DETAILED ACTION
Applicant(s) Response to Official Action
The response filed on September 29, 2026 has been entered and made of record. Claims 1, 5, 6, 8, 11, 12, 14, 15, 17, 18 and 20 have been amended. Claims 2, 13, 16 and 19 have been canceled. Claims 21-24 are newly added. Claims 1, 3-12, 14, 15, 17, 18 and 20-24 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments see pages 8 - 13 with respect to the rejection of Claims -4 and 6-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by PALUBIAK et al. (US 2021/0302553 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of the newly discovered reference to wherein the second predetermined time period differs from the first predetermined time period: the second light detection element differs from the first light detection element: both the first predetermined time period and the second predetermined time period are within the first frame: and the third time period is the one of the first predetermined time period and the second predetermined time period for which a greater number of light events has been determined, as claimed in the amended Claims 1 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 - 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sharma et al. (US 2020/0158837 A1) referred to as Sharma hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, Sharma discloses time-of-flight light event detection circuitry (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Par. [0029] an imaging assembly 26 measures the TOF (Time-of-flight) of the photons reflected from the object) configured to:
determine, in a macropixel mode (Par. [0024] In the coarse measurement phase (i.e. macropixel mode), covering a first sequence of acquisition periods in each frame, the controller sweeps the gating interval over the acquisition periods, in order to test (i.e. determine) a range of different gating intervals), for a first frame (Fig. 4, Par. [0040] The method of FIGS. 3 and 4 is typically performed repetitively over a series of image frames. FIG. 4 illustrates a typical frame 90 in the series, which begins at a frame start step 80) for a first predetermined time period (Par. [0041], for the sequence of acquisition periods 98, sub-window manager 62 successively sets the gating interval to occur at different delay values relative to the laser pulse that starts the acquisition period. These delay values are labeled in the figure as S1 (i.e. first predetermined time period), S2, . . . , S15, typically with a group 100 of acquisition periods 98 assigned to each different delay value. The start times of the gating periods in successive groups 100 may be incremented by 1-10 ns (i.e. predetermined time) from one group to the next, depending on the desired time resolution), light events of light being incident on a first light detection element (Par. [0007] A controller is configured to control the gating generator during a first sequence of the acquisition periods so as to sweep the gating interval over the acquisition periods and to identify, responsively to the signal from each sensing element (i.e. first light detection element) during the first sequence of the acquisition periods, a respective detection window (i.e. light events) for the sensing element);
determine, in the macropixel mode (Par. [0024] In the coarse measurement phase (i.e. macropixel mode), covering a first sequence of acquisition periods in each frame, the controller sweeps the gating interval over the acquisition periods, in order to test (i.e. determine) a range of different gating intervals. Fig. 4, Par. [0040] The method of FIGS. 3 and 4 is typically performed repetitively over a series of image frames. FIG. 4 illustrates a typical frame 90 in the series, which begins at a frame start step 80), for the first frame for a second predetermined time period (Par. [0041], for the sequence of acquisition periods 98, sub-window manager 62 successively sets the gating interval to occur at different delay values relative to the laser pulse that starts the acquisition period. These delay values are labeled in the figure as S1, S2 (i.e. first predetermined time period), . . . , S15, typically with a group 100 of acquisition periods 98 assigned to each different delay value. The start times of the gating periods in successive groups 100 may be incremented by 1-10 ns (i.e. predetermined time) from one group to the next, depending on the desired time resolution), light events of light being incident on a second light detection element (Par. [0007] A controller is configured to control the gating generator during a first sequence of the acquisition periods so as to sweep the gating interval over the acquisition periods and to identify, responsively to the signal from each sensing element (i.e. second light detection element) during the first sequence of the acquisition periods, a respective detection window (i.e. light events) for the sensing element); and
determine, in a window mode, based on the macropixel mode, for a second frame after the resulting first frame (Par. [0025] the detection window that is identified for each pixel during the coarse measurement phase of each frame, and thus the detection window that is applied in the fine measurement phase, can typically change over the series of the image frames (i.e. second frame)), a third time period in which light events are to be detected (Par. [0025] When this coarse measurement is completed, the fine measurement phase (i.e. window mode) begins, comprising a second sequence of acquisition periods, following the first sequence. In the fine measurement phase, the controller fixes the gating interval for each sensing element to coincide with the respective detection window (i.e. third time period) that was found in the coarse measurement phase), wherein
the second predetermined time period differs from the first predetermined time period (Fig. 4, S2 is different from S1, Par. [0041] sub-window manager 62 successively sets the gating interval to occur at different delay values relative to the laser pulse that starts the acquisition period. These delay values are labeled in the figure as S1, S2, . . . , S15, typically with a group 100 of acquisition periods 98 assigned to each different delay value. For example, the start times of the gating periods in successive groups 100 may be incremented by 1-10 ns from one group to the next, depending on the desired time resolution. To avoid possible edge effects, the delay values and gating periods are chosen so that the successive gating intervals, at different delay values, partially overlap);
the second light detection element differs from the first light detection element (Par. [0007] Each sensing element is configured to output a signal indicative of a time of incidence of a single photon on the sensing element during a certain gating interval in each of a succession acquisition periods. A controller is configured to control the gating generator during a first sequence of the acquisition periods so as to sweep the gating interval over the acquisition periods and to identify responsively to the signal from each sensing element (i.e. different light detection elements) during the first sequence of the acquisition periods, a respective detection window for the sensing element);
both the first predetermined time period and the second predetermined time period are within the first frame (Fig. 4, Par. [0040]-[0041] Each frame 90 comprises a succession of acquisition periods 98, 102, where delay values are labeled in the figure as S1 (i.e. first predetermined time period), S2 (i.e. second predetermined time period), . . . , S15, typically with a group 100 of acquisition periods 98 (i.e. predetermined time periods) assigned to each different delay value); and
the third time period is the one of the first predetermined time period and the second predetermined time period (Par. [0043] Controller 72 instructs sub-window manager 62 to fix the gating interval for pixel 50 to coincide with this detection window for the duration of a fine measurement phase 94, at a window-fixing step 86. Par. [0046] during acquisition periods 102 in fine measurement phase 94, sub-window manager 62 sets gating interval 110 (i.e. third time period) to coincide with detection window 112, as illustrated by the final traces in FIG. 5) for which a greater number of light events has been determined (Fig. 6, Par. [0047] Each bin 122 contains the count of photons received by SPAD 52 at a corresponding time delay within gating interval 110 (which is set to coincide with detection window 112). The time of arrival for this pixel corresponds to a peak 124 (i.e. greater number) of the histogram).
Regarding Claim 2, it has been cancelled.
Regarding Claim 3, Sharma discloses Claim 1. Sharma further discloses wherein the first and the second light detection elements include a single photon avalanche diode (Fig. 2, Par. [0032] Sensing element 40 comprises a SPAD 52 (single-photon avalanche diodes)).
Regarding Claim 4, Sharma discloses Claim 3. Sharma further discloses wherein the light events are determined based on at least one histogram (Fig. 6, Par. [0047] Each bin 122 contains the count of photons received by SPAD 52 at a corresponding time delay within gating interval 110 (which is set to coincide with detection window 112). The time of arrival for this pixel corresponds to a peak 124 of the histogram).
Regarding Claim 5, Sharma discloses Claim 3. Sharma further discloses wherein the light events are determined based on at least two phase-shifted readout signals (Par. [0022] each frame is divided into two phases: a coarse measurement phase, in which the approximate TOF value for the pixel is estimated, followed by a fine measurement phase, in which a TOF histogram is captured within a narrow measurement window that is set on the basis of the approximate TOF found in the coarse phase. Par. [0034] during the initial part of each measurement frame, sub-window manager circuit 62 first sweeps the gating interval across the acquisition period during the coarse measurement phase. Based on the measurement results in this phase, controller 72 identifies the optimal detection window for this pixel 50. Controller 72 then instructs circuit 62 to set the gating interval for the fine measurement interval, which will occupy the remainder of the frame, to coincide with this detection window).
Regarding Claim 6, Sharma discloses Claim 4. Sharma further discloses wherein the third time period is determined based on a peak in the at least one histogram (Fig. 6, Par. [0047] Each bin 122 contains the count of photons received by SPAD 52 at a corresponding time delay within gating interval 110 (which is set to coincide with detection window 112) (i.e. third time period). The time of arrival for this pixel corresponds to a peak 124 of the histogram).
Regarding Claim 7, Sharma discloses Claim 1. Sharma further discloses wherein the third time period (Fig. 6, Par. [0047] Each bin 122 contains the count of photons received by SPAD 52 at a corresponding time delay within gating interval 110 (which is set to coincide with detection window 112) (i.e. third time period). The time of arrival for this pixel corresponds to a peak 124 of the histogram) is determined for at least one of the first and the second light detection elements (Par. [0025] the controller fixes the gating interval for each sensing element (i.e. first and second light detection elements) to coincide with the respective detection window that was found in the coarse measurement phase. Typically, the detection windows will differ from pixel to pixel, and the gating intervals of different sensing elements are accordingly set to different values during the fine measurement phase).
Regarding Claim 8, Sharma discloses Claim 1. Sharma further discloses wherein the third time period (Fig. 6, Par. [0047] Each bin 122 contains the count of photons received by SPAD 52 at a corresponding time delay within gating interval 110 (which is set to coincide with detection window 112) (i.e. third time period). The time of arrival for this pixel corresponds to a peak 124 of the histogram) is determined for the first and the second light detection elements (Par. [0025] the controller fixes the gating interval for each sensing element (i.e. first and second light detection elements) to coincide with the respective detection window that was found in the coarse measurement phase. Typically, the detection windows will differ from pixel to pixel, and the gating intervals of different sensing elements are accordingly set to different values during the fine measurement phase).
Regarding Claim 9, Sharma discloses Claim 1. Sharma further discloses wherein the third time period is determined for a third light detection element (Par. [0025] the controller fixes the gating interval for each sensing element (i.e. third light detection elements) to coincide with the respective detection window that was found in the coarse measurement phase. Typically, the detection windows will differ from pixel to pixel, and the gating intervals of different sensing elements are accordingly set to different values during the fine measurement phase).
Regarding Claim 10, Sharma discloses Claim 9. Sharma further discloses wherein, in the second frame, the light events of the first and the second light detection elements are determined for the first and the second time periods in the first frame (Par. [0025] the detection window that is identified for each pixel during the coarse measurement phase of each frame, and thus the detection window that is applied in the fine measurement phase, can typically change over the series of the image frames. Par. [0026] At the conclusion of the frame, the controller processes the histogram of the respective counts stored in the pixel memory in order to derive and output the respective time-of-arrival value for the corresponding sensing element).
Regarding Claim 11, Sharma discloses Claim 1. Sharma further discloses wherein, in the window mode, at least one of the first and the second light detection elements are quenched (Par. [0032] Sensing element 40 comprises a SPAD 52, with peripheral circuits 54 that issue driving signals to the SPAD, such as quenching and gating signals).
Regarding Claim 12, Sharma discloses Claim 1. Sharma further discloses further configured to: determine, for a third frame after the second frame (Par. [0040] The method of FIGS. 3 and 4 is typically performed repetitively (i.e. third frame after second frame) over a series of image frames), in the macropixel mode, a fourth time period (Par. [0046] during acquisition periods 102 in fine measurement phase 94, sub-window manager 62 sets gating interval 110 (i.e. fourth time period) to coincide with detection window 112, as illustrated by the final traces in FIG. 5), if a number of light events is below a predetermined threshold in the second frame (Par. [0042] Pixel controller 72 processes this histogram in order to identify the gating interval in which SPAD 52 actually received reflected laser pulses, at a laser finding step 84. If no such dominant bin (i.e. below predetermined threshold) is found in the histogram in memory 70 at step 84, controller 72 may instruct sub-window manager to return to step 82 and perform a further sweep. Alternatively, controller 72 may output a null TOF value for the pixel in question in this frame), for carrying out the window mode in a fourth frame after the third frame (Par. [0025] the detection window that is identified for each pixel during the coarse measurement phase of each frame (i.e. fourth frame), and thus the detection window (i.e. fourth timer period) that is applied in the fine measurement phase, can typically change over the series of the image frames (i.e. third frame)).
Regarding Claim 13, it has been cancelled.
Regarding Claim 14, Sharma discloses Claim 1. Sharma further discloses further comprising a plurality of light detection elements including the first and the second light detection element (Par. [0030] Sensor chip 36 comprises an array of sensing elements 40, such as SPAD sensors, each of which outputs a signal indicative of a time of incidence of a single photon on the sensing element during a gating interval in each of a succession of acquisition periods), the circuitry being further configured to: group a first subset of the plurality of light detection elements for carrying out the macropixel mode (Par. [0034] during the initial part of each measurement frame, sub-window manager circuit 62 first sweeps the gating interval (i.e. first group) across the acquisition period during the coarse measurement phase); and group a second subset of the plurality of light detection elements for carrying out the window mode (Par. [0034] Controller 72 then instructs circuit 62 to set the gating interval (i.e. second group) for the fine measurement interval, which will occupy the remainder of the frame, to coincide with this detection window).
Method Claims 15, 17, 18 and 20 are drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in Claims 1, 11, 12 and 14, respectively. Therefore method Claims 15, 17, 18 and 20 correspond to Claims 1, 11, 12 and 14, respectively and are rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used above.
Regarding Claim 21, Sharma discloses Claim 1. Sharma further discloses further comprising a plurality of light detection elements including the first light detection element and the second light detection element (Par. [0030] Sensor chip 36 comprises an array of sensing elements 40, such as SPAD sensors, each of which outputs a signal indicative of a time of incidence of a single photon on the sensing element during a gating interval in each of a succession of acquisition periods), the circuitry being further configured to:
determine, in the macropixel mode (Par. [0024] In the coarse measurement phase (i.e. macropixel mode), covering a first sequence of acquisition periods in each frame, the controller sweeps the gating interval over the acquisition periods, in order to test (i.e. determine) a range of different gating intervals), for the first frame, light events of light being incident on the plurality of light detection elements (Par. [0007] A controller is configured to control the gating generator during a first sequence of the acquisition periods so as to sweep the gating interval over the acquisition periods and to identify, responsively to the signal from each sensing element (i.e. first light detection element) during the first sequence of the acquisition periods, a respective detection window (i.e. light events) for the sensing element) respectively for a plurality of predetermined time periods including the first predetermined time period and the second predetermined time period (Par. [0041], for the sequence of acquisition periods 98, sub-window manager 62 successively sets the gating interval to occur at different delay values relative to the laser pulse that starts the acquisition period. These delay values are labeled in the figure as S1 (i.e. first predetermined time period), S2 (i.e. second predetermined time period), . . . , S15, typically with a group 100 of acquisition periods 98 assigned to each different delay value. The start times of the gating periods in successive groups 100 may be incremented by 1-10 ns (i.e. predetermined time) from one group to the next, depending on the desired time resolution), wherein
the plurality of predetermined time periods differ from one another (Fig. 4, S2 is different from S1, Par. [0041] sub-window manager 62 successively sets the gating interval to occur at different delay values relative to the laser pulse that starts the acquisition period. These delay values are labeled in the figure as S1, S2, . . . , S15, typically with a group 100 of acquisition periods 98 assigned to each different delay value. For example, the start times of the gating periods in successive groups 100 may be incremented by 1-10 ns from one group to the next, depending on the desired time resolution. To avoid possible edge effects, the delay values and gating periods are chosen so that the successive gating intervals, at different delay values, partially overlap), and
the plurality of predetermined time periods together span a detection range of the first frame (Fig. 4, Par. [0040]-[0041] Each frame 90 comprises a succession of acquisition periods 98, 102, each of which is synchronized to begin with emission of a pulse of light from illumination assembly 24. In a coarse measurement phase 92, sub-window manager 62 sweeps the gating interval of all sensing elements 40 in array 34 across the duration of acquisition periods 98).
Regarding Claim 22, Sharma discloses Claim 1. Sharma further discloses wherein the first predetermined time period and the second predetermined time period partially overlap each other (Fig. 4, Par. [0041] sub-window manager 62 successively sets the gating interval to occur at different delay values relative to the laser pulse that starts the acquisition period. These delay values are labeled in the figure as S1, S2, . . . , S15, typically with a group 100 of acquisition periods 98 assigned to each different delay value. For example, the start times of the gating periods in successive groups 100 may be incremented by 1-10 ns from one group to the next, depending on the desired time resolution. To avoid possible edge effects, the delay values and gating periods are chosen so that the successive gating intervals, at different delay values, partially overlap).
Regarding Claim 23, Sharma discloses Claim 1. Sharma further discloses wherein the circuitry is further configured to determine, in the window mode, for the second frame (Par. [0025] the detection window that is identified for each pixel during the coarse measurement phase of each frame, and thus the detection window that is applied in the fine measurement phase, can typically change over the series of the image frames (i.e. second frame)), light events of light being incident on the first light detection element and on the second light detection element, each for the third time period (Par. [0025] When this coarse measurement is completed, the fine measurement phase (i.e. window mode) begins, comprising a second sequence of acquisition periods, following the first sequence. In the fine measurement phase, the controller fixes the gating interval for each sensing element to coincide with the respective detection window (i.e. third time period) that was found in the coarse measurement phase), wherein
the first light detection element and the second light detection element are not operated in the macropixel mode in the second frame (Par. [0034] Controller 72 then instructs circuit 62 to set the gating interval for the fine measurement interval (i.e. not macropixel mode), which will occupy the remainder of the frame, to coincide with this detection window. Par. [0044] During a subsequent readout period 96, the histogram values are read out of memory 70 to pixel controller 72 or to controller 44, which processes the histogram at each pixel in order to extract the corresponding TOF value), and
a spatial resolution of the second frame (Par. [0025] thus the detection window that is applied in the fine measurement phase, can typically change over the series of the image frames) is higher than a spatial resolution of the first frame (Par. [0022] each frame is divided into two phases: a coarse measurement phase, in which the approximate TOF value for the pixel is estimated, followed by a fine measurement phase (i.e. higher spatial resolution), in which a TOF histogram is captured within a narrow measurement window that is set on the basis of the approximate TOF found in the coarse phase. The histogram can thus be constructed with high resolution within the measurement window. The use of this sort of gated detection is also advantageous in reducing the effect of background photons on TOF measurement, since photons arriving at the sensing elements before the gating period in any given acquisition period will be ignored).
Regarding Claim 24, Sharma discloses Claim 15. Sharma further discloses further comprising:
determining, in the window mode, for the second frame (Par. [0025] the detection window that is identified for each pixel during the coarse measurement phase of each frame, and thus the detection window that is applied in the fine measurement phase, can typically change over the series of the image frames (i.e. second frame)), light events of light being incident on the first light detection element and on the second light detection element, each for the third time period (Par. [0025] When this coarse measurement is completed, the fine measurement phase (i.e. window mode) begins, comprising a second sequence of acquisition periods, following the first sequence. In the fine measurement phase, the controller fixes the gating interval for each sensing element to coincide with the respective detection window (i.e. third time period) that was found in the coarse measurement phase), wherein
the first light detection element and the second light detection element are not operated in the macropixel mode in the second frame (Par. [0034] Controller 72 then instructs circuit 62 to set the gating interval for the fine measurement interval (i.e. not macropixel mode), which will occupy the remainder of the frame, to coincide with this detection window. Par. [0044] During a subsequent readout period 96, the histogram values are read out of memory 70 to pixel controller 72 or to controller 44, which processes the histogram at each pixel in order to extract the corresponding TOF value), and
a spatial resolution of the second frame (Par. [0025] thus the detection window that is applied in the fine measurement phase, can typically change over the series of the image frames) is higher than a spatial resolution of the first frame (Par. [0022] each frame is divided into two phases: a coarse measurement phase, in which the approximate TOF value for the pixel is estimated, followed by a fine measurement phase (i.e. higher spatial resolution), in which a TOF histogram is captured within a narrow measurement window that is set on the basis of the approximate TOF found in the coarse phase. The histogram can thus be constructed with high resolution within the measurement window. The use of this sort of gated detection is also advantageous in reducing the effect of background photons on TOF measurement, since photons arriving at the sensing elements before the gating period in any given acquisition period will be ignored).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Brian T. Pendleton, can be reached on (571) . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Susan E. Hodges/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425