DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
2. Claim 1 recites the limitation "at least one semiconductor device ". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner will assume the limitation to mean the at least one semiconductor light emitting device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0144460 Onuma et al.
3. Referring to claim 1, Onuma et al. teaches a display device comprising: a substrate, (Figure 5 #10), comprising a first sub-pixel, (Figure 5 #30 & 40c), a second sub-pixel, (Figure 5 #30 & 40b), and a third sub-pixel, (Figure 5 #30 & C1); at least one semiconductor light emitting device, (Figure 5 #30), for each of the first sub-pixel, (Figure 5 #30 & 40c), the second sub-pixel, (Figure 5 #30 & 40b), and the third sub-pixel, (Figure 5 #30 & C1); a first color conversion pattern, (Figure 5 #40c), disposed on the at least one semiconductor device, (Figure 5 #30), corresponding to the first sub-pixel, (Figure 5 #30 & 40c), and comprising first color conversion particles, (Figure 5 #40c & Paragraph 00103); a second color conversion pattern, (Figure 5 #40b), disposed on the at least one semiconductor device corresponding to the second sub-pixel, (Figure 5 #30 & 40b), and comprising second color conversion particles, (Figure 5 #40b & Paragraph 00103); and a light transmitting pattern, (Figure 5 #C1 & Paragraph 0103) disposed on the at least one semiconductor device, (Figure 5 #30), corresponding to the third sub-pixel, (Figure 5 #30 & C1), wherein an area of the first color conversion pattern, (Figure 5 #40c & Paragraph 0108), an area of the second color conversion pattern, (Figure 5 #40b & Paragraph 0108), and an area of the light transmitting pattern, (Figure 5 #C1 & Paragraph 0108), are different, and wherein an area of a light emitting area, (Figure 5 area of #30), of the first sub-pixel, (Figure 5 #30 & 40c), an area of a light emitting area, (Figure 5 area of #30), of the second sub-pixel, (Figure 5 #30 & 40b), and an area of a light emitting area, (Figure 5 area of #30), of the third sub-pixel, (Figure 5 #30 & C1), are the same, (Figure 5 #30 are all the same LED).
4. Referring to claim 2, Onuma et al. teaches a display device according to claim 1, wherein the semiconductor light emitting devices, (Figure 5 #30), of each of the first sub-pixel, (Figure 5 #30 & 40c), the second sub-pixel, (Figure 5 #30 & 40b), and the third sub-pixel, (Figure 5 #30 & C1), are configured to generate light of the same color, (Figure 5 #30 & Paragraph 0109).
5. Referring to claim 3, Onuma et al. teaches a display device according to claim 1, wherein the semiconductor light emitting device, (Figure 5 #30), is configured to generate a first color light, (Paragraph 0109 Blue), wherein the first color conversion pattern is configured to convert the first color light into a second color light, (Figure 5 #40c & Paragraph 0109 green), wherein the second color conversion pattern is configured to convert the first color light into a third color light, (Figure 5 #40b & Paragraph 0109 red), and wherein the light transmitting pattern, (Figure 5 #C1), is configured to transmit the first color light, (Paragraph 0109 Blue).
6. Referring to claim 4, Onuma et al. teaches a display device according to claim 3, wherein the first color light comprises blue light, the second color light comprises red light, and the third color light comprises green light, (Paragraph 0109 where the claim does not limit other details of the first and second subpixels, hence the first and second subpixels can be switched in to meet the claim).
7. Referring to claim 5, Onuma et al. teaches a display device according to claim 1, wherein the area of the second color conversion pattern is larger than the area of the first color conversion pattern, (Paragraph 0109).
8. Referring to claim 8, Onuma et al. teaches a display device according to claim 1, wherein first widths of each of the first color conversion pattern, the second color conversion pattern, and the light transmitting pattern along a first direction are the same, and wherein second widths of each of the first color conversion pattern, the second color conversion pattern, and the light transmitting pattern along a second direction are different, (Paragraph 0109 teaches that the thicknesses are different and meet the claim as the second width).
9. Referring to claim 9, Onuma et al. teaches a display device according to claim 8, wherein the second width of the second color conversion pattern is greater than the second width of the first color conversion pattern, (Paragraph 0109 teaches that the thicknesses are greater and meet the claim as the second width).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No.2022/0011487 Park et al.
10. Referring to claim 11, Onuma et al. teaches a display device according to claim 1 in Figure 5, but is silent further comprising a bank between each of the first color conversion pattern, the second color conversion pattern and the light transmitting pattern.
Onuma et al. teaches in Figure 9 a bank, (#90), between each of the first color conversion pattern, (Figure 5 #40c), the second color conversion pattern, (Figure 5 #40b), and the light transmitting pattern, (Figure 5 #40b).
The claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings Onuma et al. of because the bank layer of #90 provides additional functions that include a light absorbing layer, which is known to one skilled in the art to reduce pixel color bleeding between adjacent pixels.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
11. Claims 6, 7, 10, and 12-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
12. The prior art teaches the claimed matter in the rejections above, but is silent with respect to the above teachings in combination with the display device according to claim 5, wherein the area of the first color conversion pattern is larger than the area of the light transmitting pattern; the display device according to claim 1, wherein the area of the first color conversion pattern is 26±5% of a total area, the area of the second color conversion pattern is 67±5% of the total area, and the area of the light transmitting pattern is 7±5% of the total area, and wherein the total area is the sum of the area of the first color conversion pattern, the area of the second color conversion pattern, and the area of the light transmitting pattern; the display device according to claim 9, wherein the second width of the first color conversion pattern is larger than the second width of the light transmitting pattern; the display device according to claim 1, further comprising a first color filter on the first color conversion pattern; a second color filter on the second color conversion pattern; a third color filter on the light transmitting pattern; and a light-shielding pattern between each of the first color filter, the second color filter, and the third color filter; the display device according to claim 11, wherein the area of the second color filter is larger than the area of the first color filter, and the area of the first color filter is larger than an area of the third color filter; the display device according to claim 1, further comprising a first assembly wiring and a second assembly wiring are provided for each of the first sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel; and a barrier wall is provided on the first assembly wiring and second assembly wiring and has at least one assembly hole for each of the first sub- pixel, the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel; and/or the display device according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the first color conversion pattern, a thickness of the second color conversion pattern, and a thickness of the light-transmitting pattern are the same.
Conclusion
/VICTOR A MANDALA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899 8/18/26