DETAILED ACTION
This Action is responsive to the Application filed on 8/6/2024. Claims 1-19 and 23 are pending in the case.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-12, 18-19, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang et al. (US 20160313869 A1, hereinafter Jang).
As to independent claim 1, Jang teaches a display method, wherein the method comprises:
displaying, by an electronic device (watch 200), a first interface in a first region of a display (Fig. 7, watch image 710);
receiving, by the electronic device, a first operation (“receiving a preset gesture input through a main body of the smart watch 200” paragraph 0144); and
in response to the first operation, displaying, by the electronic device, a second interface in a second region of the display (“the smart watch 200 may reduce a watch image” paragraph 0146, Fig. 7), and displaying-a third interface in a third region of the display, wherein reminder tags corresponding to one or more schedule items are displayed on the third interface (“upon receiving a preset gesture input through a main body of the smart watch 200, the smart watch 200 may enter a moving circle mode for effectively displaying predetermined notification information. For example, as illustrated in (a) and (b) of FIGS. 7, upon receiving a gesture input 720 of touching and dragging a bezel portion of a main body 201 or a gesture input 730 of tapping a portion of the main body 201 a predetermined number of times, the smart watch 200 may enter a moving circle mode.” Paragraph 0144-0145, Fig. 8, notification events 820,830 displayed in an empty circular space of the display), wherein
the second region and the first region have a same central point, the third region is a ring region surrounding a periphery of the second region, and the third region does not overlap the second region (“the smart watch 200 may reduce a watch image, display the reduced watch image in a central portion or an edge portion of a display, and display notification information in a surrounding region of the reduced watch image.” Paragraph 0146).
As to dependent claim 5, Jang teaches the method according to claim 1, Jang further teaches wherein the first operation is a pinch-in operation that is performed on the first interface (“It will be apparent to those skilled in the art that the smart watch 200 may enter a moving circle mode using various gesture inputs other than the illustrated gesture inputs 720 and 730.” Paragraph 0145), or the first operation is an operation performed on a crown of the electronic device.
As to dependent claim 6, Jang teaches the method according to claim 1, Jang further teaches wherein the first region is a complete display region of the display (image 710 displayed on a complete display region of the watch 200), and the first region comprises the second region (As shown in Fig. 7, image 200 size is reduced and displayed on the display) and the third region (Fig. 7 displays an empty space surrounding the resized image 200).
As to dependent claim 7, Jang teaches the method according to claim 1, Jang further teaches wherein content displayed on the second interface is the same as content displayed on the first interface (image 420 in Fig. 4(b) displays the same content as image 410 in fig. 4(a)), and a size of the second interface is less than a size of the first interface (image 420 is smaller than image 410).
As to dependent claim 8, Jang teaches the method according to claim 1, Jang further teaches wherein content displayed on the second interface is different from content displayed on the first interface (image 1380 in fig. 13 displays different content), and a size of the second interface is less than a size of the first interface (image 420 is smaller than image 410).
As to dependent claim 9, Jang teaches the method according to claim 1, Jang further teaches wherein display forms of reminder tags corresponding to different types of schedule items are different, and the display forms of the reminder tags comprise one or more of the following elements: a graph, brightness, a color, a shape, a size, a shadow, or transparency (“FIG. 9, the smart watch 200 may divide the surrounding region 920 of the watch image 910 into three regions 921, 922, and 923 corresponding to a type of notification information and display the three division regions with different colors.” paragraph 0153).
As to dependent claim 10, Jang teaches the method according to claim 1, Jang further teaches wherein the reminder tags corresponding to the one or more schedule items comprise a first reminder tag corresponding to a first schedule item; and after the displaying, by the electronic device, the third interface in the third region of the display, the method further comprises:
receiving, by the electronic device, a second operation for the first reminder tag (receiving a user input 1375 on notification 1360 in Fig. 13, paragraph 0169); and
displaying, by the electronic device in the second region of the display in response to the second operation, first schedule information corresponding to the first schedule item (“Upon receiving a user input 1375 for touching first notification information 1360 among the notification information items 1330 to 1370 and then dragging the first notification information 1360 into a central direction of the watch image 1310, the smart watch 200 may replace the watch image 1310 with a notification information image 1380 and replace the first notification information 1360 with a reduced watch image (i.e., a watch icon 1390).” Paragraph 0169).
As to dependent claim 11, Jang teaches the method according to claim 8, Jang further teaches wherein the second interface comprises options of the one or more schedule items, and the options of the one or more schedule items comprise a first option corresponding to the first schedule item; and after the displaying, by the electronic device, the third interface in the third region of the display, the method further comprises:
receiving, by the electronic device, a third operation for the first option (receiving a user input 1375 on notification 1360 in Fig. 13, paragraph 0169); and
displaying, by the electronic device in the second region of the display in response to the third operation, first schedule information corresponding to the first schedule item(“Upon receiving a user input 1375 for touching first notification information 1360 among the notification information items 1330 to 1370 and then dragging the first notification information 1360 into a central direction of the watch image 1310, the smart watch 200 may replace the watch image 1310 with a notification information image 1380 and replace the first notification information 1360 with a reduced watch image (i.e., a watch icon 1390).” Paragraph 0169).
As to dependent claim 12, Jang teaches the method according to claim 11, Jang wherein the display is a touchscreen; and the receiving, by the electronic device, the third operation for the first option comprises:
receiving, by the electronic device, the third operation for the first option through the touchscreen (“receiving a user input 1375 for touching first notification information 1360.” Paragraph 0169).
As to dependent claim 18. Jang teaches the method according to claim 1, Jang further teaches wherein after the displaying, by the electronic device, the third interface in the third region of the display, the method further comprises:
receiving, by the electronic device, a sixth operation (“the previous icon 1945 displayed in the empty space 1920 of the display unit 251 is selected,” paragraph 0201); and
in response to the sixth operation, stopping, by the electronic device, displaying the third interface in the third region of the display, and displaying the first interface in the first region (“When the previous icon 1945 displayed in the empty space 1920 of the display unit 251 is selected, the smart watch 200 may restore the watch image 1910 to an original position and/or size.” Paragraph 0201).
As to dependent claim 19. Jang teaches the method according to claim 1, Jang further teaches wherein the electronic device is a wearable device; and
a shape of the display of the electronic device is any one of a circle, an ellipse, a square, a rectangle, a diamond, or a trapezoid (Fig. 2, Fig. 4, the shape of the smart watch 200 is circle).
Claim 23 is substantially the same as claim 1 and is therefore rejected under similar rationale as above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. in view of Kim et al. (US 20170269715, hereinafter Kim).
As to dependent claim 2, Jang teaches the method according to claim 1, Jang does not appear to expressly teaches wherein that reminder tags corresponding to one or more schedule items are displayed on the third interface specifically comprises:
reminder tags corresponding to one or more schedule items on a first date are displayed on at least one of a first ring or a second ring of the third interface.
Kim teaches weather corresponding to a first date are displayed on at least one of a first ring or a second ring of the third interface (“The mobile terminal can control hourly information 1330 on yesterday's weather and today's weather to be output according to the rotation of the crown 242.” Paragraph 0252).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jang to comprise wherein that reminder tags corresponding to one or more schedule items are displayed on the third interface specifically comprises: reminder tags corresponding to one or more schedule items on a first date are displayed on at least one of a first ring or a second ring of the third interface. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user experience with using small screen devices.
As to dependent claim 3, Jang teaches the method according to claim 2, Jang does not appear to expressly teach wherein that reminder tags corresponding to one or more schedule items on a first date are displayed on a first ring and/or a second ring of the third interface specifically comprises at least one of:
reminder tags corresponding to one or more schedule items from 00:00 to 12:00 on the first date are displayed on the first ring of the third interface; or
reminder tags corresponding to one or more schedule items from 12:00 to 24:00 on the first date are displayed on the second ring of the third interface.
Kim teaches weather corresponding to one or more schedule items from 00:00 to 12:00 on the first date are displayed on the first ring of the third interface (“The mobile terminal can control hourly information 1330 on yesterday's weather and today's weather to be output according to the rotation of the crown 242.” Paragraph 0252, Fig. 13b); or
reminder tags corresponding to one or more schedule items from 12:00 to 24:00 on the first date are displayed on the second ring of the third interface.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jang to comprise wherein that reminder tags corresponding to one or more schedule items on a first date are displayed on a first ring and/or a second ring of the third interface specifically comprises at least one of: reminder tags corresponding to one or more schedule items from 00:00 to 12:00 on the first date are displayed on the first ring of the third interface. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user experience with using small screen devices.
As to dependent claim 4, Jang teaches the method according to claim 2, Jang further teaches wherein a display location of the reminder tag corresponding to the schedule item on the first ring and/or the second ring indicates time corresponding to the schedule item (“the smart watch 200 may display notification information 820 in an empty space of a display, corresponding to occurrence time of the notification event.” Paragraph 0147).
As to dependent claim 13, Jang teaches the method according to claim 11, Jang does not appear to expressly teach wherein the electronic device further comprises a crown; and the receiving, by the electronic device, the third operation for the first option comprises:
receiving, by the electronic device, the third operation for the first option through the crown.
Kim teaches receiving, by the electronic device, the third operation for the first option through the crown (Fig. 13b, rotating the crown 242, paragraph 0252).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jang to comprise the third operation for the first option comprises: receiving, by the electronic device, the third operation for the first option through the crown. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user experience with using small screen devices.
As to dependent claim 14, Jang teaches the method according to claim 2, Jang does not appear to expressly teach wherein after the displaying, by the electronic device, the third interface in the third region of the display, the method further comprises:
receiving, by the electronic device, a fourth operation; and
displaying, by the electronic device, a fourth interface in the third region of the display in response to the fourth operation, wherein reminder tags corresponding to one or more schedule items on a second date are displayed on at least one of a first ring or a second ring of the fourth interface, and the second date is one day before or after the first date.
Kim teaches receiving, by the electronic device, a fourth operation (“the mobile terminal can sense a second input signal 1320b for rotating the crown 242” paragraph 0253); and
displaying, by the electronic device, a fourth interface in the third region of the display in response to the fourth operation, wherein weather corresponding to a second date are displayed on at least one of a first ring or a second ring of the fourth interface, and the second date is one day before or after the first date (“Further, referring to FIG. 13 (c), the mobile terminal can sense a second input signal 1320b for rotating the crown 242 in a second direction with a second speed. In this instance, the mobile terminal can control overall comparison information 1340 on yesterday's weather and today's weather to be output according to the rotation of the crown 242.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jang to comprise wherein after the displaying, by the electronic device, the third interface in the third region of the display, the method further comprises: receiving, by the electronic device, a fourth operation; and displaying, by the electronic device, a fourth interface in the third region of the display in response to the fourth operation, wherein reminder tags corresponding to one or more schedule items on a second date are displayed on at least one of a first ring or a second ring of the fourth interface, and the second date is one day before or after the first date. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user experience with using small screen devices.
As to dependent claim 15. Jang teaches the method according to claim 14, Jang further teaches wherein after the displaying, by the electronic device, the fourth interface in the third region of the display, the method further comprises:
displaying, by the electronic device, first prompt information, wherein the first prompt information is used to prompt that the reminder tags are the reminder tags corresponding to the one or more schedule items on the current .
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. in view Jon et al. (US 20150347983 A1, hereinafter Jon).
As to dependent claim 16. Jang teaches the method according to claim 1, Jang does not appear to expressly teach wherein after the displaying, by the electronic device, the third interface in the third region of the display, the method further comprises:
receiving, by the electronic device, a fifth operation;
displaying, by the electronic device, a month view in the first region or the second region in response to the fifth operation, wherein the month view displays identifiers of a plurality of dates; and
receiving and responding to, by the electronic device, an input operation for an identifier of a third date on the month view, and displaying, by the electronic device, a fifth interface in the third region of the display, wherein reminder tags corresponding to one or more schedule items on the third date are displayed on at least one of a first ring or a second ring of the fifth interface.
Jon teaches receiving, by the electronic device, a fifth operation (“The tabs 2410 allow the user to switch between different views of the user's schedule, including the monthly view” Paragraph 0194);
displaying, by the electronic device, a month view in the first region, wherein the month view displays identifiers of a plurality of dates (FIG. 24 illustrates a monthly view GUI 2400 of a user's schedule, paragraph 0194); and
receiving and responding to, by the electronic device, an input operation for an identifier of a third date on the month view (Fig. 25, the current date, May 15, is selected in the monthly schedule 2420) , and displaying, by the electronic device, a fifth interface in the third region of the display (Fig. 25, region 2535), wherein reminder tags corresponding to one or more schedule items on the third date are displayed on at least one of a first ring or a second ring of the fifth an interface (“The schedule view 2535 displays the user's schedule for the day selected in the miniaturized month view. In some embodiments, the schedule view 2535 shows the current time (and automatically begins at the current time), and is scrollable. The schedule view 2535 displays appointment representations for the scheduled appointments in the user's calendar.” Paragraph 0198).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jang to comprise wherein after the displaying, by the electronic device, the third interface in the third region of the display, the method further comprises: receiving, by the electronic device, a fifth operation; displaying, by the electronic device, a month view in the first region or the second region in response to the fifth operation, wherein the month view displays identifiers of a plurality of dates; and receiving and responding to, by the electronic device, an input operation for an identifier of a third date on the month view, and displaying, by the electronic device, a fifth interface in the third region of the display, wherein reminder tags corresponding to one or more schedule items on the third date are displayed on at least one of a first ring or a second ring of the fifth interface. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user experience with using small screen devices.
As to dependent claim 17. Jang teaches the method according to claim 16, Jang does not appear to expressly teach wherein after the receiving, by the electronic device, the fifth operation, the method further comprises:
displaying, by the electronic device, a sixth interface or the first interface in the second region of the display, wherein the sixth interface comprises options of the one or more schedule items on the third date.
Jon teaches displaying, by the electronic device, a sixth interface or the first interface in the second region of the display, wherein the sixth interface comprises options of the one or more schedule items on the third date (Fig. 25, The miniaturized month view 2525 shows the current day in the calendar and can be used to select a day for the other two calendar views 2530 and 2535. The upcoming appointments’ view 2530 displays upcoming appointments for the user's schedule, starting with the day selected in the miniaturized month view 2525. The schedule view 2535 displays the user's schedule for the day selected in the miniaturized month view).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jang to comprise wherein after the receiving, by the electronic device, the fifth operation, the method further comprises: displaying, by the electronic device, a sixth interface or the first interface in the second region of the display, wherein the sixth interface comprises options of the one or more schedule items on the third date. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user experience with using small screen devices.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Suy et al. US 20140347289 A1 teaches method for displaying schedule on wearable device.
Loi et al. US 10528220 B2 teaches an electronic device and operation method of browsing notification.
/MAHELET SHIBEROU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171