DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wherein the multilayer ceramic capacitor is mounted on the mounting surface with the first side surface perpendicular to the mounting surface” of claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, & 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP2004140211A hereafter referred to as Takashima.
In regards to claim 1, Takashima discloses
A multilayer ceramic capacitor, comprising:
a body (2 – fig. 1; [0015]) including a first internal electrode (10 – fig. 2; [0017]) and a second internal electrode (11 – fig. 2; [0017]) alternately stacked in a first direction with a dielectric layer (9 – fig. 2; [0017]) sandwiched by the first internal electrode and the second internal electrode, the body including a first electrode (triangle formed by x & y – fig. 2 & 6) and a second electrode (triangle formed by x & y – fig. 2 & 6) alternately stacked in the first direction with the dielectric layer sandwiched by the first electrode and the second electrode, the body including a first side surface and a second side surface (5 & 7 – fig. 2; [0015]) opposite to each other in the first direction, a first surface and a second surface (3 & 4 – fig. 2; [0015]) opposite to each other, and a first end face and a second end face (4 & 6 – fig. 2; [0015]) opposite to each other;
a first external electrode (20 & 21 – fig. 2; [0020]) and a second external electrode (24 & 25 – fig. 2; [0020]) on the first surface; and
a third external electrode (22 & 23 – fig. 2; [0020]) and a fourth external electrode (26 & 27 – fig. 2; [0020]) on the second surface,
wherein the first internal electrode includes a first portion, the first portion includes a first capacitance portion (overlapping portion – seen in fig. 2-3), a first extension (12 or 13 – fig. 2-3; [0018]), and a second extension (14 or 15 – fig. 2-3; [0018]),
the second internal electrode includes a second portion, the second portion includes a second capacitance portion (overlapping portion – seen in fig. 2-3), a third extension (16 or 17 – fig. 2-3; [0019]), and a fourth extension (18 or 19 – fig. 2-3; [0019]),
the first electrode includes a first electrode portion and a second electrode portion, the first electrode portion is located between the first capacitance portion and the first surface, the second electrode portion is located between the first capacitance portion and the second surface (seen in fig. 2-3 & 6 – noting the triangular portion extends from all extension portions),
the second electrode includes a third electrode portion and a fourth electrode portion (seen in fig. 2-3 & 6 – noting the triangular portion extends from all extension portions),
the first extension is extended to the first surface and is connected to the first external electrode, and the second extension is extended to the second surface and is connected to the third external electrode (fig. 1-2; [0020]), and
the third extension is extended to the first surface and is connected to the second external electrode, and the fourth extension is extended to the second surface and is connected to the fourth external electrode (fig. 1-2; [0020]), and whereby:
a length along the first surface of the first electrode portion is greater than a length along the first end surface of the first electrode portion (fig. 6; table 1 – when z is larger than x).
In regards to claim 2, Takashima discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 1, wherein: the first electrode portion is connected to at least one of the first capacitance portion and the first extension (seen in fig. 2-3 & 6),
the second electrode portion is connected to at least one of the first capacitance portion and the second extension (seen in fig. 2-3 & 6),
the third electrode portion is connected to at least one of the second capacitance portion and the third extension (seen in fig. 2-3 & 6), and
the fourth electrode portion is connected to at least one of the second capacitance portion and the fourth extension (seen in fig. 2-3 & 6).
In regards to claim 5, Takashima discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 1, wherein the dielectric layer is rectangular (fig. 1-2),
the first surface and the second surface are perpendicular to the first direction and opposite to each other in a second direction parallel to a width direction of the dielectric layer (fig. 1-2), and
the first end face and the second end face are opposite to each other in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction and parallel to a length direction of the dielectric layer (fig. 1-2).
In regards to claim 7, Takashima discloses
The multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 1, wherein the first electrode portion is connected to the first capacitance portion and the first extension (seen in fig. 2-3 & 6),
the second electrode portion is connected to the first capacitance portion and the second extension (seen in fig. 2-3 & 6),
the third electrode portion is connected to the second capacitance portion and the third extension (seen in fig. 2-3 & 6), and
the fourth electrode portion is connected to the second capacitance portion and the fourth extension (seen in fig. 2-3 & 6).
In regards to claim 8, Takashima discloses
A multilayer ceramic capacitor, comprising:
a body (2 – fig. 1; [0015]) including internal electrodes (10-11 – fig. 2; [0017]) alternately stacked in a first direction with dielectric layers (9 – fig. 2; [0017]), the body including a first side surface and a second side surface (5 & 7 – fig. 2; [0015]) opposite to each other in the first direction, a first surface and a second surface (3 & 4 – fig. 2; [0015]) opposite to each other, and a first end face and a second end face (4 & 6 – fig. 2; [0015]) opposite to each other;
at least one external electrode (20 & 21 – fig. 2; [0020]) on the first surface;
wherein at least one of the internal electrodes includes a capacitance portion (overlapping portion – seen in fig. 2-3), an extension (12 or 13 – fig. 2-3; [0018]),
the body includes an electrode portion (triangle formed by x & y – fig. 2 & 6), the electrode portion is located between the capacitance portion and the first surface,
the extension is extended to the first surface and is connected to the external electrode (fig. 1-2; [0020]),
a length along the first surface of the electrode portion is greater than a length along the first end surface of the electrode portion (fig. 6; table 1 – when z is larger than x).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2014/0146436).
In regards to claim 9, Kim ‘436 discloses
A multilayer ceramic capacitor, comprising:
a body (110 – fig. 1; [0054]) including internal electrodes (121-122 – fig. 1-4; [0054]) alternately stacked in a first direction with dielectric layers (111 – fig. 1-4; [0057]), the body including a first side surface and a second side surface (1 & 2 – fig. 1; [0055]) opposite to each other in the first direction, a first surface and a second surface (5 & 6 – fig. 1; [0055]) opposite to each other, and a first end face and a second end face (3 & 4 – fig. 1; [0055]) opposite to each other;
at least one external electrode (131 – fig. 1; [0054]) on the first surface;
wherein at least one of the internal electrodes includes a capacitance portion (overlapping portion of 121 – fig. 1-2), an extension (portion of 121a connected to 131 – fig. 3; [0067]),
the body includes an electrode portion (portion of 121a not connected to 131 – fig. 3; [0067]), the electrode portion is located between the capacitance portion and the first surface, the electrode portion contacts at least the first surface (seen in fig. 1-3),
the extension is extended to the first surface and is connected to the external electrode (seen in fig. 3),
a length along the first surface of the electrode portion is greater than a length along the first end surface of the electrode portion (seen in fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takashima in view of Kim (US 2015/0047886).
In regards to claim 3,
Takashima fails to disclose wherein the first internal electrode further includes a first dummy portion electrically isolated from the first portion,
the second internal electrode further includes a second dummy portion electrically isolated from the second portion,
the first dummy portion includes a first dummy extension extending to the first surface and a second dummy extension extending to the second surface,
the second dummy portion includes a third dummy extension extending to the first surface and a fourth dummy extension extending to the second surface,
the first dummy extension is connected to the second external electrode, and the second dummy extension is connected to the fourth external electrode, and
the third dummy extension is connected to the first external electrode, and the fourth dummy extension is connected to the third external electrode.
Kim ‘886 discloses wherein the first internal electrode further includes a first dummy portion (123 – fig. 3F; [0077-0078]) electrically isolated from the first portion,
the second internal electrode (124 – fig. 3F; [0077-0078]) further includes a second dummy portion electrically isolated from the second portion,
the first dummy portion includes a first dummy extension extending to the first surface and a second dummy extension extending to the second surface (fig. 3F),
the second dummy portion includes a third dummy extension extending to the first surface and a fourth dummy extension extending to the second surface (fig. 3F),
the first dummy extension is connected to the second external electrode, and the second dummy extension is connected to the fourth external electrode (fig. 3F), and
the third dummy extension is connected to the first external electrode, and the fourth dummy extension is connected to the third external electrode (fig. 3F).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the capacitor of Takashima to have dummy electrodes as taught by Kim ‘886 to obtain a capacitor wherein the connection of the external electrodes to the body is improved.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takashima in view of Kim et al. (US 2015/0049412).
In regards to claim 4,
Takashima discloses wherein an expansion proportion M based on M = {(S/S0) - 1 } x 100 is within 0≤M≤ 36%, S is a measured area of a portion of the first extension exposed on the first surface after firing, S0 is a design area of the portion of the first extension exposed on the first surface, and M is an expansion proportion of the portion of the first extension exposed on the first surface resulting from firing (fig. 2-3 – it is noted that as there are samples that meet the desired (designed) area ratio – the exposed area of the expansion proportions after firing are within the designed parameters (i.e. M is 0)). Takashima fails to disclose wherein a warpage D is less than or equal to 10%, where the warpage D is T1/T2, T1 is a thickness of the body before firing, T2 is a distance between two parallel planes in contact with opposite ends of the body after firing in a thickness direction and parallel to a thickness direction of the two parallel planes.
Kim ‘412 discloses a warpage D is less than or equal to 10%, where the warpage D is T1/T2, T1 is a thickness of the body before firing, T2 is a distance between two parallel planes in contact with opposite ends of the body after firing in a thickness direction and parallel to a thickness direction of the two parallel planes ([0044] & table 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the capacitor of Takashima to have a warpage of less than 10% as taught by Kim ‘412 to obtain a capacitor with less reliability failures.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takashima in view of Lee (US 2014/0125194).
In regards to claim 6,
Takashima discloses a multilayer ceramic capacitor mounting structure, comprising: the multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 1 (see above rejection). Takashima fails to explicitly disclose a substrate including a mounting surface, wherein the multilayer ceramic capacitor is mounted on the mounting surface with the first side surface perpendicular to the mounting surface.
Lee ‘194 discloses a multilayer ceramic capacitor mounting structure, comprising: a multilayer ceramic capacitor (fig. 1); a substrate including a mounting surface ([0097]), wherein the multilayer ceramic capacitor is mounted on the mounting surface with the first side surface either parallel or perpendicular to the mounting surface ([0018] & [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mount the capacitor of Takashima to a substrate with the first side surface perpendicular to the mounting surface as taught by Lee ‘194 to obtain a capacitor connected to other components forming a circuit useable in an electronic component.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847