DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 16-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more.
In sum, claims 16-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception to patentability (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) and do not include an inventive concept that is something “significantly more” than the judicial exception under the January 2019 patentable subject matter eligibility guidance (2019 PEG) analysis which follows.
Step 1 - Revised Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance:
Under the 2019 PEG step 1 analysis, it must first be determined whether the claims are directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention (i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter). Applying step 1 of the analysis for patentable subject matter to the claims, it is determined that the claims are directed to the statutory category of a process for claims 16-27 and a machine for claims 28-30. Therefore, we proceed to step 2A, Prong 1.
Step 2A, Prong One - Revised Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance:
Under the 2019 PEG step 2A, Prong 1 analysis, it must be determined whether the claims recite an abstract idea that falls within one or more designated categories of patent ineligible subject matter (i.e., organizing human activity, mathematical concepts, and mental processes) that amount to a judicial exception to patentability.
Here, with respect to claims 16-30, the claims recite the abstract idea of
(A) determining an actual mass of a vehicle
(B) determining a reference relationship of a deceleration of the vehicle having a known mass with respect to a brake demand
(C) executing braking with a predetermined brake demand
(D) detecting an actual deceleration of the vehicle when using the predetermined brake demand
(E) determining an actual relationship of the actual deceleration of the vehicle with respect to the predetermined brake demand
(F) determining the actual mass of the vehicle by correlating the actual relationship and the reference relationship
(G) determining a reference mass of the vehicle
(H) executing a reference braking of the vehicle with a predetermined brake demand
(I) detecting a deceleration of the vehicle having the reference mass depending on the predetermined brake demand
(J) determining the reference relationship by correlating the deceleration of the vehicle and the predetermined brake demand
(K) wherein the reference relationship of the deceleration of the vehicle is determined based on an official minimum requirement for a relationship of the deceleration of the vehicle and the brake demand
(L) wherein a range of the brake demand is determined such that the reference relationship and the actual relationship are respectively linear and expressed by a slope of a straight line in a diagram having an abscissa indicating the brake demand and an ordinate indicating the deceleration
(M) wherein the actual mass is calculated based on the reference mass, a slope of a straight line expressing the reference relationship, and a slope of a straight line expressing the actual relationship
(N) wherein the range of the brake demand is defined such that no blocking of wheels of the vehicle occurs
(O) wherein the brake demand is defined by a brake actuation force of a brake of the vehicle
(P) wherein the brake demand is defined by a pressure of an operating fluid actuating on a brake actuator of a brake of the vehicle
(Q) wherein the pressure is an output pressure of a trailer control module
(R) wherein the brake demand is defined by an operating current of an electric brake actuator of a brake of the vehicle
(S) wherein the operating current is based on an electrical brake demand or an electrical trailer brake demand sent by a towing vehicle
(T) wherein the known mass is a maximum permissible mass of the vehicle
(U) wherein the actual deceleration of the vehicle is detected by means of a wheel-based vehicle speed signal
(V) wherein the control system includes an acceleration sensor configured to detect an acceleration in direction of travel of the vehicle
Mental Process:
Steps B, G, I, and J fall within one or more of the three enumerated 2019 PEG categories of patent ineligible subject matter, specifically, a mental process, that can be performed in the human mind since each of the above steps could alternatively be performed in the human mind or with the aid of pen and paper. This conclusion follows from CyberSource Corp. v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1373 (Fed. Cir. 2011) where our reviewing court held that section 101 did not embrace a process defined simply as using a computer to perform a series of mental steps that people, aware of each step, can and regularly do perform in their heads. see also In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 840–41 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Meyer, 688 F.2d 789, 794–95 (CCPA 1982); Elec. Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F. 3d 1350, 1354–1354 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (“we have treated analyzing information by steps people go through in their minds, or by mathematical algorithms, without more, as essentially mental processes within the abstract-idea category”).
For example, a human could perform steps B, G, I, and J entirely mentally when a human wishing to determine the mass of the vehicle writes the problem down on paper. These limitations exemplify abstract idea of a mental process since details include concepts performed in the human mind including an observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion.
Furthermore, mental processes remain unpatentable even when automated to reduce the burden on the user of what once could have been done with pen and paper. See CyberSource, 654 F.3d at 1375 (“That purely mental processes can be unpatentable, even when performed by a computer, was precisely the holding of the Supreme Court in Gottschalk v. Benson.”).
Mathematical Concepts: (Mathematical Relationships, Mathematical Formulas or Equations, Mathematical Calculations)
In addition, limitations A, D, E, F, L, and M recite the abstract idea of a mathematical concept in addition to being a mental process since the limitations invoke the functions of detecting and determining decelerations and mass with respect to the applied predetermined brake demand and using the graph of brake demand and deceleration. The instant Specification fails to attribute special definitions to the language used in limitations A, D, E, F, L, and M. Consequently, the words and phrases of the limitation(s) have been given the plain meaning to a person of ordinary skill in the art. (See MPEP §§ 2173.01, 2173.05(a), and 2111.01). These steps are common computer processing functions that a person having ordinary skill in the art would have known generic computers were capable of performing and would have associated with generic computers. (See MPEP § 2106.05(d)II). See October 2019 Update: Subject Matter eligibility p. 3-4 “Mathematical Relationships” and “Mathematical Calculations” (“A mathematical relationship may be expressed in words or using mathematical symbols . . . [t]here is no particular word or set of words that indicates a claim recites a mathematical calculation. That is, a claim does not have to recite the word “calculating” in order to be considered a mathematical calculation. For example, a step of “determining” a variable or number using mathematical methods or “performing” a mathematical operation may also be considered mathematical calculations when the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim in light of the specification encompasses a mathematical calculation.”) citing Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 188-89, 209 USPQ 1, 9 (1981), Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 175 USPQ 673 (1972), Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 198 USPQ 193 (1978), and Burnett v. Panasonic Corp., 741 Fed. Appx. 777, 780 (Fed. Cir. 2018) (“using a formula to convert geospatial coordinates into natural numbers”).
Step 2A, Prong Two - Revised Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance:
Under the 2019 PEG step 2A, Prong 2 analysis, the identified abstract idea to which the claim is directed does not include limitations that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, since the recited features of the abstract idea are being applied on a computer or computing device or via software programming that is simply being used as a tool (“apply it”) to implement the abstract idea. (See, e.g., MPEP §2106.05(f)). This follows conclusion follows from the claim limitations which only recite a generic “non-transitory computer readable medium” outside of the abstract idea.
In addition, merely “[u]sing a computer to accelerate an ineligible mental process does not make that process patent-eligible.” Bancorp Servs., L.L.C. v. Sun Life Assur. Co. of Canada (U.S.), 687 F.3d 1266, 1279 (Fed. Cir. 2012); see also CLS Bank Int’l v. Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd., 717 F.3d 1269, 1286 (Fed. Cir. 2013) (en banc) (“simply appending generic computer functionality to lend speed or efficiency to the performance of an otherwise abstract concept does not meaningfully limit claim scope for purposes of patent eligibility.”), aff’d, 573 U.S. 208 (2014). Accordingly, the additional elements of control system and graphs do not transform the abstract idea into a practical application of the abstract idea.
Extra-solution activity – See MPEP §2106.05(g)
In addition, limitations C, H, K, and V constitute insignificant pre-solution activity that merely gathers data and, therefore, do not integrate the exception into a practical application. See In re Bilski, 545 F.3d 943, 963 (Fed. Cir. 2008) (en banc), aff’d on other grounds, 561 U.S. 593 (2010) (characterizing data gathering steps as insignificant extra-solution activity); see also CyberSource, 654 F.3d at 1371–72 (noting that even if some physical steps are required to obtain information from a database (e.g., entering a query via a keyboard, clicking a mouse), such data-gathering steps cannot alone confer patentability); OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (presenting offers and gathering statistics amounted to mere data gathering). Accord Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. at 55 (citing MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Furthermore, limitations N-U constitute insignificant post-solution activity. The Supreme Court guides that the “prohibition against patenting abstract ideas ‘cannot be circumvented by attempting to limit the use of the formula to a particular technological environment’ or [by] adding ‘insignificant post-solution activity.’” Bilski, 561 U.S. at 610–11 (quoting Diehr, 450 U.S. at 191–92).
Step 2B - Revised Guidance:
Under the 2019 PEG step 2B analysis, the additional elements are evaluated to determine whether they amount to something “significantly more” than the recited abstract idea. (i.e., an innovative concept). Here, the additional elements, such as a vehicle, a controller, sensors, operating fluid in the brakes, and the brakes themselves do not amount to an innovative concept since, as stated above in the step 2A, Prong 2 analysis, the claims are simply using the additional elements as a tool to carry out the abstract idea (i.e., “apply it”) on a computer or computing device and/or via software programming (See, e.g., MPEP §2106.05(f)). The additional elements are specified at a high level of generality to simply implement the abstract idea and are not themselves being technologically improved. See, e.g., MPEP §2106.05 I.A; Alice, 573 U.S. at 223 (“[T]he mere recitation of a generic computer cannot transform a patent-ineligible abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention.”). Thus, these elements, taken individually or together, do not amount to “significantly more” than the abstract ideas themselves.
The additional elements of the dependent claims merely refine and further limit the abstract idea of the independent claims and do not add any feature that is an “inventive concept” which cures the deficiencies of their respective parent claim under the 2019 PEG analysis. None of the dependent claims considered individually, including their respective limitations, include an “inventive concept” of some additional element or combination of elements sufficient to ensure that the claims in practice amount to something “significantly more” than patent-ineligible subject matter to which the claims are directed.
The elements of the instant process steps when taken in combination do not offer substantially more than the sum of the functions of the elements when each is taken alone. The claims as a whole, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself because the claims do not effect an improvement to another technology or technical field; the claims do not amount to an improvement to the functioning of an electronic device itself which implements the abstract idea (e.g., the general purpose computer and/or the computer system which implements the process are not made more efficient or technologically improved); the claims do not perform a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (i.e., the claims do not use the abstract idea in the claimed process to bring about a physical change. See, e.g., Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175 (1981), where a physical change, and thus patentability, was imparted by the claimed process; contrast, Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584 (1978), where a physical change, and thus patentability, was not imparted by the claimed process); and the claims do not move beyond a general link of the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (e.g., “vehicle” and “control system” in Claims 16, 28, and 30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-18, 21-25, and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Breen (USPN 5,482,359).
Regarding claim 16, Breen teaches a method for determining an actual mass of a vehicle (abstract), the method comprising:
determining a reference relationship of a deceleration of the vehicle having a known mass with respect to a brake demand (column 6, lines 50-54; figures 4 and 5a);
executing braking with a predetermined brake demand (column 7, lines 18-31; figure 6, steps 160 and 162);
detecting an actual deceleration of the vehicle when using the predetermined brake demand (column 6, lines 48-51; figure 2, element 64);
determining an actual relationship of the actual deceleration of the vehicle with respect to the predetermined brake demand (figures 5a and 5b; column 6, line 55-column 7, line 17); and
determining the actual mass of the vehicle by correlating the actual relationship and the reference relationship (column 7, lines 39-45; figure 6, steps 166 and 168).
Regarding claim 17, Breen teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the reference relationship is determined by performing the following:
determining a reference mass of the vehicle (column 5, lines 35-38);
executing a reference braking of the vehicle with a predetermined brake demand (column 6, lines 43-54; figure 5a);
detecting a deceleration of the vehicle having the reference mass depending on the predetermined brake demand (figure 2, element 64; column 4, lines 24-31); and
determining the reference relationship by correlating the deceleration of the vehicle and the predetermined brake demand (column 6, lines 43-54; figure 5a).
Regarding claim 18, Breen teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the reference relationship of the deceleration of the vehicle is determined based on an official minimum requirement for a relationship of the deceleration of the vehicle and the brake demand (column 6, lines 43-54; figure 5a).
Regarding claim 21, Breen teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the brake demand is defined by a brake actuation force of a brake of the vehicle (column 2, lines 16-20).
Regarding claim 22, Breen teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the brake demand is defined by a pressure of an operating fluid actuating on a brake actuator of a brake of the vehicle (column 4, lines 18-31; column 4, lines 52-55).
Regarding claim 23, Breen teaches the method of claim 22, wherein the pressure is an output pressure of a trailer control module (column 4, lines 52-55).
Regarding claim 24, Breen teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the brake demand is defined by an operating current of an electric brake actuator of a brake of the vehicle (column 4, lines 18-25).
Regarding claim 25, Breen teaches the method of claim 24, wherein the operating current is based on an electrical brake demand or an electrical trailer brake demand sent by a towing vehicle (column 4, lines 18-31; column 4, lines 52-55).
Regarding claim 27, Breen teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the actual deceleration of the vehicle is detected by means of a wheel-based vehicle speed signal (column 7, lines 12-17).
Regarding claim 28, Breen teaches a control system for determining an actual mass of a vehicle (abstract; figure 4, all), comprising:
a control apparatus (figure 4, all) configured to perform the following:
determining a reference relationship of a deceleration of the vehicle having a known mass with respect to a brake demand (column 6, lines 50-54; figures 4 and 5a);
executing braking with a predetermined brake demand (column 7, lines 18-31; figure 6, steps 160 and 162);
detecting an actual deceleration of the vehicle when using the predetermined brake demand (column 6, lines 48-51; figure 2, element 64);
determining an actual relationship of the actual deceleration of the vehicle with respect to the predetermined brake demand (figures 5a and 5b; column 6, line 55-column 7, line 17); and
determining the actual mass of the vehicle by correlating the actual relationship and the reference relationship (column 7, lines 39-45; figure 6, steps 166 and 168).
Regarding claim 29, Breen teaches the control system of claim 28, wherein the control system includes an acceleration sensor configured to detect an acceleration in direction of travel of the vehicle (column 4, lines 24-31; figure 2, element 64).
Regarding claim 30, Breen teaches a vehicle (figure 1, element 10; column 3, lines 3-6), comprising:
a control system for determining an actual mass of a vehicle (abstract; figure 4, all), wherein the control system is configured to perform the following:
determining a reference relationship of a deceleration of the vehicle having a known mass with respect to a brake demand (column 6, lines 50-54; figures 4 and 5a);
executing braking with a predetermined brake demand (column 7, lines 18-31; figure 6, steps 160 and 162);
detecting an actual deceleration of the vehicle when using the predetermined brake demand (column 6, lines 48-51; figure 2, element 64);
determining an actual relationship of the actual deceleration of the vehicle with respect to the predetermined brake demand (figures 5a and 5b; column 6, line 55-column 7, line 17); and
determining the actual mass of the vehicle by correlating the actual relationship and the reference relationship (column 7, lines 39-45; figure 6, steps 166 and 168).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19, 20, and 26 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, as well as the 101 rejection, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record fails to teach or render obvious all of wherein a range of the brake demand is determined such that the reference relationship and the actual relationship are respectively linear and expressed by a slope of a straight line in a diagram having an abscissa indicating the brake demand and an ordinate indicating the deceleration, and wherein the actual mass is calculated based on the reference mass, a slope of a straight line expressing the reference relationship, and a slope of a straight line expressing the actual relationship, as stated in claim 19. Claim 20 contains allowable subject matter based on its dependence on claim 19.
The prior art of record fails to teach or render obvious wherein the known mass is a maximum permissible mass of the vehicle, as stated in claim 26.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Susan E Scharpf/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LINDSAY M LOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747