DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 3-5, 14-17, 20-21, 23-24, 29, 31-41, 51-57, and 59-62 are cancelled. Claims 1, 2, 6-13, 18, 19, 22, 25-28, 30, 42-50, 58, and 63-66 are pending. Claims 43-50 and 63-66 are withdrawn. Claims 1, 2, 6-13, 18, 19, 22, 25-28, 30, 42, and 58 are under examination.
Priority
This application is a national stage entry of PCT/US2023/062063 filed on 2/6/2023, which claims priority to US provisional application 63/307,578 filed on 2/7/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 04/22/2025 and 08/19/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1, 2, 6-13, 18, 19, 22, 25-28, 30, 42, and 58) in the reply filed on 8/19/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 43-50 and 63-66 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/19/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 7-13, and 18-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 is indefinite for the recitation of “the at least one lipid comprises…” as it makes it unclear if the at least one lipid of claim 1, which claim 6 depends on, is now open to other lipids since claim 1 first presented a closed Markush group of items for “at least one lipid”. Applicant may amend this claim to indicate “the at least one lipid is…..”
Claims 7-13 are rejected as being dependent on an indefinite claim.
Claim 7 is indefinite for the recitation of “the ionizable lipid comprises…” as it makes it unclear if the at least one lipid of claim 1, which claim 6 depends on, is now open to other lipids since claim 1 first presented a closed Markush group of items for “at least one lipid”. Note that ionizable lipid is within the closed group. Applicant may amend this claim to indicate “the ionizable lipid is…..”
Claim 7 is indefinite for “or analogs or derivatives thereof” as it is not indicated what types of analogs or derivations would be referred to, which could encompass compounds with numerous different structures and/or functions. Thus, it is unclear what the metes and bounds of the claim limitations are with use of analogs or derivatives thereof. Applicant may consider deleting “or analogs or derivatives thereof” in this claim.
Claim 9 is indefinite for the recitation of “the pegylated lipid comprises…” as it makes it unclear if the at least one lipid of claim 1, which claim 6 depends on, is now open to other lipids since claim 1 first presented a closed Markush group of items for “at least one lipid”. Note that pegylated lipid is within the closed group. Applicant may amend this claim to indicate “the pegylated lipid is…..”
Claim 11 is indefinite for the recitation of “the structural lipid comprises…” as it makes it unclear if the at least one lipid of claim 1, which claim 6 depends on, is now open to other lipids since claim 1 first presented a closed Markush group of items for “at least one lipid”. Note that structural lipid is within the closed group. Applicant may amend this claim to indicate “the structural lipid is…..”
Claim 12 is indefinite for the recitation of “the second phosholipid comprises…” as it makes it unclear if the at least one lipid of claim 1, which claim 6 depends on, is now open to other lipids since claim 1 first presented a closed Markush group of items for “at least one lipid”. Note that second phospholipid is within the closed group. Applicant may amend this claim to indicate “the second phospholipid is…..”
Claim 18 is indefinite for the use of “mRNA complexed with one or more lipids (RNA-Lipoplex) as it is unclear if what should be considered is any RNA based on the parenthetical of RNA-lipoplex or the mRNA, more particularly, as provided outside the parenthetical. Applicant may delete the parenthetical recitation.
Claim 19 is rejected as being dependent on an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6-13, 18, 19, 22, 25-28, 30, 42 and 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buschmann US 2022/0218622 (effective filing date of 10-13-2021 and 10-14-2020 based on filing date and priority filing) and Choung US20160022711.
Buschmann teaches ionizable lipids for use in lipid nanoparticles that are useful for delivery mRNA the can encode vaccines for treatment of infectious diseases or cancers (abstract and claim 1). Buschmann teaches antigen-providing mRNA (paragraphs 183 and 2619). Buschmann teaches “As used herein, the term “antigen-providing mRNA” in the context of the invention may typically be an mRNA, having at least one open reading frame that can be translated by a cell or an organism provided with that mRNA” (paragraphs 183 and 2211). Buschmann teaches a mRNA sequence encoding at least one antigenic peptide or protein, and DSPC, cholesterol and a PEG lipid at a ratio of about 50:10:38.5:1 (paragraph 2248). Buschmann teaches ionizable lipids that have adjuvant effect (paragraph 2589). Buschmann teaches adjuvants for the formulations including lysolecithin (aka lysophosphatidylcholine) and the TLR7/8 agonist (resiquimod) (paragraph 2590). Buschmann teaches stabilizing lipids (paragraph 2222) and ionizable lipids (paragraph 2217). Buschmann teaches “ Lipids of the Invention (as defined herein) combined with other lipid components, such as neutral lipids, steroids, PEG, PEGylated lipids, and oligonucleotides have been used to block degradation of the RNAs in plasma and facilitate the cellular uptake of the oligonucleotides.” (paragraph 9). Buschmann teaches “LNP driven adjuvant effects motivates the identification of structure function relationships (SFRs) controlling these properties which may involve the cyclic vs linear nature of the headgroups” (paragraph 2185). Thus, Buschmann provides for the teachings that would allow one to produce such a lipid nanoparticle that has adjuvant ionizable lipids, structural lipids and other lipids, and contains mRNA to encode for vaccine antigens, the lipid adjuvant lysolecithin (lysophosphatidylcholine) and a TLR7/8 agonist as another adjuvant. The adjuvants are seen in Buschmann to help such formulations by enhancing efficacy of agents such as the vaccine (paragraph 176). Buschmann teaches “PEG-modified phosphatidylethanolamine, PEG-modified phosphatidic acid, PEG-modified ceramides (e.g., PEG-CerC14 or PEG-CerC20), PEG-modified dialkylamines, PEG-modified diacylglycerols, PEG-modified dialkylglycerols” (paragraph 2230). Buschmann teaches cholesterol (paragraphs 2248, 2250 and 2272). Buschmann teaches 1,2-distearoyl-sn-glycero-3-phosphocholine (18:0 PC, DSPC) (paragraphs 2223 and 2777; also provides for DOPC and others). Buschmann teaches a composition with a pharmaceutical carrier and/or excipient (paragraph 196). Buschmann teaches sphingomyelins among neutral lipids (paragraph 2222). Buschmann teaches DMG-PEG (mw 2000) (paragraphs 2776 and 2792). Buschmann teaches SM-102 and ALC-0315 (see table 11b regarding exemplary ionizable lipids).
Although Buschmann allows for lysolecithin/lysophosphatidylcholine in its formulations, it does not provide for the acyl chain lengths.
Choung teaches a lipid nanomaterial containing lysophosphatidylcholine or an ether derivative thereof (abstract) that is used for treating subjects. Choung teaches the lysophosphatidylcholine represented by chemical formula 1 is selected from the group consisting of L-α-lysophosphatidylcholine, stearoyl; L-α-lysophosphatidylcholine, myristoyl; L-α-lysophosphatidylcholine, palmitoyl; DL-α-lysophosphatidylcholine, palmitoyl; and L-α-lysophosphatidylcholine, oleoyl (paragraph 28). Paragraph 27 indicates the R1 group can be 4-30 carbons (alkyl or alkenyl). Stearoyl is an 18 carbon chain acyl chain, myristoyl is a 14 carbon acyl chain, and palmitoyl is a 16 carbon acyl chain. Choung teaches lipid nanomaterial particles (paragraph 68) and lipid nanoparticles with LPC 18:0 (paragraphs 83-86). Choung teaches “To lysophosphatidylcholine (LPC 18:0, NOF) 5.00 g, egg lecithin (Lipoid E-80) 15.00 g, soybean oil 5.00 g, sucrose 50.00 g, EDTA2Na2H2O 27.5 mg, and middle chain triglyceride (Miglyol 812) 5.00 g was added purified water, to make a total weight of 500 g” (paragraph 81). Choung recognizes solving the issue of low solubility of lysophosphatidylcholine involved making lipid nanomaterial forms (paragraph 5). Note making lipid nanoparticles is also an objective of Buschmann.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have included lysophosphatidylcholine/lysolecithin of Choung into formulations taught by Buschmann as these are lysophosphatidylcholines recognizes with pharmaceutical benefits and usable with other lipids in producing lipid nanoparticle structures. Thus, there was a reasonable expectation of success in using the lysophosphatidylcholine compounds of Choung in making compositions by teachings of Buschmann and obtaining suitable lipid nanoparticles that deliver the antigen expressing mRNA along with TLR 7/8 agonist that can be used for treatment of a subject with such lipid nanoparticles.
Non-Statutory Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 6-13, 18, 19, 22, 25-28, 30, 42 and 58 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 11, 13-16, and 36 and claims 103-105, 107 and 109 of copending Application No. 18/836,260 in view of Buschmann US 2022/0218622 (effective filing date of 10-13-2021 and 10-14-2020 based on filing date and priority filing). The claims of ‘260 and applicant’s claims overlap with the exception of the mRNA encoding for an antigen. Buschmann teaches including an mRNA encoding for an antigen to treat cancer or an infectious disease in a lipid nanoparticle formulation.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have included mRNA that encodes for antigens in teachings of Buschmann to get effective formulation to treat a subject with cancer or an infectious disease.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MARK V STEVENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613