DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shen et al. (US 2019/0357112 A1). Regarding claims 1, 14, Shen et al. discloses a cell switching method, comprising: receiving a cell switching signaling, and acquiring a variation amplitude of a signal strength of a current camp cell of a mobile terminal (Para 169, Para 171-172, Para 188-189 teaches of determining the signal strength of the current cell by measuring the increase in amplitude or the decrease in amplitude) ; and determining to continuously register in the current camp cell, in response to determining that the variation amplitude of the signal strength of the current camp cell does not meet a signal strength weakening condition (Para 227-228 teaches of a condition where the signal strength of the camping cell meet the threshold i.e. it is not weakening). Regarding claim 2, 19, Shen et al. discloses a cell switching method, wherein the variation amplitude of the signal strength of the current camp cell not meeting the signal strength weakening condition comprises: the variation amplitude of the signal strength of the current camp cell indicates that the signal strength of the current camp cell is not weakened, or the variation amplitude of the signal strength of the current camp cell indicates that the signal strength of the current camp cell is weakened and an absolute value of the variation amplitude of the signal strength of the current camp cell is less than or equal to a first preset threshold (Para 169, Para 171-172, Para 188-189 teaches of determining the signal strength of the current cell by measuring the increase in amplitude or the decrease in amplitude) Regarding claim 3, Shen et al. discloses a cell switching method, wherein acquiring the variation amplitude of the signal strength of the current camp cell of the mobile terminal comprises: acquiring at least two signal strengths of the current camp cell that are pre- recorded; and determining the variation amplitude of the signal strength of the current camp cell according to the at least two signal strengths of the current camp cell (Para 169, Para 171-172, Para 188-189 teaches of determining the signal strength of the current cell by measuring the increase in amplitude or the decrease in amplitude and Para 3 “When cell reselection is performed, to avoid frequent ping-pong reselection, a principle of cell reselection is controlling an action of cell reselection of the terminal by using two parameters: hysteresis signal strength (which is usually 3 decibel-millivolts dBm) and a hysteresis time (which is usually set to 5 s). When received signal strength (for example, ˜72 dBm) of a target cell is greater than a sum of signal strength (−80 dBm) of a serving cell and the hysteresis signal strength (3 dBm), and duration is greater than the hysteresis time (for example, 5 s), cell reselection is started; otherwise, the terminal continues to camp on the current serving cell.”. Regarding claims 13, Shen et al. discloses a An electronic device, comprising: at least one processor; and a memory having stored thereon at least one program which, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the at least one processor (See Fig 12 items 21 and 22) to: receive a cell switching signaling, and acquire a variation amplitude of a signal strength of a current resident cell of a mobile terminal (Para 169, Para 171-172, Para 188-189 teaches of determining the signal strength of the current cell by measuring the increase in amplitude or the decrease in amplitude); and determine to continuously reside in the current resident cell, in response to determining that the variation amplitude of the signal strength of the current resident cell does not meet a signal strength weakening condition. (Para 227-228 teaches of a condition where the signal strength of the camping cell meet the threshold i.e. it is not weakening).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. (US 2019/0357112 A1) in view of Azizi et al. (US 2019/0364492 A1). Regarding claims 12, 17, 18, Shen et al. discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1 above. Shen et el. does not explicitly discloses a cell switching method, before receiving the cell switching signaling, further comprising pre-recording cell information of a current registered cell or the current camp cell; wherein the cell information comprises: cell identification information, a signal strength, and a data transmission rate. However Azizi et al. discloses a cell switching method, before receiving the cell switching signaling, further comprising pre-recording cell information of a current registered cell or the current camp cell; wherein the cell information comprises: cell identification information, a signal strength, and a data transmission rate (377-381 teaches of cell specific information such as Cell ID, maximum data rate, and radio measurements). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the method of using cell specific information of Azizi et al. with the system of Shen et al. in order to provide a system that optimizes data speeds while ensuring network stability.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-11, 15, 16 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AJAY CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467