Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “preferably” in claim 10 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “preferably” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 10, and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stegerwald (USPN 9,885,142).
As to claim 1, Stegerwald discloses a tumble dryer with automatic fire extinguishing system, including a housing 11, base plate 12, worktop 14, drum 20 in which laundry introduced and rotated about axis D (Figs. 1 and 3). At col. 5, para at line 10, Stegerwald discloses that positioned on the outer face 24 of the drum casing 22 in this embodiment at an angular distance of 90° are four containers 30 containing an extinguishing agent 9. Each container 30 has a temperature-activated release facility 60, which is embodied so that after being activated at a certain temperature, as produced in a fire, it releases the extinguishing agent 9 automatically into a space 13 within the housing 11 and outside the drum 20. Regions 63 are formed of polypropylene (reads on a thermoplastic) that will melt in the case of a fire in the dryer 10 (see also col. 5, para at line 19). As shown in Figs. 3-4 the fire extinguishing system 60 is located at least partially in the cavity.
As to claim 2, Stegerwald discloses at Fig. 3 that its extinguishing system 60 is carried by the drum 20.
As to claims 4-5, the containers 30 read on the claimed independent bosses as shown in Stegerwald at Fig. 3, for example.
As to claim 10, at Fig. 3 of Stegerwald, there are three containers, for example.
As to claims 14-15, Stegerwald discloses wherein the extinguishing device 60 is carried by the casing (see Fig. 3) and forms a seal around the loading opening or is located adjacent to a seal around the loading opening (see Fig. 3).
As to claim 16, impliedly in Stegerwald a door is used to cover the porthole of the drum 20 after the clothes are inside.
As to claim 17, Stegerwald discloses at Figs. 3-4 a portion of each container 30 being inside the laundry cavity and a portion outside the laundry cavity.
As to claims 18-19, Stegerwald discloses wherein the first part is located at the level of the loading opening (See Fig. 1, for example the interior side of each container 30 matches the circumference of the tub opening) and is in the form of a portion of a ring.
As to claim 20, Stegerwald discloses at Figure 2 that a second side of the container 30 is attached to the casing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 6-9, and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stegerwald as applied to claims above.
Other known shapes are considered by Stegerwald for its extinguishing containers 30, particularly, “for example the configuration and arrangement of the container or the number of containers and of the release facilities, can also be present individually or cumulatively in other embodiments”. Altering the shape of the containers 30 to be formed cylindrically about all or a portion of the drum would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to encapsulate the entirely of the drum and thereby achieve expected fire extinguishing results. Changing the shape so that it mimics the shape of the drum would have been an obvious design consideration in achieving expected fire extinguishing results because the fire extinguishing chemicals would more closely surround the drum and aid in effectively extinguishing a fire.
Moreover, Stegerwald contemplates having extinguishing facilities on the respective end faces of the drum 20 (“With the abovementioned embodiments the release facilities 60, 62 are only shown on the face of the container 30 facing away from the drum 20 or facing the rotation axis D. It is of course also possible to provide release facilities instead of or in addition to these on the respective end faces or narrow faces.”). This would effectively create an end ring or end wall that connects each of the individual containers 30 that has a circular shape. The “end face” may on a front wall. The front wall in Stegerwald has an opening in which laundry may be inserted.
Conclusion
/RITA P ADHLAKHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711