers (Introduction, Section: 1.2 BLOCK COPOLYMERS). Abebe teaches that PLA-PEG-PLA self-assemble into micelles and undergo a solution-gel transition for hydrogel in response to temperature (Page 13 ¶2, Figure 2.3). Abebe also teaches the molecular weight of PLA-PEG-PLA copolymers can be 500-2000-500 Da (Table 2.1).
Regarding claims 27 and 30, Abebe teaches a PLA block that has an average molecular weight of 500 Da (Table 2.1).
Regarding claim 28, Abebe teaches a PEG block that has an average molecular weight of 2000 Da (Table 2.1).
Sahin, Guan, and Abebe are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they describe nanoparticles. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to create an LNP comprising an ionizable amino lipid, a phospholipid, a cholesterol, and a PEGylated lipid, as taught by Sahin, wherein the PEGylated lipid is comprised of PLA500 and PEG2000, as taught by Guan and Abebe, because doing so would increase the LNPs stability and transfection ability. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in including PLA500 and PEG2000 blocks in a PEGlyated lipid given that the specific combination is well known, has been successfully demonstrated, and commonly used in the prior art.
At a minimum, it would have been a matter of routine experimentation using standard laboratory techniques available at the time of filing to determine the optimal molecular weights of PLA and PEG copolymers for use and modification in the method taught by Sahin and Guan to control LNP characteristics for a given application with a reasonable expectation of success. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Here, the instant claims encompass routing copolymer molecular weight ranges which evidences that a particular copolymer molecular weight is not critical and readily obtained by routine optimization.
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim(s) 31 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahin and Guan as applied to claims 21 – 26 and 29 above, and further in view of Huang et al (J Biomedical Materials Research, 2009, 10.1002/jbm.b.31352, hereinafter, “Huang”).
As discussed above, claims 21 – 26 and 29 were rendered prima facie obvious by Sahin and Guan.
Sahin and Guan do not explicitly teach a PLACL block that has an average molecular weight of 1500 Da to 2500 Da or a PEG block that has an average molecular weight of 4000 Da to 6000 Da.
However, Huang teaches a vaccine delivery system comprising PEG and PLACL blocks (Abstract). Huang teaches emulsification using PEG-PLACL have advantages over traditional vaccine adjuvants in that they are stable, reproducible, and homogeneous fine particles with an appropriate size to facilitate the induction of potent immune responses (Abstract). Huang also teaches that that antigen-specific antibody titers and T-cell proliferative responses, as well as the secretion of IFN-γ, in mice were significantly enhanced for ovalbumin after formulation with PEG-PLACL-based emulsions (Abstract).
Regarding claims 31 and 32, Huang teaches a PEG-PLACL copolymer consisting of 75% PEG and 25% PLACL by molecular weight with a total weight of 7000 Da (Section: Polymer Design and Polymer-Based Emulsions). This results in PEG block that has an average molecular weight of 5250 Da (7000 Da*.75=5250 Da) and a PLACL 700block that has an average molecular weight of 1750 Da (7000 Da*.25=1750 Da).
Sahin, Guan, and Huang are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they describe nanoparticles. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to create an LNP comprising an ionizable amino lipid, a phospholipid, a cholesterol, and a PEGylated lipid, as taught by Sahin, wherein the PEGylated lipid is comprised of PLACL1750 and PEG5250, as taught by Guan and Huang, because doing so would increase the LNPs stability and transfection ability. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in including PLACL1750 and PEG5250 blocks in a PEGlyated lipid given that the specific combination is well known, has been successfully demonstrated, and commonly used in the prior art.
At a minimum, it would have been a matter of routine experimentation using standard laboratory techniques available at the time of filing to determine the optimal molecular weights of PLACL and PEG copolymers for use and modification in the method taught by Sahin and Guan to control LNP characteristics for a given application with a reasonable expectation of success. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Here, the instant claims encompass routing copolymer molecular weight ranges which evidences that a particular copolymer molecular weight is not critical and readily obtained by routine optimization.
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim(s) 33 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sahin and Guan as applied to claims 21 – 26 and 29 above, and further in view of Barillas et al (“An Introduction to Lipid Nanoparticle Formulation: Basic Concepts & Preparation Procedures”, Feb 2022, Cayman Chemical, hereinafter, “Barillas”).
As discussed above, claims 21 – 26 and 29 were rendered prima facie obvious by Sahin and Guan.
Sahin and Guan do not explicitly teach an LNP that has a weight ratio of the lipid mixture to the nucleic acid molecule between 50:1 and 5:1 or the LNP has a median diameter ranging from 80nm to 240nm.
However, Barillas teaches the basics of LNP formulations and preparation procedures (Title). Barillas teaches the structure and characteristics of LNPs, liposomes, solid LNPs, and nanostructured lipid carriers (Table 1). Barillas teaches the compositions of each as well as common benchmarks for each drug delivery systems (Table 1). Furthermore, Barillas teaches the types of cargo that can be delivered (Section: Cargo).
Regarding claim 33, Barillas teaches most LNPs are formulated with a lipid:nucleic acid weight ratio of 10 – 30:1 (Section: LNP Design).
Regarding claim 34, Barillas teaches most LNPs are between ~50 – 150 nm (Table 1).
Sahin, Guan, and Barillas are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they describe nanoparticles. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to package nucleic acid into LNP at a ratio of between 10 – 30:1 because doing so would increase the likelihood of proper encapsulation efficiency. It would have also been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to create a LNP between 80 – 150 nm because doing so would increase the likelihood of proper pharmacokinetics. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in packaging nucleic acid into LNP at a ratio of between 10 – 30:1 and creating LNPs between 80 – 150 nm given that the specific combination is well known, has been successfully demonstrated, and commonly used in the prior art.
At a minimum, it would have been a matter of routine experimentation using standard laboratory techniques available at the time of filing to determine ideal packaging ratio or LNP size for use and modification in the method taught by Sahin and Guan with a reasonable expectation of success. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Here, the instant claims encompass routing nucleic acid to lipid ratio ranges or LNP size ranges which evidences that a particular ratio or size is not critical and readily obtained by routine optimization.
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
/DANYAL HASSAN ALAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1672
/THOMAS J. VISONE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1672