DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12-13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Minezawa et. al (US 2016/0223997 A1).
With respect to claim 12 Minezawa discloses a method for starting up a household appliance, the method comprising: checking by the household appliance whether a start-up operating sequence predetermined for a start-up of the household appliance has been carried out [reference character S102]; keeping operation of the household appliance disabled in a predetermined operating setting [note that the operating setting in step 103 cannot be carried out without completing the start-up sequence and is therefore disabled], when the start-up operating sequence predetermined for a start-up of the household appliance has not been carried out [see “no” pathway from S102 in Fig. 5]; and enabling operation of the household appliance in the predetermined operating setting [see e.g. “cooling operation” in paragraph 0054], when the start-up operating sequence predetermined for a start-up of the household appliance has been carried out [see “yes” pathway from S102 in Fig. 5].
With respect to claim 13 Minezawa discloses that the predetermined operating setting comprises a setting of an operating mode, a setting of an operating parameter, and/or a setting of an operating program [see e.g. “cooling operation” in paragraph 0054].
With respect to claim 17 Minezawa discloses the operation of the household appliance in the predetermined operating setting remains disabled until such time as the start- up operating sequence has been run through once in its entirety [see Fig. 5 of Minezawa].
Claim(s) 18-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Minezawa et. al (US 2016/0223997 A1).
With respect to claim 18 Minezawa discloses an electrically operated household appliance, comprising a control facility [reference character 11] designed to check whether a start-up operating sequence predetermined for a start- up of the household appliance has been carried out [see reference character S102], to keep operation of the household appliance disabled in a predetermined operating setting [note that the operating setting in step 103 cannot be carried out without completing the start-up sequence and is therefore disabled], when the start-up operating sequence predetermined for the start- up of the household appliance has not been carried out [see “no” pathway from S102 in Fig. 5], and to enable operation of the household appliance in the predetermined operating setting [see e.g. “cooling operation” in paragraph 0054], when the start-up operating sequence predetermined for a start-up of the household appliance has been carried out [see “yes” pathway from S102 in Fig. 5].
With respect to claim 19 Minezawa discloses a non-volatile data memory [reference character 12], said control facility designed to write a corresponding information into the non-volatile data memory when the start-up operating sequence has been carried out.
With respect to claim 20 Minezawa discloses that the household appliance is a household cooking appliance [paragraph 0026].
With respect to claim 21 Minezawa discloses that the household appliance is a baking oven and the predetermined operating setting is a setting of a heating operating mode [see paragraphs 0026 and 0028].
With respect to claim 22 Minezawa discloses that the household appliance is a small household appliance [see paragraph 0026].
Claim(s) 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oh et. al (US 11,732,899 B2).
With respect to claim 12 Oh discloses a method for starting up a household appliance, the method comprising: checking by the household appliance whether a start-up operating sequence predetermined for a start-up of the household appliance has been carried out [see reference character S410 and S420]; keeping operation of the household appliance disabled in a predetermined operating setting [note that the operating setting in step S450 cannot be carried out without completing the start-up sequence and is therefore disabled], when the start-up operating sequence predetermined for a start-up of the household appliance has not been carried out [see “no” pathway from S410 and S420 in Fig. 4]; and enabling operation of the household appliance in the predetermined operating setting [reference character S450], when the start-up operating sequence predetermined for a start-up of the household appliance has been carried out [see “yes” pathway from S420].
With respect to claim 14 Oh discloses that when no start-up operating sequence has yet been carried out, querying by the household appliance whether the start-up operating sequence is to be carried out [reference character S480]; and if affirmative, outputting by the household appliance an advice to a user regarding preparation and/or execution of the start-up operating sequence; and subsequently carrying out the start-up operating sequence [column 11 lines 20-30].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/VIVEK K SHIRSAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762