DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 02/25/2022. A certified copy of the JP2022-028575 application was received 08/06/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The prior art documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement filed 08/06/2024 have all been considered and made of record.
Joint Inventors
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “…each of the side surfaces slopes to face more upward at a farther distance from an upper surface of the substrate…” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Furthermore, the drawings are objected to because
markers 20 and 22 in figure 10a appear to be indicating the same element, and
markers 21 and 23, in figure 10a appear to be indicating the same element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 1, the claim recites “…the element mount area is located with the core between portions of the element mount area…”. As the claim is currently worded, the element mount area must be located between portions of itself. The claim is indefinite because the limitations create confusion regarding the structure of the claimed device.
Examiner’s note: for the purposes of further examination, examiner will interpret the above limitations as requiring that the core be located between portions of the element mount area.
With regards to claim 2, the claim recites “…the cladding layer includes first recesses located with the core between the first recesses…”. As the claim is currently worded, the first recesses must be located between themselves. The claim is indefinite because the limitations create confusion regarding the structure of the claimed device.
Examiner’s note: for the purposes of further examination, examiner will interpret the above limitations as requiring that the core be located between the first recesses.
With regards to claim 6, the claim recites “…each of the side surfaces slopes to face more upward at a farther distance from an upper surface of the substrate…”. It is unclear whether or not the slope of the side surfaces is changing over a unit of distance, and if so, in what manner this change occurs. Furthermore, it is unclear what point of reference is to be used when determining the distance from the substrate (I.E, “…farther distance from an upper surface of the substrate…” as compared to what reference point). The claim is indefinite because the limitations create confusion regarding the structure of the claimed device.
Examiner’s note: For the purposes of further examination, examiner will interpret the above limitations broadly requiring some form of change in slope.
With regards to claim 7, the claim recites “…the cladding layer includes second recesses located with the one or more cores between the second recesses…”. As the claim is currently worded, the second recesses must be located between themselves. The claim is indefinite because the limitations create confusion regarding the structure of the claimed device.
Furthermore, the claim recites “…one or more cores in the cladding layer, the one or more cores defining optical waveguides, wherein the cladding layer includes second recesses located with the one or more cores between the second recesses…”. The claim indicates the possibility of one core or multiple cores, but does not indicate the possibility of a single waveguide. It is unclear whether or not there can be only one core.
Examiner’s note: for the purposes of further examination, examiner will interpret the above limitations as requiring that cores of the plurality (and respective waveguides) be located between first recesses.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okuda (US 11398713 B2).
With regards to claim 1, Okuda discloses an optical waveguide board, comprising:
a substrate (Fig10/Substrate 1);
a cladding layer on the substrate (Cladding layer [Elements 2 and 9]); and
a core in the cladding layer, the core defining an optical waveguide (Core [Portion of 46c beneath element 9]; Column 10/Lines 1-4/“…ridge-type waveguides…”), wherein the cladding layer includes a first surface facing the substrate and a second surface opposite to the first surface (First surface [bottom surface of element 2] and second surface [top surface of element 9]), and includes, on the second surface, an element mount area on which a light receiver is mountable (Element mount area [area between lines 36e and 36f]; Column 4/Lines 56=58/“…bonding pad 12…”), and the element mount area is located with the core between portions of the element mount area in a plan view (Fig10), and a height from the substrate to the element mount area (Fig10 [Distance from top of element 1 to interface between elements 9 and 12]) is greater than a height from the substrate to an upper surface of an area of the cladding layer covering the core (Fig10 [Distance from top of element 1 to interface between elements 8 and 9]).
With regards to claim 2, Okuda discloses the optical waveguide board according to claim 1, wherein the cladding layer includes first recesses located with the core between the first recesses in a plan view (First recesses [as indicated below]).
With regards to claim 3, Okuda discloses the optical waveguide board according to claim 1, further comprising: electrodes in the element mount area, the electrodes being electrically connectable to the light receiver being mounted (Fig10/Electrodes 11).
With regards to claim 4, Okuda discloses the optical waveguide board according to claim 2, further comprising: electrodes extending from the element mount area onto side surfaces of the first recesses (Fig10/Electrodes 11).
With regards to claim 6, Okuda discloses the optical waveguide board according to claim 4, wherein each of the side surfaces slopes to face more upward at a farther distance from an upper surface of the substrate (Fig10 [Slope change at upper corners of recesses]).
With regards to claim 7, Okuda discloses the optical waveguide board according to claim 2, further comprising: one or more cores in the cladding layer, the one or more cores defining optical waveguides, wherein the cladding layer includes second recesses located with the one or more cores between the second recesses (Fig10/One or more cores [Portions of elements 41a and 41b beneath element 9] and second recesses [as indicated below]).
With regards to claim 9, Okuda discloses the optical waveguide board according to claim 4, further comprising: wires on bottom surfaces of the first recesses, the wires each having a higher light reflectance than the electrodes (Fig10/Wires [elements 12 and connection between elements 11 and 12]; Column 4/Lines 56-58).
With regards to claim 10, Okuda discloses the optical waveguide board according to claim 9, wherein the wires extend to positions overlapping the element mount area in a plan view (Fig10 [Positions of elements 12]).
With regards to claim 11, Okuda discloses the optical waveguide board according to claim 1, further comprising: a light-shielding film on the second surface of the cladding layer, the light-shielding film surrounding a portion of the core located between the portions of the element mount area in a plan view (Light-shielding film 43).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuda (US 11398713 B2).
With regards to claim 5, Okuda discloses the optical waveguide board according to claim 4. Okuda is silent regarding the side surfaces each having a greater surface roughness than the second surface. However, Okuda does disclose the side surfaces and second surface as being formed of different materials (Column 4/Lines 53-56; Column 3/Lines 61-62) and it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select materials such that the surface roughness of the side surfaces is greater than that of the second surface since doing so would further reduce optical losses in the ridge waveguide.
With regards to claim 12, Okuda discloses an optical waveguide package, comprising:
the optical waveguide board according to claim 1; and
a light receiver, the light receiver including a light receiving part at a position overlapping the core in a plan view (Fig12/Light receiving part 27).
Okuda does not disclose the light receiver as being mounted on the element mount area, but does disclose the light receiver as being mounted over the element mount area (Fig12), and it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mount the light receiver on the element mount area since doing so would allow the waveguide board itself to serve as the base for the receiver element, thereby forgoing the need for additional mounting elements (Such as element 81 of Okuda).
With regards to claim 13, Okuda discloses the optical waveguide package according to claim 12, wherein the light receiver is mounted with the light receiving part facing the optical waveguide board (Fig12).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuda (US 11398713 B2) as applied to claim 12 above, in further view of Komatsu (US 5358896 A) and Kinghorn (US 20180052290 A1).
With regards to claim 14, Okuda discloses a light source module, comprising: the optical waveguide package according to claim 12. Okuda does not specifically disclose a light emitter and a lid covering the light receiver and the light emitter. However, the practices of including a light emitter and lid within a light source module exist in the art as exemplified by Komatsu and Kinghorn.
Okuda discloses an optical waveguide package with a light receiver. Komatsu discloses an optical waveguide package with a light emitter (Komatsu/Fig9/Light emitter 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a light emitter within the light source module of Okuda as suggested by Komatsu since doing so would reduce or remove reliance on external light sources.
Okuda and Komatsu together disclose an optical waveguide package with a light receiver and a light emitter. Kinghorn discloses a lid covering a portion of an optical waveguide package with a light emitter (Kinghorn/Figs20-21/Lid 999). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cover the receiver and emitter of Okuda and Komatsu with a lid as suggested by Kinghorn since doing so would further insulate the receiver and emitter and further protect them from physical damage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With regards to claim 8, the prior art of record fails to disclose or reasonably suggest the optical waveguide board according to claim 7, wherein a height from the substrate to a bottom surface of each of the second recesses is greater than a height from the substrate to each of the one or more cores in addition to the accompanying features of the independent claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art was relied upon in the rejection set forth above.
Conclusion
This prior art, made of record, but not relied upon, is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure since the following references have similar structure and/or use similar structure and/or similar optical elements to what is disclosed and/or claimed in the instant application:
Benzoni (US 6981806 B2) [Figs1a-1d]
Okayama (US 20100178005 A1) [Fig4c]
Takagi (US 20020163002 A1) [Figs7-10]
/MARC E MANHEIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874