DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“heat transfer unit” in claim 1.
“shape deformation unit” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "wherein an area occupied by the plurality of holes is formed to occupy 5 to 50% of a total area of the shape deformation unit, an area occupied by the plurality of grooves is formed to occupy 5 to 90% of the total area of the shape deformation unit". This limitation is unclear and confusing because there is no transition between the limitations (i.e. “and”, “or”, etc) thus making it unclear if the claim requires both or a single limitation. For examination purposes the examiner will interpret the claim as “or” in concordance with the other claims.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the other structure". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gong et al. (US 20230053018), hereinafter referred to as Gong.
Re claim 1, Gong teaches a heat transfer member comprising a carbon-based sheet (e.g. 11; ¶ 12, “the heat dissipation layer is made of graphene”) having an x-y plane,
wherein the carbon-based sheet comprises:
a heat transfer unit (A1) comprising a first part (see Fig 2, upper A1) and a second part (see Fig 2, lower A1), wherein the first part and the second part are spaced apart from each other in an x-axis direction (see Fig 2 when rotated 90 degrees); and
a shape deformation unit (A2), wherein the shape deformation unit is positioned between the first part and the second part and bent by an external force applied, wherein the first part and the second part have different heights (see Fig 4).
Re claim 2, Gong teaches the heat transfer member according to claim 1, wherein the heat transfer member has the first part and the second part attached to correspond to a first surface (surface of upper 10) and a second surface (surface of lower 10), wherein the first surface and the second surface are spaced apart from each other (see e.g. Fig 2), respectively, wherein at least one of the heights is different (see Fig 4), and heat is transferred from the first surface to the second surface.
Re claim 3, Gong teaches the heat transfer member according to claim 1, wherein the carbon-based sheet comprises at least one of a natural graphite sheet, an artificial graphite sheet, and a graphene sheet (e.g. ¶ 58, “A material of the heat dissipation layer 11 is graphene”).
Re claim 6, Gong teaches the heat transfer member according to claim 1, wherein the shape deformation unit is provided with at least one of a plurality of holes (111) to impart bending properties to the carbon-based sheet.
Re claim 13, Gong teaches the heat transfer member according to claim 6, wherein at least one of the plurality of holes are formed in a pattern, wherein the pattern is symmetrical with respect to any one reference line parallel to a y-axis direction within the shape deformation unit (see Fig 2 when rotated 90 degrees).
Re claim 14, Gong teaches the heat transfer member according to claim 13, wherein the pattern is formed, wherein a gap between adjacent holes or grooves increases from the reference line toward a boundary line between the shape deformation unit and each of the first part and the second part (see Fig 2 when rotated 90 degrees).
Re claim 15, Gong teaches the heat transfer member according to claim 1, further comprising a cover member (e.g. 14) provided with a flexible film covering an exposed surface of the carbon-based sheet (see ¶ 59, “The protection layer 14 is located on a side of the heat dissipation layer 11 away from the supporting layer 10”).
Re claim 16, Gong teaches the heat transfer member according to claim 1, further comprising a cohesive member (e.g. 13) for attachment to an adherend surface on any one surface of each of the first part and the second part (see ¶ 59, “The adhesive layer 13 is located between the supporting layer 10 and the heat dissipation layer 11”).
Re claim 17, Gong teaches the heat transfer member according to claim 1, further teaches
a heat transfer assembly (11) transferring heat from one of a first structure (see Fig 2, upper A1) and a second structure (see Fig 2, lower A1) spaced apart from each other to the other structure, comprising:
the first structure having a first surface;
the second structure having a second surface having at least one of a height different from the first surface (see Fig 4); and
the heat transfer member according to claim 1 disposed, wherein a region corresponding to the first part is in contact with at least part of the first surface of the first structure on any one surface in a thickness direction and a region corresponding to the second part is in contact with at least all of the second surface of the second structure on the one surface or an opposite surface of the one surface (see Fig 1-5),
Re claim 18, Gong teaches the heat transfer assembly according to claim 17, wherein the first structure and the second structure are each any one of a display panel (see ¶ 64, “a display device”).
Re claim 19, Gong teaches an electronic device comprising the heat transfer assembly according to claim 17 (see ¶ 64, “a display device”).
Re claim 20, Gong teaches the heat transfer assembly according to claim 17, wherein the heat transfer member has the first part and the second part attached to correspond to the first surface and the second surface, wherein the first surface and the second surface are spaced apart from each other, respectively, wherein at least one of the surface directions and the heights is different, and the heat is transferred from the first surface to the second surface (see e.g. Fig 1-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong.
Re claim 4, Gong teaches the heat transfer member according to claim 1. Gong does not teach the limitation of wherein the carbon-based sheet has a thickness of 10 to 500 μm. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to make the thickness of the carbon-based sheet to 10 to 500 μm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Re claim 5, Gong teaches the heat transfer member according to claim 1. Gong does not teach the limitation of wherein the shape deformation unit has a length of at least 20 μm, wherein the length is based on the x-axis direction. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to make the shape deformation unit to have a length of at least 20 μm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Re claim 7, Gong teaches the heat transfer member according to claim 1. Gong does not teach the limitation of wherein a gap between adjacent holes based on the x-axis direction is 100 to 2,000 μm. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to make a gap between adjacent holes based on the x-axis direction is 100 to 2,000 μm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Re claim 8, Gong teaches the heat transfer member according to claim 1. Gong does not teach the limitation of wherein an area occupied by the plurality of holes is formed to occupy 5 to 50% of a total area of the shape deformation unit. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to make the plurality of holes to occupy 5 to 50% of a total area of the shape deformation unit, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (see PTO-892).
/NELSON J NIEVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763 9/5/2026