DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07 August 2024 and 22 August 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “acquisitor” and “converter” in claims 1-3 and 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “ACVAE-VC: non-Parallel Voice Conversion with Auxiliary Classifier Variational Autoencoder”, hereinafter referred to as Kameoka et al., in view of WO 2021234967, hereinafter referred to as Kanagawa.
Regarding claim 1 (currently amended), Kameoka et al. discloses a signal analysis system comprising:
an acquisitor mel-cepstrum in a machine learning scheme of acoustic conversion based on a classifier variational autoencoder (Kameoka et al. describes an ACVAE trained using a mel-cepstrum coefficient. See Kameoka et al., Highlight 1.).
Kameoka et al., though, does not disclose a converter that converts a sequence of a second mel-spectrogram of an input acoustic signal into a sequence of a third mel-spectrogram of a target acoustic signal using the conversion network.
Kanagawa is cited to disclose a converter that converts a sequence of a second mel-spectrogram of an input acoustic signal into a sequence of a third mel-spectrogram of a target acoustic signal using the conversion network (Kanagawa indicates that a mel-spectrogram may be used instead of a mel-cepstrum as an acoustic feature value for audio waveform generation model training. See Kanagawa, Highlight 1.). Kanagawa indicates that a mel-spectrogram may be used instead of a mel-cepstrum as an acoustic feature value for audio waveform generation model training. Thus, a person skilled in the art could have easily applied the feature disclosed in Kanagawa to the invention described in Kameoka et al. such that a mel-spectrogram is used instead of a mel-cepstrum to perform training.
As to claim 4, claim 4 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Regarding claim 5 (currently amended), Kameoka et al., as modified by Kanagawa, discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium which stores a program causing a computer to function as the signal analysis system according to claim 1 (Kanagawa, Highlight 2.).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “ACVAE-VC: non-Parallel Voice Conversion with Auxiliary Classifier Variational Autoencoder”, hereinafter referred to as Kameoka et al., in view of WO 2021234967, hereinafter referred to as Kanagawa, and further in view of “MASKCYCLEGAN-VC: Learning Non-Parallel Voice Conversion with Filling in Frames”, hereinafter referred to as Kaneko et al.
Regarding claim 2 (original), Kameoka et al., as modified by Kanagawa, discloses the signal analysis system according to claim 1, but not wherein the classifier variational autoencoder performs learning of the conversion network using a task of complementing a missing frame in the sequence of the first mel-spectrogram. Kaneko et al. is cited to disclose wherein the classifier variational autoencoder performs learning of the conversion network using a task of complementing a missing frame in the sequence of the first mel-spectrogram (Kaneko et al. discloses an audio conversion device that complements a lost frame by FIF. See Kaneko et al., Fig. 1 and Highlight 1.). Kaneko et al. discloses an audio conversion device that complements a lost frame by FIF. Thus, a person skilled in the art could have easily applied the feature described in Kaneko et al. to the invention described in Kameoka et al. such that a lost frame is complemented by FIF.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “ACVAE-VC: non-Parallel Voice Conversion with Auxiliary Classifier Variational Autoencoder”, hereinafter referred to as Kameoka et al., in view of WO 2021234967, hereinafter referred to as Kanagawa, and further in view of KR 102176302, hereinafter referred to as Jonguk et al.
Regarding claim 3 (currently amended), Kameoka et al., as modified by Kanagawa, discloses the signal analysis system according to claim 1 autoencoder performs learning of the conversion network using a sequence of the first mel-spectrogram of the acoustic signal on which a noise signal is superimposed. Jonguk et al. is cited to disclose wherein the classifier variational autoencoder performs learning of the conversion network using a sequence of the first mel-spectrogram of the acoustic signal on which a noise signal is superimposed (Jonguk et al. discloses a VAE that performs learning using a signal including noise. Jonguk et al., Highlight 1.). Jonguk et al. discloses a VAE that performs learning using a signal including noise. Thus, a person skilled in the art could have easily applied the feature disclosed in Jonguk et al. to the invention described in Kameoka et al. such that training is performed using a signal including noise.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892. In particular, the examiner notes WO-2020036178, WO-2019240228, and WO-2019163849 as disclosing prior art similar to that of “ACVAE-VC: non-Parallel Voice Conversion with Auxiliary Classifier Variational Autoencoder”.
/ANNE L THOMAS-HOMESCU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2656