DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 11, 14-15, 17-18, 20-21, 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mondal et al (US 2021/0359742 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 28, Mondal discloses an apparatus for wireless communication (Fig. 4), comprising:
a memory (Fig. 4, memory 420); and
a processor coupled to the memory (Fig. 4, processor 130 coupled to memory 420), the processor being configured to:
receive one or more settings indicating a first group of one or more resources associated with one or more first serving cells in a first cell group (44th paragraph and Fig. 3B, block 355, transmitting to a UE in a same serving cell as the TRP, information indicative of a first CSI-RS resource associated with the TRP), the one or more settings further indicating a second group of one or more resources associated with a second serving cell in a second cell group (44th paragraph and Fig. 3B, block 360, transmitting to the UE information indicative of a second CSI-RS resource associated with a second TRP in a non-serving cell); and
report channel state information (CSI) associated with the second group of one or more resources based at least in part on one or more measurements associated with the first group of one or more resources (44th paragraph, receiving first report quantities reporting measurements made by the UE based on CSI-RS signals received in the first CSI-RS resource. According to 20th paragraph, CSI-RS resource B is configured for TRP in the non-serving cell and CSI-RS resource A is configured for serving cell. CSI-RS resource A and CSI-RS resource B may be the same. This implies that the report quantities reporting measurements made by the UE based on CSI-RS signals received in the first CSI-RS resource, or a first group of one or more resources, also associated with second CSI-RS resource, or a second group of one or more resources).
Regarding claim 2, Mondal discloses that wherein: the first group of one or more resources includes: one or more CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources, one or more CSI interference measurement (CSI-IM) resources, one or more synchronization signal block (SSB) resources, or a combination thereof (20th paragraph, CSI-RS resource A); and the second group of one or more resources includes: one or more CSI-RS resources, one or more SSB resources, or a combination thereof (20th paragraph, CSI-RS resource B).
Regarding claim 4, Mondal discloses a transceiver (Fig. 4, RF module 415) configured to receive the one or more settings and report the CSI (Figs. 3A and 3B), wherein the first cell group is in a first frequency range including one or more bands in frequency range 1 (FR1) (Fig. 2F, TRP 100 transmits in FR1), and the second cell group is in a second frequency range including one or more bands in frequency range 2 (FR2) (Fig. 2E, TRP 101 transmits in FR2).
Regarding claim 5, Mondal discloses that wherein the one or more settings indicate a report quantity associated with the CSI, wherein the report quantity indicates one or more sets of one or more properties associated with the second group of resources to report via the CSI (12th paragraph, CSI information may include information about report quantities the TRP expects the UE to calculate and report back to the TRP and Fig. 3A, block 330, UE calculates report quantities for channel with non-serving cell. Herein, CSI-RS resource B configured for non-serving cell is measured and reported. As illustrated in Table 3 and Table 4, 33rd paragraph and Table 5, 36th paragraph, the properties may include RI, MPI, and CQI).
Regarding claim 7, Mondal discloses that wherein the one or more settings include: one or more first CSI resource settings indicating the first group of one or more resources (Fig. 3A, block 305, first CSI-RS resource); and one or more second CSI resource settings indicating the second group of one or more resources (Fig. 3A, block 310, second CSI-RS resource).
Regarding claim 8, Mondal discloses that wherein the one or more first CSI resource settings indicate the first group of one or more resources in one or more CSI resource sets (20th paragraph, CSI-RS Resource Set includes CSI-RS Resource A).
Regarding claim 11, Mondal discloses that wherein the processor is further configured to: report the CSI associated with the second group of one or more resources based at least in part on one or more measurements associated with the second group of one or more resources (Fig. 3A, block 330 and 335, UE calculates second report quantities for channel with non-serving cell and transmits second report quantities).
Regarding claims 14 and 30, Mondal discloses an apparatus for wireless communication (Fig. 5), comprising:
a memory (Fig. 5, memory 520); and
a processor coupled to the memory (Fig. 5, processor 110 coupled to memory 520), the processor being configured to:
output one or more settings indicating a first group of one or more resources associated with one or more first serving cells in a first cell group (44th paragraph and Fig. 3B, block 355, transmitting to a UE in a same serving cell as the TRP, information indicative of a first CSI-RS resource associated with the TRP), the one or more settings further indicating a second group of one or more resources associated with a second serving cell in a second cell group (44th paragraph and Fig. 3B, block 360, transmitting to the UE information indicative of a second CSI-RS resource associated with a second TRP in a non-serving cell); and
obtain first channel state information (CSI) associated with the second group of one or more resources based at least in part on one or more measurements associated with the first group of one or more resources (44th paragraph, receiving first report quantities reporting measurements made by the UE based on CSI-RS signals received in the first CSI-RS resource. According to 20th paragraph, CSI-RS resource B is configured for TRP in the non-serving cell and CSI-RS resource A is configured for serving cell. CSI-RS resource A and CSI-RS resource B may be the same. This implies that the report quantities reporting measurements made by the UE based on CSI-RS signals received in the first CSI-RS resource, or a first group of one or more resources, also associated with second CSI-RS resource, or a second group of one or more resources).
Regarding claim 15, Mondal discloses that wherein: the first group of one or more resources includes: one or more CSI reference signal (CSI-RS) resources, one or more CSI interference measurement (CSI-IM) resources, one or more synchronization signal block (SSB) resources, or a combination thereof (20th paragraph, CSI-RS resource A); and the second group of one or more resources includes: one or more CSI-RS resources, one or more SSB resources, or a combination thereof (20th paragraph, CSI-RS resource B).
Regarding claim 17, Mondal discloses a transceiver (Fig. 4, RF module 415) configured to receive the one or more settings and report the CSI (Figs. 3A and 3B), wherein the first cell group is in a first frequency range including one or more bands in frequency range 1 (FR1) (Fig. 2F, TRP 100 transmits in FR1), and the second cell group is in a second frequency range including one or more bands in frequency range 2 (FR2) (Fig. 2E, TRP 101 transmits in FR2).
Regarding claim 18, Mondal discloses that wherein the one or more settings indicate a report quantity associated with the CSI, wherein the report quantity indicates one or more sets of one or more properties associated with the second group of resources to report via the CSI (12th paragraph, CSI information may include information about report quantities the TRP expects the UE to calculate and report back to the TRP and Fig. 3A, block 330, UE calculates report quantities for channel with non-serving cell. Herein, CSI-RS resource B configured for non-serving cell is measured and reported. As illustrated in Table 3 and Table 4, 33rd paragraph and Table 5, 36th paragraph, the properties may include RI, MPI, and CQI).
Regarding claim 20, Mondal discloses that wherein the one or more settings include: one or more first CSI resource settings indicating the first group of one or more resources (Fig. 3A, block 305, first CSI-RS resource); and one or more second CSI resource settings indicating the second group of one or more resources (Fig. 3A, block 310, second CSI-RS resource).
Regarding claim 21, Mondal discloses that wherein the one or more first CSI resource settings indicate the first group of one or more resources in one or more CSI resource sets (20th paragraph, CSI-RS Resource Set includes CSI-RS Resource A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6, 12, 13, 16, 19, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mondal in view of Muruganathan et al (US 2025/0159518 A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Mondal discloses configuring UE with CSI-RS resources for serving and non-serving TRPs (Figs. 3A and 3B). Mondal does not disclose that wherein the one or more settings indicate one or more sub-groups among the first group of one or more resources, and wherein the one or more settings indicate one or more transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states associated with the first group of one or more resources. Muruganathan discloses receiving configuration wherein each of the multiple CSI-RS resources for channel measurement is associated with TCI state (210th paragraph) and a subset of multiple CSI-RS resources using a respective TCI state (214th paragraph). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to indicate a TCI state for each CSI-RS resource or a subset of CSI-RS resources in Mondal’s system, as suggested by Muruganathan, to define spatial properties and beam characteristics of reference signals transmitted in CSI-RS resources.
Regarding claims 6 and 19, Mondal discloses that wherein the one or more settings indicate a report quantity associated with the CSI, the first group of one or more resources is associated with a set of one or more properties associated with the second group of one or more resources to report via the CSI (12th paragraph, CSI information may include information about report quantities the TRP expects the UE to calculate and report back to the TRP. As illustrated in Table 3 and Table 4, 33rd paragraph and Table 5, 36th paragraph, the properties may include RI, PMI, and CQI. Also, according to 20th paragraph, CSI-RS resource B is configured for TRP in the non-serving cell and CSI-RS resource A is configured for serving cell. CSI-RS resource A and CSI-RS resource B may be the same. This implies that the RI, PMI, and CQI are associated with first group of one or more resources and second group of one or more resources to report via the CSI). Mondal does not disclose one or more sub-groups associated with the first group of one or more resources. Muruganathan discloses a subset of multiple CSI-RS resources using a respective TCI state (214th paragraph). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to indicate a TCI state for a subset of CSI-RS resource or a subset of CSI-RS resources in Mondal’s system, as suggested by Muruganathan, to define spatial properties and beam characteristics of reference signals transmitted in CSI-RS resources.
Regarding claims 12, 13, 26, and 27, Mondal discloses configuring UE with CSI-RS resources for serving and non-serving TRPs (Figs. 3A and 3B). Mondal does not disclose that wherein the one or more settings indicate one or more sub-groups among the second group of one or more resource via a CSI resource setting, a CSI resource set or a sub-group identifier and each of the one or more sub-groups is associated with a control resource set (CORESET) pool identifier or a transmission reception point (TRP). Muruganathan discloses receiving configuration wherein a subset of multiple CSI-RS resources using a respective TCI state (214th paragraph) and configuration may be received from a TRP (Fig. 8). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to indicate a subset of CSI-RS resources from a TRP in Mondal’s system, as suggested by Muruganathan, to define spatial properties and beam characteristics of reference signals transmitted in CSI-RS resources.
Claims 9 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mondal in view of Sun et al (US Patent No. 12,250,646 B2).
Regarding claims 9 and 22, Mondal discloses configuring UE with CSI-RS resources for serving and non-serving TRPs (Figs. 3A and 3B). Mondal does not disclose that wherein the processor is further configured to: identify one or more sub-groups among the first group of one or more resources based on one or more criteria associated with the first group of one or more resources; and transmit, to a network entity, an indication of the one or more sub-groups. Sun discloses that the UE may convey a subset of CSI-RS resource index (105th paragraph. Herein, CSI-RS resource is the criteria among a plurality of resources). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to identify and transmit a subset of CSI-RS resource to the base station in Mondal’s system, as suggested by Sun, to help base station in detecting and monitoring synchronization signals.
Claims 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mondal in view of Echigo et al (US 2025/0219696 A1).
Regarding claims 23 and 24, Mondal discloses configuring UE with CSI-RS resources for serving and non-serving TRPs (Figs. 3A and 3B). Mondal does not disclose that wherein the processor is further configured to: output an indication to train one or more machine learning models for generating the first CSI at a user equipment and/or wherein the processor is further configured to: obtain an indication of one or more trained machine learning models for generating the first CSI at a user equipment. Echigo discloses that the UE receives command for indicating training of model and information for training of model (Fig. 5) and information as to which model is to be used and applies the model for generating the CSI feedback according to received information (127th paragraph and Fig. 4B). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to indicate training one or more models and/or indicate a trained model for generating CSI in Mondal’s system, as suggested by Echigo, to improve accuracy in CSI feedback.
Regarding claim 25, Mondal discloses configuring UE with CSI-RS resources for serving and non-serving TRPs (Figs. 3A and 3B). Mondal does not that wherein the processor is further configured to: obtain second CSI associated with the second group of one or more resources based at least in part on the second group of one or more resources; train a machine learning model based on the second CSI; and schedule one or more transmissions for a user equipment using the trained machine learning model. Echigo discloses encoding CSI based on one or more resources, training a machine learning model based on CSI, and reports the encoded CSI to the network (Fig. 4B). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to process CSI, train model based on CSI, and report CSI in Mondal’s system, as suggested by Echigo, to improve accuracy in CSI feedback.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Li et al (US 2025/0088887 A1), same assignee, discloses CSI resource configuration and CSI report setting (Figs. 15-19).
ANH VU H. LY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2472
/ANH VU H LY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472