DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claim(s) 1-21, drawn to a fluid collection system.
Group II, claim(s) 22-27, drawn to a fluid collection system.
Group III, claim(s) 28-31, drawn to a fluid collection system.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
I-III lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of a fluid collection system, comprising: a fluid collection device; a first conduit; a pump unit; and a fluid storage container, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Sanchez et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0142624 A1). Sanchez discloses (fig. 1) a fluid collection system (100) comprising: a fluid collection device (assembly 102); a first conduit (discharge line 122); a pump unit (vacuum source 170); and a fluid storage container (external receptacle 160).
During a telephone conversation with Jonathan Rowe on 05/13/2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-21. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 22-31 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 7-8, 15 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3, ln. 10 should read ---within the recess effective to provide fluid communication---
Claim 7, ln. 3 should read ---from the first conduit into the fluid storage bag.---
Claim 8, ln. 2 should read ---such that the fluid collection system [[of]] is devoid of---
Claim 15, ln. 8 should read ---from the first conduit by the pump.---
Claim 19, ln. 4 should read ---and a height of about 17.5 cm to about 19.5 cm.---
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 13-16, and 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koizumi et al. (Pub. No.: US 2006/0084932 A1) in view of Austermann et al. (Pub. No.: WO 2019/212951 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Koizumi discloses (fig. 1-4) a fluid collection system (automatic urine collecting system S, ¶ 0022), comprising:
A fluid collection device (diaper D) configured to collect fluid from a user (¶ 0023);
A first conduit (collecting pipe 13) in fluid communication with the fluid collection device (¶ 0035);
A pump unit (body 20) connected or connectable to the first conduit (fig. 3, ¶ 0034-¶ 0035) and including a pump (23) configured to create a negative pressure to draw fluid from the fluid collection device through the first conduit (¶ 0045); and
A fluid storage container (tank 12) having an interior region in fluid communication with the first conduit (fig. 3) and configured to collect fluid drawn from the fluid collection device through the first conduit (¶ 0045).
Koizumi fails to disclose the fluid collection device having a chamber.
Austermann teaches (fig. 1-3) a fluid collection system (10, abstract) and thus in the same field of endeavor, comprising: a fluid collection device (12) having a chamber (104) (¶ 0030) in order to provide a fluid collection device that can be positioned proximate to the female urethra (¶ 0049).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fluid collection device of Koizumi such that it has a chamber, as taught by Austermann, in order to provide a fluid collection device that can be positioned proximate to the female urethra (¶ 0049).
Koizumi further fails to disclose wherein the pump is sized, dimensioned, and weighted to be handheld by the user.
Austermann further teaches (fig. 1) the fluid collection system (10, ¶ 0022) comprising:
A pump unit (vacuum source 14) sized, dimensioned and weighted to be handheld by the user (the portable vacuum source may be small and light enough to be carried by a user ¶ 0028) in order to configure the pump unit to be portable (¶ 0028).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pump unit of Tsai such that it is sized, dimensioned, and weighted to be handheld by the user, as taught by Austermann, in order to configure the pump unit to be portable (Austermann ¶ 0028).
Regarding claim 2, Koizumi discloses a second conduit (suction pipe 14) extending between the pump unit and the fluid storage container (fig. 3); and an adapter plug (lid 11) secured or securable to the pump unit (¶ 0027) and having the first conduit and the second conduit extending therefrom (fig. 3, ¶ 0027).
Koizumi in view of Austermann fail to disclose wherein the storage container includes a fluid storage bag having the interior region.
Austermann teaches the fluid collection system comprising a fluid storage container (14), the fluid storage container including a fluid storage bag (¶ 0026) suitable for storing bodily fluids such as urine (¶ 0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage container of Koizumi in view of Austermann such that it includes a fluid storage bag, as taught by Austermann, as a fluid storage bag is suitable for storing bodily fluids such as urine (Austermann ¶ 0026).
Regarding claim 3, Koizumi discloses wherein: the pump unit includes a recess shaped complementary to the adapter plug and configured to receive the adapter plug (¶ 0027);
The adapter plug includes a first prong in fluid communication with the first conduit and a second prong in fluid communication with the second conduit (fig. 3, ¶ 0028-¶ 0029);
The recess includes a first port positioned to receive the first prong when the adapter plug is positioned within the recess effective to provide communication between the pump and the first conduit (fig. 3-4, see intervening member 21g, ¶ 0036); and
The recess includes a second portion positioned to receive the second prong when the adapter plug is positioned within the recess effective to provide communication between the pump and the second conduit (fig. 3-4, see intervening member 21g, ¶ 0036).
Regarding claim 4, Koizumi in view of Austermann fail to disclose wherein the pump unit includes a width of about 6.5 cm to about 8.5 cm, a depth of about 5 cm to about 6.5 cm, and a height of about 12 cm to about 14 cm.
However, Austermann teaches that the pump unit is small and light enough to be carried by a user (¶ 0028). Thus, Austermann discloses that the width, depth and height of the pump unit are result-effective variables and discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (See MPEP §2144.05). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the pump unit of Koizumi in view of Austermann such that it includes a width of about 6.5 cm to about 8.5 cm, a depth of about 5 cm to about 6.5 cm, and a height of about 12 cm to about 14 cm in order to allow the pump unit to be small and light enough to be carried by a user (Austermann, ¶ 0028).
Absent any showing of critical or unexpected results, such limitations appear to be routine optimization within the skill of the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the invention are therefore prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 5, Koizumi discloses wherein the pump unit is elongated (fig. 3) and includes a bottom region and an upper region opposite the bottom region (fig. 3), the upper region including the recess and configured to receive the adapter plug such that when the adapter plug is disposed in the recess the first conduit and the second conduit extend upward from the upper region of the pump unit (fig. 3).
Regarding the limitation of the bottom region being “configured to rest on a flat surface”, such limitation relates to the intended use of the system, which, in this case, imparts no further limitations on the structure of the device. The bottom region of the pump unit of Koizumi is flat (fig. 3) and is therefore capable of resting on a flat surface and using the device for this purpose requires only routine skill in the art (See § MPEP 2114 II).
Regarding claim 6, Koizumi in view of Austermann fail to disclose wherein the pump unit is sized for storage during use in a cup holder or secured to an arm rest of a chair or wheelchair with a handle on the pump unit.
However, Austermann teaches that the pump unit is small and light enough to be carried by a user (¶ 0028). Thus, Austermann discloses that the size of the pump unit is a result-effective variables and discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (See MPEP §2144.05). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the pump unit of Koizumi in view of Austermann such that is sized for storage during use in a cup holder or secured to an arm rest of a chair or wheelchair with a handle on the pump unit in order to allow the pump unit to be small and light enough to be carried by a user (Austermann, ¶ 0028).
Absent any showing of critical or unexpected results, such limitations appear to be routine optimization within the skill of the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the invention are therefore prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 13, Koizumi discloses wherein the fluid storage container includes a rigid fluid storage container (¶ 0032) detachably secured or securable to the pump unit (¶ 0024, ¶ 0026).
Regarding claim 14, Koizumi discloses wherein the rigid fluid storage container is elongated (fig. 2-3).
Regarding claim 15, Koizumi discloses wherein: the rigid fluid storage container includes an upper wall having a rim or flange protruding from the upper wall (¶ 0032, fig. 3), the rim or flange defining an opening in the rigid fluid storage container in fluid communication with the interior region of the fluid storage container (fig. 3-4); and
The pump unit is configured to receive the rim or flange when the rigid fluid storage container is secured to the pump unit (fig. 3) such that the opening is positioned to receive fluid pumped from the first conduit by the pump (¶ 0045).
Regarding claim 16, Koizumi discloses wherein the rim or flange includes one or more tabs configured to lock or secure the rigid fluid storage container to the pump unit (¶ 0032).
Regarding claim 18, Koizumi discloses wherein the pump unit includes a port (intervening member 21g) configured to selectively secure the conduit to the pump unit and provide fluid communication between the conduit and the pump in the pump unit (¶ 0036).
Regarding claim 19, Koizumi discloses wherein the pump unit is secured to the rigid fluid storage container (¶ 0032).
Koizumi in view of Austermann fail to disclose wherein the pump unit and the rigid fluid storage container together include a width of about 10.5 cm to about 12.5 cm, a depth of about 6.5 cm to about 8.5 cm, and height of about 17.5 cm to about 19.5 cm.
However, Austermann teaches that the pump unit is small and light enough to be carried by a user (¶ 0028). Thus, Austermann discloses that the width, depth and height of the pump unit are result-effective variables and discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (See MPEP §2144.05). Further, as discussed above, Koizumi discloses that the pump unit is secured to the rigid fluid storage container. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pump unit and the rigid fluid storage container such that they are small and light enough to be carried by a user. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the pump unit and rigid fluid storage container of Koizumi in view of Austermann such that together it includes a width of about 10.5 cm to about 12.5 cm, a depth of about 6.5 cm to about 8.5 cm, and height of about 17.5 cm to about 19.5 cm in order to allow the pump unit and rigid fluid storage container to be small and light enough to be carried by a user (Austermann, ¶ 0028).
Absent any showing of critical or unexpected results, such limitations appear to be routine optimization within the skill of the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the invention are therefore prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 20, Koizumi discloses wherein the pump unit is secured to the rigid fluid storage container (¶ 0032).
Koizumi in view of Austermann fail to disclose wherein the pump unit and the rigid fluid storage container together are sized for storage during use in a personal handbag or a wheelchair bag.
However, Austermann teaches that the pump unit is small and light enough to be carried by a user (¶ 0028). Thus, Austermann discloses that the width, depth and height of the pump unit are result-effective variables and discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (See MPEP §2144.05). Further, as discussed above, Koizumi discloses that the pump unit is secured to the rigid fluid storage container. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pump unit and the rigid fluid storage container such that they are small and light enough to be carried by a user. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the pump unit and rigid fluid storage container of Koizumi in view of Austermann such that together they are sized for storage during use in a personal handbag or a wheelchair bag in order to allow the pump unit and rigid fluid storage container to be small and light enough to be carried by a user (Austermann, ¶ 0028).
Absent any showing of critical or unexpected results, such limitations appear to be routine optimization within the skill of the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the invention are therefore prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 21, Koizumi in view of Austermann fail to disclose wherein the pump unit includes a handle sized and dimensioned to hang from an armrest on a wheelchair.
However, Koizumi teaches (fig. 7) an embodiment of a fluid collection system comprising a pump unit (body 40), wherein the pump unit includes a handle (¶ 0054).
Regarding the limitation of the handle being sized and dimensioned to hang from an armrest on a wheelchair, such limitation relates to the intended use of the system, which, in this case, imparts no further limitations on the structure of the device. The handle of Koizumi is capable of hanging from an armrest on a wheelchair and using the device for this purpose requires only routine skill in the art (See § MPEP 2114 II).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pump unit of Koizumi in view of Austermann such that it includes a handle, as taught by Koizumi fig. 7, in order to allow the pump unit to be carried (Koizumi, claim 9).
Claim(s) 7-8, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (Pub. No.: US 2010/0211032 A1) in view of Austermann.
Regarding claim 7, Tsai discloses (fig. 1) a fluid collection system (aspiration system 10), comprising:
A fluid collection device (body interface device 14) having a chamber (liquid collection region 14a) and configured to collect fluid from a user in the chamber (¶ 0024);
A first conduit (flexible conduit 16) in fluid communication with the chamber of the fluid collection device (¶ 0013);
A pump unit (aspiration unit 12) connected or connectable to the first conduit (¶ 0013) and including a pump (suction source 44) configured to create a negative pressure to draw fluid from the chamber of the fluid collection device through the first conduit (¶ 0034);
A fluid storage container (liquid collection chamber 46) having an interior region in fluid communication with the first conduit (fig. 1, ¶ 0034) and configured to collect fluid drawn from the chamber of the fluid collection device through the first conduit (¶ 0034);
wherein the fluid storage container includes a fluid storage bag (fig. 1) secured or securable to the pump unit (¶ 0034) such that the pump in the pump unit is positioned to direct fluid from the conduit into the fluid storage bag (¶ 0036).
Tsai fails to disclose wherein the pump is sized, dimensioned, and weighted to be handheld by the user.
Austermann teaches (fig. 1) a fluid collection system (10, ¶ 0022) and thus in the same field of endeavor, comprising:
A pump unit (vacuum source 14) sized, dimensioned and weighted to be handheld by the user (the portable vacuum source may be small and light enough to be carried by a user ¶ 0028) in order to configure the pump unit to be portable (¶ 0028).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pump unit of Tsai such that it is sized, dimensioned, and weighted to be handheld by the user, as taught by Austermann, in order to configure the pump unit to be portable (Austermann ¶ 0028).
Regarding claim 8, Tsai discloses wherein the fluid storage bag is secured or securable to the pump unit such that the fluid collection system is devoid of an additional conduit extending from the pump unit to the fluid storage bag when the fluid storage bag is secured to the pump unit (the fluid storage bag may be integral with and/or housed in the pump unit, ¶ 0034).
Regarding claim 11, Tsai in view of Austermann fail to disclose wherein the pump unit includes a depth of about 10 cm to about 12 cm, a width of about 11 cm to about 13 cm, and a height of about 4 cm to about 6 cm.
However, Austermann teaches that the pump unit is small and light enough to be carried by a user (¶ 0028). Thus, Austermann discloses that the width, depth and height of the pump unit are result-effective variables and discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (See MPEP §2144.05). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the pump unit of Tsai in view of Austermann such that it includes a depth of about 10 cm to about 12 cm, a width of about 11 cm to about 13 cm, and a height of about 4 cm to about 6 cm in order to allow the pump unit to be small and light enough to be carried by a user (Austermann, ¶ 0028).
Absent any showing of critical or unexpected results, such limitations appear to be routine optimization within the skill of the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the invention are therefore prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 12, Tsai in view of Austermann fail to disclose wherein the pump unit is sized for storage during use in a personal handbag or a wheelchair bag.
However, Austermann teaches that the pump unit is small and light enough to be carried by a user (¶ 0028). Thus, Austermann discloses that the size of the pump unit is a result-effective variables and discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (See MPEP §2144.05). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the pump unit of Tsai in view of Austermann such that is sized for storage during use in a personal handbag or a wheelchair bag in order to allow the pump unit to be small and light enough to be carried by a user (Austermann, ¶ 0028).
Absent any showing of critical or unexpected results, such limitations appear to be routine optimization within the skill of the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the invention are therefore prima facie obvious.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai in view of Austermann, as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Glithero (Pub. No.: US 2017/0312114 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Tsai in view of Austermann fail to disclose wherein the pump unit includes a clamp selectively pivotable or adjustable between a closed position securing the fluid storage bag to the pump unit and an open position that allows the fluid storage bag to be removed or disconnected from the pump unit.
Glithero teaches (fig. 1) a fluid collection system (drainage bag system 100) and thus in the same field of endeavor, comprising a fluid storage container (110) that includes a fluid storage bag (¶ 0020); and a clamp selectively pivotable or adjustable between a closed position securing the fluid storage bag to a container (102) and an open position that allows the fluid storage bag to be removed or disconnected from the container (¶ 0056) the clamp configured to allow for reversible attachment of the bag (¶ 0056).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pump unit of Tsai in view of Austermann such that it includes a clamp selectively pivotable or adjustable between a closed position securing the fluid storage bag to the pump unit and an open position that allows the fluid storage bag to be removed or disconnected from the pump unit, as taught by Glithero, in order to allow for reversible attachment of the bag (Glithero ¶ 0056).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai in view of Austermann as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Harvie (Pub. No.: US 2005/0154360 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Tsai in view of Austermann fail to disclose wherein the fluid storage bag is reusable and includes a valve distal to the pump unit when the fluid storage bag is secured to the pump unit.
Harvie teaches (fig. 9) a fluid collection system (abstract) and thus in the same field of endeavor, comprising: a pump unit (suction control unit 1); and a fluid storage container (urine collection bag 3), wherein the fluid storage container includes a fluid storage bag (¶ 0056); wherein the fluid storage bag is reusable (¶ 0151) as such bag is suitable for collecting urine (¶ 0151) and includes a valve (64) distal to the pump unit when the fluid storage bag is secured to the pump unit (¶ 0159) in order to configure urine to flow into the bag in one way (¶ 0159).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fluid storage bag of Tsai in view of Austermann such that is reusable and includes a valve distal to the pump unit when the fluid storage bag is secured to the pump unit, as taught by Harvie, as such bag is suitable for collecting urine (Harvie ¶ 0151) and in order to configure urine to flow into the bag in one way (Harvie ¶ 0159).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koizumi in view of Austermann, as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Kraus (Pat. No.: US 6,311,339 B1).
Regarding claim 17, Koizumi in view of Austermann fail to disclose wherein the rim or flange includes a pouring spout.
Kraus teaches (fig. 1) a fluid collection system (apparatus 10, abstract) and thus in the same field of endeavor, comprising: a fluid storage container (tank 30), wherein the fluid storage container includes a pouring spout (col. 5, ln. 39-42) in order to allow urine to be removed from the fluid storage container (col. 5, ln. 39-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rim or flange of Koizumi in view of Austermann such that it includes a pouring spout, as taught by Kraus, in order to allow urine to be removed from the fluid storage container (Kraus col. 5, ln. 39-42).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Glithero et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0390591 A1) discloses a fluid collection system. Tazoe et al. (Pub. No.: US 2005/0070862 A1) discloses a fluid collection system.
/MEAGAN NGO/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/PHILIP R WIEST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781