Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murakami et al. (US 20190326897 and Murakami hereinafter.).
Regarding claim 1, Murakami discloses a device comprising: a plurality of switches [fig. 1 and 2, 11-16]; a plurality of driver units [1-6], wherein each driver unit is coupled to drive a respective switch of the plurality of switches [as shown]; a system controller [para. 36] coupled to each of the driver units by a bus, wherein the system controller is configured to coordinate driving [generation of Upn, VPn, Wpn] of the respective switches by the driver units; and at least one communication channel [VFo] coupled to each of the driver units, wherein the driver units are configured to communicate with each other over the communication channel without mediation by the system controller [fig. 2].
Regarding claim 2, Murakami discloses further wherein each of the driver units is configured to characterize a fault in the driving of its respective switch and output a characterization of the fault over the communication channel [para. 11 and 30-35].
Regarding claim 3, Murakami discloses further wherein each of the driver units is configured to respond to corresponding characterizations of faults in the driving of others of the plurality of switches, wherein the corresponding characterizations are received over the communication channel.
Regarding claim 6, Murakami discloses further wherein the system controller is configured to communicate a status of the device to each of the driver units over the bus [bus from controller transmits the status of the device by way of signals EN or LOW_POWER to the driver units].
Regarding claim 7, Murakami discloses further wherein each the driver units is configured to interpret fault commands received over the communication channel based on the communicated status of the device [bus from controller transmits the status of the device by way of signals EN or LOW_POWER to the driver units].
Regarding claim 8, Murakami discloses further wherein the system controller is further coupled to the communication channel [para. 36].
Regarding claim 9, Murakami discloses wherein the communication channel is implemented in at least one wire of a second bus [para. 36].
Regarding claim 10, Murakami discloses further wherein the device comprises an inverter [fig. 1].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami in view of Hiya et al. (US 11050361 and Hiya hereinafter.).
Regarding claim 4, Murakami discloses all the features regarding claim 4 as indicated above. Murakami does not explicitly disclose wherein the system controller is configured to communicate a signal that identifies a position of each of the driver units to each of the other driver units over the bus.
However, Hiya discloses wherein the system controller is configured to communicate a signal that identifies a position of each of the driver units to each of the other driver units over the bus [col 3 lines 50-59]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention as described by Murakami to include the system controller is configured to communicate a signal that identifies a position of each of the driver units to each of the other driver units over the bus as taught by hiya to improve a driver circuit by enhancing troubleshooting outcomes during a device failure.
Regarding claim 5, Murakami in view of Hiya discloses further wherein each the driver units is configured to interpret fault commands received over the communication channel based on the communicated position [Hiya, fig. 6].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-18 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 11 is allowed because the prior art of record does not disclose nor render obvious “…wherein the fault protection control circuitry is further configured to interpret and respond to corresponding categorizations of faults in driving of other transistors by other driver units without mediation by the system controller.” as cited with the rest of the claimed limitation.
Claim 14 is allowed because the prior art of record does not disclose nor render obvious “…wherein the error flag interface block is configured to detect an external fault condition to the driver module indicated by an error flag state on the single terminal EF I/O, wherein the external fault condition is detected outside the driver module,…” as cited with the rest of the claimed limitation.
Dependent claims 12-13 and 15-18 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, applicant argues [pg. 6-8] Murakami does not teach or suggest driver units which are configured to communicate with each other over the communication channel without mediation by the system controller. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Driving devices 1-6 are coupled to one another through VFo as shown in fig. 1. Para 34 discloses “An alarm signal VFo and the error signal Verr are inputted to the protection operation determining circuit 23”. The inner workings of a single driving device, shown in fig. 2. This along with para. 35 disclosure of “A source of the MOSFET 25 outputs the alarm signal VFo to an outside of the protection”. Therefore, driving devices 1-6 act as inputs and outputs and communicate with each other. This is performed via identification pulse generating circuit 24 and protection operation determining circuit 23 and not by detection circuits 21. Detection circuit 21 acts as a controller because detection circuits 21 includes control power supply voltage detecting circuit UV [para. 32]. Therefore, Murakami reads on the claims and the rejection still stands.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES G YEAMAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2842
/LINCOLN D DONOVAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2842