Status of Claims
Claims 1-4 and 6-11 are currently pending in this application. Claim 5 is canceled.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The Reference Signs List [0078] is unclear because there is more reference signs used in the drawings and used in the specification than listed out in the list. Only reference signs 1, 10, 11, 20, 20A, 20B, 20C, 20D, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, and 27 are in the list when more are present in the drawings and earlier specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a control unit that controls (discloses the control device 10 can be configured using, for example, a computer such as a microcomputer, a peripheral circuit or a peripheral device of the computer, and the like. As illustrated in Fig. 6, the control device 10 includes a control unit 11 and a communication unit 12 as a functional configuration configured by a combination of hardware such as a computer and software such as a program executed by the computer [0027]) and a cooling device for supplying (discloses as includes pipes 301 to 310, and a pump, a heat exchanger, a plurality of control valves, one or a plurality of refrigerant temperature sensors, a plurality of flow rate sensors, and the like [0025]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-4 and 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the following underling limitations that have insufficient antecedent basis (Note: How the examiner interpreted the claim limitations in view of the 112b identified antecedent basis has been shown in the brackets [] in the claim limitations as follows.):
A control device comprising:
a control unit that controls each flow rate of a refrigerant distributed to each of a plurality of power converters each including a power module within a range in which each predetermined temperature of [each of] the [plurality of] power converters does not exceed each temperature management value,
wherein [each of] the [plurality of] power converter[s] further includes a current sensor, a forced air cooling device, and a temperature sensor for detecting a temperature in a housing of [each of] the [plurality of] power converter[s],
[wherein each of] the predetermined temperature[s] includes a temperature of the current sensor, and
[wherein] the control unit controls the flow rate [of the refrigerant] and a wind speed of the forced air cooling device based on an ambient temperature detected by the temperature sensor and an operating state of the current sensor.
It is unclear if the limitation “the power converters” is being referred to “each of a plurality of power converters” or “plurality of power converters”. It is unclear if the limitation “the power converter” is being referred to “each of a plurality of power converters” or one specific power converter out of the plurality. It is unclear if the limitation “the predetermined temperature” is being referred to “each predetermined temperature” or one specific predetermined temperature out of the plurality. It is unclear if the limitation “the flow rate” is being referred to “each flow rate of a refrigerant” or a flow rate of the forced air cooling device.
Claims 2-4 and 6-10 are further rejected for being dependent upon a rejected base Claim 1.
Claim 11 recites the following underling limitations that have insufficient antecedent basis (Note: How the examiner interpreted the claim limitations in view of the 112b identified antecedent basis has been shown in the brackets [] in the claim limitations as follows.):
A control method comprising:
controlling each flow rate of a refrigerant distributed to each of a plurality of power converters each including a power module within a range in which each predetermined temperature of [each of] the [plurality of] power converters does not exceed each temperature management value,
wherein [each of] the [plurality of] power converter[s] further includes a current sensor, a forced air cooling device, and a temperature sensor for detecting a temperature in a housing of [each of] the [plurality of] power converter[s],
[wherein each of] the predetermined temperature[s] includes a temperature of the current sensor, and
wherein, in the step of controlling, controlling the flow rate [of the refrigerant] and a wind speed of the forced air cooling device based on an ambient temperature detected by the temperature sensor and an operating state of the current sensor.
It is unclear if the limitation “the power converters” is being referred to “each of a plurality of power converters” or “plurality of power converters”. It is unclear if the limitation “the power converter” is being referred to “each of a plurality of power converters” or one specific power converter out of the plurality. It is unclear if the limitation “the predetermined temperature” is being referred to “each predetermined temperature” or one specific predetermined temperature out of the plurality. It is unclear if the limitation “the flow rate” is being referred to “each flow rate of a refrigerant” or a flow rate of the forced air cooling device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMAKAWA (JP-2019208732-A) in view of KING (US-20150305197-A1).
Regarding Claim 1, YAMAKAWA teaches a control device (processing circuit 24, FIG. 3) comprising:
a control unit (the processing circuit 24 has a monitoring function 24a and a control function 24b… Moreover, the control function 24b is an example of a control unit, FIG. 3 and [0064]) that controls each flow rate of a refrigerant distributed to each of a plurality of power [[converters]]1 each including a power module within a range in which each predetermined temperature of each of the plurality of power [[converters]]1 does not exceed each temperature management value (The control function 24b controls the flowrate of cooling water that cools each power device in order to suppress uneven heat generation between the first power device 21a and the second power device 21b. Specifically, the control function 24b controls each valve of the solenoid valve 26 based on the temperature of each power device detected by the monitoring function 24a, thereby controlling the flow rate of cooling water circulating in each flow path of the water-cooled plate, FIG. 3, and [0066]; Furthermore, although the above-described embodiment explains an example in which cooling water is used as a refrigerant, the embodiment is not limited to this. For example, a liquid other than cooling water may be used as the refrigerant, [0134]; In the following explanation, T1 is the temperature of the first power device 21a, T2 is the temperature of the second power device 21b, W1 is the flow rate of the cooling water used to cool the first power device 21a, W2 is the flow rate of the cooling water used to cool the second power device 21b, and W<sub>TOTAL</sub> is the total flow rate of the cooling water that can be supplied from the cooling device, [0068]; For example, as shown in FIG. 4, the control function 24b calculates the difference ΔT between T1 and T2 detected by the monitoring function 24a (step S101), [0069]; On the other hand, if the absolute value of ΔT is greater than ΔT<sub>TH</sub>, the control function 24b considers that the heat distribution between the first power device 21a and the second power device 21b is outside the acceptable range and performs the following processing; [0072])
wherein each of the plurality of power [[converter]]1 further includes a current sensor (In this case, for example, the monitoring function 24a detects the current flowing through each power device via a current sensor provided at the input or output terminal of each power device, [0129]), a forced air cooling device (In that case, for example, a forced-air cooling fan may be used instead of a solenoid valve, [0134]), and a temperature sensor for detecting a temperature in a housing of each of the plurality of power converters (The monitoring function 24a detects the temperature of the first power device 21a via the first temperature sensor 28a provided on the first power device 21a. Furthermore, the monitoring function 24a detects the temperature of the second power device 21b via the second temperature sensor 28b provided on the second power device 21b, [0065]),
wherein each of the predetermined temperatures includes a temperature of the current sensor2 (In the following explanation, T1 is the temperature of the first power device 21a, T2 is the temperature of the second power device 21b, W1 is the flow rate of the cooling water used to cool the first power device 21a, W2 is the flow rate of the cooling water used to cool the second power device 21b, and W<sub>TOTAL</sub> is the total flow rate of the cooling water that can be supplied from the cooling device, [0068]; For example, as shown in Fig. 4, the control function 24b calculates the difference ΔT between T1 and T2 detected by the monitoring function 24a (step S101), [0069]; On the other hand, if the absolute value of ΔT is greater than ΔT<sub>TH</sub>, the control function 24b considers that the heat distribution between the first power device 21a and the second power device 21b is outside the acceptable range and performs the following processing; [0072]), and
wherein the control unit controls the flow rate [[and a wind speed of the forced air cooling device]]3 based on an ambient temperature detected by the temperature sensor and an operating state of the current sensor (The monitoring function 24a detects the temperature of the first power device 21a via the first temperature sensor 28a provided on the first power device 21a. Furthermore, the monitoring function 24a detects the temperature of the second power device 21b via the second temperature sensor 28b provided on the second power device 21b, FIG. 3 and [0065]; The control function 24b controls the flow rate of cooling water that cools each power device in order to suppress uneven heat generation between the first power device 21a and the second power device 21b. Specifically, the control function 24b controls the flow rate of cooling water circulating through each flow path of the water cooling plate 25 by controlling each valve of the solenoid valve 26 based on the temperature of each power device detected by the monitoring function 24a.), FIG. 3 and [0066]; In this case, for example, the monitoring function 24a detects the current flowing through each power device via a current sensor provided at the input or output terminal of each power device, [0129]).
YAMAKAWA fails to teach that the power devices are specifically of power converters type and the control unit controls a wind speed of the forced air cooling device.
However, it is known by KING to teach: the power devices are specifically of power converters type (power converter modules 320 FIG. 3) and the control unit controls a wind speed of the forced air cooling device (According to some embodiments, the module controller circuits 322 in each of the power converter modules 322 may independently control their respective associated fan systems 324 based on load and thermal information generated by the respective power converter modules 320, FIG. 3 and [0027])
Additionally, KING teaches: wherein each of the plurality of power converter further includes a current sensor (Components of the power converter circuits 326 may include power semiconductor devices (e.g., IGBTs, power MOSFETs and the like), along with driver circuitry for the power semiconductor devices and associated components, such as heat sinks, temperature sensors, current sensors, voltage sensors, and the like, [0022]), a forced air cooling device (Each of the power converter modules 320 further includes a fan system 324, which may be configured to provide cooling air flow for the power converter circuit 326 and other components of the power converter module 320, FIG. 3 and [0024]), and a temperature sensor for detecting a temperature in a housing of each of the plurality of power converters (Each power converter module 326 may further include additional sensors 328, such as sensors that sense temperature of ambient air taken in by the fan system 324 and/or other cooling-related parameters, such as air pressure and/or flow rate, that communicate with the module controller circuit 322, FIG. 3 and [0024]); and wherein each of the predetermined temperatures includes a temperature of the current sensor2 (The UPS system 300 may further include additional system-level sensors that are interfaced to the system controller 310, such as one or more temperature sensors 340 that sense temperature of intake and/or exhaust air for the exhaust fan system 330 and/or temperatures of other parts of the enclosure environment, and load sensors 350 that sense loading of equipment served by the power converter modules 320, FIG. 3 and [0026]; For example, a module controller circuit 322 may control the speed of the associated module fan system 324 using heat sink temperature, ambient air temperature and loading (e.g., current level) information received from the module-level sensors 328 and the power converter circuit 326, FIG. 3 and [0027]).
YAMAKAWA and KING are in the same field as the invention being directed to controlling the temperature of the power device (i.e., inverters and/or converters). One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to combine the dynamic refrigerant cooling for a plurality of power devices of YAMAKAWA with the dynamic internal fan cooling in a plurality of power converters that has a separate exhaust fan of KING. The exhaust fan of KING and the dynamic refrigerant cooling of YAMAKAWA serve the same purpose of transferring away heat from the plurality of power converters/devices which would be the reason to swap one for the other. Doing so for the benefit of dynamically controlled cooling to balance the temperatures and avoid uneven cooling that could lead to damage (As described above, according to the first embodiment, the control function 24b controls the flow rate of cooling water that cools each power device in order to suppress uneven heat generation among multiple power devices connected in parallel, thereby enabling stable operation of the inverter device and reducing the risk of device damage, YAMAKAWA [0105]).
Regarding Claim 2, YAMAKAWA and KING teach the control device according to Claim 1,
KING further teaches wherein the control unit controls the flow rates in accordance with outputs of the power converters. (In response to detection either of these modes, the system controller 410 may, for example, reduce the speed of the exhaust fan system 440 and/or fan systems of the power converter modules 420 due to an anticipated reduced thermal output of the modules 420, thus potentially reducing power consumption by the exhaust fan system 440 and/or the module fan systems and augmenting power savings obtained by bypass the converter circuitry, FIG. 4 and [0011]).
Regarding Claim 9, YAMAKAWA and KING teach the control device according to Claim 1,
KING further teaches wherein the control unit is provided in any of the power converters (As further illustrated, the module controller circuits 322 of the power converter modules 320 are configured to communicate with a system controller 310 via a digital communications bus 315, FIG. 3 and [0025]).
Regarding Claim 10, YAMAKAWA teaches a control system (FIG 3) comprising:
a cooling device for supplying the refrigerant to each of the power converters (The solenoid valve 26 then distributes the cooling water supplied via the inlet pipe 27a from a cooling device (not shown) provided separately from or as part of the MRI device 100 to the first valve 26a and the second valve 26b, respectively. Then, the cooling water that has flowed through the first flow path 25a and the second flow path 25b of the water cooling plate 25 via the first valve 26a and the second valve 26b of the solenoid valve 26 is returned to the cooling device via the outlet pipe 27b, FIG. 3 and [0062]); and
YAMAKAWA and KING further teaches the control device according to Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 11, YAMAKAWA teaches A control method (the processing circuit 24 has a monitoring function 24a and a control function 24b… Moreover, the control function 24b is an example of a control unit, FIG. 3 and [0064]) comprising:
controlling each flow rate of a refrigerant distributed to each of a plurality of power [[converters]]4 each including a power module within a range in which each predetermined temperature of each of the plurality of [[power converters]]4 does not exceed each temperature management value (The control function 24b controls the flowrate of cooling water that cools each power device in order to suppress uneven heat generation between the first power device 21a and the second power device 21b. Specifically, the control function 24b controls each valve of the solenoid valve 26 based on the temperature of each power device detected by the monitoring function 24a, thereby controlling the flow rate of cooling water circulating in each flow path of the water-cooled plate, FIG. 3, and [0066]; Furthermore, although the above-described embodiment explains an example in which cooling water is used as a refrigerant, the embodiment is not limited to this. For example, a liquid other than cooling water may be used as the refrigerant, [0134]; In the following explanation, T1 is the temperature of the first power device 21a, T2 is the temperature of the second power device 21b, W1 is the flow rate of the cooling water used to cool the first power device 21a, W2 is the flow rate of the cooling water used to cool the second power device 21b, and W<sub>TOTAL</sub> is the total flow rate of the cooling water that can be supplied from the cooling device, [0068]; For example, as shown in FIG. 4, the control function 24b calculates the difference ΔT between T1 and T2 detected by the monitoring function 24a (step S101), [0069]; On the other hand, if the absolute value of ΔT is greater than ΔT<sub>TH</sub>, the control function 24b considers that the heat distribution between the first power device 21a and the second power device 21b is outside the acceptable range and performs the following processing; [0072]),
wherein each of the plurality of power [[converters]]4 further includes a current sensor (In this case, for example, the monitoring function 24a detects the current flowing through each power device via a current sensor provided at the input or output terminal of each power device, [0129]), a forced air cooling device (In that case, for example, a forced-air cooling fan may be used instead of a solenoid valve, [0134]), and a temperature sensor for detecting a temperature in a housing of each of the plurality of power converters (The monitoring function 24a detects the temperature of the first power device 21a via the first temperature sensor 28a provided on the first power device 21a. Furthermore, the monitoring function 24a detects the temperature of the second power device 21b via the second temperature sensor 28b provided on the second power device 21b, [0065]),
wherein each of the predetermined temperatures includes a temperature of the current sensor5 (In the following explanation, T1 is the temperature of the first power device 21a, T2 is the temperature of the second power device 21b, W1 is the flow rate of the cooling water used to cool the first power device 21a, W2 is the flow rate of the cooling water used to cool the second power device 21b, and W<sub>TOTAL</sub> is the total flow rate of the cooling water that can be supplied from the cooling device, [0068]; For example, as shown in FIG. 4, the control function 24b calculates the difference ΔT between T1 and T2 detected by the monitoring function 24a (step S101), [0069]; On the other hand, if the absolute value of ΔT is greater than ΔT<sub>TH</sub>, the control function 24b considers that the heat distribution between the first power device 21a and the second power device 21b is outside the acceptable range and performs the following processing; [0072]), and
wherein, in the step of controlling, controlling the flow rate of the refrigerant [[and a wind speed of the forced air cooling device]]6 based on an ambient temperature detected by the temperature sensor and an operating state of the current sensor (The monitoring function 24a detects the temperature of the first power device 21a via the first temperature sensor 28a provided on the first power device 21a. Furthermore, the monitoring function 24a detects the temperature of the second power device 21b via the second temperature sensor 28b provided on the second power device 21b, FIG. 3 and [0065]; The control function 24b controls the flow rate of cooling water that cools each power device in order to suppress uneven heat generation between the first power device 21a and the second power device 21b. Specifically, the control function 24b controls the flow rate of cooling water circulating through each flow path of the water cooling plate 25 by controlling each valve of the solenoid valve 26 based on the temperature of each power device detected by the monitoring function 24a.), FIG. 3 and [0066]; In this case, for example, the monitoring function 24a detects the current flowing through each power device via a current sensor provided at the input or output terminal of each power device, [0129]).
YAMAKAWA fails to teach that the power devices are specifically of power converters type and controlling a wind speed of the forced air cooling device.
However, it is known by KING to teach: the power devices are specifically of power converters type (power converter modules 320 FIG. 3) and controlling a wind speed of the forced air cooling device (According to some embodiments, the module controller circuits 322 in each of the power converter modules 322 may independently control their respective associated fan systems 324 based on load and thermal information generated by the respective power converter modules 320, FIG. 3 and [0027])
Additionally, KING teaches: wherein each of the plurality of power converter further includes a current sensor (Components of the power converter circuits 326 may include power semiconductor devices (e.g., IGBTs, power MOSFETs and the like), along with driver circuitry for the power semiconductor devices and associated components, such as heat sinks, temperature sensors, current sensors, voltage sensors, and the like, [0022]), a forced air cooling device (Each of the power converter modules 320 further includes a fan system 324, which may be configured to provide cooling air flow for the power converter circuit 326 and other components of the power converter module 320, FIG. 3 and [0024]), and a temperature sensor for detecting a temperature in a housing of each of the plurality of power converters (Each power converter module 326 may further include additional sensors 328, such as sensors that sense temperature of ambient air taken in by the fan system 324 and/or other cooling-related parameters, such as air pressure and/or flow rate, that communicate with the module controller circuit 322, FIG. 3 and [0024]); and wherein each of the predetermined temperatures includes a temperature of the current sensor2 (The UPS system 300 may further include additional system-level sensors that are interfaced to the system controller 310, such as one or more temperature sensors 340 that sense temperature of intake and/or exhaust air for the exhaust fan system 330 and/or temperatures of other parts of the enclosure environment, and load sensors 350 that sense loading of equipment served by the power converter modules 320, FIG. 3 and [0026]; For example, a module controller circuit 322 may control the speed of the associated module fan system 324 using heat sink temperature, ambient air temperature and loading (e.g., current level) information received from the module-level sensors 328 and the power converter circuit 326, FIG. 3 and [0027])
YAMAKAWA and KING are in the same field as the invention being directed to controlling the temperature of the power device (i.e., inverters and/or converters). One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to combine the dynamic refrigerant cooling for a plurality of power devices of YAMAKAWA with the dynamic internal fan cooling in a plurality of power converters that has a separate exhaust fan of KING. The exhaust fan of KING and the dynamic refrigerant cooling of YAMAKAWA serve the same purpose of transferring away heat from the plurality of power converters/devices which would be the reason to swap one for the other. Doing so for the benefit of dynamically controlled cooling to balance the temperatures and avoid uneven cooling that could lead to damage (As described above, according to the first embodiment, the control function 24b controls the flow rate of cooling water that cools each power device in order to suppress uneven heat generation among multiple power devices connected in parallel, thereby enabling stable operation of the inverter device and reducing the risk of device damage, YAMAKAWA [0105]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMAKAWA (JP-2019208732-A) in view of KING (US-20150305197-A1) and further in view of MORI (JP-2016146737-A).
Regarding Claim 3, YAMAKAWA and KING teach the control device according to Claim 1,
YAMAKAWA and KING fails to teach wherein the control unit controls the flow rates in accordance with efficiencies of the power converters.
However, it is known by MORI to teach: wherein the control unit controls the flow rates in accordance with efficiencies of the power converters (The control unit 8 also adjusts the intake volume of the internal intake fan 12 and the external intake fan 10 based on, for example, the internal air temperature and the external air temperature … The control unit 8 then decides to start intake or adjusts the amount of intake air through each fan based on the increase or decrease in the amount of power generated, but the details will be described later, FIG. 2 and [0043]; For example, if the conversion efficiency of the power conditioner unit 2 is 95%, then 5% will be converted and released as heat, [0045]; If we let Pin be the power generated, η be the conversion efficiency, and Tu be the increase in internal temperature, then Tu can be expressed as Tu = K × Pin × (1 - η), [0047]; Specifically, the control unit 8 calculates the rise in internal temperature based on the power generation detected by the power generation detection unit 7 … Alternatively, the amount of heat generated can be calculated from the conversion efficiency, and the resulting increase in internal temperature can be determined, [0049] ).
YAMAKAWA, KING, and MORI are in the same field as the invention being directed to controlling the temperature of the power device (i.e., inverters and/or converters). One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to combine the dynamic refrigerant cooling for a plurality of power devices of YAMAKAWA with the dynamic internal fan cooling in a plurality of power converters that has a separate exhaust fan of KING and with the control unit controlling flow rates taking into account efficiencies of the power converters of MORI. The exhaust fan of KING and the dynamic refrigerant cooling of YAMAKAWA serve the same purpose of transferring away heat from the plurality of power converters/devices which would be the reason to swap one for the other. Also controlling in accordance with efficiencies of the power converters of MORI is another characteristic of power converters that influence temperature due to being able to detect power generated and supplied. Doing so for the benefit of being able to more accurately predict the increase of the internal temperature due to a rise in temperature which is correlated to power generated. (Therefore, by detecting the power generated and supplied to the power conditioner unit 2 in the power generation detection unit 7, it is possible to predict the increase in internal temperature due to the temperature rise of the power conditioner unit 2, which is correlated with the power generated., MORI [0046]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMAKAWA (JP-2019208732-A) in view of KING (US-20150305197-A1) and further in view of SHINICHIRO (JP-6029796-B1).
Regarding Claim 4, YAMAKAWA et al. and KING et al. teach the control device Claim 1,
YAMAKAWA and KING fails to teach wherein the predetermined temperature includes a junction temperature of the power module, and
the control unit estimates the junction temperature based on a temperature of the refrigerant, a thermal resistance of the power module, and a loss of the power module in consideration of temperature dependency.
However, it is known by SHINICHIRO to teach: wherein the predetermined temperature includes a junction temperature of the power module7 (The control circuit 104 includes a power loss estimation unit 104-1 that estimates the power loss occurring in the main circuit 102 based on the current detection value detected by the output current detection unit 107, and a control circuit that associates the junction temperature of the main circuit 102 with the fluid flow rate and the load factor of the main circuit 102, [0014]), and
the control unit estimates the junction temperature based on a temperature of the refrigerant, a thermal resistance of the power module, and a loss of the power module in consideration of temperature dependency (wherein the control circuit comprises a junction temperature estimation unit that estimates the junction temperature of the main circuit as a junction temperature estimate value based on an estimated power loss value estimated based on a detected value of the output current of the main circuit, the temperature of fins that cool the main circuit, the flow rate of a fluid that cools the fins, and a detected value of the temperature of the fluid, [0006]).
YAMAKAWA, KING, and SHINICHIRO are in the same field as the invention being directed to controlling the temperature of the power device (i.e., inverters and/or converters). One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to combine the dynamic refrigerant cooling for a plurality of power devices of YAMAKAWA with the dynamic internal fan cooling in a plurality of power converters that has a separate exhaust fan of KING and with the estimating the junction temperature of SHINICHIRO. The exhaust fan of KING and the dynamic refrigerant cooling of YAMAKAWA serve the same purpose of transferring away heat from the plurality of power converters/devices which would be the reason to swap one for the other. Also estimating the junction temperature in SHINICHIRO provides more detailed thermal information about the interior of the power converter for more accurate comparisons. Doing so for the benefit of being able to more accurately compare the internal temperature to a determined value to be used to change factors such as fluid flow rate and current to influence cooling to protect the power converters. (When the temperature estimation unit 9 uses the current value detected by the output current detection unit 107 instead of the calculated load factor, it estimates the junction temperature of the main circuit 102, which is associated with the fluid flow rate, based on the power loss value and thermal resistance estimation value corresponding to the current value. Specifically, the temperature estimation unit 9 compares the estimated junction temperature with the determined junction temperature. If the estimated junction temperature is higher than the determined junction temperature (step S5, No), it reduces the detected current value to estimate the junction temperature, SHINICHIRO [0030]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMAKAWA (JP-2019208732-A) in view of KING (US-20150305197-A1) and further in view of MURAKAMI (JPH-06303767-A).
Regarding Claim 7, YAMAKAWA and KING teach the control device according to Claim 1,
YAMAKAWA and KING fails to teach wherein the control unit further controls a switching frequency of at least one of the power modules in accordance with efficiencies of the power converters.
However, it is known by MURAKAMI to teach: wherein the control unit further controls a switching frequency of at least one of the power modules in accordance with efficiencies of the power converters. ( For simplicity, FIG. 3 shows the relationship between the switching frequency and efficiency of the switching element Q1 when the load is constant. Here, we assume that the switching frequency of the switching element Q1 at startup is fA, and its efficiency at that time is ηA. In this case, since there is no efficiency to compare across all stages, the switching frequency fA is increased. In other words, immediately after startup, such as when the power is turned on, the frequency divider circuit 11 operates to change the switching frequency in a certain direction. Additionally, the switching frequency may be lowered, [0035]; In this case, the switching frequency becomes fB, and the efficiency deteriorates to ηB. Therefore, in the next step, the switching frequency is controlled to be lowered, [0036])
YAMAKAWA, KING, and MURAKAMI are in the same field as the invention being directed to the power device (i.e., inverters and/or converters). One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to combine the dynamic refrigerant cooling for a plurality of power devices of YAMAKAWA with the dynamic internal fan cooling in a plurality of power converters that has a separate exhaust fan of KING and with the controlling a switching frequency of a power module in accordance with efficiencies of MURAKAMI. The exhaust fan of KING and the dynamic refrigerant cooling of YAMAKAWA serve the same purpose of transferring away heat from the plurality of power converters/devices which would be the reason to swap one for the other. Also controlling switch frequency in accordance with efficiencies in MURAKAMI provides more detailed about making the power module more efficient . Doing so for the benefit of better efficiency regardless of the load condition (Therefore, it is possible to determine the change in efficiency between the previous period and the current period, change the switching frequency of the switching element to improve efficiency, that is, always change the switching frequency of the switching element to achieve the best efficiency, and operate in the most efficient state regardless of the load condition., MURAKAMI [0040]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMAKAWA (JP-2019208732-A) in view of KING (US-20150305197-A1) and further in view of WAGONER (US-20120133152-A1).
Regarding Claim 8, YAMAKAWA and KING teach the control device according to any one of Claim 1,
YAMAKAWA further teaches wherein the control unit controls each flow rate of the refrigerant [[and controls a temperature of the refrigerant]] (The control function 24b controls the flowrate of cooling water that cools each power device in order to suppress uneven heat generation between the first power device 21a and the second power device 21b. Specifically, the control function 24b controls each valve of the solenoid valve 26 based on the temperature of each power device detected by the monitoring function 24a, thereby controlling the flow rate of cooling water circulating in each flow path of the water-cooled plate, FIG. 3, and [0066]; Furthermore, although the above-described embodiment explains an example in which cooling water is used as a refrigerant, the embodiment is not limited to this. For example, a liquid other than cooling water may be used as the refrigerant, [0134])
YAMAKAWA and KING fails to teach the control unit controls a temperature of the refrigerant.
However, it is known by WAGONER to teach: the control unit controls a temperature of the refrigerant (In addition, control system 60 includes at least one fluid temperature sensor 96 coupled to cooling circuit 64, heat exchange assemblies 54 and 56, and/or fluid distribution assembly 58 for sensing a temperature of the cooling fluid at various locations within cooling circuit 64, and transmitting signals indicative of the sensed fluid temperatures to controller 82, [0025]; Referring to FIG. 4, in another embodiment, cooling system 36 includes a temperature regulator assembly 114 that is coupled in flow communication with fluid distribution assembly 58 and second heat exchange assembly 56 to adjust a temperature of cooling fluid channeled between second heat exchange assembly 56, [0037]).
YAMAKAWA, KING, and WAGONER are in the same field as the invention being directed to controlling the temperature of the power device (i.e., inverters and/or converters). One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to combine the dynamic refrigerant cooling for a plurality of power devices of YAMAKAWA with the dynamic internal fan cooling in a plurality of power converters that has a separate exhaust fan of KING and with the controlling the temperature of the refrigerant of WAGONER. The exhaust fan of KING and the dynamic refrigerant cooling of YAMAKAWA serve the same purpose of transferring away heat from the plurality of power converters/devices which would be the reason to swap one for the other. Also controlling the refrigerant temperature in WAGONER provides more detailed about the circulating refrigerant for more efficient heat transferring. Doing so for the benefit having the refrigerant be cool enough for more efficient heat transferring and reduce the duration and frequency of operating the cooling (Condenser 126 transfers heat from the heated vapor to ambient air to cool the vapor and form a condensed liquid refrigerant. The condensed liquid refrigerant is channeled through expansion valve 128 to reduce a pressure of the refrigerant and to reduce the refrigerant temperature. The cooled refrigerant is then channeled to evaporator 124 to facilitate cooling power converter 28, [0038]; As such, the duration and frequency of operating the cooling system is facilitated to be reduced, thus reducing the cost of cooling the wind turbine electrical components, WAGONER [0042]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMAKAWA (JP-2019208732-A) in view of KING (US-20150305197-A1) further in view of WAGONER (US-20120133152-A1) and even further in view of NAKATSU (JPH-0947038-A).
Regarding Claim 6, YAMAKAWA and KING teaches the control device according to Claim 1,
YAMAKAWA further teaches wherein the power converter further includes a capacitor (The electrolytic capacitor 22 is positioned between the power supply unit 3a and the first power device 21a, the second power device 21b, the third power device 21c, the fourth power device 21d, the fifth power device 21e, the sixth power device 21f, the seventh power device 21g, and the eighth power device 21h, and smooths the current supplied from the power supply unit 3a to each power device, FIG. 2 and [0043]),
King further teaches the predetermined temperature includes a temperature of the capacitor8, and [[the control unit controls the flow rate based on a loss of the capacitor and a temperature of the refrigerant,]] and controls the wind speed of the forced air cooling device based on the ambient temperature. (The UPS system 300 may further include additional system-level sensors that are interfaced to the system controller 310, such as one or more temperature sensors 340 that sense temperature of intake and/or exhaust air for the exhaust fan system 330 and/or temperatures of other parts of the enclosure environment, and load sensors 350 that sense loading of equipment served by the power converter modules 320, FIG. 3 and [0026]; For example, a module controller circuit 322 may control the speed of the associated module fan system 324 using heat sink temperature, ambient air temperature and loading (e.g., current level) information received from the module-level sensors 328 and the power converter circuit 326, FIG. 3 and [0027])
YAMAKAWA and KING fails to teach the control unit controls the flow rate based on a loss of the capacitor and a temperature of the refrigerant.
However, it is known by WAGONER to teach: the control unit controls the flow rate based on [[a loss of the capacitor]] and a temperature of the refrigerant (Control system 60 also includes a fluid flow sensor 94 coupled to cooling system 36 for sensing a flowrate of cooling fluid being channeled through cooling circuit 64, and transmitting a signal indicative of the sensed cooling fluid flowrate to controller 82. In addition, control system 60 includes at least one fluid temperature sensor 96 coupled to cooling circuit 64, heat exchange assemblies 54 and 56, and/or fluid distribution assembly 58 for sensing a temperature of the cooling fluid at various locations within cooling circuit 64, and transmitting signals indicative of the sensed fluid temperatures to controller 82, [0025]).
YAMAKAWA, KING, and WAGONER are in the same field as the invention being directed to controlling the temperature of the power device (i.e., inverters and/or converters). One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to combine the dynamic refrigerant cooling for a plurality of power devices of YAMAKAWA with the dynamic internal fan cooling in a plurality of power converters that has a separate exhaust fan of KING and with the controlling flow rate based on the temperature of the refrigerant of WAGONER. The exhaust fan of KING and the dynamic refrigerant cooling of YAMAKAWA serve the same purpose of transferring away heat from the plurality of power converters/devices which would be the reason to swap one for the other. Also controlling the flow rate based on the refrigerant temperature in WAGONER provides more detailed about the circulating refrigerant for more efficient heat transferring. Doing so for the benefit of having the refrigerant be cool enough for more efficient heat transferring and reduce the duration and frequency of operating the cooling (Condenser 126 transfers heat from the heated vapor to ambient air to cool the vapor and form a condensed liquid refrigerant. The condensed liquid refrigerant is channeled through expansion valve 128 to reduce a pressure of the refrigerant and to reduce the refrigerant temperature. The cooled refrigerant is then channeled to evaporator 124 to facilitate cooling power converter 28, [0038]; As such, the duration and frequency of operating the cooling system is facilitated to be reduced, thus reducing the cost of cooling the wind turbine electrical components, WAGONER [0042]).
YAMAKAWA, KING, and WAGONER fails to teach the control unit controls the flow rate based on a loss of the capacitor.
However, it is known by NAKATSU to teach: the control unit controls the flow rate based on a loss of the capacitor. (Therefore, the side surface portion and the ambient temperature of the smoothing capacitor 13a is detected by the temperature detector 6, and outputs a temperature detection value S3 of the temperature comparator circuit 1b, [0021]; Switch 4 to rotate the cooling fan 5 by applying a driving voltage to the cooling fan 5 from the power source 3 by closing by a drive signal S2, [0022])
YAMAKAWA, KING, WAGONER, and NAKATSU are in the same field as the invention being directed to controlling the temperature of the power device (i.e., inverters and/or converters). One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to combine the dynamic refrigerant cooling for a plurality of power devices of YAMAKAWA with the dynamic internal fan cooling in a plurality of power converters that has a separate exhaust fan of KING with the controlling flow rate based on the temperature of the refrigerant of WAGONER and with the controlling flow rate based on loss of a capacitor. The exhaust fan of KING and the dynamic refrigerant cooling of YAMAKAWA serve the same purpose of transferring away heat from the plurality of power converters/devices which would be the reason to swap one for the other. Also controlling the flow rate based on the refrigerant temperature in WAGONER provides more detailed about the circulating refrigerant for more efficient heat transferring. Also controlling the flow rate based on the loss of the capacitor in NAKATSU provides more detail for taking into account the heat from the capacitor when it comes to cooling the whole power converter. Doing so for the benefit of maintaining a safe temperature of the capacitor(As a result, the cooling air by the cooling fan 5 can reduce the temperature rise of the capacitor per the smoothing capacitor 13a. Therefore, it is possible to detect the temperature rise of the smoothing capacitor 13a at an early stage, there is an effect that it is possible to increase the life of the smoothing capacitor, NAKATSU [0022]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
JP-2009029187-A: Teaches controlling the flow rate of a refrigerant using valves for each semiconductor inverter/converter inside a power converter. Also teaches flow rates according to outputs. Teaches distribution ratio of refrigerant between multiple inverters/converters. Mentions switching semiconductors.
US-20200403554-A1: Teaches the internal limitations of the power converter, the fan, temperature sensor, current sensor, capacitor, and junction temperature.
US-6215682-B1: Teaches cooling a semiconductor power converter using methods including refrigerant and fans, detecting temperature of refrigerant and control refrigerant flow, control speed of fan, predetermined temperature range, junction temperature.
US-20170245403-A1: Teaches controlling the flow of cooling air to a plurality of fan less power converters using pipes and valves based on each temperature sensor in each power converter.
US-20110016893-A1: Teaches controlling the varying flow rate of refrigerant to power converter units, energy efficiency ratio based on load, temperature sensor, temperature ranges and limits for cooling, and switching.
JP-2021141781-A: Teaches the inside limitations of the power converter, the fan, temperature sensor, current sensor, capacitor, fan, and refrigerant.
/JESSICA DORA CHAU/
/J.D.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2116 /KENNETH M LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116
1 The power devices are not specifically taught in YAMAKAWA as power converter type but are in the field of power converters/inverters. The method of controlling the flow rate to multiple power devices is the feature being highlighted that can be combined with KING.
2 The broadest reasonable interpretation in view of the specification for the limitation “the predetermined temperature includes a temperature of the current sensor” is interpreted that the temperature determined for each of the power converters includes the current sensor that resides within each of the power converters. See Specification at [0028].
3 The control unit controls a wind speed of the forced air cooling device is not specifically taught in YAMAKAWA but are in the field of power converters/inverters. The control unit controls a wind speed of the forced air cooling device can be taught in a different reference which is KING.
4 The power devices are not specifically taught in YAMAKAWA as power converter type but are in the field of power converters/inverters. The method of controlling the flow rate to multiple power devices is the feature being highlighted that can be combined with KING.
5 The broadest reasonable interpretation in view of the specification for the limitation “the predetermined temperature includes a temperature of the current sensor” is interpreted that the temperature determined for each of the power converters includes the current sensor that resides within each of the power converters. See Specification at [0039].
6 The control unit controls a wind speed of the forced air cooling device is not specifically taught in YAMAKAWA but are in the field of power converters/inverters. The control unit controls a wind speed of the forced air cooling device can be taught in a different reference which is KING.
7 The broadest reasonable interpretation in view of the specification for the limitation “the predetermined temperature includes a temperature of the power module” is interpreted that the temperature determined for each of the power converters includes the power module that resides within each of the power converters. See Specification at [0028].
8 The broadest reasonable interpretation in view of the specification for the limitation “the predetermined temperature includes a temperature of the capacitor” is interpreted that the temperature determined for each of the power converters includes the capacitor that resides within each of the power converters. See Specification at [0028].