DETAILED ACTION
Claims 31-60 are presented for examination. Claims 1-30 are canceled in the 7/23/2025 preliminary amendment.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 8/6/2024, 8/29/2024, 11/26/2024, 1/8/2025 and 11/5/2025 are considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 31, 34-39, 42-47, 50-55 and 58-60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Awadin et al (Awadin), US 2023/0188261.
As per claim 31, Awadin teaches the invention including a user equipment (UE) (pp. 0134), comprising:
One or more memories (pp. 0134); and
One or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (pp. 0134-, 137) and configured to cause the UE to:
Receive control signaling that indicates a configuration for repeating transmissions of a first random access message of a random access procedure (pp. 0302-0304);
Determine a set of physical random access channel (PRACH) occasions for a quantity of repetitions of the first random access message in accordance with the configuration, wherein respective PRACH occasions of the set of PRACH occasions are non-overlapping in time (pp. 0213, 0290-0292, 0298-0299); and
Transmit the quantity of repetition of the first random access message using a same spatial filter via the set of PRACH occasions (pp. 0297-0298).
As per claim 34, Awadin teaches the invention as claimed in claim 31. Awadin further teaches wherein the configuration indicates the quantity of repetitions of the first random access message (pp. 0290-0292, 0298-0299, 0302-0304).
As per claim 35, Awadin teaches the invention as claimed in claim 31. Awadin further teaches wherein the set of PRACH occasions are associated with one or more synchronization signal block indexes (pp. 0173, 0288-0289, 0292-0294).
As per claim 36, Awadin teaches the invention as claimed in claim 31. Awadin further teaches wherein the random access procedure comprises a contention free four-step random access procedure (pp. 0169, 0173-0174).
As per claim 37, Awadin teaches the invention as claimed in claim 31. Awadin further teaches wherein the first random access message comprises a PRACH preamble (pp. 0297, 0305).
As per claim 38, Awadin teaches the invention as claimed in claim 31. Awadin further teaches wherein the control signaling comprises radio resource control signaling (pp. 0301-0302).
As per claim 39, Awadin teaches the invention including a network entity (pp. 0161), comprising:
One or more memories (pp. 0161, 0163); and
One or more processor coupled with the one or more memories (pp. 0161-0163) and configured to cause the network entity to:
Transmit control signaling that indicates a configuration for repeating transmissions of a first random access message of a random access procedure (pp. 0302-0304); and
Receive a quantity of repetition of the first random access message using a same spatial filter via the set of PRACH occasions (pp. 0297-0298) that are in accordance with the configuration, wherein respective PRACH occasions of the set of PRACH occasions are non-overlapping in time (pp. 0213, 0290-0292, 0298-0299).
As per claim 42, Awadin teaches the invention as claimed in claim 39. Awadin further teaches wherein the configuration indicates the quantity of repetitions of the first random access message (pp. 0290-0292, 0298-0299, 0302-0304).
As per claim 43, Awadin teaches the invention as claimed in claim 39. Awadin further teaches wherein the set of PRACH occasions are associated with one or more synchronization signal block indexes (pp. 0173, 0288-0289, 0292-0294).
As per claim 44, Awadin teaches the invention as claimed in claim 39. Awadin further teaches wherein the random access procedure comprises a contention free four-step random access procedure (pp. 0169, 0173-0174).
As per claim 45, Awadin teaches the invention as claimed in claim 39. Awadin further teaches wherein the first random access message comprises a PRACH preamble (pp. 0297, 0305).
As per claim 46, Awadin teaches the invention as claimed in claim 39. Awadin further teaches wherein the control signaling comprises radio resource control signaling (pp. 0301-0302).
As per claim 47, Awadin teaches the invention including a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
Receiving control signaling that indicates a configuration for repeating transmissions of a first random access message of a random access procedure (pp. 0302-0304);
Determining a set of physical random access channel (PRACH) occasions for a quantity of repetitions of the first random access message in accordance with the configuration, wherein respective PRACH occasions of the set of PRACH occasions are non-overlapping in time (pp. 0213, 0290-0292, 0298-0299); and
Transmitting the quantity of repetition of the first random access message using a same spatial filter via the set of PRACH occasions (pp. 0297-0298).
As per claim 50, Awadin teaches the invention as claimed in claim 47. Awadin further teaches wherein the configuration indicates the quantity of repetitions of the first random access message (pp. 0290-0292, 0298-0299, 0302-0304).
As per claim 51, Awadin teaches the invention as claimed in claim 47. Awadin further teaches wherein the set of PRACH occasions are associated with one or more synchronization signal block indexes (pp. 0173, 0288-0289, 0292-0294).
As per claim 52, Awadin teaches the invention as claimed in claim 47. Awadin further teaches wherein the random access procedure comprises a contention free four-step random access procedure (pp. 0169, 0173-0174).
As per claim 53, Awadin teaches the invention as claimed in claim 47. Awadin further teaches wherein the first random access message comprises a PRACH preamble (pp. 0297, 0305).
As per claim 54, Awadin teaches the invention as claimed in claim 47. Awadin further teaches wherein the control signaling comprises radio resource control signaling (pp. 0301-0302).
As per claim 55, Awadin teaches the invention including a method for wireless communications at a network entity, comprising:
Transmitting control signaling that indicates a configuration for repeating transmissions of a first random access message of a random access procedure (pp. 0302-0304); and
Receiving a quantity of repetition of the first random access message using a same spatial filter via the set of PRACH occasions (pp. 0297-0298) that are in accordance with the configuration, wherein respective PRACH occasions of the set of PRACH occasions are non-overlapping in time (pp. 0213, 0290-0292, 0298-0299).
As per claim 58, Awadin teaches the invention as claimed in claim 55. Awadin further teaches wherein the configuration indicates the quantity of repetitions of the first random access message (pp. 0290-0292, 0298-0299, 0302-0304).
As per claim 59, Awadin teaches the invention as claimed in claim 55. Awadin further teaches wherein the set of PRACH occasions are associated with one or more synchronization signal block indexes (pp. 0173, 0288-0289, 0292-0294).
As per claim 60, Awadin teaches the invention as claimed in claim 55. Awadin further teaches wherein the random access procedure comprises a contention free four-step random access procedure (pp. 0169, 0173-0174).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 32-33, 40-41, 48-49 and 56-57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Awadin et al (Awadin), US 2023/0188261, in view of MolavianJazi et al, US 2021/0058971.
As per claim 32, Awadin teaches the invention as claimed in claim 31. Awadin does not teach wherein a first valid random access occasion of the set of PRACH occasions is determined in accordance with an ordering of valid PRACH occasions within a time period, the ordering comprising:
First, in increasing order of frequency resource index for frequency multiplexed PRACH occasions, and
Second, in increasing order of a time resource index for time multiplexed PRACH occasions.
MolavianJazi teaches to determine a first valid random access occasion of the set of PRACH occasions in accordance with an ordering of valid PRACH occasions with a time period (pp. 0087-0088), the ordering comprising: first, in increasing order of frequency resource index for frequency multiplexed PRACH occasions (pp. 0095, 0111), and second, in increasing order of a time resource index for time multiplexed PRACH occasions (pp. 0092, 0111). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Awadin and MolavianJazi and identify valid PRACH occasions and map the all actually transmitted SSBs to the valid PRACH occasions accordingly.
As per claim 33, Awadin teaches the invention as claimed in claim 31. Awadin does not teach wherein the set of PRACH occasions comprises a quantity of valid PRACH occasions, and wherein the quantity of valid PRACH occasions is equal to the quantity of repetitions. MolavianJazi teaches he set of PRACH occasions comprises a quantity of valid PRACH occasions (pp. 0087-0088, 0092), and wherein the quantity of valid PRACH occasions is equal to the quantity of repetitions (pp. 0088). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Awadin and MolavianJazi and identify valid PRACH occasions and map the all actually transmitted SSBs to the valid PRACH occasions accordingly.
As per claim 40, Awadin teaches the invention as claimed in claim 39. Awadin does not teach wherein a first valid random access occasion of the set of PRACH occasions is determined in accordance with an ordering of valid PRACH occasions within a time period, the ordering comprising:
First, in increasing order of frequency resource index for frequency multiplexed PRACH occasions, and
Second, in increasing order of a time resource index for time multiplexed PRACH occasions.
MolavianJazi teaches to determine a first valid random access occasion of the set of PRACH occasions in accordance with an ordering of valid PRACH occasions with a time period (pp. 0087-0088), the ordering comprising: first, in increasing order of frequency resource index for frequency multiplexed PRACH occasions (pp. 0095, 0111), and second, in increasing order of a time resource index for time multiplexed PRACH occasions (pp. 0092, 0111). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Awadin and MolavianJazi and identify valid PRACH occasions and map the all actually transmitted SSBs to the valid PRACH occasions accordingly.
As per claim 41, Awadin teaches the invention as claimed in claim 39. Awadin does not teach wherein the set of PRACH occasions comprises a quantity of valid PRACH occasions, and wherein the quantity of valid PRACH occasions is equal to the quantity of repetitions. MolavianJazi teaches he set of PRACH occasions comprises a quantity of valid PRACH occasions (pp. 0087-0088, 0092), and wherein the quantity of valid PRACH occasions is equal to the quantity of repetitions (pp. 0088). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Awadin and MolavianJazi and identify valid PRACH occasions and map the all actually transmitted SSBs to the valid PRACH occasions accordingly.
As per claim 48, Awadin teaches the invention as claimed in claim 47. Awadin does not teach wherein a first valid random access occasion of the set of PRACH occasions is determined in accordance with an ordering of valid PRACH occasions within a time period, the ordering comprising:
First, in increasing order of frequency resource index for frequency multiplexed PRACH occasions, and
Second, in increasing order of a time resource index for time multiplexed PRACH occasions.
MolavianJazi teaches to determine a first valid random access occasion of the set of PRACH occasions in accordance with an ordering of valid PRACH occasions with a time period (pp. 0087-0088), the ordering comprising: first, in increasing order of frequency resource index for frequency multiplexed PRACH occasions (pp. 0095, 0111), and second, in increasing order of a time resource index for time multiplexed PRACH occasions (pp. 0092, 0111). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Awadin and MolavianJazi and identify valid PRACH occasions and map the all actually transmitted SSBs to the valid PRACH occasions accordingly.
As per claim 49, Awadin teaches the invention as claimed in claim 47. Awadin does not teach wherein the set of PRACH occasions comprises a quantity of valid PRACH occasions, and wherein the quantity of valid PRACH occasions is equal to the quantity of repetitions. MolavianJazi teaches he set of PRACH occasions comprises a quantity of valid PRACH occasions (pp. 0087-0088, 0092), and wherein the quantity of valid PRACH occasions is equal to the quantity of repetitions (pp. 0088). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Awadin and MolavianJazi and identify valid PRACH occasions and map the all actually transmitted SSBs to the valid PRACH occasions accordingly.
As per claim 56, Awadin teaches the invention as claimed in claim 55. Awadin does not teach wherein a first valid random access occasion of the set of PRACH occasions is determined in accordance with an ordering of valid PRACH occasions within a time period, the ordering comprising:
First, in increasing order of frequency resource index for frequency multiplexed PRACH occasions, and
Second, in increasing order of a time resource index for time multiplexed PRACH occasions.
MolavianJazi teaches to determine a first valid random access occasion of the set of PRACH occasions in accordance with an ordering of valid PRACH occasions with a time period (pp. 0087-0088), the ordering comprising: first, in increasing order of frequency resource index for frequency multiplexed PRACH occasions (pp. 0095, 0111), and second, in increasing order of a time resource index for time multiplexed PRACH occasions (pp. 0092, 0111). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Awadin and MolavianJazi and identify valid PRACH occasions and map the all actually transmitted SSBs to the valid PRACH occasions accordingly.
As per claim 57, Awadin teaches the invention as claimed in claim 55. Awadin does not teach wherein the set of PRACH occasions comprises a quantity of valid PRACH occasions, and wherein the quantity of valid PRACH occasions is equal to the quantity of repetitions. MolavianJazi teaches he set of PRACH occasions comprises a quantity of valid PRACH occasions (pp. 0087-0088, 0092), and wherein the quantity of valid PRACH occasions is equal to the quantity of repetitions (pp. 0088). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Awadin and MolavianJazi and identify valid PRACH occasions and map the all actually transmitted SSBs to the valid PRACH occasions accordingly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ly et al, US 2025/0048433
Ly et al, US 2025/0048420
Xiao et al, US 2025/0039799
Elkotby et al, US 2024/0215067
Ali et al, US 2023/0371081
Matsumura et al, WO2023/135755A1
Li et al, US 2023/0199859
Lin et al, US 2023/0180300
Li et al, US 2023/0164845
Park, US 2023/0007702
Khoshnevisan et al, US 2022/0353906
Rastegardoost et al, WO2022/133357A1
Rastegardoost et al, WO2121/231811A1
MolavianJazi et al, US 2022/0210844
Svedman et al, US 2021/0352734
Li et al, US 2021/0014694
Li et al, US 2019/0387546
Li et al, US 2019/0132882
KENNY S. LIN
Examiner
Art Unit 2416
/Kenny S Lin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416
July 27, 2026