DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Note
Applicant(s) are reminded that optional or conditional elements do not narrow the claims because they can always be omitted. See e.g. MPEP §2106 II C: "Language that suggest or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation. [Emphasis in original.]"; and In re Johnston, 435 F.3d 1381, 77 USPQ2d 1788, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2006) "As a matter of linguistic precision, optional elements do not narrow the claim because they can always be omitted." In re Johnston, 435 F.3d 1381, 77 USPQ2d 1788, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2006)(where the Federal Circuit affirmed the Board's claim construction of “further including that said wall may be smooth, corrugated, or profiled with increased dimensional proportions as pipe size is increased" since "this additional content did not narrow the scope of the claim because these limitations are stated in the permissive form 'may.'”).
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged with the benefit of an earlier filing date of February 8, 2022 for PCT/CN2022/075566.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 7, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 14, 16 – 19, 41, and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0022010). Hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a beam management method, performed by a network device, the method comprising:
sending first indication information to a terminal device (the UE receives measurement configuration information from a network/gNB, paragraph [0085]), wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate configuration information of a reference signal used for a beam measurement (the UE performs RRM (radio resource management) measurement based on CSI-RS according to the measurement configuration information, paragraph [0085]; where the UE obtains time/frequency synchronization of the CSI-RS that is associated with the SS (synchronization signal) block, and a set of CSI-RS is defined within a specific SS block beam width and provided to the UE, paragraph [0097]; the network/gNB sends the measurement configuration information to provide the UE for beam measurement), and wherein the reference signal corresponds to one or more grades (the UE performs RRM (radio resource management) measurement based on CSI-RS according to the measurement configuration information, paragraph [0085]; where the UE obtains time/frequency synchronization of the CSI-RS that is associated with the SS (synchronization signal) block, and a set of CSI-RS is defined within a specific SS block beam width and provided to the UE, paragraph [0097]; the network/gNB sends the measurement configuration information to provide the UE with the beam width).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of an index number corresponding to the reference signal (the network provides the UE with an SS block index connected to/associated with the CSI-RS index, paragraph [0098]), or a time domain position and a frequency domain position where the reference signal is located.
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein a grade value corresponding to the reference signal is correlated with a beam width of the reference signal (the UE performs RRM (radio resource management) measurement based on CSI-RS according to the measurement configuration information, paragraph [0085]; where the UE obtains time/frequency synchronization of the CSI-RS that is associated with the SS (synchronization signal) block, and a set of CSI-RS is defined within a specific SS block beam width and provided to the UE, paragraph [0097]; the network/gNB sends the measurement configuration information to provide the UE with the beam width).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the method according to claim 3, further comprising:
sending second indication information to the terminal device, wherein the second indication information is configured to indicate that the grade value corresponding to the reference signal is positively or negatively correlated with the beam width of the reference signal (the quasi co-location (QCL) is desired to perform spatial acquisition by forming connection between SS block index and CSI-RS index, where the specific parameter includes average angle (AA) that is configured to receive beam directions (and/or received beam widths/sweeping degrees) equally or similarly (in association therewith) and to perform reception processing, between antenna ports in which QCL is guaranteed, paragraphs [0099] – [0102]; the beam width is configured for guaranteed at specific level (i.e. positive correlation)).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
sending third indication information to the terminal device, wherein the third indication information is configured to indicate a measurement parameter (the UE receives measurement configuration information from a network/gNB, and the UE performs RRM (radio resource management) measurement based on CSI-RS according to the measurement configuration information, paragraph [0085]).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein the measurement parameter comprises at least one of Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP), Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ), Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (SINR), or Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) (the UE receives measurement configuration information from a network/gNB, and the UE performs RRM (radio resource management) measurement based on CSI-RS according to the measurement configuration information, paragraph [0085]; the UE performs RRM measurements including reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), paragraphs [0068] – [0076]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
receiving a measurement result of the reference signal sent by the terminal device (the UE receives measurement configuration information from a network/gNB, where the UE performs RRM (radio resource management) measurement based on CSI-RS according to the measurement configuration information, and the UE reports a result of RRM measurements to the network/gNB, paragraph [0085]); and
sending fourth indication information to the terminal device, wherein the fourth indication information is configured to indicate an index number corresponding to a Quasi Co-located (QCL) reference signal of a physical channel or a physical layer signal (the quasi co-location (QCL) is desired to perform spatial acquisition by forming connection between SS block index and CSI-RS index, where the specific parameter includes average angle (AA) that is configured to receive beam directions (and/or received beam widths/sweeping degrees) equally or similarly (in association therewith) and to perform reception processing, between antenna ports in which QCL is guaranteed, paragraphs [0099] – [0102]).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the index number corresponding to the reference signal comprises one of:
a sequence number of the reference signal among all reference signals supported by the terminal device; and
an index path of the reference signal in a grade tree, wherein the grade tree comprises index numbers corresponding to multiple grades and path relationships between each of the index numbers, and wherein the index numbers corresponding to different grades correspond to different beam widths (the UE performs RRM (radio resource management) measurement based on CSI-RS according to the measurement configuration information, paragraph [0085]; where the UE obtains time/frequency synchronization of the CSI-RS that is associated with the SS (synchronization signal) block, and a set of CSI-RS is defined within a specific SS block beam width and provided to the UE, paragraph [0097]; the quasi co-location (QCL) is desired to perform spatial acquisition by forming connection between SS block index and CSI-RS index, where the specific parameter includes average angle (AA) that is configured to receive beam directions (and/or received beam widths/sweeping degrees) equally or similarly (in association therewith) and to perform reception processing, between antenna ports in which QCL is guaranteed, paragraphs [0099] – [0102]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein the measurement result comprises at least one of a measurement value of the measurement parameter (the UE receives measurement configuration information from a network/gNB, where the UE performs RRM (radio resource management) measurement based on CSI-RS according to the measurement configuration information, paragraph [0085]; the UE performs RRM measurements including reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), paragraphs [0068] – [0076]), or identification information of the reference signal corresponding to the measurement parameter.
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses a beam management method, performed by a terminal device, the method comprising:
receiving first indication information sent by a network device (the UE receives measurement configuration information from a network/gNB, paragraph [0085]), wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate configuration information of a reference signal used for a beam measurement (the UE performs RRM (radio resource management) measurement based on CSI-RS according to the measurement configuration information, paragraph [0085]; where the UE obtains time/frequency synchronization of the CSI-RS that is associated with the SS (synchronization signal) block, and a set of CSI-RS is defined within a specific SS block beam width and provided to the UE, paragraph [0097]; the network/gNB sends the measurement configuration information to provide the UE for beam measurement), and wherein the reference signal corresponds to one or more grades (the UE performs RRM (radio resource management) measurement based on CSI-RS according to the measurement configuration information, paragraph [0085]; where the UE obtains time/frequency synchronization of the CSI-RS that is associated with the SS (synchronization signal) block, and a set of CSI-RS is defined within a specific SS block beam width and provided to the UE, paragraph [0097]; the network/gNB sends the measurement configuration information to provide the UE with the beam width).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of an index number corresponding to the reference signal (the network provides the UE with an SS block index connected to/associated with the CSI-RS index, paragraph [0098]), or a time domain position and a frequency domain position where the reference signal is located.
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein a grade value corresponding to the reference signal is correlated with a beam width of the reference signal (the UE performs RRM (radio resource management) measurement based on CSI-RS according to the measurement configuration information, paragraph [0085]; where the UE obtains time/frequency synchronization of the CSI-RS that is associated with the SS (synchronization signal) block, and a set of CSI-RS is defined within a specific SS block beam width and provided to the UE, paragraph [0097]; the network/gNB sends the measurement configuration information to provide the UE with the beam width).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses the method according to claim 12, further comprising:
receiving second indication information sent by the network device, wherein the second indication information is configured to indicate that the grade value corresponding to the reference signal is positively or negatively correlated with the beam width of the reference signal (the quasi co-location (QCL) is desired to perform spatial acquisition by forming connection between SS block index and CSI-RS index, where the specific parameter includes average angle (AA) that is configured to receive beam directions (and/or received beam widths/sweeping degrees) equally or similarly (in association therewith) and to perform reception processing, between antenna ports in which QCL is guaranteed, paragraphs [0099] – [0102]; the beam width is configured for guaranteed at specific level (i.e. positive correlation)).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses the method according to claim 10, further comprising:
receiving third indication information sent by the network device, wherein the third indication information is configured to indicate a measurement parameter (the UE receives measurement configuration information from a network/gNB, and the UE performs RRM (radio resource management) measurement based on CSI-RS according to the measurement configuration information, paragraph [0085]), and wherein the measurement parameter comprises at least one of Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP), Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ), Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (SINR), or Received Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI) (the UE receives measurement configuration information from a network/gNB, and the UE performs RRM (radio resource management) measurement based on CSI-RS according to the measurement configuration information, paragraph [0085]; the UE performs RRM measurements including reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), paragraphs [0068] – [0076]).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses the method according to claim 14, further comprising:
measuring the measurement parameter for the reference signal (the UE receives measurement configuration information from a network/gNB, where the UE performs RRM (radio resource management) measurement based on CSI-RS according to the measurement configuration information, and the UE reports a result of RRM measurements to the network/gNB, paragraph [0085]); and
sending a measurement result of the reference signal to the network device (the UE receives measurement configuration information from a network/gNB, where the UE performs RRM (radio resource management) measurement based on CSI-RS according to the measurement configuration information, and the UE reports a result of RRM measurements to the network/gNB, paragraph [0085]),
wherein the measurement result comprises at least one of a measurement value of the measurement parameter (the UE receives measurement configuration information from a network/gNB, where the UE performs RRM (radio resource management) measurement based on CSI-RS according to the measurement configuration information, paragraph [0085]; the UE performs RRM measurements including reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), paragraphs [0068] – [0076]), or identification information of the reference signal corresponding to the measurement parameter.
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses the method according to claim 16, further comprising:
receiving fourth indication information sent by the network device, wherein the fourth indication information is configured to indicate an index number corresponding to a Quasi Co-located (QCL) reference signal of a physical channel or a physical layer signal (the quasi co-location (QCL) is desired to perform spatial acquisition by forming connection between SS block index and CSI-RS index, where the specific parameter includes average angle (AA) that is configured to receive beam directions (and/or received beam widths/sweeping degrees) equally or similarly (in association therewith) and to perform reception processing, between antenna ports in which QCL is guaranteed, paragraphs [0099] – [0102]); and
determining at least one of a receive beam or a transport beam based on the QCL reference signal (the quasi co-location (QCL) is desired to perform spatial acquisition by forming connection between SS block index and CSI-RS index, where the specific parameter includes average angle (AA) that is configured to receive beam directions (and/or received beam widths/sweeping degrees) equally or similarly (in association therewith) and to perform reception processing, between antenna ports in which QCL is guaranteed, paragraphs [0099] – [0102]).
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses the method according to claim 17, wherein determining the at least one of the receive beam or the transport beam based on the QCL reference signal, comprises at least one of:
determining the receive beam for the physical channel or the physical layer signal based on a receive beam corresponding to the QCL reference signal (the quasi co-location (QCL) is desired to perform spatial acquisition by forming connection between SS block index and CSI-RS index, where the specific parameter includes average angle (AA) that is configured to receive beam directions (and/or received beam widths/sweeping degrees) equally or similarly (in association therewith) and to perform reception processing, between antenna ports in which QCL is guaranteed, paragraphs [0099] – [0102]); or
determining the transport beam for the physical channel or the physical layer signal based on the receive beam corresponding to the QCL reference signal.
Regarding claim 19, Kim discloses the method according to claim 16, wherein the index number corresponding to the reference signal comprises one of:
a sequence number of the reference signal among all reference signals supported by the terminal device; and
an index path of the reference signal in a grade tree, wherein the grade tree comprises index numbers corresponding to multiple grades and path relationships between each of the index numbers, and wherein the index numbers corresponding to different grades correspond to different beam widths (the UE performs RRM (radio resource management) measurement based on CSI-RS according to the measurement configuration information, paragraph [0085]; where the UE obtains time/frequency synchronization of the CSI-RS that is associated with the SS (synchronization signal) block, and a set of CSI-RS is defined within a specific SS block beam width and provided to the UE, paragraph [0097]; the quasi co-location (QCL) is desired to perform spatial acquisition by forming connection between SS block index and CSI-RS index, where the specific parameter includes average angle (AA) that is configured to receive beam directions (and/or received beam widths/sweeping degrees) equally or similarly (in association therewith) and to perform reception processing, between antenna ports in which QCL is guaranteed, paragraphs [0099] – [0102]).
Regarding claim 41, Kim discloses a communication device (transmitting device), comprising a processor and a memory (the transmitting device includes processor and memories, paragraph [0211]), wherein a computer program is stored in the memory (the memories store programs for processing and controlling the processors, paragraph [0212]), and the processor is configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory to implement a beam management method (the transmitting device includes memories for storing information related to communication in a wireless communication system, and processors connected to the memories to control the elements and the memories, paragraphs [0211] – [0219]) comprising:
sending first indication information to a terminal device (the UE receives measurement configuration information from a network/gNB, paragraph [0085]), wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate configuration information of a reference signal used for a beam measurement (the UE performs RRM (radio resource management) measurement based on CSI-RS according to the measurement configuration information, paragraph [0085]; where the UE obtains time/frequency synchronization of the CSI-RS that is associated with the SS (synchronization signal) block, and a set of CSI-RS is defined within a specific SS block beam width and provided to the UE, paragraph [0097]; the network/gNB sends the measurement configuration information to provide the UE for beam measurement), and wherein the reference signal corresponds to one or more grades (the UE performs RRM (radio resource management) measurement based on CSI-RS according to the measurement configuration information, paragraph [0085]; where the UE obtains time/frequency synchronization of the CSI-RS that is associated with the SS (synchronization signal) block, and a set of CSI-RS is defined within a specific SS block beam width and provided to the UE, paragraph [0097]; the network/gNB sends the measurement configuration information to provide the UE with the beam width).
Regarding claim 43, Kim discloses a communication device (receiving device), comprising a processor and a memory (the receiving device includes processor and memories, paragraph [0211]), wherein a computer program is stored in the memory (the memories store programs for processing and controlling the processors, paragraph [0212]), and the processor is configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory to cause the device to implement the method (the receiving device includes memories for storing information related to communication in a wireless communication system, and processors connected to the memories to control the elements and the memories, paragraphs [0211] – [0219]) according to claim 10 (see rejection of claim 10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
KIM et al (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0288454) – the base station repeatedly transmits reference signals beamformed with a first width, receives a feedback signal indicating at least one preferred-beam having the first width from at least one terminal, determines a direction range within which reference signals beamformed with a second width are to be transmitted and a transmission pattern, based on the at least one preferred-beam having the first width, repeatedly transmits the reference signals beamformed with the second width within the determined direction range according to the transmission pattern, and receives a feedback signal indicating at least one preferred-beam having the second width from the at least one terminal
Jae Heung KIM (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0288359) – the terminal receives a first message including parameters for measurement and report from a base station of a serving cell, transmits a second message to the base station of the serving cell that includes a measurement result based on the parameters for measurement and report, receives a third message from the base station of the serving cell that instructs the terminal to receive services simultaneously from the serving cell and a target cell, performs a radio access request procedure with the target cell, and transmits a fourth message to the base station of the serving cell to report completion of configuration for receiving the services simultaneously from the serving cell and the target cell
Jae Heung KIM (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0284264) – the terminal receives configuration information for a two-step random access procedure from a base station, transmits RA MSG-A including an RA preamble and an RA payload to the base station on the basis of the configuration information, and receives RA MSG-B which is a response to the RA MSG-A from the base station
Liangang CHI (US Patent Application Publication 2025/0031078) – the UE obtains configuration information sent by a base station, obtains at least one reference signal sent by the base station based on the configuration information, determines a class value corresponding to the at least one reference signal, performs beam measurement for the at least one reference signal to obtain a measurement result that the class value is correlated with a beam bandwidth of the reference signal, determines a class value of an anchor reference signal based on at least one of the measurement result of the reference signal or the configuration information, and performs at least one of the beam measurement or data reporting by anchoring on an anchor reference signal corresponding to the class value of the anchor reference signal
/Kai Chang/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468