DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 08/07/2024, in which claims 1-19 are pending and ready examination.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-9, 12-13 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102 (a) (2) as being anticipated by UEDA et al. (hereinafter, “UEDA”; JP2005064671).(For citation purpose, examiner has used English translation of JP2005064671, The English translation and the original copy describe the same innovation. The publication date for JP2005064671 is Mar/10/2005, therefore, it qualifies as a prior art under 35 U.S.C 102 (a) (2)).
In response to claim 1 and 7-9,
UEDA teaches a control apparatus that controls a communication terminal, the control apparatus comprising: at least one memory storing instructions, and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to (paragraph 33, radio stations are equated to a control apparatus and communication terminal, paragraph 38, an upper layer processing unit is equated to a processor, paragraph 41, data base memory is equated to a memory);
perform sweep control for sequentially matching a direction of a reception beam of the communication terminal with each measurement direction included in a sweep range(paragraph 33, radio stations are equated to a control apparatus and communication terminal, paragraph 34, omni-direction radiation pattern is equated to a direction of a reception, forming null point for each azimuth of the above azimuth is interpreted as using a sequentially matching, sector beams are equated to reception beam of the communication terminal, selectivity changing sector shape of a main beam using a predetermined azimuth angle is interpreted as perform sweep control for sequentially matching a direction of a reception beam of the communication terminal, paragraph 50, using a learning sequence and a adopted guidance control for guiding a beam in a desired direction is interpreted as using each measurement direction included in a sweep range, desired wave direction is equated to measured direction);
acquire received signal strength in each measurement direction (paragraph 55, calculated a predetermined evaluation function value (e.g. power value) is equated to signal strength, calculating a predetermined evaluation function value (e.g. power value) is interpreted as using a signal strength for the received signal);
acquire a result of demodulating the received signal in each measurement direction (paragraph 55, calculated a predetermined evaluation function value (e.g. power value) is equated to signal strength, outputting the low-frequency converter signal to a demodulator (demodulator 4) is interpreted as demodulating the received signal in each measurement direction and calculating a predetermined evaluation function value (e.g. power value) by (an adoptive controller after demodulation as explained in this paragraph) is read as acquire a result of demodulating the received signal in each measurement direction);
specify a direction of a desired wave and a direction of an interference wave, based on the received signal strength and the result of demodulating (paragraph 55, repeatedly calculating each reactance value using an evaluating function value for a maximum value in order to control the main bema array in a desired direction and null toward the interface direction explicitly teaches this limitation);
determine a direction of use of a reception beam, based on the specified directions of the desired wave and the interference wave (paragraph 55, repeatedly calculating each reactance value using an evaluating function value for a maximum value in order to control the main bema array in a desired direction and null toward the interface direction explicitly teaches this limitation); and
control a direction of a reception beam of the communication terminal, based on the determined direction of use of the reception beam (paragraph 55, repeatedly calculating each reactance value using an evaluating function value for a maximum value in order to control the main bema array in a desired direction and null toward the interface direction explicitly teaches this limitation).
In response to claim 4, 12 and 17,
UEDA teaches wherein, when received signal strength in a direction of use of the reception beam is smaller than a first threshold value (paragraph 55, calculated a predetermined evaluation function value (e.g. power value) is equated to signal strength and a first threshold value, repeatedly calculating each reactance value using an evaluating function value for a maximum value in order to control the main bema array in a desired direction and null toward the interface direction explicitly teaches this limitation), the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to start the sweep control(paragraph 38, an upper layer processing unit is equated to a processor the perform the claimed functionality).
In response to claim 5, 13 and 18,
UEDA teaches wherein, when communication quality when a direction of a reception beam of the communication terminal is matched with the direction of use of the reception beam is lower than a predetermined level (paragraph 55, calculated a predetermined evaluation function value (e.g. power value) is equated to signal strength and a first threshold value, repeatedly calculating each reactance value using an evaluating function value for a maximum value in order to control the main bema array in a desired direction and null toward the interface direction explicitly teaches this limitation), the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to start the sweep control (paragraph 38, an upper layer processing unit is equated to a processor the perform the claimed functionality).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 6, 10-11, 14-16 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As for dependent claims 2, 10 and 15, these claims are objected, because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitation “wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: specify a peak of received signal strength in the sweep range; and when a result of demodulating the received signal in a measurement direction associated with the specified each peak indicates that the demodulation is possible, specify the measurement direction as the direction of the desired wave, and when a result of demodulating the received signal in a measurement direction associated with the specified each peak indicates that the demodulation is not possible, specify the measurement direction as the direction of the interference wave.”
The closet prior art in the record UEDA et al.’s (JP2005064671) teaching in paragraph 55 about using a calculated a predetermined evaluation function value (e.g. power value) is equated to signal strength, outputting the low-frequency converter signal to a demodulator (demodulator 4) is interpreted as demodulating the received signal in each measurement direction and calculating a predetermined evaluation function value (e.g. power value) by (an adoptive controller after demodulation as explained in this paragraph) is read as acquire a result of demodulating the received signal in each measurement direction. He fails to teach the above cited limitation.
Claims 3, 11 and 16 depend on claim 2, 10 and 15.
As for dependent claims 6, 14 and 19, these claims are objected, because there is no prior art in the record that teaches claimed limitation “wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: specify a direction in which a radio wave shielding object around the communication terminal is located; and determine the sweep range by excluding a range of the direction in which the radio wave shielding object is located from a sweepable direction range.”
The closet prior art in the record UEDA et al.’s (JP2005064671) teaching in paragraph 55 about using a calculated a predetermined evaluation function value (e.g. power value) is equated to signal strength, outputting the low-frequency converter signal to a demodulator (demodulator 4) is interpreted as demodulating the received signal in each measurement direction and calculating a predetermined evaluation function value (e.g. power value) by (an adoptive controller after demodulation as explained in this paragraph) is read as acquire a result of demodulating the received signal in each measurement direction. He fails to teach the above cited limitation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
20130050056………………….paragraphs 66-69.
/ABUSAYEED M HAQUE/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466