DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the preliminary amendment filed on 08/06/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. Claims 1-15 have been amended. Claims 16-20 are added.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the word “characterised” in line 17 should be amended to --characterized--.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a heating mode” in line 22 which should be recited to “the heating mode” for proper antecedent basics.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a suction side of the compressor” in lines 22-23 which should be recited to “the suction side of the compressor” for proper antecedent basics.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
the limitation “an expansion mechanism” in claim 1 includes a generic/nonce term “mechanism” coupled with function “expansion” without reciting sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. A return to the specification provides the limitation “an expansion mechanism” can be implemented in various ways, such as “a first expansion valve” and/or “a second expansion valve” see claim 4. Therefore, the limitation is interpreted as the same or equivalents thereof;
the limitation “pressure-reducing means” in claim 1 includes a generic/nonce term “means” coupled with function “pressure reducing” without reciting sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. A return to the specification provides the limitation “pressure-reducing means” can be implemented in various ways, such as “a capillary” or “a motor-operated valve” see claims 9-10. Therefore, the limitation is interpreted as the same or equivalents thereof;
the limitation “an air conditioning indoor unit” in claim 12 includes a generic/nonce term “unit” coupled with function “air conditioning” without reciting sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. A return to the specification provides the limitation “an air conditioning indoor unit” can be implemented in various ways, such as “an air conditioning indoor heat exchanger” see figure 1. Therefore, the limitation is interpreted as the same or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 6, 11-12, 15-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the phrase "preferably via a branching pipe arranged on a downstream side of the compressor" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) “via a branching pipe arranged on a downstream side of the compressor” following the phrase “preferably” are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 6, the phrase "preferably three, second utilization side heat exchangers are arranged in parallel" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) “three, second utilization side heat exchangers are arranged in parallel” following the phrase “preferably” are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 11, the phrase "preferably a coil in a water tank" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) “a coil in a water tank” following the phrase “preferably” are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 12 recites the broad recitation “an air conditioning indoor unit”, and the claim also recites “the second utilization side heat exchanger” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Regarding claim 15, the phrase "preferably a four-way switching valve" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) “a four-way switching valve” following the phrase “preferably” are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 16, the phrase "preferably via a branching pipe arranged on a downstream side of the compressor" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) “via a branching pipe arranged on a downstream side of the compressor” following the phrase “preferably” are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 19, the phrase "preferably three, second utilization side heat exchangers are arranged in parallel" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) “three, second utilization side heat exchangers are arranged in parallel” following the phrase “preferably” are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 20, the phrase "preferably three, second utilization side heat exchangers are arranged in parallel" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) “three, second utilization side heat exchangers are arranged in parallel” following the phrase “preferably” are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9, 12 and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese patent (JPS608291Y2) hereinafter JP291 in view of Takahashi et al. (EP3611439A1, cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, JP291 discloses a refrigeration device (see figure 2) comprising:
a compressor (1), a plurality of utilization side heat exchangers (3 and 3’), an expansion mechanism (24 and 24’) and a heat source side heat exchanger (2) fluidly connected in series to constitute a refrigeration circuit (see figure 2);
a first refrigerant pipe (the first refrigerant pipe which connecting the compressor 1 and the heat exchanger 3), which extends from the compressor (1) to a first utilization side heat exchanger (3) of the plurality of utilization side heat exchangers (3 and 3’) and comprises a first valve (8) configured to at least fully open and fully close the first refrigerant pipe (see figure 2),
a second refrigerant pipe (the second refrigerant pipe which connecting the compressor 1 and the second heat exchanger 3’), which extends from the compressor (1) to a second utilization side heat exchanger (3’) of the plurality of utilization side heat exchangers (3 and 3’) and comprises a second valve (9) configured to at least fully open and fully close the second refrigerant pipe (see figure 2),
the refrigeration device is configured to fully close the first valve (8) when the operation of the first utilization side heat exchanger (3) is stopped and/or which is configured to fully close the second valve (9) when the operation of the second utilization side heat exchanger (3’) is stopped (see figure 2),
characterised by
a first bypass pipe (the first bypass pipe which associated with the first capillary tube 22) extending from a downstream side of the first valve (8) when the refrigeration device is used in a heating mode to a suction side of the compressor (1; see figure 2),
a second bypass pipe (the second bypass pipe which associated with the second capillary tube 21) extending from a downstream side of the second valve (9) when the refrigeration device is used in a heating mode to a suction side of the compressor (1; see figure 2),
wherein the first and second bypass pipes (the first and second bypass pipes which associated with the first and second capillary tubes 22 and 21, respectively) each comprise pressure-reducing means (the first and second capillary tube 22 and 21) configured to reduce the pressure of a refrigerant in the first and second bypass pipes (see figure 2).
However, JP291 fails to explicitly disclose a controller to perform the control of the first and second valves.
Takahashi disclose a refrigeration device comprising a controller (90), which is configured to fully close the first valve (41) when the operation of the first utilization side heat exchanger (51) is stopped and/or which is configured to fully close the second valve (42) when the operation of the second utilization side heat exchanger (52) is stopped (see figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the refrigeration device of JP291 to incorporate the claimed controller which controls the claimed operation of the first and second valves as taught by Takahashi in order to improve the control of the valves electronically and systematically.
Regarding claim 2, JP291 discloses the first and second valves (8 and 9) are solenoid valves (opening and closing valves; see figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, JP291 discloses the first and second refrigerant pipes (the first refrigerant pipe which connects the compressor 1 and the first heat exchanger 3; and the second refrigerant pipe which connects the compressor 1 and the second heat exchanger 3’) extend in parallel from compressor (1), preferably via a branching pipe (the branching pipe which configured vertically and connects to the pipes which associated with the first and second valves 8 and 9) arranged on a downstream side of the compressor (1; see figure 2).
Regarding claim 4, JP291 discloses the expansion mechanism (7 and 6) comprises a first expansion valve (7) arranged downstream of the first utilization side heat exchanger (8), when the refrigeration device is used in the heating mode (the system operates in heating mode with the dash line flow arrow direction; see figure 2), and wherein the expansion mechanism (7 and 6) comprises a second expansion valve (6) arranged downstream of the second utilization side heat exchanger (3’), when the refrigeration device is used in the heating mode (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 5, JP291 as modified discloses the controller (90, Takahashi) is configured to fully close the first valve (8) and the first expansion valve (24) when the operation of the first utilization side heat exchanger (3) is stopped and/or which is configured to fully close the second valve (9) and the second expansion valve (24’) when the operation of the second utilization side heat exchanger (3’) is stopped (see figure 2 of Takahashi).
Regarding claim 9, JP291 discloses the pressure-reducing means (22 and 21) is a capillary (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 12, JP291 discloses the second utilization side heat exchanger (3’) is an air conditioning indoor unit or a radiator for heating a space (room) in which the second utilization side heat exchanger (3’) is positioned when the refrigeration device is used in a heating mode (the dash line flow arrow) and/or for cooling (the solid line flow arrow) the space in which the second utilization side heat exchanger (3’) is positioned when the refrigeration device is used in a cooling mode (the solid line flow arrow; see figure 2).
Regarding claim 14, JP291 discloses the first and second refrigerant pipes (the first refrigerant pipe which connects the compressor 1 and the first heat exchanger 3; and the second refrigerant pipe which connects the compressor 1 and the second heat exchanger 3’) are gas pipes containing the refrigerant in at least partial gaseous state (the refrigerant is in gaseous state from the outlet of the compressor 1) when the refrigeration device is used in the heating mode (the dash line flow arrow; see figure 2).
Regarding claim 15, JP291 discloses the refrigeration device further comprises a switching device (4), preferably a four-way switching valve (see figure 2), wherein the switching device (4) is configured to switch the refrigeration circuit from the heating mode (the dash line flow arrow is in heating mode) to the cooling mode (the solid line flow arrow is in cooling mode; see figure 2).
Regarding claim 16, JP291 discloses the first and second refrigerant pipes (the first refrigerant pipe which connects the compressor 1 and the first heat exchanger 3; and the second refrigerant pipe which connects the compressor 1 and the second heat exchanger 3’) extend in parallel from the compressor (1), preferably via a branching pipe (the branching pipe which configured vertically and connects to the pipes which associated with the first and second valves 8 and 9) arranged on a downstream side of the compressor (1; see figure 1).
Regarding claim 17, JP291 discloses the expansion mechanism (7 and 6) comprises a first expansion valve (7) arranged downstream of the first utilization side heat exchanger (8), when the refrigeration device is used in the heating mode (the system operates in heating mode with the dash line flow arrow direction; see figure 2), and wherein the expansion mechanism (7 and 6) comprises a second expansion valve (6) arranged downstream of the second utilization side heat exchanger (3’), when the refrigeration device is used in the heating mode (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 18, JP291 discloses the expansion mechanism (7 and 6) comprises a first expansion valve (7) arranged downstream of the first utilization side heat exchanger (8), when the refrigeration device is used in the heating mode (the system operates in heating mode with the dash line flow arrow direction; see figure 2), and wherein the expansion mechanism (7 and 6) comprises a second expansion valve (6) arranged downstream of the second utilization side heat exchanger (3’), when the refrigeration device is used in the heating mode (see figure 2).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP291 in view of Takahashi as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Tanaka et al. (EP0849544A1).
Regarding claim 10, JP291 fails to discloses the pressure-reducing means (22 and/or 21) is a motor-operated valve.
Tanaka teaches a refrigeration device comprising a bypass passage is reduced in pressure in a second motor-operated valve (18b; Col. 78, line 53-55 of page 40).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the refrigeration device of JP291 to substitute the capillary tube with the claimed motor-operated valve as taught by Tanaka in order to obtain predictable result which to actuate the bypass of the fluid (see MPEP 2143 section B).
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-8 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (5,142,879) in view of Takahashi.
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura discloses a refrigeration device (see figure 3) comprising:
a compressor (7), a plurality of utilization side heat exchangers (8a-8c), an expansion mechanism (12a-12c) and a heat source side heat exchanger (4) fluidly connected in series to constitute a refrigeration circuit (see figure 3);
a first refrigerant pipe (the first refrigerant pipe which connecting the compressor 7 and the heat exchanger 8a), which extends from the compressor (7) to a first utilization side heat exchanger (8a) of the plurality of utilization side heat exchangers (8a-8c) and comprises a first valve (24c) configured to at least fully open and fully close the first refrigerant pipe (see figure 3),
a second refrigerant pipe (the second refrigerant pipe which connecting the compressor 7 and the second heat exchangers 8b-8c), which extends from the compressor (7) to a second utilization side heat exchanger (8b-8c) of the plurality of utilization side heat exchangers (8a-8c) and comprises a second valve (24b and/or 24c) configured to at least fully open and fully close the second refrigerant pipe (see figure 3),
the refrigeration device is configured to fully close the first valve (24a) when the operation of the first utilization side heat exchanger (8a) is stopped and/or which is configured to fully close the second valve (24b and/or 24c) when the operation of the second utilization side heat exchanger (8b and/or 8c) is stopped (see figure 3),
characterised by
a first bypass pipe (the first bypass pipe which associated with the first valve 25a) extending from a downstream side of the first valve (24a) when the refrigeration device is used in a heating mode to a suction side of the compressor (7; see figure 3),
a second bypass pipe (the second bypass pipe which associated with the second valve 25b and/or 25c) extending from a downstream side of the second valve (24b and/or 24c) when the refrigeration device is used in a heating mode to a suction side of the compressor (7; see figure 3),
wherein the first and second bypass pipes (the first and second bypass pipes which associated with the first and second valves 25a and 25b and/or 25c, respectively) each comprise pressure-reducing means (the first and second valves 25a and 25b and/or 25c) configured to reduce the pressure of a refrigerant in the first and second bypass pipes (see figure 3).
However, Nakamura fails to explicitly disclose a controller to perform the control of the first and second valves.
Takahashi disclose a refrigeration device comprising a controller (90), which is configured to fully close the first valve (41) when the operation of the first utilization side heat exchanger (51) is stopped and/or which is configured to fully close the second valve (42) when the operation of the second utilization side heat exchanger (52) is stopped (see figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the refrigeration device of Nakamura to incorporate the claimed controller which controls the claimed operation of the first and second valves as taught by Takahashi in order to improve the control of the valves electronically and systematically.
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura discloses the first and second valves (24a-24c) are solenoid valves (the electromagnetic on-off valves; Col. 5, line 68 to Col. 6, line 1; see figure 3).
Regarding claim 3, Nakamura discloses the first and second refrigerant pipes (the first refrigerant pipe which connects the compressor 7 and the first heat exchanger 8a; and the second refrigerant pipe which connects the compressor 7 and the second heat exchanger 8b and/or 8c) extend in parallel from compressor (7), preferably via a branching pipe (the branching pipe which configured vertically and connects to the pipes which associated with the first and second valves 24a-24c) arranged on a downstream side of the compressor (7; see figure 3).
Regarding claim 6, Nakamura discloses on the downstream side of the second valve (24b and/or 24c) in the second refrigerant pipe, two second utilization side heat exchangers (8b and 8c) are arranged in parallel (see figure 3).
Though Nakamura fails to disclose three second utilization side heat exchangers are arranged in parallel Nakamura’s disclosure shows and meets a general pattern that multiple heat exchanger being arranged in parallel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claim invention that the claimed number of heat exchanger are arranged in parallel is just a matter of duplication of parts to adding a greater number of second utilization side heat exchangers in order to provide air conditioning for more individual room or space (see MPEP 2144.04 section VI-B).
Regarding claim 7, Nakamura discloses when the refrigeration device is used in the heating mode, the expansion mechanism (12a-12c) comprises the first expansion valve (12a) arranged downstream of the first utilization side heat exchanger (8a; see figure 3),
the expansion mechanism (12a-12c) comprises a single second expansion valve (12b) arranged downstream of and connected to the second utilization side heat exchangers (8b), or
the expansion mechanism (12a-12c) comprises a plurality of second expansion valves (12b-12c) arranged downstream of and respectively connected to the second utilization side heat exchangers (8b-8c; see figure 3).
Regarding claim 8, Nakamura as modified discloses the controller (90, Takahashi) is configured to fully close the second valve (24b and/or 24c) and the second expansion valve (12b and/or 12c) or the second expansion valves (12b and 12c) when the operation of the second utilization side heat exchangers (8b-8c) is stopped (see figure 2 of Takahashi).
Regarding claim 19, Nakamura discloses on the downstream side of the second valve (24b and/or 24c) in the second refrigerant pipe, two second utilization side heat exchangers (8b and 8c) are arranged in parallel (see figure 3).
Though Nakamura fails to disclose three second utilization side heat exchangers are arranged in parallel Nakamura’s disclosure shows and meets a general pattern that multiple heat exchanger being arranged in parallel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claim invention that the claimed number of heat exchanger are arranged in parallel is just a matter of duplication of parts to adding a greater number of second utilization side heat exchangers in order to provide air conditioning for more individual room or space (see MPEP 2144.04 section VI-B).
Regarding claim 20, Nakamura discloses on the downstream side of the second valve (24b and/or 24c) in the second refrigerant pipe, two second utilization side heat exchangers (8b and 8c) are arranged in parallel (see figure 3).
Though Nakamura fails to disclose three second utilization side heat exchangers are arranged in parallel Nakamura’s disclosure shows and meets a general pattern that multiple heat exchanger being arranged in parallel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claim invention that the claimed number of heat exchanger are arranged in parallel is just a matter of duplication of parts to adding a greater number of second utilization side heat exchangers in order to provide air conditioning for more individual room or space (see MPEP 2144.04 section VI-B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reference JP291 or Nakamura taken alone or in combination fails to disclose the claimed structure detail of the refrigeration device as required in claim 11 and 13. Thought Takahashi teaches the first utilization side heat exchanger is a water tank (60) as required in claim 11 Takahashi fails to disclose a bypass and a pressure-reducing means as required in claim 1. Since the prior art of record also fails to provide further teachings or motivation to modify the refrigeration device of JP291 or Nakamura in order to arrive the claim invention, claims 11 and 13 are allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KUN KAI MA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763